DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
The amendment to the claims filed 22 May 2026 has been entered. Claim(s) 1 is/are currently amended. Claim(s) 7 and 16-18 has/have been canceled. Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 19-25 is/are pending.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word "means," but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a "sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor in claim 1.
If Applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), Applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1 and claims dependent thereon, the limitation "a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor" is indefinite. As noted above, said limitation has been interpreted to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f).
Applicant discloses, "In embodiments in which the sensor is a non-freestanding sensor ex vivo, sensor deployment mechanisms may include specialized components for deployment of a non-freestanding sensor. For example, with a freestanding sensor, the sensor may be disposed within a lumen of an inserter needle that is inserted into the skin of the host along with the sensor and withdrawn, leaving the sensor embedded in the skin. For a non-freestanding sensor, in some embodiments, a folding-unfolding mechanism or a coiling-uncoiling mechanism may be provided within the needle to control the position of the sensor and, if desired, to leverage internal void space inside the lumen of the cylindrical needle. In embodiments, in which the sensor is too soft for needle/cannula delivery, a preconnected c-needle deployment system may be used." There is no/insufficient disclosure of the "specialized components for deployment of a non-freestanding sensor" (¶ [0324]). At best, Applicant refers to additional generic "mechanisms" for "folding-unfolding," "coiling-uncoiling," etc., but does not disclose the structure of said mechanisms. Accordingly, there is no (or insufficient) disclosed corresponding structure that performs the entire claimed function(s) of the above-noted limitation, such that the limitation is indefinite. See MPEP 2181(III).
Additionally, the scope of "freestanding" in view of Applicant's amendments to the claims is unclear. It is unclear if "freestanding" encompasses any sensor "that holds is shape and position without any supporting forces and regardless of the orientation thereof with respsect to gravity (¶ [0161]); encompasses any sensor that "holds its shape during dipping operations" (¶ [0210]); encompasses any sensor that is "relatively stiff" (¶ [0249]); is limited to "a sensor having a Young's modulus and/or a flexural modulus of greater than 500 MPa or having a buckling force that is substantially greater than the weight of the sensor under gravity" (¶ [0259]); encompasses any sensor that may "bend or deform when a sufficient force 800 is applied thereto and may return…to the same shape and position as prior to application of force 800, when the force is withdrawn" (¶ [0260]); etc.
The scope of "non-freestanding" is similarly unclear. It is unclear if "non-freestanding" encompasses any sensor that is "tissue compliant" (¶ [0123]); any sensor that is "relatively flexible" (¶ [0249]); is limited to "a sensor having a Young's modulus and/or a flexural modulus of less than 500 MPa or having a buckling force that is less than 0.01 N or…substantially less than the weight of the sensor under gravity" (¶ [0259]); encompasses any sensor that may "bend or deform at various locations when a sufficient force…is applied thereto and may remain…in the bent or deformed shape, when the force is withdrawn" (¶ [0260]); etc.
Claim(s) 1-6, 8-15 and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1 and claims dependent thereon, as discussed above, the limitation "a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor" invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) and is indefinite based on failure of the specification to disclose corresponding structure that performs the entire claimed function(s). Accordingly, the above-noted limitation also lacks adequate written description. See MPEP 2181(IV).
Additionally, Applicant discloses, "In embodiments in which the sensor is a non-freestanding sensor ex vivo, sensor deployment mechanisms may include specialized components for deployment of a non-freestanding" (¶ [0324]). Claim 1 indicates the analyte sensor is a freestanding sensor ex vivo, while paragraph [0324] indicates that "sensor deployment mechanisms" are utilized for sensors that are non-freestanding ex vivo, such that the above-noted limitation additionally encompasses and/or is directed to new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2011/0230735 A1 (Wolfe); or alternatively, over Wolfe in view of US 2015/0202351 A1 (Kaplan).
