DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2013/0025155) in view of Jeong et al. (US 2022/0075268).
Regarding Claim 1, Kim et al. (US’155) teach an apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising: a processing chamber 4000 enclosing a processing space (Fig. 5; [0061]), a substrate support 4300 within the processing space [0094], a first (upper) supply port 4510 configured to supply a supercritical fluid to an upper surface of a substrate supported by the substrate support, the first supply port located at an upper portion of the processing chamber [0098], and a second (lower) supply port 4520 configured to supply the supercritical fluid directly to a lower surface of the substrate supported by the substrate support (Fig. 5; [0098-0099]), the second supply port located at a lower portion of the processing chamber with an unobstructed fluid supply path between the second supply port and the lower surface of the substrate (Fig. 5; [0109]); a fluid discharge device 4700, 4750, configured to discharge the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber [0112]; and a control device configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, wherein the control device is configured to boost pressure in the processing space to a set pressure through performing a first cycle in which the supercritical fluid is supplied from a supply line 4550 into the processing space, alternating through each of the first and the second supply ports by switching valves based on pressure (Claim 4; [0097-0098, 0012,0139]). US’155 fails to expressly teach performing a plurality of first cycles. Performing a plurality of first cycles where US’155 teaches a first cycle is a prima facie obvious duplication of parts/steps. MPEP 2144.04. Thus, it would have been obvious to configure the controller to perform not only a single first cycle, but a plurality of first cycles as a prima facie obvious duplication of parts/steps. Additionally, US’155 provides reasons for a controller to alternate between the first and second supply ports:
A supercritical fluid may be supplied through the lower supply port 4520 and then the upper supply port 4510. In an early stage of a supercritical drying process, the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 may be lower than a critical pressure, and thus a supercritical fluid supplied into the second process chamber 4000 may be liquefied. Therefore, if a supercritical fluid is supplied through the upper supply port 4510 in an early stage of a supercritical drying process, the supercritical fluid may liquefy and fall to the substrate (S) by gravity to damage the substrate (S). A supercritical fluid may be supplied through the upper supply port 4510 after the supercritical fluid is supplied into the second process chamber 4000 through the lower supply port 4520 and the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 reaches a critical pressure, so as to prevent the supercritical fluid from liquefying and falling to the substrate (S).
[0100]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to configure the controller to perform a plurality of first cycles, whenever needed to prevent the supercritical fluid from liquefying and falling to the substrate, recognizing that a supercritical fluid may be supplied through the upper supply port 4510 after the supercritical fluid is supplied into the second process chamber 4000 through the lower supply port 4520 and the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 reaches a critical pressure.
US’155 fails to teach a fluid supply device configured to supply the supercritical fluid from a fluid storage tank to the first supply port through a first supply line and the second supply port through a second supply line of the processing chamber or a control device configured to control operations of the fluid supply device.
Jeong et al. (US’268) is analogous prior art in the field of processing substrates in a chamber, including directing supercritical fluid to an upper and lower surface of a substrate from upper and bottom supply ports. Specifically, US’268 teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising: a processing chamber 530 enclosing a processing space, a substrate support 533 within the processing space (Fig. 4; [0056-0057]), a first supply port 535 configured to supply a supercritical fluid to an upper surface of a substrate supported by the substrate support and the first supply port located at an upper portion of the processing chamber, and a second supply port 538 configured to supply the supercritical fluid to a lower surface of the substrate supported by the substrate support and the second supply port located at a lower portion of the processing chamber (Fig. 4; [0059,0066,0089]); a fluid supply device configured to supply a supercritical fluid from a fluid storage tank 522 to the first supply port through a first supply line and the second supply port through a second supply line of the processing chamber (to first supply port 535 through valve 526 and to second supply port 538 through valve 525)[0059]; a fluid discharge device configured to discharge the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber (exhaust port 539 and line) (id.); and a control device configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, wherein the fluid supply device comprises a first supply line (line with supply port 535) connected to an upper portion of the processing chamber and a second supply line (line with supply port 538) connected to a lower portion of the processing chamber, and the control device is configured boost pressure in the processing space to a set pressure through performing a plurality of first cycles in which the supercritical fluid is supplied from the fluid storage tank into the processing space alternately through one of the first supply line and the second supply line, and then through the other of the first supply line and the second supply line (Figs. 4, 7, 10B; [0008, 0085-0089,0093]). Figure 7 shows that the pressure can be boosted from any of charging to A, charging to B, B to A and vent to any of A or B by controlling valves 516,525, 526, and 567, for example by controlling the 567 to lower pressure and then increasing (boosting) it [0076,0081,0088-0090]. Also, Fig. 10B teaches alternating between supplying supercritical fluid under a first condition, followed by supplying supercritical fluid under a second condition, and the first condition is associated with a first supply device and the second condition is associated with a second supply device (Fig. 10B; [0007, 0123-0128]). Thus, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the apparatus of US’155 with a control device, configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, wherein the control device is configured to boost pressure in the processing space to a set pressure through performing a plurality of first cycles in which the supercritical fluid is supplied from the fluid storage tank into the processing space alternately through one of the first supply line and the second supply line and then through the other of the first supply line and the second supply line, because US’268 suggests the fluid supply device configured to supply the supercritical fluid from a fluid storage tank to the first supply port through a first supply line and the second supply port through a second supply line of the processing chamber and a fluid discharge device as well as a controller configured to control both the fluid discharge device and the fluid supply device so that it can supply the supercritical fluid from a fluid storage tank to the first supply port through a first supply line and the second supply port through a second supply line of the processing chamber, and US’155 and US’268 both teach a controller configured to alternate between a first and second supply ports to boost pressure.
