DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are presented for examination.
Claims 1, 2, 7 and 8 are amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding the rejection of claim 7, claim 7 recites the same limitations as set forth in claim 1, the response to claim 1 is also applicable to claim 7, and thus please refer to the response to claim 1 above.
Regarding the dependent claims 2-6 and 8-14, applicant has not made specific arguments pertaining to why the cited references do not teach the recited claims. Without such arguments, the Examiner cannot respond and is not persuaded by such argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US 20090016331 A1) in view of van der Kluit (US 20170295088 A1); further in view of Wong (US 8243730 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Shah teaches a method for establishing a communication through multiple distinct communication paths deployed over different network operators (Fig. 1, [0017] shows multiple distinct communication paths between an enterprise content provider and a consumer over several different service provider networks), comprising:
collecting location information of network nodes of several available distinct paths between a source node and a destination node ([0021] Various route tracing methods may be used to identify paths within the network, as is well known by those skilled in the art. In one embodiment, a tool such as traceroute is used to identify a path taken by traffic over a network. Traceroute is used to trace the route of a packet over each node from a source node to a destination node by reporting all router addresses therebetween using Internet Protocol (IP) packets.);
comparing the location information of the network nodes to identify possibly co- located network nodes ([0022] Results that provide the IP address at each node are used to calculate node or link diversity. (IP address is location information));
determining path segment lengths of consecutive path segments between the nodes of each path (Fig. 4, [0025] The maximum path length (MaxPathLength (Pi, Pj)) of the two paths is then identified);
estimating whether path segments of the paths intersect based on locations of the network nodes and the path segment lengths (Fig. 4, At step 52 path diversity index is calculated. [0027] A value of one indicates that the paths have no nodes or links in common. A value of zero indicates that all of the nodes or links are in common. Path diversity index calculation is based on the number of common nodes, links, or both nodes and links and the maximum path length. See paragraphs [0028] – [0035] for PDI calculations.).
Shah does not explicitly teach wherein the location information comprises geographic location information, and wherein collecting the location information of the network nodes includes collecting the location information using an application programmable interface (API) through Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS); selecting multiple paths that do not comprise intersecting path segments and or co-located network nodes and or co-sharing path segments; and establishing communication between the source node and the destination node over both selected paths.
van der Kluit in the same field of endeavor of communication networks, specifically searching for disjoint paths through the network, teaches selecting multiple paths that do not comprise one or more of intersecting path segments, co-located network nodes, or co-sharing path segments ([0055] If the node 10, 10b is the destination node of the session, the data processor 24 of the node 10, 10b selects a disjoint pair from the paths for which the node has stored information and transmits confirmation messages of the paths in the selected pair back to the destination node. [0006] Disjoint paths between the source node and the destination node are paths between the source node and the destination node that do not share any other nodes and hence also no links); and establishing communication between the source node and the destination node over both selected paths ([0055] The confirmation messages may be sent back along the paths of the selected disjoint pair of paths. [0091] Although embodiments have been described for establishing a session wherein messages are transmitted over one of the disjoint paths (primary) and the other, disjoint path is used as an alternative for transmitting messages in case there is a failure on the primary path, it should be appreciated that discovered disjoint paths can be used in other ways. [0092] For example, for increased, seamless robustness of a session in case of a node or link failure each message, or at least each of a sub-set of critical messages, can be transmitted over each disjoint path).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of using nodes in a communication network to search for disjoint paths through the network of van der Kluit with the route selection method of Shah. The motivation to do so would have been to minimize or at least reduce the number of messages that will be forwarded between nodes throughout the network without compromising the ability of finding optimal disjoint paths (van der Kluit; [0007]).
Van der Kluit does not teach wherein the location information comprises geographic location information, and wherein collecting the location information of the network nodes includes collecting the location information using an application programmable interface (API) through Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS).
