DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
In the communication dated May 15, 2023, claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 9-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 9, line 2 should include –on-- after “depends”.
Claim 10 is objected to based upon the dependency from an objected to claim
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smallwood et al. US20040124810A1.
Regarding claim 1. Smallwood discloses a method (FIG. 7-8) comprising:
storing historic information for a battery (706- add discharge level to previously stored discharge levels - thus the history is stored);
receiving real-time information for the battery (704/804 – determine battery discharge level);
detecting a discharging rate abnormality of the battery by performing a comparison between the real-time information and the historic information (806 – difference between the discharge level and the pattern discharge level is determined – thus providing a comparison; it is determined whether the difference is greater than a predetermined value) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate)
based on the discharging rate abnormality, selecting a charging rate for charging the battery (808/810 – determine whether to use the discharge level or the discharge level pattern) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate); and
charging the battery using the selected charging rate (808/810) (¶60-61) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate).
Regarding claim 2. Smallwood discloses that the historic information comprises historic state of charge information with respect to time (¶4 – “Rapid charge sequences are terminated by using either an inflection in the battery voltage versus time (V) “; ¶37-38 - time between charging cycle is used).
Regarding claim 14. Smallwood discloses that the historic information comprises voltage information responsive to incrementally charging the battery (¶54-55 – use information is stored such that the charging is determined according to the discharge level. Because charging is incrementally performed, it follows that the voltage information is incremental).
Regarding claim 15. Smallwood discloses that the voltage information is indicative of state of charge of the battery (¶54 – voltage level corresponds to the state of charge).
Regarding claim 16. Smallwood discloses that the incrementally charging the battery comprises using gradual trickle charging (¶19- 20 – charged at a “trickle” rate).
Regarding claim 17. Smallwood discloses that the historic information comprises usage information indicative of inactivity of the battery associated with non-use (¶54 – time between charges – infrequent use “the user recharged the battery in-frequently, then the battery would be charged to the lower level of charge at a slower charge rate 604”).
Regarding claim 18. Smallwood discloses a battery system (FIG. 1) comprising:
memory (104) that stores historic information for a battery (110);
an interface that receives real-time information for the battery;
detection circuitry (sense resistor 138) that detects a discharging rate abnormality of the battery by a comparison between the real-time information and the historic information (¶33 – sense resistor may determine battery discharge level) (806 – difference between the discharge level and the pattern discharge level is determined – thus providing a comparison; it is determined whether the difference is greater than a predetermined value) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate);
selection circuitry that, based on the discharging rate abnormality, selects a charging rate for charging the battery (806 – difference between the discharge level and the pattern discharge level is determined – thus providing a comparison; it is determined whether the difference is greater than a predetermined value) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate); and
control circuitry that calls for charging the battery using the selected charging rate (808/810) (¶60-61) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate).
Regarding claim 19. Smallwood discloses that the historic information comprises one or more of state of charge information(¶54 – voltage level corresponds to the state of charge).
Regarding claim 20. Smallwood discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media comprising processor- executable instructions to instruct a processor-based controller (¶23 - microprocessor that controls the operation) to:
store historic information for a battery (706- add discharge level to previously stored discharge levels - thus the history is stored);
receive real-time information for the battery (704/804 – determine battery discharge level);
detect a discharging rate abnormality of the battery by performing a comparison between the real-time information and the historic information (806 – difference between the discharge level and the pattern discharge level is determined – thus providing a comparison; it is determined whether the difference is greater than a predetermined value) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate)
based on the discharging rate abnormality, selecting a charging rate for charging the battery (808/810 – determine whether to use the discharge level or the discharge level pattern) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate); and
call for charging the battery using the selected charging rate (808/810) (¶60-61) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smallwood et al. US20040124810A1 in view of Lim et al. US20240356357A1.
Regarding claim 3. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose that the detecting detects an increase in a discharging rate of the battery that decreases a state of charge with respect to time.
Lim discloses that the detecting detects an increase in a discharging rate of the battery that decreases a state of charge with respect to time (¶24 – discharge profiles defines discharge rates and corresponding time periods, any of the discharge profiles may be a step profile that increases the discharge rate of each step; ¶49 – discharge profile selected based on battery conditions; ¶83 – particular discharge profile selected based on current battery conditions).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include detecting a different parameter, as taught by Lim, to the invention of Smallwood in order to provide increased control of the charging.
Regarding claim 4. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose that the selecting the charging rate comprises selecting a decreased charging rate that depends on an amount of the increase in the discharging rate.
Lim discloses that the selecting the charging rate comprises selecting a decreased charging rate that depends on an amount of the increase in the discharging rate (¶51 – pre-charge profile mirrors the discharge profile, thus the charging rate is selected according to the discharge rate).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include detecting a different parameter, as taught by Lim, to the invention of Smallwood in order to provide increased control of the charging.