Regarding Claim 2, the specific value of pressure is an intended use of the controller, since the claimed set pressure is simply a value, and the controller is configured to perform the claimed control with that value without modification. Additionally, US’155 teaches a controller configured for this set pressure in the recited range (80-120 bar is equivalent to 8 to 12 MPa, Fig. 1; [0053]).
Regarding Claims 3 and 5, US’155 (Rejection of Claim 1 above; [0164-0174]) and US’268 (Rejection of Claim 1 above; [0085-0093]) provide rules for controlling the alternation between first and second ports. The combination of references fails to teach specific times; however, given the reasons given in the references for controlling the alternation between first and second supply ports, determining the precise durations is a matter of routine optimization, for example, to prevent liquefaction of supercritical fluid and dripping.
Regarding Claims 4 and 6, the number of cycles is an intended use of a controller obviously configured to perform the first cycle (See rejection of Claim 1 above). The precise range is a prima facie obvious duplication of parts/steps. MPEP 2144.04.
Regarding Claim 7, US’268 teaches the control device, configured to perform a second cycle in which pressure in the processing space is alternately decreased and increased S130 after a first cycle is performed (Fig. 10B; [0008,0130]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the controller of the combination of references to be configured to perform a second cycle in which the pressure is alternately decreased and increased after a first cycle is performed, because US’268 teaches an analogous apparatus with a controller configured to perform these cycles.
Regarding Claim 8, the controller is configured to perform at least one cycle as recited. Moreover, the number of cycles is an intended use of a controller obviously configured to perform the first cycle (See rejection of Claim 1 above). The precise range is a prima facie obvious duplication of parts/steps. MPEP 2144.04. Moreover, US’268 teaches 2-15 times (Claim 20).
‘ Regarding Claim 9, the recited pressure difference in the processing space is an intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, capable of performing the intended use.
Regarding Claim 10, the recited steps are an intended use of the claimed apparatus, not given patentable weight, and the apparatus is capable of the intended use.
Regarding Claim 11, it would have been obvious that the controller is configured to discharge the supercritical fluid after the second cycles are performed (Fig. 10B).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong et al. (US 2022/0075268) in view of Kim et al. (US 2013/0025155).
Regarding Claim 1, Jeong et al. (US’268) teach an apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising: a processing chamber 530 enclosing a processing space, a substrate support 533 within the processing space (Fig. 4; [0056-0057]), a first supply port 535 configured to supply a supercritical fluid to an upper surface of a substrate supported by the substrate support and the first supply port located at an upper portion of the processing chamber, and a second supply port 538 configured to supply the supercritical fluid to a lower surface of the substrate supported by the substrate support and the second supply port located at a lower portion of the processing chamber (Fig. 4; [0059,0066,0089]); a fluid supply device configured to supply a supercritical fluid from a fluid storage tank 522 to the first supply port through a first supply line and the second supply port through a second supply line of the processing chamber (to first supply port 535 through valve 526 and to second supply port 538 through valve 525)[0059]; a fluid discharge device configured to discharge (i.e. capable of discharging) the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber (exhaust port 539 and line) (id.); and a control device configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, wherein the fluid supply device comprises a first supply line (line with supply port 535) connected to an upper portion of the processing chamber and a second supply line (line with supply port 538) connected to a lower portion of the processing chamber, and the control device is configured boost pressure in the processing space to a set pressure through performing a plurality of first cycles in which the supercritical fluid is supplied from the fluid storage tank into the processing space alternately through one of the first supply line and the second supply line, and then through the other of the first supply line and the second supply line (Figs. 4, 7, 10B; [0008, 0085-0089,0093]). Figure 7 shows that the pressure can be boosted from any of charging to A, charging to B, B to A and vent to any of A or B by controlling valves 516,525, 526, and 567, for example by controlling the 567 to lower pressure and then increasing (boosting) it [0076,0081,0088-0090].