Wong in the same field of endeavor of geographically localizing mobile communication devices using Internet Protocol (IP) address information teaches wherein the location information comprises geographic location information (Col. 2, lines 19-21; The method also includes determining a geographic region corresponding to the router based on the IP address of the router. Col. 2, lines 66-67 and Col. 3, lines 1-6; Obtaining the geographic boundaries for the one or more intermediate nodes can include identifying an overlapped region from a plurality of circles having radii derived from the distance constraints. Obtaining the geographic boundaries for the one or more intermediate nodes can further include narrowing the overlapped region by obtaining network delay values between one or more wired landmarks and the one or more intermediate nodes.), and wherein collecting the location information of the network nodes includes collecting the location information using an application programmable interface (API) through Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (Col. 2, lines 25-32; A further general aspect of the subject matter described in this specification can be embodied in a system for providing location estimates of network devices that includes a wireless landmark locator to receive location information from a wireless landmark and identify a location for the landmark. The system also includes means for determining location information of one or more intermediate network nodes using the location for the landmark. the geographic location of the wireless landmark can be obtained precisely (e.g., using GPS). Col. 8, lines 1-51; FIG. 3B shows a conceptual diagram of a system 310 for locating devices in a relatively opaque network. Again, system 310 is shown as a number of nodes in a network connecting an investigatory system 312 to a plurality of wireless devices W1, W2, W3. The investigatory system 312 is shown as a standard computer, but can take the form of any appropriate computing system that seeks to determine the locations of nodes in the network. Such determination can include locating wireless devices W1, W2, W3, or locating other nodes in the network such as last-hop routers LH1-LH4, gateways G1-G2, or other intermediate nodes 11-15 between the wireless devices W1, W2, W3 and the investigatory system 312. In general, system 310 can operate by establishing locations of one or more of wireless devices W1, W2, W3, in the network such as in a private network 318 that is separated (312) by gateways G1-G2 from a public network 320, such as the Internet. The wireless devices W1, W2, W3 can report their locations to the investigatory system 312, and the investigatory system 312 can then communicate with the wireless devices W1, W2, W3 to estimate locations of last-hop routers LH1, LH3, LH4 serving wireless devices W1, W2, W3. With the locations of these last-hop routers estimated, the system 310 can then attempt to estimate the locations of other nodes in the network. Wireless device W1 can be, for example, GPS-enabled so as to communicate with signals from satellite 316 to generate a location identifier that can be sent in a message to investigatory system 312. Fig. 7; Col. 14, lines 62-67; In addition, GPS receiver module 770 may provide additional wireless data to device 750, which may be used as appropriate by applications running on device 750.).
Wong also teaches comparing the geographic location information of the network nodes (The method also includes communicating with the wireless landmark to estimate the location of a first node in the mobile communication network proximate to the wireless landmark. Fig. 3B; Col. 8, lines 59-67; With the locations of one or more last-hop routers estimated, the process can then use such estimated locations to estimate the locations of related intermediate nodes I1-I6. For example, Arrow C shows a communication with last-hop router LH4, which can be used to estimate the location of intermediate nodes I4 and I6, and also gateway G1. In particular, the time of transmission between last-hop router LH4 and intermediate router I4 (or between intermediate router I6 and intermediate router I4) can provide a circle within which intermediate router I4 is likely to be located. A further communication indicated by Arrow B can provide a further constraint on the location of intermediate router I4, based on its time of transmission with last-hop router LH3. Further transmission can also be used to provide additional constraints on the location of intermediate router I4. Similar communications can occur to provide constraints on the possible locations for other nodes in the network, such as shown by Arrow E, with respect to intermediate node I2 and other nodes in the path of the communication. Col. 7, lines 38-48; Two paths that enter the same gateway subsequently typically traverse the same sequence of hops until they reach the target device. Col. 11, lines 26-29; As discussed earlier, having location estimates for the routers (hence the network topology of the carrier network) improves the localization process because errors due to "shared paths" can be minimized.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of geographically localizing mobile communication devices of Wong with the route selection method of Shah and the methods of searching for disjoint paths of van der Kluit. The motivation to do so would have been to estimate the network topology of a relatively opaque wireless carrier network, even when a wireless carrier only has a few gateway routers from the Internet to its carrier network. Additionally, to implement geographic localization at the application layer or in networks where there is only control over the end points (e.g., networks like Akamai, peer-to-peer networks like Skype, or anonymizing networks like Tor). (Wong; [Col. 3, lines 36-59).
