DETAILED ACTION
Claims 6-25 are pending in the instant application.
Priority
This application is a continuation of U.S. Non-Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 16/840,165 filed April 3, 2020, now U.S. Patent No.11,673,114, which claims priority from U.S. Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 62/829,550 filed on April 4, 2019.
Information Disclosure Statements
Applicants’ Information Disclosure Statements, filed on 05/17/2024, and 06/25/2024 have been considered. Please refer to Applicant’s copies of the PTO-1449 submitted herewith.
Status of the Claims
Claims 6-25 are under examination on the merits.
Specification
The priority data in the first paragraph of the specification does not contain updated information. Specifically, the first paragraph of the specification should include that this application is a continuation of U.S. Non-Provisional Patent Application Serial No. 16/840,165 filed April 3, 2020, now U.S. Patent No.11,673,114. An appropriate amendment is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Specifically, claim 9 contains a term “approximately”, which is not defined in the claim nor in present specification. By definition, the term is used to show that something is almost, but not completely, accurate or exact; roughly. Claim 9 is subject to subjective interpretation.
Claim 10 contains a phrase “a specific density of approximately 1.22 - 1.25 g/ml”. However, the terms “specific density” and “approximately” are not defined in either the claim nor the specification. It is not clear what is the difference between density and specific density, and how the density range should be interpreted by “approximately” in the claim over the cited prior art in the following art rejection. Therefore, claim 10 is subject to subjective interpretation. The term “specific density” is interpreted as “density”. Applicant is invited to make response over the rejected terms based on the original disclosure to make the prosecution record clear.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen et al., Water Science & Tech., (2018), 78(9), p.1980-1989 in view of Agyin-Birkorang et al., Sci. of Total Environment, (2009), v.407, p.826-834; Lee et al., Water, (2015), v.7, p.1480-1496; Lam et al., Journal of Applied Polymer Science, (2017), 134(26), 1-8; and Elkhatib et al., Current Nanoscience, (2015), 11(5), 655-668.
Applicant’s claim 6 is drawn to a method of making filter media adapted to treat contaminated water, said method comprising the steps of: providing a plurality of particles of powdered aluminum-based water treatment residuals; and entrapping each particle of at least some of said plurality of particles in a corresponding shell which includes calcium and potassium alginate.
Determination of the scope and content of the prior art (MPEP §2141.01)
Shen et al. discloses calcium alginate beads containing drinking water treatment residuals (DWTR-CA), and a method of synthesis of DWTR-CA. The method comprises preparing sodium alginate aqueous solution, and mixing the sodium alginate aqueous solution with DWTR-CA under vigorous stirring for 1 h to obtain homogeneous suspensions. The resultant suspensions were then introduced dropwise to a calcium solution (0.5 mol/L CaCl2) at a constant speed with a peristaltic pump to produce the DWTR-CA beads. The beads were allowed to stand in solution for another 24 hrs to reach the full gelation (entrapping). See “Synthesis and characterization of DWTR-CA beads”, right column, p.1981. The resulting DWTR-CA particles covered with a shell which includes calcium and sodium alginate.
Ascertainment of the difference between the prior art and the claims (MPEP §2141.02)
The difference between the instantly claimed method of claim 6 and the method of Shen et al. is that the prior art does not teach the particles in the corresponding shell including potassium alginate. Instead, Shen et al. teaches the shell includes sodium alginate.
Finding of prima facie obviousness--rational and motivation (MPEP §2142-2413)
However, the instantly claimed method would have been obvious over the method disclosed in Shen et al. because the difference of the shell including sodium alginate and potassium alginate are obvious variation. Sodium alginate and potassium alginate are homologous chemical substances, and the properties of sodium alginate are very similar to those of potassium alginate because both potassium cation (K+) and sodium cation (Na+) are Group IA cation, and function as a counterion in an alginate salt. Also see Google AI search “Similarity of sodium alginate and potassium alginate”, completed 11/07/2025. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to modify the shell by replacing sodium alginate with potassium alginate used as a starting material for preparing calcium alginate. Therefore, Shen et al. would have rendered claim 6 obvious.
In terms of claims 7-9, Shen et al. discloses calcium alginate beads of DWTR containing particles having varying sizes with a diameter of approximately 2-5 mm, wherein beads are in the form of granules (Table 1, p.1984; and Figure 1, p.1982).
In terms of claim 10 wherein said granules have a specific density of approximately 1.22 - 1.25 g/ml, Shen et al. teaches the density of the beads is around the range of 1.00-1.01 g/mL, assuming the term “specific density” has the same meaning of “density”. Since the term “approximately” is not defined in Applicant’s disclosure, the density of the beads within the range of 1.00-1.01 g/mL disclosed by Shen et al. would be considered to be obvious over the claimed a specific density of approximately 1.22-1.25 g/ml, unless Applicant can show and/or prove otherwise.
