DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the plug body of Menolotto does not extend out of the two-dimensional plane defined by the shaft and the direction of the cable exit into the third dimension. However, as discussed in the office action below it is clear that Figure 7-8 show the distal portion of the body extending into a third dimension in -Y direction considering Y-Z plane annotated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 5, line 2 recites “a first side”. It is not clear where the limitation “a first side” is referring to.
Regarding Claim 6, line 2 recites “a second side”. It is not clear where the limitation “a second side” is referring to.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Menolotto et al. [US 8162697 B1].
Regarding Claim 1, Monolotto discloses an audio plug (100, Fig 5-8) comprising: a shaft (see annotated Fig 8) with a 1/4 inch diameter (Monolotto discloses the plug 100 as a TS plug which are known to have an original 1.4 inch diameter size, see column 1, lines 15-25 and column 5, lines 53-55); a body (see annotated Figure 6) having a proximal segment and a distal segment (see annotated Figure 7, 8), wherein the proximal segment is coupled to an end of the shaft and oriented at a first angle of 90 degrees relative to the shaft in a two-dimensional shaft-proximal plane (X-Y plane, see annotated Fig 8), wherein the distal segment is arranged at a second angle to the proximal segment such that the distal segment extends from the shaft-proximal plane into a third dimension (consider Y-Z plane, distal end extends into a third dimension -Y direction, see annotated Fig 7), wherein the body is configured to house electrical connections between a cable (not shown, see Column 5 lines 53-65) received through an exit in the distal segment and electrical contacts (102) of the shaft.
Annotated Figure 7 and 8 [Menolotto et al.]
Regarding Claim 2, Monolotto discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Menolotto further discloses the body is cylindrical (see Fig 5-8).
Regarding Claim 7, Monolotto discloses all the limitations of claim 1, Menolotto further discloses the audio plug (100) as in claim 5, wherein the plug (100) is inserted into a guitar with a output jack plate (see field of invention, Column 1, lines 5-11). The plug being rotated around an axis of the shaft until the cable received through the exit of the distal segment of the audio plug is arranged parallel to the surface of the strat-style guitar by virtue of the second angle between the proximal and distal segments of the body is an intended use of the structure of Monolotto’s invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 3, the prior art of record do not explicitly disclose the second angle demarcating the proximal and distal segments of the body ranges from at least 90 degrees to 180 degrees or less, along with all other limitations of claim 3 and 1.
Claims 4-6 are objected to as they are dependent on claim 3.Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/T.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/TULSIDAS C PATEL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834