Regarding claim 2, Shah teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the collecting of location information of network nodes comprises querying respective nodes for location information ([0021] Various route tracing methods may be used to identify paths within the network, as is well known by those skilled in the art. In one embodiment, a tool such as traceroute is used to identify a path taken by traffic over a network. Traceroute is used to trace the route of a packet over each node from a source node to a destination node by reporting all router addresses therebetween using Internet Protocol (IP) packets. In this sense, traceroute can be used to “query” the nodes for location information (IP address)).
Shah does not teach collecting the location information via the API.
Wong in the same field of endeavor of geographically localizing mobile communication devices using Internet Protocol (IP) address information teaches collecting the location information via the API (Col. 14, lines 64-67; In addition, GPS receiver module 770 may provide additional wireless data to device 750, which may be used as appropriate by applications running on device 750. One of ordinary skill in the art knows APIs are involved in the application layer obtaining GPS information from the OS layer. Col. 9, lines 62-64; Additionally, the geographic location of the wireless landmark can be obtained precisely (e.g., using GPS). Col. 7, lines 48-51; Wireless device W1 can be, for example, GPS-enabled so as to communicate with signals from satellite 316 to generate a location identifier that can be sent in a message to investigatory system 312.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of geographically localizing mobile communication devices of Wong with the route selection method of Shah and the methods of searching for disjoint paths of van der Kluit. The motivation to do so would have been to estimate the network topology of a relatively opaque wireless carrier network, even when a wireless carrier only has a few gateway routers from the Internet to its carrier network. Additionally, to implement geographic localization at the application layer or in networks where there is only control over the end points (e.g., networks like Akamai, peer-to-peer networks like Skype, or anonymizing networks like Tor). (Wong; [Col. 3, lines 36-59).
Regarding claim 7, Shah teaches a system for establishing communication through multiple distinct communication paths deployed over different network operators, comprising a start node and a destination node (Fig. 1, [0017] shows multiple distinct communication paths between an enterprise content provider and a consumer over several different service provider networks),
wherein each of the start node (Fig. 1 BR1) and the destination node (Fig. 1 CR1) comprises at least one communication device configured for establishing communication between the start node and the destination node over multiple paths ([0017] In the example of FIG. 1, traffic is carried between the enterprise network 10 and the customer access network 12 over six service providers (SP) networks SP A, SP B, SP C, SP D, SP E, SP F) ,
wherein each of the start node and the destination node comprises a control unit (The network device may include, for example, a master central processing unit (CPU)),
wherein at least one of the control units is configured to:
collect location information of network nodes of several available distinct paths between the start node and the destination node ([0021] Various route tracing methods may be used to identify paths within the network, as is well known by those skilled in the art. In one embodiment, a tool such as traceroute is used to identify a path taken by traffic over a network. Traceroute is used to trace the route of a packet over each node from a source node to a destination node by reporting all router addresses therebetween using Internet Protocol (IP) packets);
compare the location information of the network nodes to identify possibly co- located network nodes ([0022] Results that provide the IP address at each node are used to calculate node or link diversity. (IP address is location information));
determine path segment lengths of consecutive path segments between the nodes of each path (Fig. 4, [0025] The maximum path length (MaxPathLength (Pi, Pj)) of the two paths is then identified);
estimate whether path segments of the paths intersect based on locations of the network nodes and the path segment lengths (Fig. 4, At step 52 path diversity index is calculated. [0027] A value of one indicates that the paths have no nodes or links in common. A value of zero indicates that all of the nodes or links are in common. Path diversity index calculation is based on the number of common nodes, links, or both nodes and links and the maximum path length. See paragraphs [0028] – [0035] for PDI calculations.).
Shah does not explicitly teach wherein the location information comprises geographic location information, and wherein collecting the location information of the network nodes includes collecting the location information using an application programmable interface (API) through Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS); selecting multiple paths, through which the communication is to be established, that do not comprise intersecting path segments and or co-located network nodes and or co-sharing path segments.
van der Kluit in the same field of endeavor of communication networks, specifically searching for disjoint paths through the network, teaches select multiple paths, through which the communication is to be established, that do not comprise one or more of intersecting path segments, co-located network nodes, or co-sharing path segments ([0055] If the node 10, 10b is the destination node of the session, the data processor 24 of the node 10, 10b selects a disjoint pair from the paths for which the node has stored information and transmits confirmation messages of the paths in the selected pair back to the destination node. [0006] Disjoint paths between the source node and the destination node are paths between the source node and the destination node that do not share any other nodes and hence also no links).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of using nodes in a communication network to search for disjoint paths through the network of van der Kluit with the route selection method of Shah. The motivation to do so would have been to minimize or at least reduce the number of messages that will be forwarded between nodes throughout the network without compromising the ability of finding optimal disjoint paths (van der Kluit; [0007]).
