DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the inner surface of the sieve mesh" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, claim 1, line 14 recites ,” an inner surface of the sieve mesh” should be changed to “the inner surface” to reflect the changed required in line 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-7, 8, and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah (US Pub 2020/0055066 A1) in view of Fang (CN 112108237) and Xing (CN 107127142).
Regarding claim 1, Shah discloses a powder sieving apparatus for a powder coating system having a powder spray gun (element 310), a powder suction pump assembly (element 210), and a powder container/hopper (element 320), the said sieving apparatus comprising: a housing (see Fig. 5A; element 100) having at least one outlet (see Fig. 5A; powder outlet at the top of element 100) connected to a suction side of the powder suction pump assembly and an inlet (element see Fig. 5A; powder inlet from bottom of element 100) connected to a suction pipe dipped in the powder container (see Fig. 6; element 220), but Shah does not disclose a cylindrical sieve within the housing dividing the housing into two compartments, an inner compartment connected to the inlet of the housing and outer compartment connected to the outlet of the housing, said cylindrical sieve having a sieve mesh through which powder is sucked by the powder suction pump from inner compartment to the outer compartment; and a brush holder rotatably and/or oscillatingly adapted in the cylindrical sieve, wherein said brush holder is hollow and includes a plurality of nozzles or holes for spraying pressurized air over the inner surface of the sieve mesh for skimming and washing the sieve mesh and a plurality of bristles or wipers for scrubbing an inner surface of the sieve mesh to keep the sieve mesh unclogged and clean for ensuring continuous flow of freshly sieved smooth flowing powder through the powder coating system.
Fang teaches a cylindrical sieve (element 12) within the housing dividing the housing into two compartments, an inner compartment (see Fig. 2; area within element 12) connected to the inlet of the housing and outer compartment (element 11) connected to the outlet of the housing, said cylindrical sieve having a sieve mesh (element 12) through which powder is sucked by the powder suction pump from inner compartment to the outer compartment; and a brush holder (element 34) rotatably and/or oscillatingly adapted in the cylindrical sieve, said brush holder has a plurality of bristles (see Fig. 1; elements 34) or wipers for scrubbing inner surface of the sieve mesh to keep the sieve mesh unclogged and clean for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening (Description page 2, paragraphs 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah, as taught by Fang, for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening.
Xing teaches the brush holder is hollow (element 18) and comprises a plurality of nozzles or holes (elements 23) for spraying pressurised air over the surface of sieve mesh (element 7) for skimming and washing the sieve mesh along with the bristles or wipers of the brush holder to prevent clogging and to ensure continuous flow of freshly sieved smooth flowing powder through the powder coating system for the purpose of improves the screening efficiency of powder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah/Fang, as taught by Xing, for the purpose of improves the screening efficiency of powder.
Regarding claim 2, Shah does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Fang teaches the cylindrical sieve is held fixedly or rotatably (Description page 3, paragraph 1) within the housing for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening (Description page 2, paragraphs 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah, as taught by Fang, for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening.
Regarding claim 3, Shah does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Fang teaches the cylindrical sieve is configured to rotate at differential speed in the rotational direction or opposite direction of the brush holder (Description page 2, paragraph 5) within the housing for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening (Description page 2, paragraphs 5-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah, as taught by Fang, for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening.
Regarding claim 5, Shah/Fang does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Xing teaches the brush holder comprises the plurality of rows of plurality of bristles or wipers and a plurality of rows of the nozzles or holes provided between the rows of the bristles or wipers, so the scrubbing and air wash takes place simultaneously (see Fig. 1; elements 22 and 23) for the purpose of improves the screening efficiency of powder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah/Fang, as taught by Xing, for the purpose of improves the screening efficiency of powder.
Regarding claim 6 Shah/Fang does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Xing teaches the brush holder includes the plurality of rows of the bristles or wipers, and the nozzles or holes are provided between the bristles or wipers, so the scrubbing and air wash takes place simultaneously (see Fig. 1; elements 22 and 23) for the purpose of improves the screening efficiency of powder. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah/Fang, as taught by Xing, for the purpose of improves the screening efficiency of powder.
Regarding claim 7, Shah does not disclose the limitations of the claim. Fang teaches the brush holder is rotated and/or oscillated by a motor (Description page 3, paragraphs 5-6) within the housing for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening (Description page 3, paragraph 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Shah, as taught by Fang, for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening.
Regarding claim 8, Shah discloses the apparatus is adapted vertically or angularly on the powder coating system for allowing falls back of non-sieved powder in the container (see Fig. 6; element 100).
Regarding claim 10, Shah discloses a powder sieving apparatus as claimed in claim 1, said powder sieving apparatus having an outlet (see Fig. 5A; powder outlet at the top of element 100) for adapting suction pump on each outlet (see Fig. 6; element 210); however, Shah does not explicitly disclose multiple outlets. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to provide multiple outlets because Applicant has not disclosed that multiple outlets provides an advantage, is used for a particular purpose, or solves a stated problem. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Shah, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either outlet configuration because both configurations would perform the same function of providing an outlet for the purpose of obtaining more coatings with qualified particle sizes during screening.
Regarding claim 11, Shah discloses the said apparatus is connected removably to the suction side of the powder suction pump (paragraph 0014).
