Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3,5-6,21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20040239088 A1 ("Rondeau") in view of US 20070045292 A1 ("Yamada").
Claim 1: Rondeau teaches An off-road vehicle (10), comprising: a frame (62); a wire harness assembly (145) secured to the frame and including a conductive element (Fig. 6); a battery (ATV's electrical system; para. 66, lines 3-4) connected to the wire harness assembly; a first seat (12) coupled with the frame; a second seat (130; para. 56, lines 1-6) positioned rearward of the first seat and coupled with the frame, wherein the second seat includes a seat cushion, one or more handle members, and one or more heating elements (handle heating system; para. 71, lines 1-8), and wherein the one or more heating elements are disposed in at least one of the seat cushion and the one or more handle members (handle heating system; para. 71, lines 1-8). But does not teach and a heating element switch electrically connected to the conductive element and operably connected to the one or more heating elements, wherein the heating element switch is positioned adjacent the second seat.
However, Yamada in a similar field of art teaches and a heating element switch (59) electrically connected to the conductive element and operably connected to the one or more heating elements, wherein the heating element switch is positioned adjacent the second seat (Fig. 4; para. 51, lines 1-12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the invention of Rondeau with the features of Yamada. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so as Yamada teaches “the heater control switches 58, 59, and 65 makes it possible to adjust the outputs from the heater groups” (para. 51, lines 1-3)
Claim 2: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Rondeau further teaches the off-road vehicle, wherein the wire harness assembly (145) includes an electrical socket (electrical contact at the base of socket 34; para. 66, lines 1-11) positioned in a storage compartment located under the seat cushion (Fig. 6).
Claim 3: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Rondeau further teaches the off-road vehicle, wherein the electrical socket is electrically connected to the one or more heating elements (para. 66, lines 1-11).
Claim 5: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Rondeau further teaches the off-road vehicle, wherein the second seat includes an electrical plug electrically connectable to the electrical socket (34), wherein the electrical plug may be selectively disconnected from the electrical socket (para. 66, lines 1-11 and para. 67, lines 3-10).
Claim 6: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 2 as noted above. Rondeau further teaches the off-road vehicle, wherein the electrical socket is electrically connected to one or more of a communication device, a GPS device, a light and a speaker (para. 70, lines 1-5).
Claim 21: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Rondeau further teaches the off-road vehicle, including a handlebar, wherein the wire harness assembly (145) extends forward of the handlebar (handle heating system; para. 71, lines 1-8) (Fig. 6).
Claim 23: The prior art teaches the limitations of claim 1 as noted above. Yamada further teaches the off-road vehicle, wherein the heating element switch (65) is secured to the one or more handle members (para. 51, lines 3-13).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3,5-6,21 and 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 5-10 of applicants remarks, filed 1/21/2026, with respect to claims 8-14,16-17,19-20,22 and 24 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 8-14,16-17,19-20,22 and 24 has been withdrawn.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: None of the references, either alone or in combination, disclose all of the limitations of the claims. Specifically, with regard to independent claim 8 none of the references disclose a second storage compartment positioned under the first seat, wherein the second storage compartment is located at least partially outboard from the first storage compartment; and a third storage compartment positioned under the first seat and separated from the second storage compartment.
with regard to independent claim 14 none of the references disclose a second pocket positioned adjacent to the storage compartment and outboard relative to the storage compartment, wherein the second pocket is positioned on an opposing side of the storage compartment relative to the first pocket.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.R.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3618
/MINNAH L SEOH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3618