Van der Kluit does not teach wherein the location information comprises geographic location information, and wherein collecting the location information of the network nodes includes collecting the location information using an application programmable interface (API) through Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS).
Wong in the same field of endeavor of geographically localizing mobile communication devices using Internet Protocol (IP) address information teaches wherein the location information comprises geographic location information (Col. 2, lines 19-21; The method also includes determining a geographic region corresponding to the router based on the IP address of the router. Col. 2, lines 66-67 and Col. 3, lines 1-6; Obtaining the geographic boundaries for the one or more intermediate nodes can include identifying an overlapped region from a plurality of circles having radii derived from the distance constraints. Obtaining the geographic boundaries for the one or more intermediate nodes can further include narrowing the overlapped region by obtaining network delay values between one or more wired landmarks and the one or more intermediate nodes.), and wherein collecting the location information of the network nodes includes collecting the location information using an application programmable interface (API) through Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) (Col. 2, lines 25-32; A further general aspect of the subject matter described in this specification can be embodied in a system for providing location estimates of network devices that includes a wireless landmark locator to receive location information from a wireless landmark and identify a location for the landmark. The system also includes means for determining location information of one or more intermediate network nodes using the location for the landmark. the geographic location of the wireless landmark can be obtained precisely (e.g., using GPS). Col. 8, lines 1-51; FIG. 3B shows a conceptual diagram of a system 310 for locating devices in a relatively opaque network. Again, system 310 is shown as a number of nodes in a network connecting an investigatory system 312 to a plurality of wireless devices W1, W2, W3. The investigatory system 312 is shown as a standard computer, but can take the form of any appropriate computing system that seeks to determine the locations of nodes in the network. Such determination can include locating wireless devices W1, W2, W3, or locating other nodes in the network such as last-hop routers LH1-LH4, gateways G1-G2, or other intermediate nodes 11-15 between the wireless devices W1, W2, W3 and the investigatory system 312. In general, system 310 can operate by establishing locations of one or more of wireless devices W1, W2, W3, in the network such as in a private network 318 that is separated (312) by gateways G1-G2 from a public network 320, such as the Internet. The wireless devices W1, W2, W3 can report their locations to the investigatory system 312, and the investigatory system 312 can then communicate with the wireless devices W1, W2, W3 to estimate locations of last-hop routers LH1, LH3, LH4 serving wireless devices W1, W2, W3. With the locations of these last-hop routers estimated, the system 310 can then attempt to estimate the locations of other nodes in the network. Wireless device W1 can be, for example, GPS-enabled so as to communicate with signals from satellite 316 to generate a location identifier that can be sent in a message to investigatory system 312. Fig. 7; Col. 14, lines 62-67; In addition, GPS receiver module 770 may provide additional wireless data to device 750, which may be used as appropriate by applications running on device 750.).
Wong also teaches comparing the geographic location information of the network nodes (The method also includes communicating with the wireless landmark to estimate the location of a first node in the mobile communication network proximate to the wireless landmark. Fig. 3B; Col. 8, lines 59-67; With the locations of one or more last-hop routers estimated, the process can then use such estimated locations to estimate the locations of related intermediate nodes I1-I6. For example, Arrow C shows a communication with last-hop router LH4, which can be used to estimate the location of intermediate nodes I4 and I6, and also gateway G1. In particular, the time of transmission between last-hop router LH4 and intermediate router I4 (or between intermediate router I6 and intermediate router I4) can provide a circle within which intermediate router I4 is likely to be located. A further communication indicated by Arrow B can provide a further constraint on the location of intermediate router I4, based on its time of transmission with last-hop router LH3. Further transmission can also be used to provide additional constraints on the location of intermediate router I4. Similar communications can occur to provide constraints on the possible locations for other nodes in the network, such as shown by Arrow E, with respect to intermediate node I2 and other nodes in the path of the communication. Col. 7, lines 38-48; Two paths that enter the same gateway subsequently typically traverse the same sequence of hops until they reach the target device. Col. 11, lines 26-29; As discussed earlier, having location estimates for the routers (hence the network topology of the carrier network) improves the localization process because errors due to "shared paths" can be minimized.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of geographically localizing mobile communication devices of Wong with the route selection method of Shah and the methods of searching for disjoint paths of van der Kluit. The motivation to do so would have been to estimate the network topology of a relatively opaque wireless carrier network, even when a wireless carrier only has a few gateway routers from the Internet to its carrier network. Additionally, to implement geographic localization at the application layer or in networks where there is only control over the end points (e.g., networks like Akamai, peer-to-peer networks like Skype, or anonymizing networks like Tor). (Wong; [Col. 3, lines 36-59).
