DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
Claims 1-12, 14-21, 23-34 and 36-43 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-32 and 34-41 of the issued patent Park et al., US 11,240,780 B2 (Park’780 hereinafter). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is covered by the subject matter of the issued patent 11,240,780.
The table below shows a side by side comparison of the instant application over the issued patent.
Instant Application
Issued patent US 11/240,780
1. A method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), information, associated with a wireless device, that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell; and
sending, by the base station DU and based on the first paging message,
a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating context release.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, wherein the sending the information is based on the radio resource control connection release.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determining, by the base station DU and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the information comprises sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity, the information,
wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU,
a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station DU and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the information comprises sending, by the base station DU to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message
that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating the context release.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the information comprises information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell;
at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station DU communicated with the wireless device.
14. A method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU),
a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device, wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the sending the first message is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message.
15. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving the indication indicating the context release, wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device.
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station CU from a core network entity, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
sending, to the core network entity and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam of the cell.
17. The method of claim 14, wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station DU and based on the paging message, a second paging message.
18. The method of claim 14, further comprising sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity and prior to sending the paging message,
a second message.
19. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
sending, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release.
20. The method of claim 14, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
21. The method of claim 14, wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
23. A base station distributed unit (DU) comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to:
send, to a base station central unit (CU), information, associated with a wireless device, that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receive, from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device, comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell; and
send, based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the with the paging procedure for the wireless device.
24. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to: release, based on a release of a connection of the wireless device,
a context associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating context release.
25. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index.
26. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to
send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to
send the information based on the radio resource control connection release.
27. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
28. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determine, based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information.
29. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
30. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to: cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or
a mobility management function (MMF) device.
31. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity.
32. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
release, based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
33. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to
send the information by sending, to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating the context release.
34. The base station DU of claim 23, wherein the information comprises information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell; at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station DU communicated with the wireless device.
36. A base station distributed unit (DU) comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to:
send, to a base station central unit (CU), a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device,
wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the first message is sent based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receive, from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device, that is based on the first message.
37. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive the indication indicating the context release, and wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device.
38. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from a core network entity, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
send, to the core network entity and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam of the cell.
39. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further
configure the base station DU to send, based on the paging message, a second paging message.
40. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity and prior to sending the paging message, a second message.
41. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
send, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release.
42. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to release, based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
43. The base station DU of claim 36, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the first message by sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
1. A method comprising:
sending, by a base station to a core network entity, paging assistance information, associated with a wireless device, that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell;
and at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a first paging message
comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device; and
the paging assistance information; and
sending, by the base station via the at least one beam and based on the first paging message,
a second paging message associated with the wireless device.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising releasing, by the base station and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the paging assistance information comprises sending a message that comprises: the paging assistance information and an indication indicating context release.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or a synchronization signal index.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, wherein the sending the paging assistance information is based on the radio resource control connection release.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and determining, by the base station and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the paging assistance information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the paging assistance information comprises sending the paging assistance information via an interface between the base station and the core network entity, wherein the interface comprises at least one of: an NG interface, an N2 interface, or an S1 interface.
8. The method of claim 1,
wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of: an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the paging assistance information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the paging assistance information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station and the core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station and a user plane core network entity.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity,
a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the paging assistance information comprises sending, by the base station to the core network entity and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the paging assistance information and an indication indicating the context release.
12. The method of claim 1, wherein the paging assistance information comprises paging assistance information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell;
at least one beam identifier; a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station communicated with the wireless device.
13. A method comprising:
sending, by a base station to a core network entity,
a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device, wherein the first message comprises paging assistance information comprising:
a cell identifier of a cell; and a beam index of a beam of the cell; and wherein the sending the first message is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a paging message that is based on the paging assistance information.
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving the indication indicating the context release, wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device.
15. The method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving, from a base station central unit, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
sending, to the base station central unit and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam.
16. The method of claim 13, wherein: the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device; and
the paging assistance information; and
the method further comprises
sending, by the base station via the beam, a second paging message.