US’268 teaches a blocking plate 536. US’268 also teaches that the blocking plate “may prevent supercritical fluid supplied through the first supply device from being directly sprayed onto the substrate W,” and does not definitely require it, and the radius of the blocking plate can be smaller than that of the substrate, which suggests that at least some of the supercritical fluid is not obstructed. However, because US’268 does not clearly suggest that there is an unobstructed fluid supply path between the second supply port and the lower surface of the substrate, US’155 is cited to show the obviousness of omitting a blocking plate altogether.
US’155 is analogous art in the field of processing apparatuses, which include directing supercritical fluid to an upper and a lower side of a substrate. Specifically, US’155 teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising: a processing chamber 4000 enclosing a processing space (Fig. 5; [0061]), a substrate support 4300 within the processing space [0094], a first (upper) supply port 4510 configured to supply a supercritical fluid to an upper surface of a substrate supported by the substrate support, the first supply port located at an upper portion of the processing chamber [0098], and a second (lower) supply port 4520 configured to supply the supercritical fluid directly to a lower surface of the substrate supported by the substrate support (Fig. 5; [0098-0099]), the second supply port located at a lower portion of the processing chamber with an unobstructed fluid supply path between the second supply port and the lower surface of the substrate (Fig. 5; [0109]); a fluid discharge device 4700, 4750, configured to discharge the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber [0112]; and a control device configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, wherein the control device is configured to boost pressure in the processing space to a set pressure through performing a first cycle in which the supercritical fluid is supplied from a supply line 4550 into the processing space, alternating through each of the first and the second supply ports by switching valves based on pressure (Claim 4; [0097-0098, 0012,0139]). Additionally, US’155 provides reasons for a controller to alternate between the first and second supply ports:
A supercritical fluid may be supplied through the lower supply port 4520 and then the upper supply port 4510. In an early stage of a supercritical drying process, the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 may be lower than a critical pressure, and thus a supercritical fluid supplied into the second process chamber 4000 may be liquefied. Therefore, if a supercritical fluid is supplied through the upper supply port 4510 in an early stage of a supercritical drying process, the supercritical fluid may liquefy and fall to the substrate (S) by gravity to damage the substrate (S). A supercritical fluid may be supplied through the upper supply port 4510 after the supercritical fluid is supplied into the second process chamber 4000 through the lower supply port 4520 and the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 reaches a critical pressure, so as to prevent the supercritical fluid from liquefying and falling to the substrate (S).
[0100]
Thus, it would have been obvious either to include a blocking plate with a smaller radius than that of the substrate, so that a supply path between a lower supply port and the substrate is unobstructed and so that the lower supply port supplies at least some of the supercritical fluid directly to the substrate as US’268 teaches or to omit the blocking plate altogether as US’155, analogous art for an obviously similar apparatus, suggests, and because in teaching that a blocking plate “may” be used, US’268 also suggests that it is not required, and even when required, US’268 suggests that it does not have to fully obstruct a supply path between the lower supply port and the substrate.
Regarding Claim 2, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the set pressure is 80 bar to 150 bar [0072].
Regarding Claim 3, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the control device is configured to the supercritical fluid through only the first supply line for a first time and immediately thereafter, supplying the supercritical fluid through the second supply line for a second time, and the first time and the second time are independently selected from a range of 1 second to 10 seconds by controlling valves 516,525, 526, and 567 [0076,0081,0088-0090,0096].
Regarding Claim 4, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the first time and the second time are same.
Regarding Claim 5, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein each of the plurality of first cycles includes supplying the supercritical fluid through only the second supply line for a first time and, immediately thereafter, supplying the supercritical fluid through the first supply line for a second time, and the first time and the second time are independently selected from a range of 1 second to 10 seconds by controlling valves 516,525, 526, and 567 (Fig. 4; [0008,0085-0088,0093]).
