DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-8, 10, 11, 13, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huppmann et al. [US 2019/0097088 A1], “Huppmann” in view of Hsu et al. [US 2011/0215467 A1], “Hsu” and further in view of Kim et al. [US 2014/0209955 A1], “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, Huppmann discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 2 and 3 – see both figures for reference numbering clarification) comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3, 60) including electrical patterns (¶[0115] and 98, 93, 94 and 96 of Fig. 2);
a pixel (100) disposed on the substrate (60), the pixel (100) including:
a first light emitting stack (10a);
a second light emitting stack (10b) disposed on (as shown) the first light emitting stack (10a) with respect to a light emitting direction of the apparatus (as shown); and
a third light emitting stack (10c) disposed on (as shown) the second light emitting stack (10b) with respect to a light emitting direction of the apparatus (as shown);
first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes disposed between the pixel (100) and the substrate (60), and electrically connecting the pixel to the substrate (see Fig, 2); and
bonding metal layers (68, 66, 64) disposed between the first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes and the electrical patterns (electrical patterns are within carrier), wherein:
the bonding metal layers are contact with the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively (¶[0118] -¶[0119]);
the first light emitting stack (10a) is electrically connected to the first connection electrode (78a – as shown);
the second light emitting stack (10b) is electrically connected to the second connection electrode (78b – as shown);
the third light emitting stack (10c – as shown) is electrically connected to the third connection electrode (78c via connector 120); and
each of the first, second and third emitting stack is configured to be driven independently (¶[0114] teaches the semiconductor bodies (10a to 10c) can be controlled independently of each other).
Huppmann does not discloses each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively, and a first region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal layers protrude to outside of the grooves.
However, changing the top surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Hsu discloses a suitable alternative electrical contact shape. Specifically, Hsu discloses a connection structure (210 and 220) between two device (Fig. 3A-Fig. 3C). Hsu discloses a bonding pad (222) wherein the end surface includes a planar region and a groove. Hsu discloses a metal pillar (212) cover only the groove (as shown in Fig. 3C). Further, a first region of the bonding metal pillar (212) are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal pillar protrude to a region outside of the grooves in an upward direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove as taught in Hsu in the device of Huppmann such that each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a first region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal layers protrude to outside of the grooves because the u-shape structure on the surface of the bonding pad help to achieve better conductivity between the bonding pad and the pillar. Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Huppmann in view of Hsu does not disclose a barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer.
However, Kim discloses the semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 7, 200A) includes a first bonding conductive layer (770). Kim further discloses a first main bonding layer (772) with a groove connected to the LED, a first filling bonding layer (774) within the groove of the main bonding layer (772), and a first barrier layer (776) disposed between the first main bonding layer (772) and the first filling bonding layer (774). The barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a barrier layer as taught in Kim in the device of Huppmann as modified such that the barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer because a barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces (¶[0119] of Kim).
Regarding claim 5, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 1, Huppmann discloses each of the first (10a), second (10b), and third light (10c) emitting stacks includes a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (16) and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (14); and the first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes are electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layers (14) of the first (10a), second (10b), and third light (10c) emitting stacks, respectively – (Fig. 3 shows that the first connection electrode (78a) is electrically connected to the a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (14) of the first light emitting stack (10a) through contact layer (34), the second connection electrode (78b) is electrically connected to the a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (14) of the second light emitting stack (10b) through contact layer (30b) and the third connection electrode (78c) is electrically connected to the a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (14) of the third light emitting stack (10c) through contact pad (120). The Examiner notes direct contact physical contact is not required, only electrical contact).
Regarding claim 6, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 1, Huppmann discloses the first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes are disposed in an upper region of the first light emitting stack (10a) (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 5, Huppmann discloses a first pad (Fig. 3, 30a) electrically connecting the first connection electrode (78a) to the first light emitting stack (10a); a second pad (30b) electrically connecting the second connection electrode (78b) to the second light emitting stack (10b); and a third pad (120) electrically connecting the third connection electrode (78c) to the third light emitting stack (10c).