17. The method of claim 13, further comprising sending, to a base station central unit and prior to receiving the paging message,
a second message.
18. The method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
sending, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release.
19. The method of claim 13, further comprising releasing, by the base station and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
20. The method of claim 13, wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station and the core network entity, wherein the interface comprises at least one of: an NG interface, an N2 interface, or an S1 interface.
21. A computing device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
send, to a core network entity, paging assistance information associated with a wireless device, that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receive, from the core network entity, a first paging message comprising: a wireless device identifier of the wireless device; and
the paging assistance information; and
send, via the at least one beam and based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the wireless device.
22. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to release, based on a release of a connection of the wireless device,
a context associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send the paging assistance information by sending a message that comprises:
the paging assistance information and an indication indicating context release.
23. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or a synchronization signal index.
24. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release; and
send the paging assistance information by sending, based on the radio resource control connection release, the paging assistance information.
25. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
26. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
receive, from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and determine, based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the paging assistance information.
27. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send the paging assistance information by sending the paging assistance information via an interface between the computing device and the core network entity, wherein the interface comprises at least one of: an NG interface, an N2 interface, or an S1 interface.
28. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device.
29. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send the paging assistance information by sending a message that comprises: the paging assistance information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the computing device and the core network entity; or a second interface connection release of a second interface between the computing device and a user plane core network entity.
30. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
receive, from the core network entity, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
release, based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
31. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
receive, from the core network entity, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
send the paging assistance information by sending, to the core network entity and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the paging assistance information and an indication indicating the context release.
32. The computing device of claim 21, wherein the paging assistance information comprises paging assistance information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell; at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the computing device communicated with the wireless device.
34. A computing device comprising: one or more processors; and memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
send, to a core network entity, a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device,
wherein the first message comprises paging assistance information comprising: a cell identifier of a cell; and a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send the first message by sending the first message based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receive, from the core network entity, a paging message that is based on the paging assistance information.
35. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
receive the indication indicating the context release, and wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device.
36. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
receive, from a base station central unit, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
send, to the base station central unit and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam.
37. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device; and
the paging assistance information; and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors,
cause the computing device to send, via the beam, a second paging message.
38. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send, to a base station central unit and prior to receiving the paging message, a second message.
39. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to:
receive, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and send, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release.
40. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to release, based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
41. The computing device of claim 34, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the computing device to send the first message by sending the first message via an interface between the computing device and the core network entity, wherein the interface comprises at least one of: an NG interface, an N2 interface, or an S1 interface.
Regarding claim 1, Park’780 discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), information, associated with a wireless device, that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell; and
sending, by the base station DU and based on the first paging message,
a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Park’780 discloses further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating context release (see Park’780 claim 2).
Regarding claim 3, Park’780 discloses wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index (see Park’780 claim 3).
Regarding claim 4, Park’780 discloses further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, wherein the sending the information is based on the radio resource control connection release (see Park’780 claim 4).
Regarding claim 5, Park’780 discloses further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam (see Park’780 claim 5).
Regarding claim 6, Park’780 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determining, by the base station DU and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information (see Park’780 claim 6).
Regarding claim 7, Park’780 discloses wherein the sending the information comprises sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (see Park’780 claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Park’780 discloses further comprising:
sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity, the information,
wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device (see Park’780 claim 8).
Regarding claim 9, Park’780 discloses wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity (see Park’780 claim 9).
Regarding claim 10, Park’780 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU,
a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station DU and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 10).
Regarding claim 11, Park’780 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the information comprises sending, by the base station DU to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating the context release (see Park’780 claim 11).
Regarding claim 12, Park’780 discloses wherein the information comprises information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell;
at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station DU communicated with the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Park’780 discloses method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU),
a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device, wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the sending the first message is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message (see Park’780 claim 13).
Regarding claim 15, Park’780 discloses further comprising:
receiving the indication indicating the context release, wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 14).