Regarding claim 8, Shah teaches the system according to claim 7, wherein the collecting of location information of network nodes comprises querying respective nodes for location information through the at least one control unit ([0021] Various route tracing methods may be used to identify paths within the network, as is well known by those skilled in the art. In one embodiment, a tool such as traceroute is used to identify a path taken by traffic over a network. Traceroute is used to trace the route of a packet over each node from a source node to a destination node by reporting all router addresses therebetween using Internet Protocol (IP) packets. In this sense, traceroute can be used to “query” the nodes for location information (IP address)).
Shah does not teach collecting the location information via the API.
Wong in the same field of endeavor of geographically localizing mobile communication devices using Internet Protocol (IP) address information teaches collecting the location information via the API (Col. 14, lines 64-67; In addition, GPS receiver module 770 may provide additional wireless data to device 750, which may be used as appropriate by applications running on device 750. One of ordinary skill in the art knows APIs are involved in the application layer obtaining GPS information from the OS layer. Col. 9, lines 62-64; Additionally, the geographic location of the wireless landmark can be obtained precisely (e.g., using GPS). Col. 7, lines 48-51; Wireless device W1 can be, for example, GPS-enabled so as to communicate with signals from satellite 316 to generate a location identifier that can be sent in a message to investigatory system 312.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the method of geographically localizing mobile communication devices of Wong with the route selection method of Shah and the methods of searching for disjoint paths of van der Kluit. The motivation to do so would have been to estimate the network topology of a relatively opaque wireless carrier network, even when a wireless carrier only has a few gateway routers from the Internet to its carrier network. Additionally, to implement geographic localization at the application layer or in networks where there is only control over the end points (e.g., networks like Akamai, peer-to-peer networks like Skype, or anonymizing networks like Tor). (Wong; [Col. 3, lines 36-59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 9, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US 20090016331 A1) and van der Kluit (US 20170295088 A1) and Wong (US 8243730 B1); further in view of Seth (US 20170353940 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the method according to claim 1 but do not teach wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises measuring a transmission delay along a respective path segment.
Seth, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises measuring a transmission delay along a respective path segment ([0050] FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of a time of flight measurement system in accordance with one embodiment. A receiving device (e.g., device 320) receives the transmission from the transmitting device (e.g., device 310) and processes the RF signal 412 to generate at least one coarse estimation 442 using a coarse resolution estimator 440 and at least one fine estimation 452 of the propagation delay between the two devices over the air using a fine resolution estimator 450. The system 400 then utilizes a combiner 460 to combine the coarse time estimation 442 and the fine time estimation 452 to generate an accurate time-of-flight measurement 470. This time-of-flight measurement 470 can then be multiplied by the speed of light to calculate the distance, as shown in FIG. 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems and methods for determining locations of wireless nodes in a network architecture of Seth with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong to measure a transmission delay along a respective path segment. The motivation to do so would have been to exploit the fact that the speed of signal propagation is relatively constant (Seth; [0039]).
Regarding claim 4, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the method according to claim 1 but do not teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises calculating a distance between consecutive nodes of respective path segments.
