DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/197,771 on December 22, 2023. Please note Claims 1-18 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on December 22, 2023, August 20, 2024, October 22, 2024, August 29, 2025 and December 18, 2025 were filed. The submissions are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-10 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chann et al. ( US 2011/0292498 A1 ).
Chann teaches in Claim 1:
A light amplification apparatus ( [0003] discloses optical laser amplification ), comprising:
an optical fiber amplification unit that amplifies ( Figure 1, [0037] discloses an amplifier 130 ) two pulse laser light having at least a first wavelength λ.sub.1 and a second wavelength λ.sub.2 that are different from each other while propagating the two pulse laser light with a time difference and outputs first amplified light and second amplified light that are amplified light of the pulse laser light ( Figure 1, [0037] discloses a seed array 110 with a plurality of spectral components/wavelengths lamda 1 to lamda n, including at least a first and second wavelength which are different from each other. Please note the time series of wavelengths which are spaced apart in time, allowing for each wavelength to be amplified individually ); and
an optical distance adjustment unit that differentiates optical distances at which the first amplified light and the second amplified light that are emitted from the optical fiber amplification unit propagate and superimposes the first amplified light and the second amplified light on each other. ( Figure 1, [0038] discloses dispersive optics 150 and delay optics 160 which comprise gratings, splitters, etc, which can adjust/delay each spectral component uniquely to time distance and then temporally and spatially overlap (read as superimposes) the elements to form the optical beam 170. Figure 1 shows the overlap of lamda 1 and lamda 2, for example )
Chann teaches in Claim 2:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 1, comprising:
a deflection element that is provided between the optical fiber amplification unit and the optical distance adjustment unit and changes propagation directions of the first amplified light and the second amplified light from the optical distance adjustment unit. ( Figures 1 and 7, [0045] disclose details on the dispersive optics 150, namely first and second gratings, beam shaper, etc (read as examples of a deflection unit) )
Chann teaches in Claim 3:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 1,
wherein the optical distance adjustment unit comprises a first reflection portion and a second reflection portion that reflect the first amplified light and the second amplified light, respectively, at positions having a different distance from each other from an emission position of the optical fiber amplification unit. ( Figure 7, [0045] discloses reflecting each spectral component by the dispersive optics and delay optics. This results in temporally and spatially adjusting each/uniquely spectral component. Please note the multiple reflection portions/points, as shown in Figure 7 )
Chann teaches in Claim 4:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein at least one of the first reflection portion and the second reflection portion is any one of a narrow band reflection mirror, a short-pass mirror, and a long-pass mirror that reflects the first amplified light and the second amplified light. ( Figure 7, [0045] discloses various types of mirrors which can reflect the light of the multiple wavelengths input )
Chann teaches in Claim 5:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the first reflection portion and the second reflection portion are volumetric holographic diffraction gratings that reflect the first amplified light and the second amplified light, respectively. ( Figure 8, [0046] disclose a series of volume Bragg gratings 830 to reflect the spectral components, as shown )
Chann teaches in Claim 6:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the first reflection portion and second reflection portion are fiber Bragg grating elements that reflect the first amplified light and the second amplified light, respectively. ( Figure 8, [0046] disclose the series of volume Bragg gratings 830. [0041], etc, disclose optical fibers for many application that can impart a variable delay discussed above )
Chann teaches in Claim 7:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 3,
wherein the first amplified light and the second amplified light are linearly polarized and have an identical electric field oscillation direction, the deflection element is a polarization beam splitter, and a polarization state adjustment element that rotates the electric field oscillation direction by 90° in reciprocation is further provided between the deflection element and the optical distance adjustment unit. ( Figure 8, [0046] disclose a polarization beam splitter 810. [0048] discloses various orientation angles and [0041] discloses that by adjusting the angles, the waveform can be spread further. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to set the specific direction angle in light of this )