Regarding claim 12, Shah discloses the said apparatus is integrated with the powder suction pump or inbuilt in a powder suction pump(s) by combining housing of the powder sieving apparatus with the body of the powder suction pump(s) to form a single integrated unit (see Fig. 6; elements 210 and 100 where Shah discloses a pump and sieving apparatus form a single integrated unit).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/14/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claim Objection
Regarding the claim objection, the objection has been withdrawn due to Applicant’s amendment.
Rejection under USC 112
Regarding the rejection under USC 112, the previous rejection has been withdrawn. New rejections under USC 112 are stated above.
Rejection under USC 103
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Specifically, claim 1 requires a cylindrical sieve within the housing dividing the housing into two compartments, an inner compartment connected to the inlet of the housing and an outer compartment connected to the outlet of the housing, said cylindrical sieve having a sieve mesh through which powder is sucked by the powder suction pump assembly from the inner compartment to the outer compartment. The Office acknowledges that Shah does not disclose "a cylindrical sieve within the housing dividing the housing into two compartments, an inner compartment connected to the inlet of the housing and an outer compartment connected to the outlet of the housing, said cylindrical sieve having a sieve mesh through which powder is sucked by the powder suction pump assembly from the inner compartment to the outer compartment," as required by 1,” and ,” However, nowhere in Fang is there any disclosure or suggestion of "dividing the housing into two compartments, an inner compartment connected to the inlet of the housing and an outer compartment connected to the outlet of the housing,” and,” The Office makes reference to element 12 of Fang, which is described as a "screening drum" and arranged in the form of a "screening mechanism [that] comprises a plurality of layers of screening drums 12 which are mutually sleeved together and are rotatably arranged between the first cavity 11." The plurality of layers of screening drums 12 are all disposed within the first cavity 11, and there is only a single compartment in the structure described in Fang. There is no disclosure or suggestion of "dividing the housing into two compartments, an inner compartment connected to the inlet of the housing and an outer compartment connected to the outlet of the housing,” the Examiner disagrees. The claim limitation states that a cylindrical sieve divides the housing into two compartments. The Examiner asserts that element 12 separates, or divides, the internal section of Fang into an outer section of element 11 and an inner section that is internal to the screening cylinder 12.
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Further, Shah clearly teaches a technical solution that NO MOVING parts are to be used for eliminating the problems associated with periodic maintenance [Refer Para 11 of Shah]. However, the apparatus of the present invention teaches rotating cylindrical sieve and rotating brush holder with brushes which are considered to be moving parts. Therefore, Applicant submits that Shah clearly teaches away from the technical solution of the present invention. Xing teaches moving parts whereas the technical solution provided by Shah teaches that no moving parts to be used whereas Fang teaches moving parts to be used. Therefore, the skilled person in the art would not refer and combine shah in view of fang and Xing to arrive at the present invention. Structure of the complex, bulky, time consuming apparatus of Xing would not provide any solution to the technical problems faced and mentioned in the present invention. Xing merely teaches powder drift downwardly under the influence of gravity onto the screen rather than being driven against the screen at high pressure. Xing does not disclose features the bush holder with nozzles is adapted within the cylindrical sieve and that cylindrical sieve is located within the inner compartment of the housing and the powder is forced into the inner compartment from the outer compartment,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that paragraphs 0010 and 0011 are referring specifically to publication WO2015/193919 and not Shah. Furthermore, WO2015/193919 does not teach away from moving parts, but instead teaches that moving parts are prone to periodic maintenance.
Regarding Applicant’s argument,” Fang clearly teaches that there is only a single brush 34 located on cylinder 12 to clean inner surface of the outermost screening cylinder 12. Whereas the present invention clearly teaches that brush holder is rotatably and/or oscillatingly adapted in the cylindrical sieve, wherein said brush holder includes a plurality of bristles or wipers for scrubbing an inner surface of the sieve mesh of the inner compartment to keep the sieve mesh unclogged and clean. Thus, Fang teaches away from the claimed invention. Further, in the present invention, the brush holder comprises a plurality of nozzles or holes for spraying pressurised air over the inner surface of the sieve mesh of the inner compartment for skimming and washing the sieve mesh along with the bristles or wipers of the brush holder to prevent clogging and to ensure continuous flow of freshly sieved smooth flowing powder through the powder coating system. Fang fails to teach the combination of plurality of bristles or wipers for scrubbing an inner surface of the sieve mesh of the inner compartment along with plurality of nozzles or holes for spraying pressurised air over the inner surface of the sieve mesh. Thus, Fang fails to teach or suggest all the essential features of the claimed invention. Neither Shah nor the other Art cures the deficiencies of Fang. Accordingly, Applicant submits that the subject matter of claim 1 is neither disclosed nor suggested by the Art.,” the Examiner disagrees. The Examiner asserts that Fang teaches a plurality of bristles (see Fig. 1; element 34). Furthermore, Xing teaches the limitation of nozzles or holes within a hollow brush holder (elements 18 and 23).
Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132
The declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed 10/14/2025 is insufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 1-3, 5-8, and 10-12 based upon 35 USC 103 as set forth in the last Office action because: The declaration is a restatement of the arguments submitted on 10/14/2025 and provides no objective evidence other than the arguments already stated in the response dated 10/14/2025. Regarding these arguments, a response to these arguments is listed above.
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653