In terms of claim 11, wherein said granules are non-toxic, it would have been an inherited property of the beads of Shen et al. because the aluminum-based DWTR encapsulated by alginate is used for pollution control (“Prospects”, left column at p.1987), and
neither sodium DWTR nor calcium DWTR is toxic.
In terms of claim 12, the beads of Shen et al. are water insoluble in order to adsorption of phosphorus (see Title at p.1980).
In terms of claims 13-15, the limitations would be the inherited properties of the beads disclosed Shen et al. because the beads are calcium alginate beads containing drinking water treatment residuals (DWTR-CA), and used for adsorption of phosphorus for pollution control.
In terms of claim 16 wherein said granules constitute a green sorbent product, Shen et al. teaches the beads of aluminum-based DWTR encapsulated by alginate is used for pollution control. The DWTR-CA beads constitute a green sorbent product.
In terms of claim 17 wherein said plurality of particles have an oxalate- extractable aluminum concentration greater than 100 ppm, Agyin-Birkorang et al. teaches that the particles of DWTR-CA have an oxalate- extractable aluminum concentration greater than 100 ppm (see Table 1, p.829).
In terms of claims 18-21, the claims would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art over Shen et al. in view of Agyin-Birkorang et al. for the similar analysis above, wherein said aluminum-based water treatment residuals are the byproduct of drinking water treatment plants (claim 18) because Shen et al. discloses the beads are made from drinking water treatment residuals (DWTR-CA), and would be dry before instant application (claim 19), are the product of process involving grinding, sieving, and/or milling in order to have varying sizes with a diameter of approximately 2-5 mm (claim 20), and said plurality of particles are non-toxic (claim 21) because particles (beads) are used for pollution control (“Prospects”, left column at p.1987). See Table 1, p.1984; and Figure 1, p.1982.
In terms of claim 22, Agyin-Birkorang et al. teaches that the particles of DWTR-CA have an oxalate- extractable aluminum concentration greater than 100 ppm (see Table 1, p.829).
In terms of claim 23, Shen et al. discloses calcium alginate beads of DWTR containing particles having varying sizes with a diameter of approximately 2-5 mm, wherein beads are in the form of granules (Table 1, p.1984; and Figure 1, p.1982).
In terms of claim 25, Shen et al. teaches the plurality of particles are used for adsorption of phosphorus for pollution control. (“Prospects”, left column at p.1987). Shen et al. because the beads are calcium alginate beads containing drinking water treatment residuals (DWTR-CA), and used for adsorption of phosphorus for pollution control.
In terms of claim 24 wherein said plurality of particles are nano-sized, Shen et al. teaches the transformation of DWTR powder into beads can be done by microencapsulation, and the cited Lam et al. (left column, p.1981) teaches using microencapsulation preparing plurality of particles are nano-sized. In addition, Lee et al. teaches using aluminum-based water treatment residue to remove phosphorus, and phosphorus adsorption increases with the particle size of aluminum-based water treatment residue (DWTR) reduced (see Table 2, p.1482); and Elkhatib et al. teaches using water treatment residual nanoparticles (e.g., less than 100 nm) as a novel sorbent for enhanced phosphorus removal from aqueous medium (Abstract at p.655, and “2.4. Batch Sorption Isotherms”, left column p.656). Therefore, Shen et al. in view of Lam et al., Lee et al. and Elkhatib et al. would have rendered claim 24 obvious.
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 6-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,673,114 (“the `114 patent”) in view of Shen et al.
Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because Applicant’s claims 6-24 are related to a method of making a filter media adapted to treat contaminated water, said method comprising the steps of: providing a plurality of particles of powdered aluminum-based water treatment residuals; and entrapping each particle of at least some of said plurality of particles in a corresponding shell which includes calcium and potassium alginate according to independent claim 6, while claims 1-19 of the `114 patent are related to a filter media adapted to treat contaminated water comprising a plurality of particles of powdered aluminum-based water treatment residuals, each particle of at least some of said plurality of particles being entrapped in a corresponding shell which includes calcium and potassium alginate according to independent claim 1. Applicant’s claims 6-24 drawn to the methods for preparing the same filter media adapted claimed in claims 1-19 of the `114 patent through entrapping, which is also cited in the claimed product of claims 1-19 of the `114 patent. Therefore, claims 1-19 of the `114 patent would have rendered present claims 6-24 obvious, respectively.
In In terms of claim 25, wherein said filter media functions as an adsorbent for contaminants and nutrients in storm water, Shen et al. further teaches the plurality of particles are used for adsorption of phosphorus for pollution control pollution, and phosphorus is included in contaminants and nutrients in storm water (“Prospects”, left column at p.1987). Therefore, the claims of the `114 patent in view of Shen et al. would have rendered present claim 25 obvious.
Conclusions
Claims 6-25 are rejected.
Specification is objected to.
Telephone Inquiry
/YONG L CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1731