Regarding claim 8, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 1, Huppmann discloses a first lower contact electrode (112) contacting the second conductivity type semiconductor layer (16) of the first light emitting stack (10a); a second lower contact electrode (32 of stack 30a) contacting the second conductivity type semiconductor layer (16) of the second light emitting stack (10b); and a third lower contact electrode (32 of stack 30b) contacting the second conductivity type semiconductor layer (16) of the third light emitting stack (10c),
a first pad (Fig. 3, 30a) electrically connecting the first connection electrode (78a) to the first light emitting stack (10a); a second pad (30b) electrically connecting the second connection electrode (78b) to the second light emitting stack (10b); and a third pad (120) electrically connecting the third connection electrode (78c) to the third light emitting stack (10c).
wherein the first, second, and third pads are connected to the first, second, and third lower contact electrodes, respectively (the layers are electrically connected to each other as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 10, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 1, Huppmann discloses a fourth connection (Fig. 3, 112) electrode connected to the first, second, and third light emitting stacks (¶[0120] The first contact 112 can be electrically conductively connected to all semiconductor bodies via the serial connections through the pairs of connection layers (30a) and (30b)).
Regarding claim 11, Huppmann discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 2 and 3 – see both figures for reference numbering clarification), comprising:
a substrate (Fig. 3, 60) including conductive patterns (¶[0115] and 98, 93, 94 and 96 of Fig. 2);
first (10c), second (10b), and third (10a) light emitting stacks on (as shown) the substrate (60);
a first connection electrode (78c) disposed on and electrically connected (LED is electrically connected via pad (120)) to the first light emitting stack (10c);
a second connection electrode (78b) disposed on and electrically connected (electrically connected via layer (30b)) to the second light emitting stack (10b);
a third connection electrode (78a) disposed on and electrically connected (electrically connected via layer (30a)) to the third light emitting stack (10a);
a fourth connection electrode (112) electrically connected to the first, second, and third light emitting stacks (¶[0120] The first contact (fourth connection electrode) (112) can be electrically conductively connected to all semiconductor bodies via the serial connections through the pairs of connection layers (30a) and (30b)); and
bonding metal layers (68, 66, 64, 62) disposed between the first (78c), second (78b), third (114), and fourth connection electrode (112); and the conductive patterns, wherein:
the bonding metal layers are in contact with the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively (¶[0118] -¶[0119]);
the first light emitting stack (10c) is electrically connected (LED is electrically connected via pad (120)) to the first connection electrode (78c);
the second light emitting stack (10b) is electrically connected (electrically connected via layer (30b)) to the second connection electrode (78b); and
the third light emitting stack (10c) is electrically connected (electrically connected via layer (30a)) to the third connection electrode (78a).
Huppmann does not discloses each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a first region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal layers protrude outside of the grooves.
However, changing the top surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Hsu discloses a suitable alternative electrical contact shape. Specifically, Hsu discloses a connection structure (210 and 220) between two device (Fig. 3A-Fig. 3C). Hsu discloses a bonding pad (222) wherein the end surface includes a planar region and a groove. Hsu discloses a metal pillar (212) cover only the groove (as shown in Fig. 3C). Further, a first region of the bonding metal pillar (212) are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal pillar protrude to a region outside of the grooves in an upward direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove as taught in Hsu in the device of Huppmann such that each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a first region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal layers protrude outside of the grooves because the u-shape structure on the surface of the bonding pad help to achieve better conductivity between the bonding pad and the pillar. Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Huppmann in view of Hsu does not disclose a barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer.
However, Kim discloses the semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 7, 200A) includes a first bonding conductive layer (770). Kim further discloses a first main bonding layer (772) with a groove connected to the LED, a first filling bonding layer (774) within the groove of the main bonding layer (772), and a first barrier layer (776) disposed between the first main bonding layer (772) and the first filling bonding layer (774). The barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a barrier layer as taught in Kim in the device of Huppmann as modified such that the barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer because a barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces (¶[0119] of Kim).