Regarding claim 5. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose that the selected decreased charging rate is inversely proportional to the amount of the increase in the discharging rate.
Lim discloses that the selected decreased charging rate is inversely proportional to the amount of the increase in the discharging rate (¶51 – pre-charge profile mirrors the discharge profile, thus the charging rate is inversely proportional to the discharging rate).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include detecting a different parameter, as taught by Lim, to the invention of Smallwood in order to provide increased control of the charging.
Regarding claim 12. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose that the charging the battery using the selected charging rate comprises incrementally charging.
Lim discloses the charging the battery using the selected charging rate comprises incrementally charging (¶24 – charge profile s may be a step profile that adjusts the charge rate each step).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include detecting a different parameter, as taught by Lim, to the invention of Smallwood in order to provide increased control of the charging.
Regarding claim 13. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose generating a charging signature of the battery during the incrementally charging.
Lim discloses generating a charging signature of the battery during the incrementally charging (¶24 – charge profile created to include step profile, thus being a signature charging pattern).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include detecting a different parameter, as taught by Lim, to the invention of Smallwood in order to provide increased control of the charging.
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smallwood et al. US20040124810A1 in view of Li et al. US20250385325A1.
Regarding claim 6. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose that the historic information comprises historic environmental information with respect to time.
Li discloses that the historic information comprises historic environmental information with respect to time (FIG. 15; ¶156 – temperature information is collected – because this is done over time, the environmental information stored in the storage unit is information with respect to time).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the historical information of Li to the storage of Smallwood in order to avoid damage and defects to the battery, including thermal runaway (Li; ¶11).
Regarding claim 7. Smallwood does not explicitly disclose the historic environmental information comprises temperature with respect to time.
Li discloses that the historic environmental information comprises temperature with respect to time FIG. 15; ¶156 – temperature information is collected – because this is done over time, the environmental information stored in the storage unit is information with respect to time).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the historical information of Li to the storage of Smallwood in order to avoid damage and defects to the battery, including thermal runaway (Li; ¶11).
Regarding claim 8. Smallwood does not explicitly teach that the detecting detects temperatures for a period of time that are in excess of a temperature threshold.
Li discloses that the detecting detects temperatures for a period of time that are in excess of a temperature threshold (¶164 – when the ambient temperature is too low; ¶175 – “the temperature and heat production of the battery module are controlled below the threshold, which may prevent the battery module from thermal runaway, improve the reliability of the intelligent battery module operation, and avoid large-scale faults of the energy storage system”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the historical information of Li to the storage of Smallwood in order to avoid damage and defects to the battery, including thermal runaway (Li; ¶11).
Regarding claim 9. Smallwood discloses that the selecting the charging rate (808/810 – determine whether to use the discharge level or the discharge level pattern) (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate) comprises selecting a decreased charging rate (¶62 – instead of charging to a certain voltage, the battery is recharged at the appropriate rate – a first rate or a second rate)
Smallwood does not explicitly teach that depends a maximum temperature of the temperatures (¶175 – operating power and stored charge of the battery module are actively reduced before the fault occurs).
Li discloses a condition where a reduction in an operation condition depends a maximum temperature of the temperatures (¶175 – operating power and stored charge of the battery module are actively reduced before the fault occurs).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the historical information of Li to the storage of Smallwood in order to avoid damage and defects to the battery, including thermal runaway (Li; ¶11).
Regarding claim 10. The combination of Smallwood and Li discloses that as the condition, in the case of Li the temperature, increases, the charging rate decreases, as taught by claim 9, thus, the selected decreased charging rate is inversely proportional to the maximum temperature which is increasing towards a maximum threshold.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smallwood et al. US20040124810A1 in view of Li et al. US20250385325A1 and further in view of Yeom et al. US20240283273A1
Regarding claim 11. Smallwood does not explicitly teach that selecting the charging rate comprises selecting a decreased charging rate that depends on an integral of the temperatures with respect to time.
Yeom discloses selecting the charging rate comprises selecting a decreased charging rate that depends on an integral of the temperatures with respect to time (¶6 - the charging rate is derived based on the temperature through proportional-integral-derivative control).
It would be obvious.to one of ordinary skill in the art to use an integral of the temperature in order to determine a target SOC to maintain a rapid charging speed as much as possible (Yeom; ¶5-6).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kearns et al. US20140088781A1 - ¶97 – set point is adjusted in desired increments to limit the charging or discharging.
Seo et al. US20080036421A1 -¶15 – history of temperature differences are stored.
Conclusion
/PAMELA J JEPPSON/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/DREW A DUNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859