Seth, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises calculating a distance between consecutive nodes of respective path segments ([0050] FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of a time of flight measurement system in accordance with one embodiment. A receiving device (e.g., device 320) receives the transmission from the transmitting device (e.g., device 310) and processes the RF signal 412 to generate at least one coarse estimation 442 using a coarse resolution estimator 440 and at least one fine estimation 452 of the propagation delay between the two devices over the air using a fine resolution estimator 450. The system 400 then utilizes a combiner 460 to combine the coarse time estimation 442 and the fine time estimation 452 to generate an accurate time-of-flight measurement 470. This time-of-flight measurement 470 can then be multiplied by the speed of light to calculate the distance, as shown in FIG. 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems and methods for determining locations of wireless nodes in a network architecture of Seth with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong to calculate a distance between consecutive nodes of respective path segments. The motivation to do so would have been to exploit the fact that the speed of signal propagation is relatively constant (Seth; [0039]).
Regarding claim 9, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the system according to claim 7, but do not teach wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises measuring a transmission delay along a respective path segment through the at least one control unit.
Seth, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises measuring a transmission delay along a respective path segment through the at least one control unit ([0050] FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of a time of flight measurement system in accordance with one embodiment. A receiving device (e.g., device 320) receives the transmission from the transmitting device (e.g., device 310) and processes the RF signal 412 to generate at least one coarse estimation 442 using a coarse resolution estimator 440 and at least one fine estimation 452 of the propagation delay between the two devices over the air using a fine resolution estimator 450. The system 400 then utilizes a combiner 460 to combine the coarse time estimation 442 and the fine time estimation 452 to generate an accurate time-of-flight measurement 470. This time-of-flight measurement 470 can then be multiplied by the speed of light to calculate the distance, as shown in FIG. 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems and methods for determining locations of wireless nodes in a network architecture of Seth with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong to measure a transmission delay along a respective path segment. The motivation to do so would have been to exploit the fact that the speed of signal propagation is relatively constant (Seth; [0039]).
Regarding claim 10, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the system according to claim 7, but do not teach wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises calculating a distance between consecutive nodes of the respective path segments through the at least one control unit.
Seth, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications teaches wherein the determining of path segment lengths comprises calculating a distance between consecutive nodes of respective path segments through the at least one control unit ([0050] FIG. 4 illustrates a block diagram of a time of flight measurement system in accordance with one embodiment. A receiving device (e.g., device 320) receives the transmission from the transmitting device (e.g., device 310) and processes the RF signal 412 to generate at least one coarse estimation 442 using a coarse resolution estimator 440 and at least one fine estimation 452 of the propagation delay between the two devices over the air using a fine resolution estimator 450. The system 400 then utilizes a combiner 460 to combine the coarse time estimation 442 and the fine time estimation 452 to generate an accurate time-of-flight measurement 470. This time-of-flight measurement 470 can then be multiplied by the speed of light to calculate the distance, as shown in FIG. 4.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems and methods for determining locations of wireless nodes in a network architecture of Seth with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong to calculate a distance between consecutive nodes of respective path segments. The motivation to do so would have been to exploit the fact that the speed of signal propagation is relatively constant (Seth; [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US 20090016331 A1) and van der Kluit (US 20170295088 A1) and Wong (US 8243730 B1); further in view of Cidon (US 20210067468 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the method according to claim 1 but do not teach wherein the selecting of multiple paths additionally comprises determining a total path length and or expected signal attenuation and or signal latency as a cost factor for each available path and minimizing the cost factor when selecting the multiple paths.
Cidon in the same field of endeavor of communication networks, teaches wherein the selecting of multiple paths additionally comprises determining a total path length and or expected signal attenuation and or signal latency as a cost factor for each available path and minimizing the cost factor when selecting the multiple paths ([0114] As shown, the path-identifying layer initially defines (at 505) the routing graph to be identical to the measurement graph (i.e., to have the same links between the same pairs of managed forwarding nodes). At 510, the process removes bad links from the measurement graph 300. [0115] Next, at 515, the process 500 computes a link weight score (cost score) as a weighted combination of several computed and provider-specific values. In some embodiments, the weight score is a weighted combination of the link's (1) computed delay value (signal latency), (2) computed loss value, (3) provider network-connection cost, and (4) provider compute cost. [0120] Next, at 525, the process 500 compute the lowest cost paths (e.g., shortest paths, etc.) between each MFN and each other MFN that can serve as a virtual network egress location for a data message flow of the corporate entity.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of path identification of Cidon with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong. The motivation to do so would have been to custom configure path search operations to optimize a set of specific criteria, such as delay or path loss (Cidon, [0017]).
