DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed on 11/19/2025 are entered. The amendments change the scopes of the previously presented claims. The current Office Action is made FINAL as necessitated by the claim amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7, 10-13 and 15-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh (US 2020/0089306) in view of Jeong (US 9,467,903) and Lee (US 2016/0262170).
Oh discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, an electronic device (see electronic device 100 in Fig. 1), comprising: a Wi-Fi module comprising an internal memory (see combination of wireless LAN module 303 and memory 313 in Fig. 3); and a processor (see first processor 301 in Fig. 3) configured to execute at least one instruction, wherein the Wi-Fi module is configured to: store, in the internal memory, a first request (see “if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313” recited in paragraph [0246]); generate a wakeup signal based on reception of the first request from a first access point, while the processor is in a suspend mode (see “with the first processor 301 entering the sleep mode, if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313 and may transmit an active mode entry request to the first processor 301” recited in paragraph [0246]; Fig. 1 shows the device being in communication with the AP 110); and transmit, to the processor, the first request stored in the internal memory, after the processor has woken up based on the wake up signal (see “The first processor 301 may switch from the sleep mode to the active mode according to the active mode entry request, may receive the packet stored in the memory 313” recited in paragraph [0246]).
Regarding claim 3, a microcomputer (see microcomputer shown in Fig. 3) configured to: receive the wakeup signal transmitted from the Wi-Fi module; and transmit a power-on signal to the processor (see first processor 301 in Fig. 3; and see “with the first processor 301 entering the sleep mode, if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313 and may transmit an active mode entry request to the first processor 301” recited in paragraph [0246]; wherein the wireless module may be a Wi-Fi module as taught by Jiang below); based on the wakeup signal, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instructions to wake up based on reception of the power-on signal (see “The first processor 301 may switch from the sleep mode to the active mode according to the active mode entry request, may receive the packet stored in the memory 313” recited in paragraph [0246]).
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 1, a Wi-Fi module (Jiang discloses a transceiver module without indicating that the transceiver uses Wi-Fi); wherein the first request requests an access point transition from a first access point to a second access point.
Jeong discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, wherein the first request requests an access point transition from a first access point to a second access point (see handover command received in step 213 of Fig. 2 and column 5, lines 46-61, wherein the handover command; column 6, line 30-43 shows that the UE may be handed over to a target cell that differs from the serving cell geographically, wherein the cells must be served by different eNBs; Fig. 1 shows a network having multiple eNBs 120-28).
Lee discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 1, a Wi-Fi module (see UEs with Cellular Wi-Fi access as shown in Fig. 2A with components shown in Fig. 6; wherein the UE may connects to the Cellular network using Wi-Fi and perform the handover communications as shown in Jiang and wake-up signaling as shown in Oh above).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh using features, as taught by Jeong and Lee, in order to allow handover of the user equipment (see column 1, lines 34-54 of Jeong) and in order to reduce inter-cell interference and enhance throughput of a system (see paragraph [0010] of Lee).
Claim(s) 2 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, Jeong and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chin (US 2021/0329514).
Oh, Jeong and Lee disclose the features as shown above.
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to control the Wi-Fi module to transmit, to the first access point, a first response, based on the first request; Regarding claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instructions to control an access point, accessed by the Wi-Fi module, to transition from the first access point to a second access point, when the first response is transmitted to the first access point
Chin discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instruction to control the Wi-Fi module (see Wi-Fi as taught by Lee above) to transmit, to the first access point, a first response, based on the first request (see paragraphs [0101]-[0102], wherein the UE sends a response in step 725 in response to the handover request sent in step 710).
Regarding claim 7, wherein the processor is further configured to execute the at least one instructions to control an access point, accessed by the Wi-Fi module (see use of Wi-Fi as shown in Lee above), to transition from the first access point to a second access point, when the first response is transmitted to the first access point (see step 725-740 in Fig. 7, wherein the UE sends the handover response to the base station 310 in step 725 to transition to the base station 311 in steps 735-740).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh, Jeong and Lee using features, as taught by Chin, in order to reduce the rate of handover and confirms a handover request (see paragraph [0097] of Chin).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, Jeong and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Seok (US 2021/0250848).
Oh, Jeong and Lee disclose the features as shown above.
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 4, wherein the first request comprises a BSS transition management request.
Seok discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the first request comprises a BSS transition management request (see “BSS parameter update” recited in paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh, Jeong and Lee using features, as taught by Seok, in order to communicating BSS parameter update (see paragraph [0061] of Seok).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh, Jeong and Lee as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ree (US 2021/0037050).
Oh, Jeong and Lee disclose the features as shown above.
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 10, wherein the Wi-Fi module is further configured to maintain access to an IoT server while the processor is in the suspend mode; regarding claim 11, a wireless client device connected with a mesh network formed by a plurality of access points.
