Detailed Action
Summary
1.This office action is in responses to the application filed on May 16,2023.
2. Claims 1-20 are pending and has been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/17/2026,02/12/2026 and 11/22/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. Drawings submitted on 05/16/2023 are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdelhakim “20250364920” in a view of Gu “20230212760”.
In re to claim 1, Abdelhakim discloses an electrolyser power system (Figs 1-3: power conversion system for powering an electrolyser, see abstract) comprising: a transformer (19) arrangement having: at least one primary winding (19’) connectable to an AC power source (19’ is coupled to three phase AC source, see parag. 0036) ; and a plurality of secondary windings (Fig. 3 : plurality of 19a’ and 19b’) ;
a first rectifier (Fig. 3:the first primary bridge rectifiers 3′ ) arrangement comprising: an AC input connected (input of top primary bridge rectifiers 3′) to a first secondary winding of the transformer arrangement (first 19a’) ; and a first DC output (output of first primary bridge rectifiers 3′);
a second rectifier (Fig. 3: second primary bridge rectifiers 3′ and the auxiliary rectifier bridge 9′ are equivalent to second rectifier) arrangement comprising: an AC input (input of second primary bridge rectifiers 3’ and 9’) connected to a second secondary winding of the transformer arrangement (19a’ and 19b’); and a second DC output (output of second primary bridge rectifiers 3’ and 9’ are coupled to the output terminal 7) ; but fails to discloses a plurality of discrete electrically coupled electrolyser modules.
Whereas, Gu discloses hydrogen production power supply system (Figs.1-6) having a plurality of discrete electrically coupled electrolyser modules (Figs. 1-6 shows a plurality discrete electrically coupled electrolyser modules at the output).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify power conversion of electrolyser of the Abdelhakim to include output terminal plurality of discrete electrically coupled electrolyser modules as taught by Gu because a power supply end of each hydrogen production device, respectively, so that independent power supply is provided for each hydrogen production device, which eliminates the loss of gas production caused by the non-uniform load among the hydrogen production devices, see abstract.
In re to claim 2, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3), wherein the electrolyser modules (hydrogen production device) are connected in series between the first and second DC outputs (Fig. 4B: Gu discloses hydrogen production device are connected between the first and second DC/DC 201 converter output)
In re to claim 3, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3), wherein the electrolyser modules are connected in parallel between the first and second DC outputs (Figs. 1-4a and 5-6: hydrogen production device are in parallel).
In re to claim 4, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein each electrolyser module comprises a plurality of electrolyser cells (Figs.1-6: shows plurality of hydrogen production device).
In re to claim 5, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein at least two of the plurality of electrolyser modules have different operational characteristics resulting from ageing effects (it is understood in the art hydrogen production device may have different characteristics resulting over time due to the aging problems)
In re to claim 6, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3) first rectifier arrangement comprises a six-pulse (Fig.3: six diode).
Furthermore, Gu discloses (the main circuit of the AC/DC converter may be any one of: a rectifier circuit composed by diodes, a rectifier circuit composed by thyristors, or a rectifier circuit composed by full-control devices such as IGBT, which is not limited here, see parg.0057).
In re to claim 7, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein the second rectifier arrangement comprises a thyristor rectifier circuit or a diode rectifier circuit (Fig: 3: primary rectifier bridges 3′ is a diode)
In re to claim 8, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein the first rectifier arrangement and the second rectifier arrangement are connected in series (see Fig 3: primary rectifier bridges 3′ and the auxiliary rectifier bridge 9′ are in series ).
In re to claim 9, Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein the first rectifier arrangement and the second rectifier arrangement are connected in parallel (primary rectifier bridges 3 are in parallel).
In re to claim 10 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3), wherein the AC power source comprises a three-phase AC power source (Fig.3: transformer 19 is connected to the three phase AC source) .
In re to claim 11 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3) first rectifier arrangement comprises a six-pulse (Fig.3: six diode).