Regarding claim 12, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the system according to claim 7 but do not teach wherein the selecting of multiple paths additionally comprises determining a total path length and or expected signal attenuation and or signal latency as a cost factor for each available path and minimizing the cost factor when selecting the multiple paths.
Cidon in the same field of endeavor of communication networks, teaches wherein the selecting of multiple paths additionally comprises determining a total path length and or expected signal attenuation and or signal latency as a cost factor for each available path and minimizing the cost factor when selecting the multiple paths ([0114] As shown, the path-identifying layer initially defines (at 505) the routing graph to be identical to the measurement graph (i.e., to have the same links between the same pairs of managed forwarding nodes). At 510, the process removes bad links from the measurement graph 300. [0115] Next, at 515, the process 500 computes a link weight score (cost score) as a weighted combination of several computed and provider-specific values. In some embodiments, the weight score is a weighted combination of the link's (1) computed delay value (signal latency), (2) computed loss value, (3) provider network-connection cost, and (4) provider compute cost. [0120] Next, at 525, the process 500 compute the lowest cost paths (e.g., shortest paths, etc.) between each MFN and each other MFN that can serve as a virtual network egress location for a data message flow of the corporate entity.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the methods of path identification of Cidon with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong. The motivation to do so would have been to custom configure path search operations to optimize a set of specific criteria, such as delay or path loss (Cidon, [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13, 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US 20090016331 A1) and van der Kluit (US 20170295088 A1) and Wong (US 8243730 B1); further in view of Eskridge (US 20220209847 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the system according to claim 7, but do not teach a vehicle system comprising at least one vehicle, and at least one communication station, wherein the start node is arranged in one of the vehicle and the communication station, and wherein the destination node is arranged another of the vehicle and the communication station.
Eskridge, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches a vehicle system comprising at least one vehicle (Fig. 2, the airplane 150), at least one communication station (Fig. 2, 1st and 2nd terrestrial access points 202 and 204) and at least one system according to claim 7 (the system of claim 7 can be part of the terrestrial network 200 and/or the internet 115 of figure 2), wherein the start node is arranged in one of the vehicle (Fig. 2, UR 190) and the communication station, and wherein the destination node is arranged another of the vehicle and the communication station (Fig. 2, 2nd terrestrial AP 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the unified radio system of Eskridge with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a system in which coverage provided by terrestrial networks, satellite networks, air-to-ground (ATG) networks, air-to-air (ATA or V2V), and any other applicable networks can not only coexist in the same geographical area, but can be leveraged to ensure reliable, optimized and continuous communications regardless of location and elevation (Eskridge, [0007]).
Regarding claim 14, Shah, van der Kluit and Wong teach the system according to claim 7, but do not teach the vehicle system according to claim 13, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft, and wherein the communication station is a ground station.
Eskridge, in the same field of endeavor of wireless communications, teaches the vehicle system according to claim 13, wherein the vehicle is an aircraft (Fig. 2, the airplane 150), and wherein the communication station is a ground station (Fig. 2, 2nd terrestrial AP 204).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the unified radio system of Eskridge with the methods of searching for disjoint paths and route selection in a network of Shah, van der Kluit and Wong. The motivation to do so would have been to provide a system in which coverage provided by terrestrial networks, satellite networks, air-to-ground (ATG) networks, air-to-air (ATA or V2V), and any other applicable networks can not only coexist in the same geographical area, but can be leveraged to ensure reliable, optimized and continuous communications regardless of location and elevation (Eskridge, [0007]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 11 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kumar (US 20130332994 A1) discloses obtaining physical location information of a wireless communication device via GPS and modifying the IP address to incorporate the current physical location value corresponding to the current physical location of the communication device. S. Gajurel and M. Heiferling, "A Distributed Location Service for MANET Using Swarm Intelligence," discloses a method of determining geographic location information for a network node by first obtaining the location of one node via GPS and using that information to determine the geographical location of neighboring nodes.
/NANCY SIXTO/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/GARY MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2465