Regarding Claim 6, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, including wherein the plurality of first cycles are performed 8 to 16 times [0008].
Regarding Claim 7, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the control device is further configured to perform second cycles in which pressure in the processing space is alternately decreased and increased, after the first cycles are performed [0008,0085-0088,0093].
Regarding Claim 8, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the second cycles are performed 1 to 32 times (id.).
Regarding Claim 9, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein a pressure difference in the processing space generated by performing the second cycles is selected from a range of 5 bar to 75 bar [0072].
Regarding Claim 10, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the second cycles are performed in such a way that the supercritical fluid is alternately supplied through the first supply line and the supercritical fluid is discharged through the fluid discharge device (Claim 22; [0064,0100]).
Regarding Claim 11, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the control device is further configured to discharge the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber through the fluid discharge device, after the second cycles are performed (id.).
Regarding Claims 12 and 17, US’268 teaches a semiconductor manufacturing apparatus comprising: a first chamber module configured to coat (i.e. capable of coating) a photoresist onto a substrate; a second chamber module configured to bake (i.e. capable of baking) the photoresist on the substrate; a third chamber module configured to irradiate (i.e. capable of irradiating) an extreme ultraviolet (EUV) onto the photoresist on the substrate through an exposure mask; a fourth chamber module configured to provide (i.e. capable of providing) a developing solution to the exposed photoresist; a fifth chamber module configured to supply (i.e. capable of supplying) a supercritical fluid to the substrate coated with the photoresist to which the developing solution is provided; and a substrate transfer device configured to transfer (i.e. capable of transferring) the substrate between the first through fifth chamber modules, wherein the fifth chamber module comprises: a processing chamber 530 enclosing a processing space, a substrate support 533 within the processing space (Fig. 4; [0056-0057]), a first supply port 535 configured to supply a supercritical fluid to an upper surface of a substrate supported by the substrate support and the first supply port located at an upper portion of the processing chamber, and a second supply port 538 configured to supply the supercritical fluid to a lower surface of the substrate supported by the substrate support and the second supply port located at a lower portion of the processing chamber (Fig. 4; [0059,0066,0089]); a fluid supply device configured to supply (i.e. capable of supplying) a supercritical fluid from a fluid storage tank 522 to the first supply port through a first supply line and the second supply port through a second supply line of the processing chamber (to first supply port 535 through valve 526 and to second supply port 538 through valve 525)[0059]; a fluid discharge device configured to discharge (i.e. capable of discharging) the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber; and a control device configured to control configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, and the fluid supply device comprises a first supply line connected to an upper portion of the processing chamber and a second supply line connected to a lower portion of the processing chamber, and the control device is configured to perform a plurality of first cycles in which the supercritical fluid is alternately supplied into the processing space through the first supply line and the second supply line to boost (i.e. capable of boosting) pressure in the processing space to a set pressure (Figs. 4, 7, 10B; [0008, 0085-0089,0093]). See, also, rejection of Claim 1 above.
US’268 teaches a blocking plate 536. US’268 also teaches that the blocking plate “may prevent supercritical fluid supplied through the first supply device from being directly sprayed onto the substrate W,” and does not definitely require it, and the radius of the blocking plate can be smaller than that of the substrate, which suggests that at least some of the supercritical fluid is not obstructed. However, because US’268 does not clearly suggest that there is an unobstructed fluid supply path between the second supply port and the lower surface of the substrate, US’155 is cited to show the obviousness of omitting a blocking plate altogether.