Regarding claim 1, Wolfe discloses/suggests an analyte sensor system comprising:
an analyte sensor configured for in vivo use (e.g., Fig. 10), the analyte sensor comprising:
an elongated core (central core 402) comprising a layer of conductive material covering at least a portion of the elongated core (wires 401; ¶¶ [0094]-[0097]; etc.);
a working electrode disposed on the elongated core (¶¶ [0094]-[0097] electrode areas, or electrodes, are formed on the wires by removing a portion of the electrically insulating layer that has been extruded over the wire, wherein typically one of these electrodes is a working electrode); and
a membrane covering at least a portion of the working electrode, wherein the membrane comprises an enzyme layer (¶ [0094] coating on the electrode area(s) or the entire wire, said coating having a plurality of constituents, e.g., ¶¶ [0098]-[0116], including an analyte sensing constituent, such as an enzyme, e.g., ¶¶ [0100]-[0107]; etc.),
wherein the analyte sensor is configured to transform from a freestanding sensor (i.e., relatively rigid) sensor to a non-freestanding sensor (i.e., relatively flexible) responsive to being inserted/implanted (e.g., ¶ [0089] the sensor can be more stiff during the implant and then soften during wear);
an inserter needle having a lumen in which the analyte sensor is disposed, and a sharpened distal tip configured to pierce skin of a host (¶¶ [0089] needle carrying/enclosing the sensor; Fig. 5, needle 514; ¶ [0208] needle used to insert sensor; etc.), wherein the analyte sensor is configured to be at least partially inserted into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle, and wherein the inserter needle is withdrawn from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (¶ [0129]; ¶ [0208]; etc.); and
a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (insertion tool 560; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0208]; etc.).
As discussed with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, the scope of "freestanding" and "non-freestanding" are indefinite. Wolfe discloses the analyte sensor is relatively stiff ex vivo and relatively flexible in vivo, thereby meeting at least one reasonable interpretation of the above-noted terms consistent with the specification (e.g., ¶ [0249]).
Alternatively/Additionally, Wolfe discloses chemistry, such as the enzyme layer, may be deposited on the electrode areas of the analyte sensor after the wire is positioned around the core (e.g., ¶ [0089]), and methods of depositing said chemistry include, e.g., dip and dry processes (e.g., ¶ [0066]). Further alternatively/additionally, Kaplan similarly discloses a component configured for in vivo insertion, wherein the component is configured to transform from freestanding to non-freestanding responsive to being inserted in tissue (e.g., ¶¶ [0017]-[0018]), wherein, while free-standing, the component has a Young's modulus at least comparable to or greater than that of a target tissue (¶ [0064]), which may be subcutaneous tissue (¶ [0014]), and, while non-freestanding, the component has a Young's modulus reduced by 2- to 1000-fold relative to the freestanding state (e.g., ¶ [0131]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolfe with the analyte sensor being configured to transform from a freestanding sensor (e.g., having material properties sufficient to hold its shape while penetrating a solution surface for dipping, while penetrating tissue, etc.) to a non-freestanding sensor responsive to being inserted in tissue as disclosed/suggested by Kaplan in order to ensure the analyte sensor does not buckle or deform during chemistry/enzyme application (Wolfe, ¶ [0089], ¶ [0066]; etc.), during sensor insertion through tissue (Kaplan, ¶ [0065]), thereby precisely reaching a target region of tissue (Kaplan, ¶ [0065]), etc., while enabling the sensor to be mechanically compliant with the target tissue when inserted/implanted (Kaplan, ¶ [0067]).
Wolfe/Wolfe as modified only appears to expressly disclose the analyte sensor may transform in response to in vivo temperature (e.g., ¶ [0089]; ¶ [0092] shape memory materials include "heat softening" materials; etc.). As such, Wolfe does not expressly disclose the analyte sensor transforms in response to in vivo hydration. However, Wolfe does disclose the core material may include a polymer (e.g., ¶ [0089]), and generally suggests the core material having shape memory properties permits the core/sensor to be stiffer ex vivo and to soften in vivo (¶ [0089]). In view of the above, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Wolfe with the analyte sensor transforming in response to in vivo hydration because Applicant has not disclosed that an analyte sensor that transforms in response to in vivo hydration provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Rather, Applicant discloses sensors that transform in response to hydration and sensors that transform in response to, e.g., temperature, as suitable alternatives (e.g., ¶ [0321]). As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the temperature-responsive core material disclosed by Wolfe because either arrangement permits the analyte sensor to be relatively stiff ex vivo and relatively flexible in vivo.
