Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 6/26/2026 are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer (US 3550522 A) in view of Li (CN 111845268 A).
Regarding claim 1, Bauer teaches an air delivery system for a vehicle (FIG. 1, unit 1), the air delivery system comprising: a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system (FIG. 2, heater 5, which may also be an air cooling unit); an air duct (FIG. 1, feed duct 3) fluidly coupled with the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system and extending along a surface (the floor of the vehicle) of the vehicle to define a length (FIG. 1, the length of the feed duct 3); a follower feature assembly (FIG. 1, the assembly of the unit 1), wherein the follower feature assembly selectively defines an air outlet (FIG. 1, the outlet of outlet duct 25) in fluid communication with the air duct, wherein the follower feature assembly is configured to translate the defined air outlet along the length of the air duct and relative to the surface of the vehicle (FIG. 1, the exits 19 and 23 allow the obtuse ducts 21 to extends alongside the full length of the feed duct 3).
Bauer fails to teach a first sensor configured to measure at least one of a distance between the air outlet and the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system and an air flow therebetween; and a controller configured to control the air flow based upon the at least one of the distance between the air outlet and the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system and the air flow therebetween.
However, Li teaches a first sensor configured to measure at least one of a distance between the air outlet and the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system and an air flow therebetween (FIG. 3, airflow direction sensor 12); and a controller (FIG. 1, controller 16) configured to control the air flow based upon the at least one of the distance between the air outlet and the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system and the air flow therebetween (FIG. 1, the controller 16 controls the ventilation device 1 based on data received from the airflow direction sensor 12).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by making it so the register of Bauer is adjusted based on a quality of the airflow as sensed by the sensor 12 of Li using cam system, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Li with the motivation of allowing the register to open an amount appropriate for the quality of the airflow when the assembly is at different positions within the vehicle.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Bauer and Li teaches that the surface of the vehicle is a floor (Bauer, FIG. 1, the feed duct 3 extends alongside a floor).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Bauer and Li teaches a module defining an air chamber (Bauer, outlet ducts 25) that is in selective fluid communication with the air outlet (Bauer, the outlet ducts 25 are in fluid communication with the air outlets), the module comprising a cam assembly (Li, FIG. 1, the assembly of the cam 15) disposed within the air chamber, wherein the module is slidable relative to the air duct (FIG. 1 the outlet ducts may be slid relative to feed duct 3), and wherein the cam assembly engages the follower feature assembly (see above combination, the cam assembly of Li actuates the assembly of Bauer).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Bauer and Li teaches that the follower feature assembly comprises a telescopic tube (FIG. 1, telescopic duct 12) having a plurality of sealing gaskets (FIG. 3, gasket 38 etc.) between a respective plurality of telescopic sections of the telescopic tube.
Claim(s) 4, 5, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Li as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, and 7 above, and further in view of Foggini (EP 0192110 A2).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Bauer and Li fails to teach that the follower feature assembly comprises: a gate hingedly coupled with the air duct; a protrusion extending from the gate, wherein the protrusion comprises an apex; a hinge, wherein the gate pivots toward an open position about the hinge away from the cam assembly in response to the cam assembly engaging the protrusion during sliding of the module relative to the air duct, and wherein the gate in the open position defines the air outlet; and a spring coupled with the hinge that biases the gate toward a closed position.
However, Foggini teaches that the follower feature assembly comprises: a gate (FIG. 3, valve 37, which may block the opening) hingedly coupled with the air duct; a protrusion (FIG. 3, face cam 46, which is connected to the valve 37) extending from the gate, wherein the protrusion comprises an apex (FIG. 3, the crest of the face cam 46); a hinge (FIG. 3, the hinge/axle of the valve 37), wherein the gate pivots toward an open position about the hinge away from the cam assembly in response to the cam assembly engaging the protrusion during sliding of the module relative to the air duct (see combination below), and wherein the gate in the open position defines the air outlet (FIG. 3, the open valve 37 defines the shape of the outlet); and a spring (FIG. 2, hairpin spring 42) coupled with the hinge that biases the gate toward a closed position.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by replacing the cam assembly of Li with the cam assembly of Foggini to bias the door to a closed position, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Foggini with the motivation of biasing the door to a closed position to prevent air leakage.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Bauer, Li, and Foggini teaches that the cam assembly comprises: a cam holder (Foggini, FIG. 3, the assembly holding the face cam 46); and a cam (Foggini, FIG. 3, the face cam 46), wherein the cam engages the protrusion, and wherein the cam pivots the gate to the open position in response to the cam engaging the apex of the protrusion (Foggini, FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Bauer, Li, and Foggini teaches that the gate is one of a plurality of gates that are hingedly coupled with and disposed along the air duct (in the combination above, there is a cam assembly for each of the outlets of Clark).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Li as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, and 7 above, and further in view of Bao (CN 109305015 A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Bauer and Li fails to teach that the follower feature assembly comprises a spool-tensioned cover having a static end and a dynamic end, wherein the spool-tensioned cover is coupled with the follower feature assembly at the air outlet, wherein the spool-tensioned cover is coupled with the vehicle at the static end, and wherein the spool-tensioned cover spools at least one of the static end and the dynamic end as the follower feature assembly is articulated to translate the defined air outlet along the surface of the interior of the vehicle toward the static end.