US’155 is analogous art in the field of processing apparatuses, which include directing supercritical fluid to an upper and a lower side of a substrate. Specifically, US’155 teaches an apparatus for processing a substrate, the apparatus comprising: a processing chamber 4000 enclosing a processing space (Fig. 5; [0061]), a substrate support 4300 within the processing space [0094], a first (upper) supply port 4510 configured to supply a supercritical fluid to an upper surface of a substrate supported by the substrate support, the first supply port located at an upper portion of the processing chamber [0098], and a second (lower) supply port 4520 configured to supply the supercritical fluid directly to a lower surface of the substrate supported by the substrate support (Fig. 5; [0098-0099]), the second supply port located at a lower portion of the processing chamber with an unobstructed fluid supply path between the second supply port and the lower surface of the substrate (Fig. 5; [0109]); a fluid discharge device 4700, 4750, configured to discharge the supercritical fluid from the processing chamber [0112]; and a control device configured to control operations of the fluid supply device and the fluid discharge device, wherein the control device is configured to boost pressure in the processing space to a set pressure through performing a first cycle in which the supercritical fluid is supplied from a supply line 4550 into the processing space, alternating through each of the first and the second supply ports by switching valves based on pressure (Claim 4; [0097-0098, 0012,0139]). Additionally, US’155 provides reasons for a controller to alternate between the first and second supply ports:
A supercritical fluid may be supplied through the lower supply port 4520 and then the upper supply port 4510. In an early stage of a supercritical drying process, the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 may be lower than a critical pressure, and thus a supercritical fluid supplied into the second process chamber 4000 may be liquefied. Therefore, if a supercritical fluid is supplied through the upper supply port 4510 in an early stage of a supercritical drying process, the supercritical fluid may liquefy and fall to the substrate (S) by gravity to damage the substrate (S). A supercritical fluid may be supplied through the upper supply port 4510 after the supercritical fluid is supplied into the second process chamber 4000 through the lower supply port 4520 and the inside pressure of the second process chamber 4000 reaches a critical pressure, so as to prevent the supercritical fluid from liquefying and falling to the substrate (S).
[0100]
Thus, it would have been obvious either to include a blocking plate with a smaller radius than that of the substrate, so that a supply path between a lower supply port and the substrate is unobstructed and so that the lower supply port supplies at least some of the supercritical fluid directly to the substrate as US’268 teaches or to omit the blocking plate altogether as US’155, analogous art for an obviously similar apparatus, suggests, and because in teaching that a blocking plate “may” be used, US’268 also suggests that it is not required, and even when required, US’268 suggests that it does not have to fully obstruct a supply path between the lower supply port and the substrate.
Regarding Claim 13, Claim 12 is drawn to an apparatus, which includes structural features capable of performing certain operations on a supercritical fluid, including supplying and discharging a supercritical fluid. The claimed apparatus does not itself include a supercritical fluid. Rather, a supercritical fluid is recited as an aspect of an intended use, not given patentable weight for the claimed apparatus, capable of performing the recited intended use(s). The apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the intended use on supercritical carbon dioxide, even were supercritical carbon dioxide not taught. However, US’268 also teaches the recited intended use, wherein the supercritical fluid comprises CO2 [0067].
Regarding Claim 14, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the control device is further configured to perform second cycles in which pressure in the processing space is alternately decreased and increased, 1 to 32 times after the first cycles are performed [0008,0085-0088,0093].
Regarding Claim 15, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein a pressure difference in the processing space generated by performing the second cycles is selected from a range of 5 bar to 75 bar [0072].
Regarding Claim 16, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the pressure in the processing space is increased when the supercritical fluid is supplied through the first supply line and the pressure in the processing space is decreased when the supercritical fluid is discharged through the fluid discharge device (Claim 21).
Regarding Claim 18, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the control device is further configured to alternately supply the supercritical fluid through the first supply line for a first time and the supercritical fluid through the second supply line for a second time, and the first time and the second time are independently selected from a range of 1 second to 10 seconds [0096].
Regarding Claim 19, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the control device is further configured to perform second cycles in which pressure in the processing space is alternately decreased and increased, after the first cycle is performed, and the pressure in the processing space is increased when the supercritical fluid is supplied through the first supply line, and the pressure in the processing space is decreased when the supercritical fluid is discharged through the fluid discharge device (Claim 21; [0008,0085-0088,0093]).
Regarding Claim 20, the apparatus of US’268 is capable of performing the recited intended use, wherein the second cycles are performed 1 to 32 times (id).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to the claims, filed 9 June 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendment to the claims, which raises issues under 35 USC 103.
In response to Applicant’s argument in footnote 1 on page 10 regarding a disagreement about interpretation under means plus function (Remarks, p. 10), it is not clear what means-plus-function the argument refers to. To the Examiner’s knowledge, he has not interpreted a limitation under means plus function. The Office Action contains no analysis of generic placeholder or any association of the word “means” or generic placeholder with a structure in the specification. So, Examiner does not understand the context of the footnote.
In response to Applicant’s argument that US’268 fails to teach an unobstructed path because of a blocking plate (Remarks, pp. 11-12), Examiner agrees. However, the omission of a blocking plate is obvious as shown by Kim et al. (US 2013/0025155), analogous prior art.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
ALEXANDER M WEDDLE
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/ALEXANDER M WEDDLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712