DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 07/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and 8-9 are amended, Claims 6-7 are canceled, Claims 1-5, and 8-13 are pending, and Claims 10-13 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Objections
The claim objections of claims 1 and 3 are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 07/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The 35 U.S.C. 112 (b) rejections of claims 1-9 are withdrawn in view of the claim amendments filed 07/20/2026.
. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (WO 2022050284 A1-US 20230275271 A1 referenced for citation), hereinafter "Suzuki". Suzuki et al. is analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrolyte compositions.
In regard to Claim 4-5 and 9, Suzuki et al. discloses an electrochemical cell comprising a graphite anode and a cathode comprising NMC622 (Suzuki, [0126-0128]), a polypropylene separator (Suzuki, [0119-0120]) and an electrolyte which may comprise LiFSI salt selected from a preferred list, dissolved in a solvent which may comprise THF selected from a preferred list (Suzuki, [0064-0066]). Suzuki et al. also discloses the concentration of the salt in the solvent in a range of 0.5-5M (Suzuki, [0071]), which encompasses the claimed concentration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to have selected the LiFSI salt at a concentration of 5M and THF solvent as the skilled artisan could at once envisage combination and as doing so would amount to nothing more than selecting a known material for a known use from a preferred list to achieve predictable results.
Claims 1-3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki et al (WO 2022050284 A1-US 20230275271 A1 referenced for citation), hereinafter "Suzuki" as applied to claim 1 above in view of Xu et al. (US 20210218062 A1), hereinafter "Xu". Suzuki and Xu et al. are analogous prior art to the claimed invention because they pertain to the same field of endeavor, namely electrolyte compositions.
In regard to Claims 1-3, Suzuki et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of claims 4-5. Suzuki et al also discloses a coating layer at the anode and electrolyte interface that comprise at least Li and F (Suzuki, [0136-0137]) but is silent as to the thickness of the layer. However, the skilled artisan of Suzuki must provide the surface coating in some measurable thickness and would be well aware of the properties of the interfacial layer as evidenced by Xu et al.
Xu et al. discloses an electrochemical cell comprising an anode comprising graphite and a counter electrode comprising Li metal (Xu, 0251]), a separator (Xu, [0163]) and an electrolyte comprising LiFSI dissolved in an ether solvent (Xu, Table 2, AE001-AE003) wherein the electrolyte has ion- aggregates dominant solvation structures by introducing larger amounts of FSI anions (Xu, [0141]) and wherein the anode has an inorganic rich, interfacial layer comprising LiF and Li3N with a thickness of 4nm (Xu, [0329-0333]). Suzuki et al. already recognizes anode interfacial layers can impede cation diffusion (Suzuki, [0013]) and Xu teaches the interfacial layer contributes to graphite passivation, associates SEI species with ionic transport and identifies protection against graphite exfoliation and parasitic reactions (Xu, [0282, 0329-0332, 0335]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the current invention to provide the interfacial layer comprising at least LIF as disclosed in Suzuki with Li3N in a thickness of 4nm as taught in Xu as doing so would give the skilled artisan the reasonable expectation of achieving the benefits taught in Xu and as doing so would amount to nothing more than applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
In regard to Claim 8, Suzuki et al. discloses the electrochemical cell of claim 4. Suzuki et al. discloses initial charging/discharging but is silent as to the performance at other temperature ranges. This, however, is a property of the materials of the cell and Suzuki already provides a graphite anode, NMC622 cathode, a LiFSI and THF electrolyte and an interfacial layer and thus would reasonable be able to achieve the claimed results as evidended by Xu et al. which discloses a full-cell composed of an anode and cathode which are rechargeable in the temperature range of -40 °C - 25 °C and the discharge capacities range from 188 mAh/g at 25C to 87 mAh/g at -40C for AE003 and 192 to 59 mAh/g for AE001 (Xu, Figure 18, AE001 & AE003, [00258]), which overlaps the claimed range. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because overlapping ranges have been held to be a prima facie case of obvious. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP § 2144.05.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 and 4 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/K.M.O./ Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725