DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 27 January 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-8, 10-20, and 31 remain pending in the application. Applicant's amendments to the Claims have overcome each and every rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action dated 16 October 2025; however, upon further consideration new rejections are set forth as explained below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-18, 20, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim et al. (US 2020/0226916) in view of Jamieson et al. (US 2021/0295248).
Regarding claim 1, Lim discloses a monitoring system (100) for detecting leakage from a fire extinguisher (1, par. 20-25, 46), which comprises a gas cylinder for containing gas (fig. 2), the monitoring system comprising: a load cell (see fig. 2 – “load cell”) for measuring the weight of a unit comprising the gas cylinder (par. 21 – “load cell”); at least one temperature sensor for detecting surrounding temperature (par. 21 – “temperature”); and a control system configured to collect surrounding temperature data from the at least one temperature sensor (par. 107 – step ii) and compensate the weight measurement readings obtained from the load cell at least partly based on the rate of surrounding temperature variations during the weight measurements readings (par. 108 – step iii).
Lim does not disclose that the control system is also configured to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature and applying weighting factors to the weight measurement data samples so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance for determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature.
Jamieson teaches a control system (325) for measuring the amount of material stored in a vessel (par. 1), the control system configured to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature (par. 91; fig. 5A – steps 524, 526) so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitoring system of Lim to further configure the control system to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature, as taught by Jamieson, so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance for determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature. This was known to prevent the changes in temperature from giving inaccurate weight measurements (par. 66).
Regarding claim 2, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the control system is further configured to determine whether a leakage from the cylinder has occurred at least partly based on the compensated weight measurement readings (par. 109 – step iv).
Regarding claim 3, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the control system is configured to compensate the weight measurement readings obtained from the individual load cell based on both how the absolute surrounding temperature (par. 106 – step i “temperature as a reference”) and the rate of surrounding temperature variations collected from the at least one temperature sensor affect the readings from the individual load cell (par. 108 – “collected data”).
Regarding claim 4, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 1, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the control system is configured to compensate the weight measurement readings obtained from the individual load cell based on the rate of surrounding temperature variations so that the control system will return different weight measurement values when the load cell is exposed to different speeds of temperature changes even when the weight was sampled at the exact same absolute surrounding temperature (par. 91, 92; fig. 5A – if the temperature is changing too rapidly the control system will return the previous weight, and if the temperature is not changing rapidly a new weight value is returned).
Regarding claim 5, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 1, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the control system is configured to obtain input data (via sensor 140 and thermistor 315), a function and/or a model which determines how both surrounding temperature and the rate of surrounding temperature variations affect weight measurement readings from the individual load cell (par. 55; fig. 3A), and then filter and/or compensate weight measurement readings obtained from the individual load cell based on the obtained input data, function and/or model (fig. 5A; par. 71-74).
Regarding claim 6, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 1, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the control system is configured to collect measurement data from both the individual load cell and the at least one temperature sensor during the same, or substantially the same, time period (fig. 5A – step 508) and then adjust weight measurements obtained from the individual load cell at least based on the collected measurement data indicative of how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the weight measurement readings from the individual load cell (fig. 5A – steps 514/520/524/526).
Regarding claim 7, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 6, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the control system is configured to collect, over a certain first time period, a range of measurement data from both the load cell and the temperature sensor (par. 81) and then determine, based on the collected range of measurement data, a model for compensating for further measurements obtained from the individual load cell where the model includes compensations for how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the weight measurement readings from the individual load cell (par. 8 – 445).
Regarding claim 8, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 7, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the control system is configured to obtain further measurement readings from the load cell and the temperature sensor and compensate the further weight measurement readings from the individual load cell using the determined model for the individual load cell (par. 87 – the method is performed at designated time intervals).
Regarding claim 10, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 1, and further wherein the control system comprises a local control unit located at the site of the fire extinguisher and which is configured to transmit (par. 50 – “Each existing device and equipment is connected to the fire safety and management system by an IOT interface”), to a remote computer unit (fig. 1 – “PC”, “Mobile”, “Laptop”) for further processing, data including temperature-compensated weight measurement readings obtained from the individual load cell (par. 53 – “Data gets processed and transformed synchronously using advance algorithms and state-of-the-art analytics tools”), wherein the temperature-compensated weight measurement readings include adjustments for how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell (par. 108 – “a temperature compensation”).
Regarding claim 11, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, and further wherein the remote computer unit is configured to determine, based on the compensated weight measurement readings, whether a leakage from the gas cylinder has occurred (par. 58 – “detect…leakage” and “reporting such incident to the control room”).
Regarding claim 12, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the local control unit is further configured to remove or discard weight measurement data samples obtained from the load cell during periods of relatively large variances of surrounding temperature before transmitting the data including the compensated weight measurement readings to the remote computer unit for further processing (fig. 5A – step 526).
Regarding claim 13, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the local control unit is further configured to reduce the risk of false positives by filtering weight measurement data obtained during periods of relatively large variances of surrounding temperature before transmitting the weight measurement data to the remote computer unit for further processing fig. 5A – step 526).
Regarding claim 14, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, and further wherein the local control unit is further configured to aggregate weight measurement data samples obtained from the load cell (par. 107 – “collection of data”) before transmitting the weight measurement data to the remote computer unit for further processing (par. 88).
Regarding claim 15, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 14, but not wherein the local control unit is further configured to continuously adjust the aggregation of weight measurement data samples at least partly based on a determination of how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell. But, Jamieson does teach that the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell compensated weight measurement readings (par. 82), and that the local control unit includes a Machine Learning model that adapts (par. 81).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the local control unit of the monitoring system of Lim in view of Jamieson to be further configured to continuously adjust the aggregation of weight measurement data samples at least partly based on a determination of how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell. Such a modification would allow the control unit to evaluate individual samples relative to the others to determine their validity, which would reduce the likelihood of the monitoring system taking an action based on inaccurate data.
