DETAILED ACTION
Amendment filed 7/24/2026 has been entered. Claims 21-38 remain pending with claims 23, 29 and 35 withdrawn as being non-elected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-22, 24-28, 30-34 and 36-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flanagan US D507737 (hereinafter Flanagan) in view of Harms US 4269381 (hereinafter Harms).
As an initial matter, the Examiner wishes to point out that the claimed invention is drawn towards an electrical component hanger which is intended for securing at least one electrical component to a structure. Therefore, it is the Examiner’s position that the claims are directed specifically to the electrical component hanger and references to the structure and its requisite parts are intended use limitations. Applicants are reminded that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Re. Cl. 21, Flanagan discloses: An electrical component hanger (Fig. 7) for securing at least one electrical component to a structure (see Fig. 7, due to the illustrated shape, the device is capable of securing at least one appropriately sized electrical component to a structure), the electrical component hanger comprising: a pair of securing sections (see annotated figure 7) each comprising, a straight an arm segment (see annotated figure 7), an elbow (see annotated figure 7) extending from the straight arm segment, and a hook end segment (see annotated figure 7) extending from the elbow directly to a terminating distal end (see annotated figure 7); and a pair of component holding sections (see Fig. 7) each comprising, a loop segment (see annotated figure 7) extending substantially perpendicularly from one of the straight arm segments (see Fig. 5-6), the pair of component holding sections configured to support at least one electrical component (see Fig. 5-6, due to their curved shape, an appropriately sized/shaped electrical component is configured to be supported therein), wherein the elbows extend substantially perpendicularly from the straight arm segments and backwards substantially parallel to a plane formed by each loop segment (see Fig. 5-6).
Re. Cl. 27, Flanagan discloses: An electrical component hanger (Fig. 7) comprising a segment of wire comprising terminating distal ends (see annotated figure 7), the segment of wire bent in a configuration (see Fig. 7) comprising: a pair of securing sections each comprising, a straight an arm segment (see annotated figure 7), an elbow (see annotated figure 7) extending from the straight arm segment (see Fig. 5-7), and a hook end segment (see annotated figure 7) extending from the elbow directly to one of the terminating distal ends (see annotated figure 7); and a pair of component holding sections each comprising, a loop segment (see annotated figure 7) extending substantially perpendicularly from one of the straight arm segments (see Fig. 5-6), the pair of component holding sections configured to support at least one electrical component (see Fig. 5-6, due to their curved shape, an appropriately sized/shaped electrical component is configured to be supported therein), wherein the elbows extend substantially perpendicularly from the straight arm segments and backwards substantially parallel to a plane formed by each loop segment (see Fig. 5-6).
Re. Cl. 33, Flanagan discloses: An electrical component hanger (Fig. 7) for securing at least one electrical component to a structure (see Fig. 7, due to the illustrated shape, the device is capable of securing at least one appropriately sized electrical component to a structure), the electrical component hanger comprising: a pair of securing sections each comprising, a straight arm (see annotated figure 7), an elbow (see annotated figure 7) extending from the straight arm, and a hook end (see annotated figure 7) extending from the elbow directly to a terminating distal end (see annotated figure 7); and a pair of component holding sections each comprising, a loop (see annotated figure 7) extending substantially perpendicularly from one of the straight arms (see Fig. 5-6), the pair of component holding sections configured to support at least one electrical component (see Fig. 5-6, due to their curved shape, an appropriately sized/shaped electrical component is configured to be supported therein), wherein the elbows extend substantially perpendicularly from the straight arm segments and backwards substantially parallel to a plane formed by each loop segment (see Fig. 5-6).
Re. Cls. 22, 28 and 34, Flanagan discloses: each straight arm segment has a longitudinal axis and wherein the longitudinal axis of each of the straight arm segments are parallel to each other (see Fig. 5-7).
Re. Cls. 24, 30 and 36, Flanagan discloses: the loop segment comprises one or more of a circular (see Fig. 5-6, the loop has a circular configuration), rectangular, triangular and square segment.
Re. Cls. 25, 31 and 37, Flanagan discloses: the loop segments form a pair of parallel loops (see Fig. 5-7).
Re. Cls. 26, 32 and 38, Flanagan discloses: a clip return segment extending between and joining the parallel loops (see annotated figure 7).
Re. Cls. 21, 27 and 33, Flanagan does not disclose each hook end segment and terminating distal end being dimensioned and configured such that each terminating distal end can be positioned within a same orifice in the structure and wherein the hook end segments extend substantially perpendicularly outward from the plane in opposite directions directly to the terminating distal ends and wherein the straight arm segments are compressible from an original position toward each other such that the terminating distal ends of the hook end segments can be positioned within the same orifice in the structure and released such that the straight arm segments expand toward their original position securing the hook end segments within the same orifice in the structure. Harms discloses an alternate component hanger (Fig. 1) which includes securing sections (18, 20, 30, 60 Fig. 1), comprising a straight arm segment (38, 40, Fig. 1), an elbow (between 38 and 42 and 40 and 44, Fig. 1), and a hook end segment (42, 46 and 44, 48 Fig. 1) extending from the elbow directly to a terminating distal end (ends of 46, 48, Fig. 1), wherein the elbow extends substantially perpendicular from the straight arm segment and backwards (see Fig. 1). Re. Cls. 21,27 and 33, Harms discloses each hook end segment and terminating distal end being dimensioned and configured such that each terminating distal end can be positioned within a same orifice in the structure (see Fig. 1, by having the device is capable of being used in the claimed intended use by extending through an opening between 52 and a cabinet door for instance); the hook end segments extend substantially perpendicularly outward from the plane in opposite directions directly to the terminating distal ends (see Fig. 1) and wherein the straight arm segments are compressible from an original position toward each other such that the terminating distal ends of the hook end segments can be positioned within the same orifice in the structure and released such that the straight arm segments expand toward their original position securing the hook end segments within the same orifice in the structure (see Fig. 1; further it is the Examiner’s position that the proposed modification would function as claimed in the intended use; modifying the wire structure of Flannagan to have the ends of Harms would dispose the hook ends in a spaced manner from one another, therefore the segments are compressible from an original position towards one another to be used in the claimed intended use).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Flanagan to have the elbow and hook end segment of Harms with reasonable expectation of success since Harms states that such a modification enables the user to support the device from a supporting structure such as a cabinet (Col. 3, Lines 6-10). Such a modification might be useful when a helmet is intended to be supported in a garage or in a kitchen to perform repairs for instance.
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claim(s) 21-22, 24-28, 30-34 and 36-38 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection relies on different prior art than the previous rejection and for the matters specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Syrett US 1417215 and Eoddy US 2678184 disclose other component hangers which are presented to the Applicant for their consideration.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER GARFT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632