Furthermore, Gu discloses (the main circuit of the AC/DC converter may be any one of: a rectifier circuit composed by diodes, a rectifier circuit composed by thyristors, or a rectifier circuit composed by full-control devices such as IGBT, which is not limited here, see parg.0057).
In re to claim 12 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3), wherein the second rectifier arrangement comprises a six-pulse thyristor rectifier bridge or a six-pulse diode rectifier bridge topology (Fig.3: six pulse diode).
In re to claim 13 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3), wherein the first and second rectifier arrangements are connected in series (Fig.3 , primary rectifier bridges 3′ and auxiliary rectifier 9’ are in series ).
In re to claim 14 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3), wherein the first and second rectifier arrangements are connected in parallel (Fig.3: the two primary rectifier bridges 3′ are in parallel) .
In re to claim 15 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein the transformer arrangement comprises a single transformer having a single primary winding (19’) and a plurality of secondary windings (19a’ and 19b’).
In re to claim 16 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3),wherein the transformer arrangement comprises a plurality of discrete transformer units each having a single primary winding and a single secondary winding (see Fig.1) .
In re to claim 17 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3) comprising: a third rectifier (the third auxiliary rectifier 9’) arrangement comprising: an AC input (input auxiliary rectifier 9’) connected to a third secondary winding of the transformer arrangement(19b’) ; and a third DC output (output of auxiliary rectifier 9’);
a fourth rectifier arrangement (fourth auxiliary rectifier 9’) comprising: an AC input connected to a fourth secondary winding of the transformer arrangement (19b’); and a fourth DC output (output from the fourth auxiliary rectifier 9’);
Furthermore, Gu discloses a second plurality of discrete electrically coupled electrolyser modules each electrically connected between the third and fourth DC outputs (Figs. 1-6 shows a plurality discrete electrically coupled electrolyser modules at the output).
In re to claim 18 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3) first rectifier arrangement comprises a six-pulse (Fig.3: six diode).
Furthermore, Gu discloses (the main circuit of the AC/DC converter may be any one of: a rectifier circuit composed by diodes, a rectifier circuit composed by thyristors, or a rectifier circuit composed by full-control devices such as IGBT, which is not limited here, see parg.0057).
In re to claim 19 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3)
wherein the third rectifier arrangement comprises a thyristor rectifier circuit and the fourth rectifier arrangement comprises a thyristor rectifier circuit or a diode rectifier circuit (auxiliary rectifier bridge 9′ is diode and semiconductor switches such as thyristors or transistors).
Furthermore, Gu discloses (the main circuit of the AC/DC converter may be any one of: a rectifier circuit composed by diodes, a rectifier circuit composed by thyristors, or a rectifier circuit composed by full-control devices such as IGBT, which is not limited here, see parg.0057).
In re to claim 20 Abdelhakim as modified discloses (Figs. 1-3)
wherein each electrolyser module is configured to produce hydrogen from water or steam (the electrolyzer uses electricity to break water into hydrogen and oxygen in an electrolysis process, see prag. 0004).
Conclusion
6. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang “WO2024199686” the disclosure relates to a power supply system for powering an electrolysis device. The disclosure also relates to a method and controller for controlling the power supply system to power the electrolysis device.
Zhang “ WO2024141181” A converter system (1) for powering an electrolyzer (4) is provided. The converter system (1) includes a first converter (11) coupled with a first secondary winding (32) of a multi-winding transformer (3) and configured to output a first DC voltage; a second converter (12) coupled with a second secondary winding (33) of the multi-winding transformer (3) and configured to output a second DC voltage; and a controller (13) configured to control the second converter (12) by adjusting the second DC voltage based on feedback information received from at least one the electrolyzer (4), the first converter (11), the second converter (12) and the multi-winding transformer (3).
Loku “WO2025021491” The present disclosure in general relates to conversion of electrical energy, in particular to alternating current (AC) to direct current (DC) conversion.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SISAY G TIKU whose telephone number is (571)272-6898. The examiner can normally be reached 8:30AM-6:00PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Crystal L Hammond can be reached at (571) 270-1682. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SISAY G TIKU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838