Regarding claim 16, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, but not wherein the local control unit is further configured to continuously adjust the frequency of transmission of weight measurement data samples to the remote computer unit based on a determination of how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell, thereby reducing the risk of false positives and/or saving battery. But, Jamieson does teach that the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell compensated weight measurement readings (par. 82), and that the local control unit includes a Machine Learning model that adapts (par. 81).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified the local control unit of the monitoring system of Lim in view of Jamieson to be further configured to continuously adjust the frequency of transmission of weight measurement data samples to the remote computer unit based on a determination of how the rate of surrounding temperature variations affects the readings from the individual load cell, thereby reducing the risk of false positives and/or saving battery. Such a modification would ignore periods during which the surrounding temperature is changing, which is known to cause the load cell compensated weight measurement readings to be inaccurate.
Regarding claim 17, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the local control unit is further configured to apply weighting factors to weight measurement data samples so that samples that were obtained from the load cell during periods of relatively smaller changes of surrounding temperature (par. 92; fig. 5A – step 528) are given a greater importance for the determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature (par. 91; fig. 5A – step 526).
Regarding claim 18, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, and Jamieson further teaches wherein the remote computer unit is further configured to apply weighting factors to weight measurement data samples received from the local control unit so that samples that were obtained by the load cell during periods of relatively small variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance (par. 92; fig. 5A – step 528) when determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than samples obtained during periods of relatively large variances of surrounding temperature (par. 91; fig. 5A – step 526).
Regarding claim 20, Lim discloses a method for detecting leakage from a fire extinguisher comprising a cylinder for containing gas (1, par. 20-25, 46) and a monitoring system (100) comprising a load cell (see fig. 2 – “load cell”) for determining the weight of a unit comprising the cylinder (par. 21 – “load cell”), at least one temperature sensor for detecting surrounding temperature (par. 21 – “temperature”) and a control system, the method comprising the steps of: a) obtaining, by the control system, surrounding temperature data from the at least one temperature sensor (par. 106 – step i) and weight measurement data from the load cell (par. 106 – step i); and b) compensating, by the control system, weight measurement readings from the load cell at least partly based on the rate of surrounding temperature variations (par. 108 – step iii).
Lim does not disclose filtering, by the control system, the obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature and applying weighting factors to the weight measurement data samples so that data samples obtained during periods of smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance for determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature.
Jamieson teaches a method for measuring the amount of material stored in a vessel (par. 1), the method comprising providing a control system (325) configured to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature (par. 91; fig. 5A – steps 524, 526) so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of Lim to further filtering, by the control system, the obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature, as taught by Jamieson, so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance for determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature. This was known to prevent the changes in temperature from giving inaccurate weight measurements (par. 66).
Regarding claim 31, Lim discloses a fire extinguisher comprising a cylinder for containing gas (1, par. 20-25, 46); a load cell (see fig. 2 – “load cell”) for measuring the weight of a unit comprising the cylinder (par. 21 – “load cell”); at least one temperature sensor for detecting surrounding temperature (par. 21 – “temperature”); and a local control unit configured to collect surrounding temperature data from the at least one temperature sensor (par. 106 – step i) and compensate the weight measurement readings obtained from the load cell at least partly based on the rate of surrounding temperature variations during the weight measurements readings (par. 108 – step iii).
Lim does not further disclose that the local control unit is also configured to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature and applying weighting factors to the weight measurement data samples so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance for determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature.
Jamieson teaches a local control unit (325) for measuring the amount of material stored in a vessel (par. 1), the local control unit configured to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature (par. 91; fig. 5A – steps 524, 526) so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fire extinguisher of Lim to further configure the local control unit to filter obtained weight measurement data based on the obtained surrounding temperature data by at least one of discarding weight measurement data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature, as taught by Jamieson, so that data samples obtained during periods of relatively smaller variances of surrounding temperature are given a greater importance for determining whether leakage from the cylinder has occurred than data samples obtained during periods of relatively larger variances of surrounding temperature. This was known to prevent the changes in temperature from giving inaccurate weight measurements (par. 66).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lim, in view of Jamieson, and further in view of Lander et al. (US 2018/0320828).
Regarding claim 19, Lim in view of Jamieson discloses the monitoring system described regarding claim 10, but not further wherein the control system is configured to at least one of filter and compensate weight measurement data based on vibration sensor data which is at least one of obtained by the control system from a separate vibration sensor and derived by control system from the weight measurement reading, and wherein the control system is further configured to determine whether a leakage from the cylinder has occurred at least partly based on the vibration filtered or compensated weight measurement data.
Lander teaches a monitoring system (100) with a control system (130) configured to collect vibration sensor data (120, see par. 40) in order to monitor for leaks (par. 44).
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the monitoring system of Lim in view of Jamieson to be configured to at least one of filter and compensate weight measurement data based on vibration sensor data which is at least one of obtained by the control system from a separate vibration sensor and derived by control system from the weight measurement reading, and wherein the control system is further configured to determine whether a leakage from the cylinder has occurred at least partly based on the vibration filtered or compensated weight measurement data, in light of the teachings of Lander. Lander teaches that vibration sensor data can also be used to detect leaks from a fire extinguishing apparatus, and Lim in view of Jamieson teaches a control unit that evaluates sensor data to determine its validity. Together, the prior art teaches that both weight data and vibration data can be used to indicate a fluid leak and considering both types of data would provide independent verification to the presence of a leak.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CODY J LIEUWEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752