Alternatively/Additionally, Kaplan discloses/suggests a component configured for in vivo insertion, wherein the component is configured to transform from freestanding to non-freestanding responsive to in vivo hydration of the component (e.g., ¶ [0018]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wolfe with the analyte sensor being configured to transform responsive to in vivo hydration (e.g., the core comprising a silk-based material) as disclosed/suggested by Kaplan as a simple substitution of one suitable transformable material (or condition for initiating such a transformation) for another to yield no more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claims 2 and 9, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests the elongated core comprises a titanium alloy (e.g., ¶ [0089] nickel titanium alloy) which has a Young's modulus between 500 MPa and 147 GPa before the in vivo insertion (see, e.g., Wikipedia, mailed herewith). Alternatively/Additionally, Kaplan discloses an elongated core comprising copper and a dynamic silk coating (e.g., Figs. 4-5), wherein the elongated core has a Young's modulus between 500 MPa and 147 GPa before the in vivo insertion (see, e.g., Wikipedia, mailed herewith, wherein copper has a Young's modulus between 110-128 GPa; Kaplan, ¶ [0064]; etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analyte sensor of Wolfe with the elongated core comprising copper, wherein the elongated core has a Young's modulus between 500 MPa and 147 GPa before the in vivo insertion, as disclosed and/or suggested by Kaplan as a simple substitution of one suitable elongated core material(s) for another to yield no more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 3, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests but does not expressly disclose the elongated core has a Young's modulus less than 5 GPa before the in vivo insertion. However, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wolfe with the elongated core having a Young's modulus less than 5 GPa before the in vivo insertion because Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the elongated core having any Young's modulus before the in vivo insertion that enables the sensor to be sufficiently "freestanding" (e.g., holding its shape during manufacturing processes, holding its shape during insertion through tissue, etc.) because either arrangement permits to be relatively stiff ex vivo and relatively flexible in vivo.
Alternatively/Additionally, Kaplan discloses, before in vivo insertion, the component may have a Young's modulus at least comparable or up to 90% greater than that of a target tissue (e.g., ¶ [0064]). Since Applicant acknowledges the elastic modulus of subcutaneous tissue is known or reported to be 0.12-23 kPa (e.g., ¶ [0122]), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wolfe with the elongated core having a Young's modulus less than 5 GPa before the in vivo insertion (e.g., 0.12 kPa – 47.7 kPa) as disclosed/suggested by Kaplan in order to provide the sensor with sufficient stiffness for penetrating subcutaneous tissue during insertion therein (Kaplan, ¶ [0122]).
Regarding claims 4-6, Wolfe as modified does not expressly disclose the elongated core has a buckling force of less than 0.02 N, less than 0.01 N, or less than 0.0001 N after the in vivo insertion. However, Kaplan discloses buckling force is a function of at least Young's modulus (e.g., Kaplan, ¶ [0065] a Young's modulus sufficient to yield a buckling force), such that Wolfe as modified discloses there is an inherent buckling force associated with each of the freestanding and non-freestanding sensor states, wherein said buckling force is a function of the Young's modulus of the analyte sensor/elongated core in each respective state, and said buckling force is greater before in vivo insertion (Kaplan, ¶ [0337]). Accordingly, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the analyte sensor of Wolfe with analyte sensor (e.g., a stimulus-responsive elongated core thereof) having a buckling force of less than 0.25 N, less than less 0.02 N, less than 0.01 N, or less than 0.001 N after in vivo insertion because Applicant has not disclosed the claimed buckling force ranges provide an advantage, are used for a particular purpose, or solve a stated problem. As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the buckling forces otherwise yielded by the Young's modulus values of Wolfe as modified above because either arrangement enables the sensor to be mechanically compliant with the target tissue when inserted/implanted (Kaplan, ¶ [0067]).
Alternatively/Additionally, buckling force is a function of at least Young's modulus, which provides a quality that can be optimized (e.g., compliance with target tissue in vivo). Since the Young's modulus values, and therefore the buckling forces yielded thereby, provide such a quality, the specific claimed ranges of buckling forces after in vivo insertion of the sensor would have been obvious because it has been held that the discovery of optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is not inventive. See MPEP 2144.05(II).
Regarding claim 10, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests the conductive material is selected from the group consisting of carbon, conductive polymer, platinum, platinum-iridium, gold, palladium, iridium, and combinations thereof (¶¶ [0011]-[0012] a first sensor wire is selected from the group consisting of platinum, iridium, iridium oxide, and palladium).
Regarding claim 11, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests the analyte sensor further comprises a layer of insulating material covering at least a portion of the layer of conductive material, wherein the working electrode is formed in part by a window in the layer of insulating material that exposes an electrode portion of the layer of conductive material (¶¶ [0094]-[0097] electrode areas, or electrodes, are formed on the wires by removing a portion of the electrically insulating layer that has been extruded over the wire, wherein typically one of these electrodes is a working electrode).
Claim(s) 1 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0245412 A1 (previously cited, Rong) in view of Wolfe and Simpson.