However, Bao teaches that the follower feature assembly comprises a spool-tensioned cover (FIG. 7, the assembly of spool 552) having a static end (FIG. 7, the end of the rope 553 connected to the part) and a dynamic end (FIG. 7, the end of the rope connected to the spool 552), wherein the spool-tensioned cover is coupled with the follower feature assembly at the air outlet, wherein the spool-tensioned cover is coupled with the vehicle at the static end, and wherein the spool-tensioned cover spools at least one of the static end and the dynamic end as the defined air outlet is translated along the surface of the vehicle toward the static end (in the combination below, the spool assembly is installed to keep tension and aid in moving the assembly of Clark).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by employing the spool system of Bao to keep tension and aid in moving the assembly of Clark, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Bao with the motivation of keeping tension and aiding in moving the assembly of Bauer.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Li as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, and 7 above, and further in view of Xiang (CN 210941281 U).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Bauer and Li fails to teach that the follower feature assembly comprises a corrugated expansion tube.
However, Xiang teaches that the follower feature assembly comprises a corrugated expansion tube (FIGS. 1 and 2).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by utilizing the corrugated expansion system of Xiang instead of the telescoping system of Bauer, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Xiang with the motivation of preventing air leaks.
Claim(s) 9 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer and Li as applied to claims 1, 2, 3, and 7 above, and further in view of Weiss (US 20210310268 A1).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Bauer and Li fails to teach that the follower feature assembly comprises a zipper gasket and the cam assembly comprises a first zipper and a second zipper oriented opposite of the first zipper, wherein one chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper unclasps the zipper gasket as the module slides toward the one chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper, and further wherein the other chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper clasps the zipper gasket as the module slides toward the other one chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper.
However, Weiss teaches that the follower feature assembly comprises a zipper gasket and the cam assembly comprises a first zipper and a second zipper oriented opposite of the first zipper, wherein one chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper unclasps the zipper gasket as the module slides toward the one chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper, and further wherein the other chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper clasps the zipper gasket as the module slides toward the other one chosen from the first zipper and the second zipper (FIG. 28, the zipper gaskets 36d flanks an opening to seal an air system).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by using zipper gaskets, as taught by Weiss, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Weiss with the motivation of allowing for a movable system that minimizes air leaks.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Bauer, Li, and Weiss teaches a widener inserted into the zipper gasket between the first zipper and the second zipper (Weiss, FIG. 28, the structure between the zipper seals 36d widens the seals).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer in view of Li and Nakagawa (US 20240424861 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Bauer teaches an air delivery system for a vehicle (FIG. 1, unit 1), the air delivery system comprising: an air duct (FIG. 1, feed duct 3) fluidly coupled with a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system (FIG. 2, heater 5, which may also be an air cooling unit), the air duct extending along a surface (FIG. 1, a floor of the vehicle) of the vehicle to define a length (FIG. 1, a length of the feed fuct 3); a follower feature (FIG. 1, the assembly of the unit 1) assembly coupled with the air duct, and wherein the follower feature assembly selectively restricts fluid communication between the air duct and an air outlet (FIG. 2, the outlet of the duct 25); a rail disposed on the surface of the vehicle (FIGS. 1 and 2, the exits 19 allow the assembly to be adjusted along the vehicle), wherein the rail extends along the length of the duct (FIG. 2, the exit portion 19 allows the duct to extend along the length of feed duct 3); an overhead module (FIG. 1, the assembly of the openings that may direct air in a number of directions (e.g., underfoot, overhead, etc.)) that is slidable along the rail and along the length of the air duct (FIG. 1, the openings slide as the exit 19 is slid), the overhead module comprising: a rail rider (FIG. 1, the portion of the assembly connecting the opening to the ducts) slidably coupled with the rail, wherein the overhead module translates along the rail via the rail rider.