Chann teaches in Claim 8:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein the polarization state adjustment element is a quarter-wave plate or a 45 degree Faraday rotator. ( [0046] discloses the polarization beam splitter may be replaced with a Faraday circulator. [0048] further discusses the angles, as noted in the reasoning of Claim 7 )
Chann teaches in Claim 9: The light amplification apparatus according to claim 2,
wherein the optical distance adjustment unit comprises a first grating, a second grating, and a fourth reflection portion, the fourth reflection portion is a roof mirror which shifts incident light in a direction perpendicular to a dispersion direction of the grating and in which reflection light is parallel to the incident light, the first grating causes the incident first amplified light and the incident second amplified light to be deflected at different angles and be emitted toward the second grating, the second grating causes the deflected first amplified light and the deflected second amplified light to be parallel and be emitted toward the fourth reflection portion, the fourth reflection portion reflects the first amplified light and the second amplified light in a direction parallel to an incidence direction, the second grating emits the first amplified light and the second amplified light from the fourth reflection portion toward the first grating, the first grating emits the first amplified light and the second amplified light from the second grating toward the deflection element, and the deflection element reflects the first amplified light and the second amplified light from the first grating. ( Figure 7, [0045] discloses a first diffraction grating 730 and a second diffraction grating 740, as well as a two-minor beam shaper 750 and a mirror 760. These provide additional reflection and parallel passthrough, as shown in Figures 7 and 8. Figure 7 also shows the various angles of reflection at different stages as well. Furthermore, please note this applies to the multiple wavelengths/spectral components )
Chann teaches in Claim 10:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first light source that outputs the pulse laser light having the first wavelength λ.sub.1; and a second light source that outputs the pulse laser light having the second wavelength λ.sub.2. ( Figure 1, [0037] discloses an array 110 of pulsed seed laser sources, one for each spectral component/wavelength )
Chann teaches in Claim 18:
A light amplification method ( [0003] discloses optical laser amplification ), comprising:
amplifying ( Figure 1, [0037] discloses an amplifier 130 ) two pulse laser light having at least a first wavelength λ.sub.1 and a second wavelength λ.sub.2 that are different from each other while propagating the two pulse laser light with a time difference and outputting first amplified light and second amplified light that are amplified light of each of the pulse laser light ( Figure 1, [0037] discloses a seed array 110 with a plurality of spectral components/wavelengths lamda 1 to lamda n, including at least a first and second wavelength which are different from each other. Please note the time series of wavelengths which are spaced apart in time, allowing for each wavelength to be amplified individually ); and
differentiating optical distances at which the first amplified light and the second amplified light propagate and superimposing the first amplified light and the second amplified light on each other. ( Figure 1, [0038] discloses dispersive optics 150 and delay optics 160 which comprise gratings, splitters, etc, which can adjust/delay each spectral component uniquely to time distance and then temporally and spatially overlap (read as superimposes) the elements to form the optical beam 170. Figure 1 shows the overlap of lamda 1 and lamda 2, for example )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chann et al.
( US 2011/0292498 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Tokuhisa
( US 2015/0303647 A1 ).
As per Claim 11:
Chann does not explicitly teach of “a control unit that controls a degree of superposition of pulses of the first amplified light and the second amplified light that are emitted from the optical distance adjustment unit.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical systems, Tokuhisa teaches of a control unit 8, ( Tokuhisa, Figure 1, [0043] ). Notably, the control unit provides signals to the first and second light sources 11 and 12, as well as to other components. In light of the control to generate the light pulses, Figure 6, [0071] discloses two pulse trains which can be adjusted to control the amount of overlap rate between the pulse trains. Examples include 20%, 50% and 80%, again, based on the control unit aspects. As combined with Chann, overlap amounts (degree of superposition) can be controlled.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the control unit, as taught by Tokuhisa, with the motivation that by controlling the amount of overlap can control the amount of light output, increasing or decreasing the intensity of the beam, ( Tokuhisa, [0073] ).