Regarding claim 16, Park’780 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station CU from a core network entity, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
sending, to the core network entity and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam of the cell (see Park’780 claim 15).
Regarding claim 17, Park’780 discloses wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station DU and based on the paging message, a second paging message (see Park’780 claim 16).
Regarding claim 18, Park’780 discloses further comprising sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity and prior to sending the paging message,
a second message (see Park’780 claim 17).
Regarding claim 19, Park’780 discloses comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
sending, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release (see Park’780 claim 18).
Regarding claim 20, Park’780 discloses further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 19).
Regarding claim 21, Park’780 discloses wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (see Park’780 claim 20).
Regarding claim 23, Park’780 discloses a base station distributed unit (DU) comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to:
send, to a base station central unit (CU), information, associated with a wireless device, that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receive, from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device, comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell; and
send, based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the with the paging procedure for the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 21).
Regarding claim 24, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to: release, based on a release of a connection of the wireless device,
a context associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating context release (see Park’780 claim 22).
Regarding claim 25, Park’780 discloses wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index (see Park’780 claim 23).
Regarding claim 26, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to
send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to
send the information based on the radio resource control connection release (see Park’780 claim 24).
Regarding claim 27, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam (see Park’780 claim 25).
Regarding claim 28, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determine, based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information (see Park’780 claim 26).
Regarding claim 29, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (see Park’780 claim 27).
Regarding claim 30, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to: cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or
a mobility management function (MMF) device (see Park’780 claim 28).
Regarding claim 31, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity (see Park’780 claim 29).
Regarding claim 32, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
release, based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 30).
Regarding claim 33, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to
send the information by sending, to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating the context release (see Park’780 claim 31).
Regarding claim 34, Park’780 discloses wherein the information comprises information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell; at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station DU communicated with the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 32).
Regarding claim 36, Park’780 discloses a base station distributed unit (DU) comprising:
one or more processors; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to:
send, to a base station central unit (CU), a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device,
wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the first message is sent based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receive, from the base station CU, a paging message that is based on the first message (see Park’780 claim 34).
Regarding claim 37, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive the indication indicating the context release, and wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 35).
Regarding claim 38, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from a core network entity, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
send, to the core network entity and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam of the cell (see Park’780 claim 36).
Regarding claim 39, Park’780 discloses wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further
configure the base station DU to send, based on the paging message, a second paging message (see Park’780 claim 37).
Regarding claim 40, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity and prior to sending the paging message, a second message (see Park’780 claim 38).
Regarding claim 41, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
send, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release (see Park’780 claim 39).
Regarding claim 42, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to release, based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (see Park’780 claim 40).
Regarding claim 43, Park’780 discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the first message by sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (see Park’780 claim 41).
Regarding claims 1-12, 14-21, 23-34 and 36-43, the difference between the instant application and Park’780 are minor and could be implied from the teachings of the claimed invention of the Park’780.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the instant application by using the features, as taught by Par’780 in order to a method for saving resources by sending paging assistance information back to the base station for paging the wireless device (see Park’780, abstract).
Claims 1-11, 14, 16-21 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-18 and 20 of the issued patent Park et al., US 10,660,063 B2 (Park’063 hereinafter). Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the subject matter claimed in the instant application is covered by the subject matter of the issued patent 10,660,063.
The table below shows a side by side comparison of the instant application over the issued patent.
Instant Application
Issued patent US 10/660,063
1. A method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU),
information, associated with a wireless device,
that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell; and
sending, by the base station DU and based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device,
wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating context release.
3. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index.
4. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, wherein the sending the information is based on the radio resource control connection release.
5. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determining, by the base station DU and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information.
7. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the information comprises sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
8. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and
wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity.
10. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station DU and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device,
wherein the sending the information comprises sending, by the base station DU to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating the context release.
14. A method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device, wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the sending the first message is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message.
16. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station CU from a core network entity, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
sending, to the core network entity and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam of the cell.
17. The method of claim 14, wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station DU and based on the paging message, a second paging message.