Regarding claims 1 and 11-12, Rong discloses and/or suggests an analyte sensor system comprising:
an analyte sensor configured for in vivo use (e.g., Fig. 1), the analyte sensor comprising:
an elongated core (core 110) comprising a layer of conductive material covering at least a portion of the elongated core (first layer 112 formed of a conductive material);
a layer of insulating material covering at least a portion of the layer of conductive material (second layer 104 formed of an insulating material), wherein a working electrode is formed on the elongated core in part by a window in the layer of insulating material that exposes an electrode portion of the layer of conductive material (¶ [0152] working electrode is exposed via window 106, e.g., Fig. 1C);
an additional conductive layer covering at least a portion of the layer of insulating material (third layer 114 comprising a conductive material), the additional conductive layer comprising a reference electrode (¶ [0153] third layer may comprise a reference electrode); and
a membrane covering at least a portion of the working electrode, wherein the membrane comprises an enzyme layer (membrane 108 covering at least the working electrode; ¶ [0130]); and
an inserter needle having a lumen in which the analyte sensor is disposed, and a sharpened distal tip configured to pierce skin of a host, wherein the analyte sensor is configured to be at least partially inserted into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle, and wherein the inserter needle is withdrawn from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (e.g., ¶ [0189] needle to implant the sensor and then slide over the sensor when the needle is withdrawn).
Rong does not expressly disclose the system further comprises a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor.
Wolfe discloses a system comprising an analyte sensor; an inserter needle having a lumen in which the analyte sensor is disposed, and a sharpened distal tip configured to pierce skin of a host (¶¶ [0089] needle carrying/enclosing the sensor; Fig. 5, needle 514; ¶ [0208] needle used to insert sensor; etc.), wherein the analyte sensor is configured to be at least partially inserted into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle, and wherein the inserter needle is withdrawn from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (¶ [0129]; ¶ [0208]; etc.); and a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (insertion tool 560; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0208]; etc.).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Rong with the inserter needle and sensor deployment mechanism disclosed/suggested by Wolfe in order to facilitate inserting the sensor into a target tissue (Rong, ¶ [0189]; Wolfe, ¶ [0090]; etc.).
Rong as modified does not expressly disclose the analyte sensor is configured to transform from a freestanding sensor to a non-freestanding sensor responsive to in vivo hydration of the analyte sensor. However, Rong does disclose the core may comprise a polymer (e.g., ¶ [0150]). Wolfe discloses an analyte sensor comprising a core of a shape memory material enables a sensor to be stiffer during implant and then soften during wear (e.g., ¶ [0089]). Simpson discloses and/or suggests a polymer configured to transform from a freestanding configuration to a non-freestanding configuration in response to in vivo hydration (e.g., ¶ [0428] material that is in a rigid state when dehydrated and/or at room temperature and becomes soft and flexible when exposed to body temperature and/or hydration, e.g., hydrophilic polymers, shape memory polymers, etc.).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Rong with the analyte sensor being configured to transform from a freestanding sensor to a non-freestanding sensor responsive to in vivo hydration of the analyte sensor as disclosed and/or suggested by Simpson (e.g., carrier substrate 112 comprising a hydrophilic polymer, shape memory polymer, etc.) in order to enable the analyte sensor to be stiffer during insertion and soften during wear (Wolfe, ¶ [0089]).
Claim(s) 1 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2013/0056144 A1 (Kotzan) in view of Wolfe and Simpson.
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Kotzan discloses and/or suggests an analyte sensor system comprising:
an analyte sensor configured for in vivo use (Abstract, implantable) and formed from a plurality of substantially planar layers (Fig. 2), said analyte sensor comprising:
an elongated core (carrier substrate 112);
a layer of conductive material covering at least a portion of the elongated core (contact layer 116);
a working electrode disposed on the elongated core (electrode 136); and
a membrane covering at least a portion of the working electrode, wherein the membrane comprises an enzyme layer (electrode system 132 having an enzyme, such as glucose oxidase, ¶ [0072]); and
an inserter needle having a sharpened distal tip configured to pierce skin of a host, wherein the analyte sensor is configured to be at least partially inserted into the skin of the host using the inserter needle (¶ [0087] insertion needle).
Kotzan does not expressly disclose the inserter needle has a lumen in which the analyte sensor is disposed, wherein the analyte sensor is configured to be at least partially inserted into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle, and wherein the inserter needle is withdrawn from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor; or the system further comprises a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor.
