DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Objections Applicant is advised that should claim 4 be found allowable, claim 22 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale , or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 13, 14, 15, 19, 21, 22, and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by EP 3 865 451, as cited by applicant . Regarding claim 1, EP 451, as cited by applicant, teaches an interface unit for a receptacle of a pallet on an underride shuttle, 101, comprising: an attachment unit for attaching the interface unit to an upper side of the underride shuttle, not numbered, but figures 1 and 2 show the load supporting member, 120, of the interface unit as a separate feature mechanically attached to the underride shuttle, 101 ; two support portions , 130, extending upwards parallel to one another in accordance with a length direction and forming by their respective upper sides a support area for a pallet , 10, to be supported , see figure 1 and 2 ; and wherein, with respect to a width direction, a central recess likewise extending in the length direction is provided between the support portions , see figure 1 . Regarding claim 3 , EP 451 teaches the support portions , 130, along the length direction each have at least one perforation, such that each support area is formed by cusps , 130.1, 103.2, and 130.3 . Regarding claim 4 , EP 451 teaches that the support portions partially taper upward in a direction of their respective upper sides from the central recess , see figure 1 which shows a tapered top edge of the cusps, 130.1, 130.2 and 130.3 . Regarding claim 13, EP 451 teaches the attachment unit further comprises a coupling unit for electronically connecting components of the interface unit and the underride shuttle, see paragraph 0028 which states that the support portions are movable with respect to the vehicle, 100, through hydraulic piston/cylinder arrangements or electric motors, which teaches the claimed electronically connecting components . Regarding claim 14, EP 451 teaches an operating unit configured to operate at least one function of the underride shuttle, see paragraph 0021 which states that the frame further comprises several components for controlling the robotic vehicle. These components are not visible in the drawings and includes: a motor, a controller, and sensors. Regarding claim 15, EP 451 teaches the interface unit according and a pallet, wherein a vertical extension of the support portions, 130, of the interface unit and an overall height of the pallet , 10, are substantially matched that the pallet i s supported by the support portions in a state resting on the interface unit , see figure 2 . Regarding claim 19, EP 451 teaches the interface unit is mounted on the upper side of the underride shuttle, 101, see figures 1 and 2. Regarding claim 21 , EP 451 teaches a control unit of the underride shuttle is configured to receive and process data from at least one electronic component of the interface unit , see paragraph 0021 . Regarding claim 22 , EP 451 teaches support portions the cusps taper upward in a direction of their respective upper sides from the central recess , see figure 1 which shows a tapered top edge of the cusps, 130.1, 130.2 and 130.3 . Regarding claim 29, EP 451 teaches an interface unit for a receptacle of a pallet on an underride shuttle, comprising: two support portions, 130, extending parallel to one another in a accordance with a length direction which are displaceable in a height direction between a retracted position and an extended position, see paragraph 0028,wherein in the extended position they form by their respective upper sides a support area for a pallet to be supported, see figure 2; a displacement unit configured to effect displacement of the support portions between the retracted and extended positions, see paragraph 0028; and wherein, in the extended position relative a width direction, a central recess likewise extending in the length direction is provided between the support portions, see figures 1 and 2. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim (s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 865 451, as cited by applicant, in view of Wu et al. (US 2018/0099810) . Regarding claim 5 , EP 451 does not teach each of the respective upper sides of the support portions includes an anti-slip layer. Wu et al. teaches a robot for transporting inventory holders, where the support portion includes a rubber material that is a material with a large coefficient of friction, see paragraph 0034. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to combine the rubber material layer taught by Wu et al. with the support portions, 130, taught by EP 451 in order to facilitate better lifting and transporting of the pallets. Claim (s) 6, 7, 10-12, and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 865 451 , as cited by applicant, in view of Flottran (US 2020/0317490) . Regarding claim 6 , EP 451 does not teach a position determining unit configured to determine a relative position of a pallet carried on the interface unit. Flottran teaches an industrial truck with a load receiving means, 8a and 8b , with a position determining unit, 14 , configured to determine a relative position of a pallet carried on the load receiving means, see abstract and figures 5a and 5b. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the positioning determining unit of Flottran with the interface unit of EP 451 in order to determine when the pallet is loaded properly on the interface unit. Regarding claim 7 , Flottran further teaches the position determining unit comprises at least one detection unit , 10, 12, and 14 configured to detect a presence of an object in the width direction between the support portions , 8a and 8b, at a predetermined detection position, or configured to detect a presence of an object above at least one of the support portions , see figure 5a and 5b . Regarding claim 10, Flottran teaches at least one of the detection units comprises a light barrier unit or a distance sensor, 10, 12, and 14, see abstract. Regarding claim 11, Flottran teaches at least one of said the light barrier units, 12 and 14, is arranged in such a manner that a corresponding light barrier extends between two ends of one of said the support portions in a longitudinal direction, see figures 5a and 5b. Regarding claim 12, Flottran teaches at least one of the light barrier units or at least one of the distance sensors, is arranged such that its sensing area extends obliquely in a height direction , see figures 5a and 5b and paragraph 0056 . Regarding claim 24, Flottran teaches the position determining unit comprises at least one detection unit configured to detect a presence of an object above at least one of the support portions , see figures 5a and 5b . Claim (s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 865 451 . Regarding claim 20, EP 451 teaches the claimed invention except for the underride shuttle has a substantially square outline in a plan view, and wherein the interface unit projects beyond the outline of the underride shuttle in the length direction through the support portions on both sides. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to change the shape of the underride shuttle to a substantially square outline, since it has been held that where the only difference between the prior art and the claim was a recitation of relative dimensions and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the claimed prior art device, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art device. See MPEP 2144.04 and In Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984) . Claim (s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 865 451 in view of Brucker et al. (US 2020/0073402) . Regarding claim 23 , EP 451 does not teach at least one end of the support portions includes an upwardly extending stop in the length direction. Brucker et al. teaches an automated guided vehicle for moving pallets that includes a load support with upwardly extending stops, 24B, in the length direction, see figure 1 and paragraph 0054. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the stops of Brucker et al. with the supports of EP 451 in order to assist in holding the pallet on the supports during transport. Claim (s) 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over EP 3 865 451, as cited by applicant, in view of Wagner et al. (US 2019/0129371) . Regarding claim 28, EP 451 does not teach an emergency stop switch. Wagner et al. teaches a shuttle for moving loads, where the shuttle includes an emergency stop switch, 52, see paragraph 0077. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the stop switch of Wagner et al. with the operating unit of EP 451 in order to enable a person to stop the movement of the shuttle in an emergency. Allowable Subject Matter Claims 8, 9, 25-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 8 , EP 451 is considered the best prior art which teaches the three support portions. The combination of Flottran teaches the determining unit, as claimed in claim 7. However, the combination does not render obvious at least three detection units, one of which is provided at each end of the support portions in the length direction outside the support area, and one of which is provided in a central area in the length direction of the support portions. There is no motivation to modify the EP 451 to teach the claimed number and location of the determining unit, and therefore this feature is allowable. Claim 9 depends from claim 8 and is therefore also objected to as being allowable. Regarding claim 25, EP 451 is considered the best prior art which teaches the three support positions. The combination of Flottran teaches the determining unit, as claimed in claim 10. However, the combination does not render obvious at least one of the light barrier units is arranged in such a manner that a corresponding light barrier extends respectively between two outermost ones of the cusps in a longitudinal direction . There is no motivation to modify the EP 451 to teach the claimed number and location of the determining unit, and therefore this feature is allowable. Claims 26 and 27 depends from claim 25 and are therefore also objected to as being allowable. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Prior art cited on the PTO-892 are included to show additional examples of pallet shuttles with interface units and the general state of the prior art. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT KAITLIN S JOERGER whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-6938 . The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 7:30-5 (CST) . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Ernesto Suarez can be reached at FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)270-5565 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. FILLIN "Examiner Stamp" \* MERGEFORMAT KAITLIN S. JOERGER Primary Examiner Art Unit 3652 /KAITLIN S JOERGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655 26 February 2026