Regarding claim 13, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann disclose each of the first, second, and third light emitting stacks is configured to emit light having different peak wavelength (¶[0104] teach the optically active regions of different semiconductor bodies can be embodied to generate light of different colors, for example in the red, green and blue spectral range).
Regarding claim 17, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann disclose each of the first, second, and third emitting stacks is configured to be driven independently (¶[0114] teaches the semiconductor bodies (10a to 10c) can be controlled independently of each other).
Regarding claim 18, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann disclose wherein:
each of the first (10c), second (10b), and third (10a) light emitting stacks includes a first conductivity type semiconductor layer (16) and a second conductivity type semiconductor layer (14);
the first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes are electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layers (14) of the first, second, and third light emitting stacks, respectively (as shown in Fig. 3, the first (78a) connection electrodes are electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layers (14) of the first light emitting stack (10c) through conductive layer (30a), the second (78b) connection electrodes are electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layers (14) of the second light emitting stack (10b) through conductive layer (30b) and the third (78c) connection electrodes are electrically connected to the second conductivity type semiconductor layers (14) of the third light emitting stack (10a) through conductive pad (120)); and the fourth connection electrode (112) is electrically connected to the first conductivity type semiconductor layers (16) of the first, second, and third light emitting stacks (¶[0120] The first contact (fourth connection electrode) (112) can be electrically conductively connected to all semiconductor bodies via the serial connections through the pairs of connection layers (30a) and (30b) – The Examiner notes that connection layers (30a) and (30b) are in contact with the first conductivity type semiconductor layers (16) of the first, and second light emitting stacks).
Regarding claim 19, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann disclose the first connection electrode (Fig. 3, 118) is disposed in an upper region of the first light emitting stack (10c) (as shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 20, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann disclose a first pad (Fig. 3, 120) electrically connecting the first connection electrode (78c) to the first light emitting stack (10c); a second pad (30b) electrically connecting the second connection electrode (78b) to the second light emitting stack (10b); a third pad (30a) electrically connecting the third connection electrode (78a) to the third light emitting stack (10a); and a fourth pad electrically connecting the fourth connection electrode (112) to the first, second, and third light emitting stacks (¶[0120] The first contact (fourth connection electrode) (112) can be electrically conductively connected to all semiconductor bodies via the serial connections through the pairs of connection layers (30a) and (30b) – The Examiner notes direct physical connection is needed).
Claims 4 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huppmann et al. [US 2019/0097088 A1], “Huppmann” in view of Hsu et al. [US 2011/0215467 A1], “Hsu” and Kim et al. [US 2014/0209955 A1], “Kim” as applied to claim 1 and 11 and further in view of Chang et al. [US 2020/0212006 A1], “Chang”.
Regarding claim 4, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 1, Huppmann disclose the bonding metal layer is solder (¶[0117]) but does not explicitly disclose the bonding metal layer includes Au.
However, using a suitable alternative material is well-known in the semiconductor art. Specifically, Chang discloses conductive pillars/vias/bumps/posts made of such as solder, gold, copper, or other suitable conductive materials (¶[0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a suitable alternative material such as gold as taught in Chang in the device of Huppmann as modified such that the bonding metal layer includes Au because gold is a suitable material to form electrical connections (¶[0025] of Chang), further a suitable alternative material and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a determination of obviousness (See MPEP §2144.07).
Regarding claim 12, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann disclose the bonding metal layer is solder (¶[0117]) but does not explicitly disclose the bonding metal layer includes Au.