Wolfe discloses a system comprising an analyte sensor; an inserter needle having a lumen in which the analyte sensor is disposed, and a sharpened distal tip configured to pierce skin of a host (¶¶ [0089] needle carrying/enclosing the sensor; Fig. 5, needle 514; ¶ [0208] needle used to insert sensor; etc.), wherein the analyte sensor is configured to be at least partially inserted into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle, and wherein the inserter needle is withdrawn from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (¶ [0129]; ¶ [0208]; etc.); and a sensor deployment mechanism configured to insert the inserter needle and the analyte sensor into the skin of the host from the lumen of the inserter needle and withdraw the inserter needle from the skin of the host after the in vivo insertion of the analyte sensor (insertion tool 560; ¶ [0129]; ¶ [0208]; etc.).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Kotzan with the inserter needle and sensor deployment mechanism disclosed/suggested by Wolfe in order to facilitate inserting the sensor into a target tissue (Kotzan, ¶ [0087]; Wolfe, ¶ [0090]; etc.).
Kotzan as modified does not expressly disclose the analyte sensor is configured to transform from a freestanding sensor to a non-freestanding sensor responsive to in vivo hydration of the analyte sensor. However, Kotzan does disclose the core may comprise a polymer (e.g., ¶ [0069]). Wolfe discloses an analyte sensor comprising a core of a shape memory material enables a sensor to be stiffer during implant and then soften during wear (e.g., ¶ [0089]). Simpson discloses and/or suggests a polymer configured to transform from a freestanding configuration to a non-freestanding configuration in response to in vivo hydration (e.g., ¶ [0428] material that is in a rigid state when dehydrated and/or at room temperature and becomes soft and flexible when exposed to body temperature and/or hydration, e.g., hydrophilic polymers, shape memory polymers, etc.).
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Kotzan with the analyte sensor being configured to transform from a freestanding sensor to a non-freestanding sensor responsive to in vivo hydration of the analyte sensor as disclosed and/or suggested by Simpson (e.g., carrier substrate 112 comprising a hydrophilic polymer, shape memory polymer, etc.) in order to enable the analyte sensor to be stiffer during insertion and soften during wear (Wolfe, ¶ [0089]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe (or Wolfe in view of Kaplan) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of WO 2017/004531 A1 (previously cited, Rogers).
Regarding claim 8, Wolfe as modified teaches/suggests the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, but does not expressly disclose the elongated core has a flexural modulus of between 0.1 and 300 kPa after the in vivo insertion. However, as discussed above, Wolfe as modified discloses the sensor may be designed to focus on softness and flexibility (Wolfe, ¶ [0089]), compliance with surrounding tissue (Kaplan, ¶ [0067]), etc. Rogers discloses an implantable device may be considered "soft" when bulk properties such as Young's modulus and bending modulus are tailored to minimize the transmission of undue physical stresses and forces on surrounding tissue (¶ [0006]), disclosing the bulk properties may be matched to soft tissue, such as between 0.1 and 300 kPa (e.g., ¶ [0022], ¶ [0024], etc.). Accordingly, similar to the disclosure of Kaplan with respect to Young's modulus, Rogers discloses the bending (flexural) modulus of an in vivo device while in the body similarly provides a quality which can be optimized (i.e., reducing stress and/or force on surrounding tissue). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analyte sensor of Wolfe with the elongated core having a flexural modulus between 0.1 kPa and 300 kPa after in vivo insertion as disclosed/suggested by Rogers in order to reduce/further reduce stress/force on surrounding tissue (Rogers, ¶ [0006]) and/or because it has been held that the discovery of optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation is not inventive. See MPEP 2144.05(11).
Claim(s) 14-15 and 19-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolfe (or Wolfe in view of Kaplan) as applied to claim(s) 1 above, and further in view of US 2014/0213866 A1 (previously cited, Simpson).
Regarding claims 14-15, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests the limitations of claim 1, as discussed above, but neither expressly discloses the analyte sensor is configured to transform in response to in vivo hydration and further configured to transform from a freestanding sensor to a non-freestanding sensor responsive to a temperature change across a transition temperature, wherein the transition temperature is between 78° and 98° F, nor expressly discloses the elongated core comprises an elongated polymer core or an elongated fiber core.
