DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1-7 are pending
Claims 1-7 are under consideration in the instant office action.
Priority
This application claims benefit of U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/183,771 filed on 05/04/2021 and U.S. Application No. 17/734,102 filed on 05/01/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (Role of sigma-1 receptors in neurodegenerative diseases, Journal of Pharmacological Sciences, 2015, 127, pp. 17-29) in view of Brammer et al. (Interactions between 3,4-ethylenedioxymethamphetamine and σ1 receptors, European Journal of Pharmacology, 2006, pp. 141-145).
Nguyen et al. is drawn towards the role of sigma-1 receptors in neurodegenerative diseases (see abstract). Nguyen et al. teaches that “Of note, neuro-inflammation is a significant contributor in the pathophysiology of Parkinson's disease, and treatment with PRE084 also attenuated M1 microglial responses induced by 6-hydroxydopamnie lesions (60). Along with alleviating neuro-inflammation, sigma-1 receptors may also attenuate dopamine-induced toxicity in Parkinson's disease (35).” (pg. 23, left column, first and second paragraph).
Nguyen et al. does not teach administering 3,4-methylenedioxymethamphetamine (MDMA) for the treatment of a movement disorder.
Brammer et al. is drawn towards interactions between MDMA and σ1 receptors (see abstract). Brammer et al. teaches “the ability of MDMA to interact with σ receptors with similar affinities to its better recognized interactions with serotonin and dopamine transporters. Similar to other psychomotor stimulants such as cocaine and methamphetamine, MDMA has a better affinity for the σ1 compared to the σ2 subtype” (pg. 144, right column, third paragraph). Brammer et al. teaches the administration of MDMA in an amount of 0-50 mg/kg in a single dose (pg. 143, left column, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a movement disorder comprising administering a composition consisting of a psychedelic, as suggested by Brammer et al., and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since Brammer et al. teaches that MDMA can modulate sigma-1 signaling, which can aid in the treatment of Parkinson’s diseases as taught by Nguyen et al., with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality of the particular steps.
Regarding claims 4-7, when the composition recitations are met, the desired properties are met, as any component that materially affects the composition and its properties would have to be present in the claim to be commensurate in scope (i.e. claim 4). Additionally, when the composition is delivered in the same manner as claimed, the effects of the composition would be the same such as the therapeutic profile, as they are a direct result of the components of the composition and the mode of administration which are met by the art, whereby the resulting properties and effects would intrinsically be met. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. The court held that when a "‘whereby’ clause states a condition that is material to patentability, it cannot be ignored in order to change the substance of the invention." Id. However, the court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). (MPEP 2111.04 I).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 9-21 of copending Application No. 17/734,102.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the conflicting claims both recite similar methods of treating a movement disorder comprising administering LSD or MDMA. Application No. 17/734,102 is drawn towards a method of treating a movement disorder comprising administering LSD or MDMA. Application No. 17/734,102 recites administering LSD at a dosage of 10-1000 µg or MDMA at a dosage of about 25 mg/kg (claim 1).
Application No. 17/734,102 does not recite administering the same genus of psychedelics for the treatment of a movement disorder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to treat a movement disorder by administering a psychedelic including LSD or MDMA, as suggested by Application No. 17/734,102, and produce the instant invention.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since Application No. 17/734,102 does disclose that LSD or MDMA can be administered for the treatment of a movement disorder (claim 3), with a reasonable expectation of success absent evidence of criticality of the particular steps.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
/ANDREW P LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/RENEE CLAYTOR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1691