However, using a suitable alternative material is well-known in the semiconductor art. Specifically, Chang discloses conductive pillars/vias/bumps/posts made of such as solder, gold, copper, or other suitable conductive materials (¶[0025]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a suitable alternative material such as gold as taught in Chang in the device of Huppmann as modified such that the bonding metal layer includes Au because a suitable alternative material and the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a determination of obviousness (See MPEP §2144.07).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huppmann et al. [US 2019/0097088 A1], “Huppmann” in view of Hsu et al. [US 2011/0215467 A1], “Hsu” and Kim et al. [US 2014/0209955 A1], “Kim” as applied to claim 5 and further in view of Cha et al. [US 2017/0288093 A1], “Cha”.
Regarding claim 9, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 5, Huppmann disclose a first upper contact electrode (112) in ohmic contact with the first conductivity type semiconductor layer (16) of the first light emitting stack (10a), wherein the first conductivity type semiconductor layer of the first light emitting stack has a recessed region (the recess portion of opening (76). Huppmann does not disclose the first upper contact electrode is disposed in the recessed region.
However, Cha discloses an LED stack (Fig. 7, 50) with the first to third semiconductor light emitting units (10, 20, and 30) have first conductivity-type semiconductor layers (10a, 20a, and 30a), second conductivity-type semiconductor layers (10c, 20c, and 30c), and active layers (10b, 20b, and 30b) disposed therebetween, respectively. The first conductivity-type semiconductor layers (10a, 20a, and 30a) is recessed. The common electrode (CE) is ohmically connected to the first conductivity-type semiconductor layers (10a, 20a, and 30a) within the mesa-etched region (ME1) of the LED stack.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the first conductivity layer to have a recess as taught in Cha in the Huppmann as modified such that the first conductivity type semiconductor layer of the first light emitting stack has a recessed region, and the first upper contact electrode is disposed in the recessed region because such a modification would allow for the first conductivity-type semiconductor layer to have a recess which allows an electrode to be formed within to improve electrical connection to the layer (¶[0075] of Cha).
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huppmann et al. [US 2019/0097088 A1], “Huppmann” in view of Hsu et al. [US 2011/0215467 A1], “Hsu” and Kim et al. [US 2014/0209955 A1], “Kim” as applied in claim 11, and further in view of Higuchi et al. [US 2015/0115440 A1], “Higuchi”.
Regarding claim 14, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann as modified does not explicitly discloses each of the first, second, third, and fourth connection electrodes has an inclined side surface.
However, changing the inclined side surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Higuchi discloses an electrode structure (Fig. 6, 120b) has an end surface includes each of a planar region, a groove and inclined side walls and the bonding metal layer (220d) cover only the groove of the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove with inclined sidewalls as taught in Higuchi in the device of Huppmann as modified such that each of the first, second, third, and fourth connection electrodes has an inclined side surface because the inclined sidewall with the groove will help improve joint/bond structures (¶[0028] of Higuchi). Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 16, Huppmann as modified discloses claim 11, Huppmann as modified does not explicitly discloses the grooves have inclined side surfaces.
However, changing the inclined side surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Higuchi discloses an electrode structure (Fig. 6, 120b) has an end surface includes each of a planar region, a groove and inclined side walls and the bonding metal layer (220d) cover only the groove of the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove with inclined sidewalls as taught in Higuchi in the device of Huppmann as modified such that the grooves have inclined side surfaces because the inclined sidewall with the groove will help improve joint/bond structures (¶[0028] of Higuchi). Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-13, 15, and 17-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-9, 11, 12, 16, 17 and 20 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,688,840 B2 in view of Huppmann et al. [US 2019/0097088 A1], “Huppmann” and in view of Hsu et al. [US 2011/0215467 A1], “Hsu” and further in view of Kim et al. [US 2014/0209955 A1], “Kim”.
