DETAILED ACTION
1. This communication is response to the application filed 08/16/2024 havingclaims 1-20 pending and presented for examination.
Priority
2. Application filed on 05/16/2023 is a has a foreign priority TAIWAN 112105197 02/14/2023 are acknowledged.
Drawings
3. The drawings were received on 05/16/2023 and these drawings are accepted.
4. Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/13/2023, 09/19/2023 are/is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Oath/Declaration
4. The Oath/Declaration filed on 05/16/2023 is accepted by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5, 8-9, 11-12, 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US Publication US 20170111512 A1 REDDY KOTHAKAPU et al. (Hereinafter “REDDY KOTHAKAPU").
As per claim 1, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches a communication method, for a user equipment, comprising: receiving system information from a communication system, wherein the system information indicates whether Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported or includes at least one field about Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback (para 0034-0035], fig.9, UE is connected to two RATS first RAT and second RAT, wherein the second RAT supports Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, wherein the UE receives system information from second RAT which supports Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem); and determining whether to9 send an attach request message to the communication system according to the system information (para 0034-0035], based on the determination that the second RAT supports the internet protocol multimedia subsystem is supported send an attach request message to the communication system according to the system information), wherein the step of determining whether to send the attach request message comprises: determining not to send the attach request message after the user equipment receives the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported (para 0034-0035], based on the determination that first RAT which is not supported internet protocol multimedia supports, UE doesn’t send attach request to the first RAT).
20250254746
As per claim 2, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported (para 0034-0035],, UE is having two RATs supports user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported).
As per claim 4, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information including the at least one field (para 0034-0035], attach request message to the communication system according to the system information including the at least one field ).
As per claim 5, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication method of claim 1, wherein the communication system is a fifth generation communication system, an evolved packet system, a universal mobile telecommunications system or a non-3rd Generation Partnership Project network system (para 0004], communication system is a universal mobile telecommunications system).
As per claim 8, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment, comprising: a processing circuit, configured to execute a program code; and a storage circuit, coupled to the processing circuit and configured to store the program code, wherein the program code instructs the processing circuit to perform following steps: receiving system information from a communication system, wherein the system information indicates whether Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported or includes at least one field about Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback ((para 0034-0035], fig.9, UE is connected to two RATS first RAT and second RAT, wherein the second RAT supports Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, wherein the UE receives system information from second RAT which supports Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem); and determining whether to send an attach request ((para 0034-0035], based on the determination that the second RAT supports the internet protocol multimedia subsystem is supported send an attach request message to the communication system according to the system information),).. message to the communication system according to the system information, wherein the step of determining whether to send the attach request message comprises determining not to send the attach request message after the user equipment receives the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported (para 0034-0035], based on the determination that first RAT which is not supported internet protocol multimedia supports, UE doesn’t send attach request to the first RAT).
As per claim 9, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment of claim 8, wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported, (para 0034-0035],, UE is having two RATs supports user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported).
As per claim 11, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment of claim 8, wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information including the at least one field(para 0034-0035], attach request message to the communication system according to the system information including the at least one field ).
As per claim 12, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment of claim 8, wherein the communication system is a fifth generation communication system, an evolved packet system, a universal mobile telecommunications system or a non-3rd Generation Partnership Project network system(para 0004], communication system is a universal mobile telecommunications system).
As per claim 15, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication system, comprising: a processing circuit, configured to execute a program code; and a storage circuit, coupled to the processing circuit and configured to store the program code, wherein the program code instructs the processing circuit to perform following steps: sending system information, wherein the system information indicates whether Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported or includes at least one field about Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback ((para 0034-0035], fig.9, UE is connected to two RATS first RAT and second RAT, wherein the second RAT supports Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem, wherein the UE receives system information from second RAT which supports Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem); and detecting an attach request message from a user equipment ((para 0034-0035], based on the determination that the second RAT supports the internet protocol multimedia subsystem is supported send an attach request message to the communication system according to the system information),)..
monitoring for an attach request message from a user equipments wherein the communication system does not receive the attach request message after sending the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported (para 0034-0035], based on the determination that first RAT which is not supported internet protocol multimedia supports, UE doesn’t send attach request to the first RAT)..
As per claim 16, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication system of claim 15, wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported, and the user equipment does not send the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported (para 0034-0035],, UE is having two RATs supports user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem or Circuit Switch Fallback is supported and doesn’t send attach request when it is not supported)..
As per claim 17, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication system of claim 15, wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information including the at least one field, and the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported (para 0034-0035],,], wherein the user equipment sends the attach request message to the communication system according to the system information including the at least one field, and the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported)..
As per claim 18, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication system of claim 15, wherein the communication system is a fifth generation communication system, an evolved packet system, a universal mobile telecommunications system or a non-3rd Generation Partnership Project network system (para 0004], communication system is a universal mobile telecommunications system)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claim(s) 3, 6, 10, 13, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REDDY KOTHAKAPU further view of US PG Pub US 20250234396 A1 to OH et al (hereinafter OH).
As per claim 3, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication method of claim 1, OH teaches wherein the user equipment makes the communication system a low priority according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported, or the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported (para 0265], UE has two priorities for different SIMs, the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported). 20250234396
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of REDDY KOTHAKAPU by getting re-accessing, by the UE, the network of the first RAT, carrying, by wherein the user equipment makes the communication system a low priority according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported, or the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported as suggested by OH, this modification would benefit REDDY KOTHAKAPU for enabling an efficient data transfer mechanism in a mobile communication network.
As per claim 6, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication method of claim 1, OH teaches further comprising: receiving an attach accept message from the communication system after sending the attach request message (para 0016], receiving an attach accept message from the communication system after sending the attach request message ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 3.
As per claim 10, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment of claim 8, wherein the user equipment makes the communication system a low priority according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported, or the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported(para 0265], UE has two priorities for different SIMs, the user equipment searches for or registers with another communication system according to the system information indicating that Internet Protocol Multimedia Subsystem and Circuit Switch Fallback are not supported)..
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 3.
As per claim 13, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment of claim 8, wherein the user equipment receives an attach accept message from the communication system after sending the attach request message(para 0016], receiving an attach accept message from the communication system after sending the attach request message ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 3.
As per claim 19, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication system of claim 15, wherein the communication system sends an attach accept message corresponding to the attach request message after receiving the attach request message (para 0016], receiving an attach accept message from the communication system after sending the attach request message ).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 3.
5. Claim(s) 7, 14, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over REDDY KOTHAKAPU further view of US PG Pub US 20240414600 A1 to Lyazidi et al (hereinafter Lyazidi).
As per claim 7, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication method of claim 1, Lyazidi wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field (para 0104], wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field ).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the combination system of REDDY KOTHAKAPU by wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field as suggested by Lyazidi, this modification would benefit REDDY KOTHAKAPU for enabling an for faster and efficient communications, the random access procedure is to be enhanced.
As per claim 14, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches user equipment of claim 8, Lyazidi teaches wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field(para 0104], wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field ).
. Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
As per claim 20, REDDY KOTHAKAPU teaches communication system of claim 15, Lyazidi teaches wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field (para 0104], wherein a nonCriticalExtension parameter of the system information includes the at least one field).
Examiner supplies the same rationale as supplied in claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Prior arts made of record, not relied upon: US Patent Publication US 20200372868 A1; US Patent Publication US 20220311322 A1, US Patent Publication US 20210234455 A1
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ANEZ EBRAHIM whose telephone number is (571)270-7153. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 8 AM to 5 PM If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hassan Phillips can be reached on (571) 272-3940. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/ANEZ C EBRAHIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467