18. The method of claim 14, further comprising sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity and prior to sending the paging message, a second message.
19. The method of claim 14, further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
sending, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release.
20. The method of claim 14, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
21. The method of claim 14, wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a base station from a wireless device via at least one beam of a cell, one or more transport blocks;
sending, by the base station to a core network entity,
a message indicating a context release of the wireless device,
wherein the context release is based on a release of a connection of the wireless device,
and wherein the message comprises paging assistance information elements comprising:
a cell identifier of the cell; and
at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell;
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a first paging message comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device; and
the paging assistance information elements; and
sending, by the base station via the at least one beam and based on the first paging message, a second paging message.
2. The method of claim 1, further comprising releasing, by the base station and based on the release of the connection of the wireless device, a context of the wireless device.
4. The method of claim 1, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of: a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index.
5. The method of claim 1, wherein the release of the connection of the wireless device comprises sending, by the base station to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release.
6. The method of claim 1, further comprising sending, by the base station to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
7. The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the base station from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and determining, by the base station and based on the receiving the one or more random access preambles, the paging assistance information elements.
8. The method of claim 1, wherein the sending the message indicating the context release of the wireless device comprises sending the message via an interface between the base station and the core network entity, wherein the interface comprises at least one of an NG interface, an N2 interface, or an S1 interface.
9. The method of claim 1, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function; or a mobility management function.
10. The method of claim 1,
wherein the context release of the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station and a control plane core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station and a user plane core network entity.
11. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a command message commanding the context release of the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station and based on the command message, the connection of the wireless device.
12. The method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a command message commanding the context release of the wireless device; and
sending, by the base station to the core network entity and based on the command message,
the message indicating the context release of the wireless device.
13. A method comprising:
receiving, by a base station distributed unit from a wireless device via at least one beam of a first cell, one or more transport blocks;
receiving, by the base station distributed unit from a base station central unit, a first message indicating a context release for the wireless device;
sending, by the base station distributed unit to the base station central unit and based on the first message, a second message indicating a context release completion for the wireless device, wherein the second message comprises:
a first cell identifier of the first cell; and at least one beam index of the at least one beam; and
receiving, by the base station distributed unit from the base station central unit, a paging message configured based on the second message.
14. The method of claim 13, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station distributed unit from the base station central unit, a third message indicating a second context release of the wireless device; and
sending, by the base station distributed unit to the base station central unit and based on the third message, a fourth message comprising the at least one beam index of the at least one beam.
15. The method of claim 13, wherein: the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device; and
paging assistance information elements; and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station distributed unit via the at least one beam, a second paging message.
16. The method of claim 15, further comprising sending, by the base station distributed unit to the base station central unit and prior to receiving the paging message, a third message.
17. A method comprising:
receiving, by a base station from a wireless device via a first beam of a first cell, one or more transport blocks;
sending, by the base station to the wireless device and based on receiving the one or more transport blocks, a first message indicating a radio resource control connection release of the wireless device;
sending, by the base station to a core network entity and based on the radio resource control connection release, a second message indicating a context release for the wireless device,
wherein the second message comprises paging assistance information elements comprising:
a first cell identifier of the first cell; and a first beam index of the first beam; and receiving, by the base station from the core network entity, a paging message that is based on the paging assistance information elements.
18. The method of claim 17, further comprising releasing, by the base station and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context of the wireless device.
20. The method of claim 17, wherein sending the second message comprises sending the second message via an interface between the base station and the core network entity, wherein the interface comprises at least one of an NG interface, an N2 interface, or an S1 interface.
Regarding claim 1, Park’063 discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU),
information, associated with a wireless device,
that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell;
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell; and
sending, by the base station DU and based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device (see Park’063, claim 1).
Regarding claim 2, Park’063 discloses further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device,
wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating context release (see Park’063, claim 1, 2).
Regarding claim 3, Park’063 discloses wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index (see Park’063, claim 4).
Regarding claim 4, Park’063 discloses further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, wherein the sending the information is based on the radio resource control connection release (see Park’063, claim 5).