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of US 11,688,840 B2 discloses a display apparatus, comprising: a pixel disposed on the substrate, the pixel including: a first light emitting stack; a second light emitting stack disposed on the first light emitting stack; and a third light emitting stack disposed on the second light emitting stack; first, second, and third, connection electrodes disposed between the pixel and the substrate, and electrically connecting the pixel to the substrate: and bonding metal layers disposed between the first, second, and third connection electrodes, wherein: each of the first, second, and third connection electrodes includes a groove on a surface thereof; the bonding metal layers cover the grooves of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes, respectively; the first light emitting stack is electrically connected to the first connection electrode; the second light emitting stack is electrically connected to the second connection electrode; the third light emitting stack is electrically connected to the third connection electrode; and each of the first, second and third emitting stack is configured to be driven independently. US 11,688,840 B2 does not explicitly disclose a substrate including electrical patterns wherein the bonding metal layers disposed between the first, second, and third connection electrodes and the electrical patterns.
However, Huppmann discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 2 and 3) including a substrate (Fig. 3, 60) including electrical patterns (¶[0115] and 98, 93, 94 and 96 of Fig. 2). A pixel (100) disposed on the substrate (60), the pixel (100) including: a first light emitting stack (10a), a second light emitting stack (10b) disposed on (as shown) the first light emitting stack (10a), and a third light emitting stack (10c) disposed on (as shown) the second light emitting stack (10b). The first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes disposed between the pixel (100) and the substrate (60), and electrically connecting the pixel to the substrate (see Fig, 2). Further, the bonding metal layers (68, 66, 64) disposed between the first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes and the electrical patterns (electrical patterns are within carrier), and each of the first, second and third emitting stack is configured to be driven independently (¶[0114] teaches the semiconductor bodies (10a to 10c) can be controlled independently of each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to a substrate including electrical patterns as taught in Huppmann in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 such that the substrate including electrical patterns wherein the bonding metal layers disposed between the first, second, and third connection electrodes and the electrical patterns because providing the substrate that is electrical connection will provide a way to independently drive the LEDs (¶[0114] of Huppmann).
US 11,688,840 B2 in view of Huppmann does not discloses each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a region of the bonding metal layers protrude to a region outside of the grooves.
However, changing the top surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Hsu discloses a suitable alternative electrical contact shape. Specifically, Hsu discloses a connection structure (210 and 220) between two device (Fig. 3A-Fig. 3C). Hsu discloses a bonding pad (222) wherein the end surface includes a planar region and a groove. Hsu discloses a metal pillar (212) cover only the groove (as shown in Fig. 3C). Further, a first region of the bonding metal pillar (212) are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal pillar protrude to a region outside of the grooves in an upward direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove as taught in Hsu in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a region of the bonding metal layers protrude to a region outside of the grooves because the u-shape structure on the surface of the bonding pad help to achieve better conductivity between the bonding pad and the pillar. Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
US 11,688,840 B2 as modified Huppmann and Hsu does not disclose a barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer.
However, Kim discloses the semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 7, 200A) includes a first bonding conductive layer (770). Kim further discloses a first main bonding layer (772) with a groove connected to the LED, a first filling bonding layer (774) within the groove of the main bonding layer (772), and a first barrier layer (776) disposed between the first main bonding layer (772) and the first filling bonding layer (774). The barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a barrier layer as taught in Kim in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that the barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer because a barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces (¶[0119] of Kim).
Claim 4 is disclose by claim 4 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 5 is disclose by claim 5 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 6 is disclose by claim 6 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 7 is disclose by claim 7 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 8 is disclose by claim 8 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 9 is disclose by claim 9 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 10 is disclose by claim 1 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 of US 11,688,840 B2 discloses a display apparatus, comprising: first, second, and third light emitting stacks on the substrate; a first connection electrode disposed on and electrically connected to the first light emitting stack; a second connection electrode disposed on and electrically connected to the second light emitting stack; a third connection electrode disposed on and electrically connected to the third light emitting stack; a fourth connection electrode electrically connected to the first, second, and third light emitting stacks; and bonding metal layers disposed between the first, second, third, and fourth connection electrode ; and the conductive patterns, wherein: each of the first, second, and third connection electrodes includes a groove; the bonding metal layers cover the grooves of the first, second, third, and fourth connection electrodes, respectively; the first light emitting stack is electrically connected to the first connection electrode; the second light emitting stack is electrically connected to the second connection electrode and the third light emitting stack is electrically connected to the third connection electrode. US 11,688,840 B2 does not explicitly disclose a substrate including conductive patterns.