Chann and Tokuhisa teach in Claim 12:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 11,
wherein the control unit controls a time difference between pulses of the pulse laser light from the first light source and the pulse laser light from the second light source. ( Tokuhisa, Figure 6, [0072]+ disclose adjusting the overlap rate by adjusting the timings of the signals, i.e. time difference between the pulses. Figure 6, [0073] disclose the adjusting of timings for this )
Chann and Tokuhisa teach in Claim 13:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the time difference is larger than pulse widths of the pulse laser light from the first light source and the pulse laser light from the second light source. ( Tokuhisa, Figure 6 shows the time difference between the timings and the pulse widths. Respectfully, based on the amount of overlap, the start timings are adjusted and this can, in some situations, be larger than the width of the pulse. Respectfully, the amount of overlap is based on the width of the pulses )
Chann and Tokuhisa teach in Claim 14:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 11, further comprising:
a wavelength conversion unit that generates pulse laser light having a predetermined wavelength from the first amplified light and the second amplified light, wherein the control unit controls an output of the pulse laser light by controlling a degree of superposition of pulses of the first amplified light and the second amplified light. ( Tokuhisa, [0073] discloses using wavelength conversion optical elements to amplify and adjust the timings for the drive signals of each light signal. Both Chann and Tokuhisa teach of using multiple wavelengths as well )
Chann and Tokuhisa teach in Claim 15:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 14,
wherein the wavelength conversion unit comprises: a first wavelength conversion unit that satisfies a phase-matching condition only for second harmonic wave generation of the first amplified light having the first wavelength λ.sub.1; and a second wavelength conversion unit that satisfies a phase-matching condition for sum frequency generation between a second harmonic wave of the first amplified light having the first wavelength λ.sub.1 and the second amplified light having the second wavelength λ.sub.2. ( Tokuhisa, Figure 1, [0048] discloses a wavelength converting unit 3 which includes an optical system 30 and this is used for both the first and second wavelengths, each having its own optical element, as shown. [0054] discloses the sum frequency of the first converted light and second amplified light through sum frequency generation SFG. [0086] discloses harmonic aspects of the wavelengths )
Chann and Tokuhisa teach in Claim 16:
The light amplification apparatus according to claim 14,
wherein the wavelength conversion unit comprises: a first wavelength conversion unit that satisfies a phase-matching condition for second harmonic wave generation of the first amplified light having the first wavelength λ.sub.1; a third wavelength conversion unit that satisfies a phase-matching condition for second harmonic wave generation of the second amplified light having the second wavelength λ.sub.2; and a fourth wavelength conversion unit that generates a sum frequency between a second harmonic wave of the first amplified light having the first wavelength λ.sub.1 and a second harmonic wave of the second amplified light having the second wavelength λ.sub.2. ( The same reasoning of Claim 15 is applicable here as well for the second wavelength aspects in particular: Tokuhisa, Figure 1, [0048] discloses a wavelength converting unit 3 which includes an optical system 30 and this is used for both the first and second wavelengths, each having its own optical element, as shown. [0054] discloses the sum frequency of the first converted light and second amplified light through sum frequency generation SFG. [0086] discloses harmonic aspects of the wavelengths )
As per Claim 17:
Chann does not explicitly teach of “controlling a time difference between pulses of the pulse laser light from the first light source and the pulse laser light from the second light source, and controlling a degree of superposition between pulse laser light of the first amplified light and the second amplified light that are output from the output unit.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, optical systems, Tokuhisa teaches of a control unit 8, ( Tokuhisa, Figure 1, [0043] ). Notably, the control unit provides signals to the first and second light sources 11 and 12, as well as to other components. In light of the control to generate the light pulses, Figure 6, [0071] discloses two pulse trains which can be adjusted to control the amount of overlap rate between the pulse trains. Examples include 20%, 50% and 80%, again, based on the control unit aspects. As combined with Chann, overlap amounts (degree of superposition) can be controlled.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the control unit, as taught by Tokuhisa, with the motivation that by controlling the amount of overlap can control the amount of light output, increasing or decreasing the intensity of the beam, ( Tokuhisa, [0073] ).
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621