Simpson discloses/suggests a polymer configured to transform from a freestanding configuration to a non-freestanding configuration in response to in vivo hydration and a temperature change across a transition temperature (e.g., ¶ [0428] material that is in a rigid state when dehydrated and/or at room temperature and becomes soft and flexible when exposed to body temperature and/or hydration, e.g., hydrophilic polymers, shape memory polymers, etc.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the analyte sensor of Wolfe with the elongated core comprising a polymer (e.g., hydrophilic polymer(s), shape memory polymer(s), etc.), such that the analyte sensor is configured to transform in response to in vivo hydration and a temperature change across a transition temperature (e.g., body temperature) as disclosed/suggested by Simpson as a simple substitution of one suitable transformable material for another to yield no more than predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Wolfe as modified does not expressly disclose the transition temperature is between 78° and 98° F. Rather, as noted above, Simpson (or Wolfe as modified thereby) discloses the transition temperature is "body temperature" (e.g., ¶ [0428]), which Simpson discloses is 37° C, or 98.6° F (e.g., ¶ [0398]). However, it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Accordingly, since the disclosed transition temperature is less than a degree from the claimed range, at least the upper end of said range would have been obvious because the transition temperatures are so close that one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the analyte sensor disclosed by Simpson (or Wolfe as modified thereby) and the claimed analyte sensor to provide the same result (e.g., transforming to the analyte sensor to a flexible, non-freestanding state after insertion in vivo).
Alternatively/Additionally, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the analyte sensor of Wolfe with the transition temperature being between 78-98° F because Applicant has not disclosed the claimed temperature range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. Rather, Applicant discloses a larger transition temperature range of 78-100° F is suitable (e.g., ¶ [0165]). As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the transition temperature disclosed by Simpson (or Wolfe as modified thereby) because either arrangement ensures the analyte sensor does not buckle or deform during chemistry/enzyme application (Wolfe, ¶ [0089], ¶ [0066]; etc.), during sensor insertion through tissue (Kaplan, ¶ [0065]) to precisely reach a target region of tissue (Kaplan, ¶ [0065]), etc., while enabling the sensor to be mechanically compliant with the target tissue when inserted/implanted (Kaplan, ¶ [0067]).
Regarding claims 19-20, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests but does not expressly disclose the elongated polymer core has a Young's modulus less than 5 GPa or less than 2 GPa before the in vivo insertion. However, at the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wolfe with the elongated polymer core having a Young's modulus less than 2 GPa before the in vivo insertion because Applicant has not disclosed that the claimed range provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. As no evidence has been provided to the contrary, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected Applicant's invention to perform equally well with the elongated polymer core having any Young's modulus before the in vivo insertion that enables the sensor to be sufficiently "freestanding" (e.g., holding its shape during manufacturing processes, holding its shape during insertion through tissue, etc.) because either arrangement permits to be relatively stiff ex vivo and relatively flexible in vivo.
Alternatively/Additionally, Kaplan discloses, before in vivo insertion, the component may have a Young's modulus at least comparable or up to 90% greater than that of a target tissue (e.g., ¶ [0064]). Since Applicant acknowledges the elastic modulus of subcutaneous tissue is known or reported to be 0.12-23 kPa (e.g., ¶ [0122]), it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the sensor system of Wolfe with the elongated polymer core having a Young's modulus less than 2 GPa before the in vivo insertion (e.g., 0.12 kPa – 47.7 kPa) as disclosed/suggested by Kaplan in order to provide the sensor with sufficient stiffness for penetrating subcutaneous tissue during insertion therein (Kaplan, ¶ [0122]).
Regarding claim 21, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests the layer of conductive material is a conductive trace that runs along a length of the elongated polymer core or the elongated fiber core (¶ [0089] wires 401 coil around a central core 402, e.g., Fig. 10), wherein a portion of the conductive trace comprises the working electrode (¶¶ [0094]-[0097] electrode areas, or electrodes, are formed on the wires by removing a portion of the electrically insulating layer that has been extruded over the wire, wherein typically one of these electrodes is a working electrode).
Regarding claim 22, Wolfe as modified discloses/suggests the elongated polymer core comprises an elongated elliptical polymer core (Wolfe, ¶ [0009] core is cylindrical, which one of ordinary skill in the art would readily appreciate encompasses circular and elliptical cross sections) and wherein at least one conductive trace runs along the elongated elliptical polymer core (e.g., ¶ [0089] wires 401 coil around a central core 402).
Regarding claims 23-25, Wolfe as modified teaches/suggests the limitations of claim 15, as discussed above. Since none of claims 15 and 23-25 require the analyte sensor to comprise an elongated fiber core, Wolfe as modified further meets the limitations of claims 23-25.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure: see attached PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Meredith Weare/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791