However, Huppmann discloses a display apparatus (Fig. 2 and 3) including a substrate (Fig. 3, 60) including electrical patterns (¶[0115] and 98, 93, 94 and 96 of Fig. 2). A pixel (100) disposed on the substrate (60), the pixel (100) including: a first light emitting stack (10a), a second light emitting stack (10b) disposed on (as shown) the first light emitting stack (10a), and a third light emitting stack (10c) disposed on (as shown) the second light emitting stack (10b). The first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes disposed between the pixel (100) and the substrate (60), and electrically connecting the pixel to the substrate (see Fig, 2). Further, the bonding metal layers (68, 66, 64) disposed between the first (78a), second (78b), and third (78c) connection electrodes and the electrical patterns (electrical patterns are within carrier), and each of the first, second and third emitting stack is configured to be driven independently (¶[0114] teaches the semiconductor bodies (10a to 10c) can be controlled independently of each other).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to a substrate including electrical patterns as taught in Huppmann in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 such that a substrate including conductive patterns because providing the substrate that is electrical connection will provide a way to independently drive the LEDs (¶[0114] of Huppmann).
US 11,688,840 B2 in view of Huppmann does not discloses each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a region of the bonding metal layers protrude to a region outside of the grooves.
However, changing the top surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Hsu discloses a suitable alternative electrical contact shape. Specifically, Hsu discloses a connection structure (210 and 220) between two device (Fig. 3A-Fig. 3C). Hsu discloses a bonding pad (222) wherein the end surface includes a planar region and a groove. Hsu discloses a metal pillar (212) cover only the groove (as shown in Fig. 3C). Further, a first region of the bonding metal pillar (212) are positioned within the groove and a second region of the bonding metal pillar protrude to a region outside of the grooves in an upward direction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove as taught in Hsu in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that each of the first, second, and third, connection electrodes includes has an end surface, thereof the end surface includes each of a planar region and a groove and the bonding metal layers cover only the grooves of the first, second, and third connection electrodes, respectively and a region of the bonding metal layers are positioned within the groove and a region of the bonding metal layers protrude to a region outside of the grooves because the u-shape structure on the surface of the bonding pad help to achieve better conductivity between the bonding pad and the pillar. Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
US 11,688,840 B2 as modified Huppmann and Hsu does not disclose a barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer.
However, Kim discloses the semiconductor light-emitting device (Fig. 7, 200A) includes a first bonding conductive layer (770). Kim further discloses a first main bonding layer (772) with a groove connected to the LED, a first filling bonding layer (774) within the groove of the main bonding layer (772), and a first barrier layer (776) disposed between the first main bonding layer (772) and the first filling bonding layer (774). The barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use a barrier layer as taught in Kim in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that the barrier layer is positioned within the groove of each of the first, second and third connection electrode, and the barrier layer is interposed between the connection electrode and the bonding metal layer because a barrier layer helps improve the bonding process and prevents metal diffusion between the two bonding surfaces (¶[0119] of Kim).
Claim 12 is disclose by claim 12 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Regarding claim 13, US 11,688,840 B2 as modified discloses claim 11, US 11,688,840 B2 discloses the first, second and third light emitting stacks. US 11,688,840 B2 does not explicitly disclose the light emitting stacks emit light having different peak wavelengths.
However, Huppmann disclose each of the first, second, and third light emitting stacks is configured to emit light having different peak wavelength. Huppmann teaches the optically active regions of different semiconductor bodies can be embodied to generate light of different colors, for example in the red, green and blue spectral range (¶[0104]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to the light emitting stacks with different peak wavelength as taught in Huppmann in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that each of the first, second, and third light emitting stacks is configured to emit light having different peak wavelength because the radiation power generated by the device in the respective spectral range can be increased with a variety of wavelength (¶[0104] of Huppmann).