Ree discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the Wi-Fi module is further configured to maintain access to an IoT server while the processor is in the suspend mode (see “An IoT device 102a-n having a different IoT type, such as an IoT type of multimedia and subtype of video camera, e.g., a video IoT device 102, may need to maintain a network connection even when the device is in an inactive state… the communications module 130 (see FIG. 2A) of the video IoT device 102 can transmit data via the transceiver 132 in order to maintain the network connection even though the sensor 126 (e.g., the video camera) of the video IoT device 102 is in an inactive period” recited in paragraph [0098]).
Regarding claim 11, a wireless client device connected with a mesh network (see “wireless mesh network” recited in paragraph [0033]) formed by a plurality of access points (see Fig. 1A, wherein a plurality of IoT devices forms connections 108a-180n with the WAN 106; and see “the communication link 108b may be a Wi-Fi communication link with a wireless access point” recited in paragraph [0032], wherein a plurality of access points for the links 108 a-n may be utilized to form the network in Fig. 1A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh, Jeong and Lee using features, as taught by Ree, in order to have an ongoing network connection as soon as the IoT device 102 enters the active period so that it can immediately transfer data using the existing network connection (see paragraph [0098] of Ree).
Claim(s) 12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh in view of Jeong.
Oh discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 12, an operating method of an electronic device (see electronic device 100 in Fig. 1), the operating method comprising: receiving, from a first access point (see AP 110 in Fig. 1) while the electronic device is in a suspend mode (see “with the first processor 301 entering the sleep mode, if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313 and may transmit an active mode entry request to the first processor 301” recited in paragraph [0246]; Fig. 1 shows the device being in communication with the AP 110); storing the first request in an internal memory (see “if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313” recited in paragraph [0246]); generating a wakeup signal (see “with the first processor 301 entering the sleep mode, if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313 and may transmit an active mode entry request to the first processor 301” recited in paragraph [0246]; Fig. 1 shows the device being in communication with the AP 110); and transmitting, to a processor of the electronic device, the first request stored in the internal memory after the processor has woken up based on the wakeup signal (see “The first processor 301 may switch from the sleep mode to the active mode according to the active mode entry request, may receive the packet stored in the memory 313” recited in paragraph [0246]).
Regarding claim 17, wherein a microcomputer (see microcomputer shown in Fig. 3) is comprised in the electronic device, and wherein the method further comprises, by the microcomputer, receiving the wakeup signal; and transmitting a power-on signal to the processor, based on the wakeup signal (see first processor 301 in Fig. 3; and see “with the first processor 301 entering the sleep mode, if the wireless LAN module 303 receives a packet, the wireless LAN module 303 may store the received packet in the memory 313 and may transmit an active mode entry request to the first processor 301” recited in paragraph [0246]; wherein the wireless module may be a Wi-Fi module as taught by Jiang below); and wherein the processor is wakening up based on reception of the power-on signal (see “The first processor 301 may switch from the sleep mode to the active mode according to the active mode entry request, may receive the packet stored in the memory 313” recited in paragraph [0246]).
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 12, wherein the first request requests an access point transition from the first access point to a second access point.
Jeong discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the first request requests an access point transition from a first access point to a second access point (see handover command received in step 213 of Fig. 2 and column 5, lines 46-61, wherein the handover command; column 6, line 30-43 shows that the UE may be handed over to a target cell that differs from the serving cell geographically, wherein the cells must be served by different eNBs; Fig. 1 shows a network having multiple eNBs 120-28).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh using features, as taught by Jeong, in order to allow handover of the user equipment (see column 1, lines 34-54 of Jeong).
Claim(s) 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Jeong as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Chin (US 2021/0329514).
Oh and Lee disclose the features as shown above.
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 13, transmitting, to the first access point, a first response, based on the first request; regarding claim 15, controlling an access point to transition from the first access point to a second access point, when the first response is transmitted to the first access point.
Chin discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 13, transmitting, to the first access point, a first response, based on the first request (see paragraphs [0101]-[0102], wherein the UE sends a response in step 725 in response to the handover request sent in step 710).
Regarding claim 15, controlling an access point to transition from the first access point to a second access point, when the first response is transmitted to the first access point (see step 725-740 in Fig. 7, wherein the UE sends the handover response to the base station 310 in step 725 to transition to the base station 311 in steps 735-740).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh and Jeong using features, as taught by Chin, in order to reduce the rate of handover and confirms a handover request (see paragraph [0097] of Chin).
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oh and Jeong as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Seok (US 2021/0250848).
Oh and Jeong disclose the features as shown above.
Oh does not disclose the following features: regarding claim 16, wherein the first request comprises a BSS transition management request.
Seok discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 16, wherein the first request comprises a BSS transition management request (see “BSS parameter update” recited in paragraph [0062]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the current application to modify the system of Oh and Jeong using features, as taught by Seok, in order to communicating BSS parameter update (see paragraph [0061] of Seok).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6, 8-9, 14 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUTAI KAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473