Bauer fails to teach a cam assembly that engages the follower feature assembly to increase fluid communication between the air duct and air outlet, wherein the overhead module defines an air chamber in selective fluid communication with the air outlet; and an air register in fluid communication with the air chamber; a location sensor that measures a distance between the overhead module and the heat ventilation air conditioning system; and a controller that controls an air flow leaving the heating, ventilation air conditioning system based on the distance measured by the location sensor.
However, Li teaches a cam assembly (Li, FIG. 1, the assembly of the cam 15) that engages the follower feature assembly to increase fluid communication between the air duct and air outlet, wherein the overhead module defines an air chamber (Li, FIG. 1, the shell that contains the assembly shown, as well as air) in selective fluid communication with the air outlet; and an air register (FIG. 1, air register 90) in fluid communication with the air chamber; and a controller that controls an air flow leaving the heating, ventilation air conditioning system based on the …sensor (FIG. 1, the controller 16 controls the ventilation device 1 based on data received from the airflow direction sensor 12).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by making it so the register of Bauer is adjusted based on a quality of the airflow as sensed by the sensor 12 of Li, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Clark with these aforementioned teachings of Li with the motivation of allowing the register to open an amount appropriate for the quality of the airflow when the assembly is at different positions within the vehicle.
Li fails to teach a location sensor that measures a distance between the overhead module and the heat ventilation air conditioning system.
However, Nakagawa teaches a location sensor that measures a distance between the overhead module and the heat ventilation air conditioning system (FIG. 32, paragraph 414, the seat position sensor 53).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by making it so the register of Bauer is adjusted based on a distance between the air source and the register, as taught by Nakagawa, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Nakagawa with the motivation of allowing the register to open an amount appropriate for the quality of the airflow when the assembly is at different positions within the vehicle.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer, Li, and Nakagawa as applied to claims 11 above, and further in view of Heck (US-20060258282-A1).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Clark, Li, and Nakagawa fails to teach that the translation of the overhead module along the rail is driven by an electric motor.
However, Heck teaches that the translation of the overhead module along the rail is driven by an electric motor (FIG. 1, paragraph 10, the tube may be translated by an electric motor).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by making it so the position of the ducts of Bauer is adjusted by a motor, as taught by Heck, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Heck with the motivation of automating moving the position of the assembly of Bauer.
Claim(s) 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer, Li, and Nakagawa as applied to claims 11 and 15-17 above, and further in view of Foggini.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Bauer, Li, and Nakagawa fails to teach that the cam assembly comprises: an arcuate cam holder disposed inside the air chamber; and at least one cam coupled with the arcuate cam holder at a first apex of the arcuate cam holder, wherein the at least one cam moves the follower feature assembly to widen the air outlet upon the overhead module being slid along the rail relative to the surface of the vehicle.
However, Foggini teaches that the cam assembly comprises: an arcuate cam holder (Foggini, FIG. 3, the assembly holding the face cam 46) disposed inside the air chamber; and at least one cam Foggini, FIG. 3, the face cam 46) coupled with the arcuate cam holder at a first apex of the arcuate cam holder, wherein the at least one cam moves the follower feature assembly to widen the air outlet upon the overhead module being slid along the rail relative to the surface of the vehicle.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by replacing the cam assembly of Li with the cam assembly of Foggini to bias the door to a closed position, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Foggini with the motivation of biasing the door to a closed position to prevent air leakage.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Bauer, Li, Nakagawa, and Foggini teaches that the at least one cam is a plurality of cams (Foggini, FIG. 2, the various cams of cam 46) disposed along the arcuate cam holder, wherein the plurality of cams moves the follower feature assembly varying degrees to widen the air outlet upon the overhead module being slid along the rail relative to the surface of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Bauer, Li, and Nakagawa teaches that the follower feature assembly comprises: a plurality of gates disposed along the length of the air duct, wherein each of the plurality of gates is operable between an open position and a closed position and is hingedly coupled with the air duct (Bauer, FIG. 1, the multiple openings at the end of duct 25, which slide relative to and near the feed duct 3).
The combination of Bauer, Li, and Nakagawa fails to teach a sinusoidal protrusion provided by each of the plurality of gates and extending away from the surface of the vehicle, wherein the sinusoidal protrusion selectively engages the cam assembly in response to the overhead module sliding to the corresponding one of the plurality of gates; and a spring-loaded hinge coupled with each gate biasing each gate toward the closed position.
However, Foggini teaches a sinusoidal protrusion (FIG. 3, the cam assembly 46 is roughly sinusoidal) provided by each of the plurality of gates and extending away from the surface of the vehicle, wherein the sinusoidal protrusion selectively engages the cam assembly in response to the overhead module sliding to the corresponding one of the plurality of gates; and a spring-loaded hinge coupled with each gate biasing each gate toward the closed position (FIG. 2, spring 42).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by replacing the cam assembly of Li with the cam assembly of Foggini to bias the door to a closed position, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Foggini with the motivation of biasing the door to a closed position to prevent air leakage.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer in view of Li, Nakagawa, and Talarico (US 20150217628 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Bauer, Li, and Nakagawa fails to teach that the overhead module further comprises a light and a human-machine interface, a power supply port; and a visor.