Claim 17 is disclose by claim 11 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 18 is disclose by claim 16 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 19 is disclose by claim 17 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claim 20 is disclose by claim 20 of US 11,688,840 B2.
Claims 14 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,688,840 B2 in view of Huppmann et al. [US 2019/0097088 A1], “Huppmann” in view of Hsu et al. [US 2011/0215467 A1], “Hsu” and Kim et al. [US 2014/0209955 A1], “Kim” and further in view of Higuchi et al. [US 2015/0115440 A1], “Higuchi”.
Regarding claim 14, US 11,688,840 B2 as modified discloses claim 11, US 11,688,840 B2 as modified does not explicitly discloses each of the first, second, third, and fourth connection electrodes has an inclined side surface.
However, changing the inclined side surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Higuchi discloses an electrode structure (Fig. 6, 120b) has an end surface includes each of a planar region, a groove and inclined side walls and the bonding metal layer (220d) cover only the groove of the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove with inclined sidewalls as taught in Higuchi in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that each of the first, second, third, and fourth connection electrodes has an inclined side surface because the inclined sidewall with the groove will help improve joint/bond structures (¶[0028] of Higuchi). Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding claim 16, US 11,688,840 B2 as modified discloses claim 11, US 11,688,840 B2 as modified does not explicitly discloses the grooves have inclined side surfaces.
However, changing the inclined side surface of an electrode is well-known in the semiconductor art. Higuchi discloses an electrode structure (Fig. 6, 120b) has an end surface includes each of a planar region, a groove and inclined side walls and the bonding metal layer (220d) cover only the groove of the electrode.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to change the shape of the top surface of the electrical contact to a groove with inclined sidewalls as taught in Higuchi in the device of US 11,688,840 B2 as modified such that the grooves have inclined side surfaces because the inclined sidewall with the groove will help improve joint/bond structures (¶[0028] of Higuchi). Further, the change in shape has been held a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed device was significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (MPEP 2144.04).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant has argued, Hsu cannot be modified to include the barrier layer, see remarks on pages 9 – 12.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that Hsu is nonanalogous art, it has been held that a prior art reference must either be in the field of the inventor’s endeavor or, if not, then be reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, in order to be relied upon as a basis for rejection of the claimed invention. See In re Oetiker, 977 F.2d 1443, 24 USPQ2d 1443 (Fed. Cir. 1992). In this case, Hsu is specifically relied up for the shape of an electrode structure which is with the field of the inventor’s endeavor in the semiconductor art, not the material property of the electrode connection. Hsu is relied upon to teach that the connection electrodes of Huppmann can be formed with grooves such that the bonding metal covers only the groove . Kim teaches that a barrier layer can also be used between the two layers to aid in the bonding process.
As such the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ikezawa [US 2008/0251799 A1] discloses three types of LED elements stacked one on another with electrical contacts connecting to each semiconductor layers.
Cao [US 2007/0170444 A1] discloses the LED chip is comprised of a substrate and a plurality of light emitting structures with electrical contacts connecting to each semiconductor layers.
Kim et al. [US 2019/0165207 A1] discloses a light emitting chip includes a light emitting structure including a first light emitting sub-unit, a second light emitting sub-unit, and a third light emitting sub-unit vertically stacked on each other and with connection electrodes connected to each LED.
Ho et al. [US 2007/0045869 A1] teaches contacts with a groove structure.
Chou et al. [US 2007/0205520 A1] teaches contact with a groove structure.
Yuzawa et al . [US 2005/0272243 A1] teaches contact with a groove structure.
Daizo et al. [US 2015/0255433 A1] teaches contact with a groove structure.
Liao [US 2014/0061906 A1] teaches contact with a groove structure.
Lin et al. [US 2013/0334684 A1] teaches contact with a groove structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PRIYA M. RAMPERSAUD
Examiner
Art Unit 2897
/P.M.R/Examiner, Art Unit 2897
/MARK W TORNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891