Regarding claim 5, Park’063 discloses further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam (see Park’063, claim 6).
Regarding claim 6, Park’063 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determining, by the base station DU and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information (see Park’063, claim 7).
Regarding claim 7, Park’063 discloses wherein the sending the information comprises sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (see Park’063, claim 8).
Regarding claim 8, Park’063 discloses further comprising:
sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device (see Park’063, claim 9).
Regarding claim 9, Park’063 discloses wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and
wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity (see Park’063, claim 10).
Regarding claim 10, Park’063 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station DU and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device (see Park’063, claim 11).
Regarding claim 11, Park’063 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device,
wherein the sending the information comprises sending, by the base station DU to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating the context release (see Park’063, claim 12).
Regarding claim 14, Park’063 discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device, wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell; and
a beam index of a beam of the cell; and
wherein the sending the first message is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release; and
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message (see Park’063, claim 13).
Regarding claim 16, Park’063 discloses further comprising:
receiving, by the base station CU from a core network entity, a second message indicating a second context release associated with the wireless device; and
sending, to the core network entity and based on the second message, a third message comprising the beam index of the beam of the cell (see Park’063, claim 14).
Regarding claim 17, Park’063 discloses wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station DU and based on the paging message, a second paging message (see Park’063, claim 15).
Regarding claim 18, Park’063 discloses further comprising sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity and prior to sending the paging message, a second message (see Park’063, claim 16).
Regarding claim 19, Park’063 discloses further comprising:
receiving, from the wireless device via the beam, at least one transport block; and
sending, to the wireless device and based on receiving the at least one transport block, a second message indicating the radio resource control connection release (see Park’063, claim 17).
Regarding claim 20, Park’063 discloses further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (see Park’063, claim 18).
Regarding claim 21, Park’063 discloses wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (see Park’063, claim 21).
Regarding claims 1-11, 14, 16-21, the difference between the instant application and Park’063 are minor and could be implied from the teachings of the claimed invention of the Park’063.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of the instant application by using the features, as taught by Par’063 in order to a method for saving resources by sending paging assistance information back to the base station for paging the wireless device (see Park’063, abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 12, 23, 29 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 1, Byun discloses a method comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), information (Byun, Fig. 12 and paragraph [0129], In step S1204, upon receiving the system information request from the UE, the DU may transmit the system information request to the CU. A message including a container piggybacking the system information request may be transmitted from the DU to the CU), associated with a wireless device (Byun, paragraph [0129], The message may be an initial UE message or a new message), that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more cells, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a cell ID of each cell); and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more beams, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a beam ID (i.e., a beam index) of each beam); … the cell identifier of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0136], the CU may transmit, to the DU, a message including information related to SIBy. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The information related to the SIB included in the message may be provided per SIB. The information related to the SIB may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including system information, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID); and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0136], the CU may transmit, to the DU, a message including information related to SIBy. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The information related to the SIB included in the message may be provided per SIB. The information related to the SIB may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including system information, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID);
Regarding claim 23, Byun discloses a base station distributed unit (DU) (Byun, paragraph [0007], According to another embodiment, there is provided a DU of a BS for broadcasting system information in a wireless communication system) comprising:
one or more processors (Byun, paragraph [0210], A DU of a base station 1810 includes a processor 1811, a memory 1812 and a transceiver 1813); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Byun, paragraph [0210], The memory 1812 is connected to the processor 1811, and stores various pieces of information for driving the processor 1811), configure the base station DU to:
send, to a base station central unit (CU), information (Byun, Fig. 12 and paragraph [0129], In step S1204, upon receiving the system information request from the UE, the DU may transmit the system information request to the CU. A message including a container piggybacking the system information request may be transmitted from the DU to the CU), associated with a wireless device (Byun, paragraph [0129], The message may be an initial UE message or a new message), that comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more cells, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a cell ID of each cell); and
at least one beam index of at least one beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more beams, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a beam ID (i.e., a beam index) of each beam); … the cell identifier of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0136], the CU may transmit, to the DU, a message including information related to SIBy. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The information related to the SIB included in the message may be provided per SIB. The information related to the SIB may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including system information, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID); and
the at least one beam index of the at least one beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0136], the CU may transmit, to the DU, a message including information related to SIBy. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The information related to the SIB included in the message may be provided per SIB. The information related to the SIB may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including system information, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID);
Byun does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 1, receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device;
… and sending, by the base station DU and based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device.