However, Talarico teaches that the overhead module further comprises a light and a human-machine interface (paragraph 31, the assembly may include an LED and an LCD screen), a power supply port (paragraph 47, the plugs of the electrical connector 40); and a visor (paragraph 24, the visors).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by including the lights, screens, plugs and visors of Talarico, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Talarico with the motivation of including basic and popular vehicle features for driver and passenger use.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bauer in view of Li, Foggini in view of Ogiso (US 20090038774 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Bauer teaches an air delivery system for a vehicle (FIG. 1, unit 1), the air delivery system comprising: a heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system (FIG. 2, heater 5, which may also be an air cooling unit); an air duct (FIG. 1, feed duct 3) fluidly coupled with the heating, ventilation, and air conditioning system; and an overhead module (FIG. 1, the assembly of the openings that may direct air in a number of directions (e.g., underfoot, overhead, etc.)) defining an air chamber, an air inlet in selective fluid communication with an air outlet (FIG. 1, the outlet of outlet duct 25) that is in fluid communication with the air duct, a forward air register configured to direct air at least partially vehicle forward (FIG. 1, the outlet of duct 25), the overhead module comprises: a rail rider (FIG. 1, the portion of the assembly connecting the opening to the ducts) coupled with a rail (FIGS. 1 and 2, the exits 23 allow the assembly to be adjusted along the vehicle) disposed on an interior of the vehicle, wherein the overhead module slides and halts along the rail so as to be slidable relative to the vehicle (FIG. 1); wherein the air duct comprises: a follower feature assembly (FIG FIG. 1, the assembly of the unit 1) selectively defining an air outlet (FIG. 1, the outlet of outlet duct 25).
Li teaches a cam assembly (Li, FIG. 1, the assembly of the cam 15) disposed within the air chamber, and wherein the air outlet and the air inlet are in fluid communication in response to at least one gate defining the air outlet (FIG. 2).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by making it so the register of Bauer is adjusted based on a quality of the airflow as sensed by the sensor 12 of Li, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Li with the motivation of allowing the register to open an amount appropriate for the quality of the airflow when the assembly is at different positions within the vehicle.
Foggini teaches wherein the cam assembly comprises: an arcuate cam holder (Foggini, FIG. 3, the assembly holding the face cam 46); a plurality of cams (Foggini, FIG. 2, the various cams of cam 46) coupled with the arcuate cam holder, wherein the plurality of cams extend upward (FIG. 2, the cam 46 has an upward dimension) from the arcuate cam holder; wherein the follower feature assembly comprises: a plurality of gates each hingedly coupled with the air duct (in the combination below, there is a cam assembly for each of the outlets of Clark); wherein the plurality of gates are disposed along a length of the air duct (Bauer, FIG. 1, the openings at the end of ducts 25, which slide relative to and near the feed duct 3); and a protrusion extending from each gate, wherein the protrusion is configured to engage one cam of the plurality of cams in response to the overhead module sliding to at least one gate of the plurality of gates.
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by replacing the cam assembly of Li with the cam assembly of Foggini to bias the door to a closed position, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Foggini with the motivation of biasing the door to a closed position to prevent air leakage.
Foggini fails to teach and a rearward air register configured to direct air at least partially vehicle rearward.
However, Ogiso teaches and a rearward air register configured to direct air at least partially vehicle rearward (FIG. 5, first and second pillar outlets 83 and 85).
At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Bauer by including front-facing and rear-facing outlets on the assembly, as taught by Ogiso, with a reasonable expectation of success of arriving at the claimed invention. At the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Bauer with these aforementioned teachings of Ogiso with the motivation of giving users better control over the direction of the air.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Bauer, Li, Foggini, and Ogiso teaches a controller configured to control an air flow passing through the forward and rearward air registers; anda human-machine interface provided by the overhead module, wherein the human- machine interface is configured to signal the controller to control the air flow passing through the forward and rearward air registers based on an occupant input at the human-machine interface (Bauer, the HVAC system that sends air through the assembly of FIG. 1 is controlled by an HVAC controller that is operated through a human interface in the vehicle).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The claims are allowable because the Examiner was unable to find art teaching HVAC outlets whose shape is defined by a zipper gasket.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7, 9-14, 17-19, 21, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILLIAM C WEINERT/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/Allen R. B. Schult/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762