Regarding claim 23, receive, from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device, … and
send, based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Byun’878 discloses a method related to transmitting paging message that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 1, receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device (Byun’878, Fig. 8 step S802 and paragraph [0086], In step S802, the DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station) comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device (Byun’878, paragraph [0086], The paging information includes at least one of UE Identity Index Value, UE Paging Identity, Paging Discontinuous Reception (DRX), List of tracking area identities (TAIs ));
… and sending, by the base station DU and based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device (Byun’878, Fig. 8 steps S802 and S804 and paragraphs [0086] and [0087], In step S802, the DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station (i.e., a first paging message) … In step S804, the DU transmits the paging message based on the paging information to a User Equipment (UE) (i.e., a second paging message that is sent to the UE sent to in response to the first paging message as part of the paging procedure)).
Regarding claim 23, receive, from the base station CU, a first paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device (Byun’878, Fig. 8 step S802 and paragraph [0086], In step S802, the DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station) comprising:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device (Byun’878, paragraph [0086], The paging information includes at least one of UE Identity Index Value, UE Paging Identity, Paging Discontinuous Reception (DRX), List of tracking area identities (TAIs )), … and
send, based on the first paging message, a second paging message associated with the paging procedure for the wireless device (Byun’878, Fig. 8 steps S802 and S804 and paragraphs [0086] and [0087], In step S802, the DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station (i.e., a first paging message) … In step S804, the DU transmits the paging message based on the paging information to a User Equipment (UE) (i.e., a second paging message that is sent to the UE sent to in response to the first paging message as part of the paging procedure)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byun by using the features, as taught by Byun’878 in order to support procedure for performing paging in case of CU-DU split (see Byun’878, abstract and paragraph [0006]).
Regarding claim 7, Byun discloses wherein the sending the information comprises sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (Byun, paragraph [0108], Referring to FIG. 11, in step S110, a DU of a BS may receive system information from a CU of the BS. The system information may be received via an F1 interface. The F1 interface may refer to an interface between the CU and the DU. The system information may be system information owned by the CU of the BS).
Regarding claim 12, Byun discloses wherein the information comprises information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell; at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station DU communicated with the wireless device (Byun, paragraph [0109], the DU of the BS may receive information related to the system information from the CU of the BS. The information related to the system information may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including the system information (SI), timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID).
Regarding claim 29, Byun discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending the information via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (Byun, paragraph [0108], Referring to FIG. 11, in step S110, a DU of a BS may receive system information from a CU of the BS. The system information may be received via an F1 interface. The F1 interface may refer to an interface between the CU and the DU. The system information may be system information owned by the CU of the BS).
Regarding claim 34, Byun discloses wherein the information comprises information elements comprising at least one of:
the cell identifier of the cell; at least one beam identifier;
a first beam index of a first beam of the cell;
a first time duration during which the wireless device is associated with the first beam; or
a second time duration during which the base station DU communicated with the wireless device (Byun, paragraph [0109], the DU of the BS may receive information related to the system information from the CU of the BS. The information related to the system information may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including the system information (SI), timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID).
Claims 2, 9-11, 24 and 31-33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Byun et al., US 2019/0387444 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of March 7, 2017, March 23, 2017, April 21, 2017, July 25, 2017 and September 7, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/467,830, 62/475,227, 62/488,076, 62/536,468 and 62/555,050 respectively; referred to as Byun’444 hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 2, 9-11, 24 and 31-33 Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 1, the base station DU of claim 23. Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating context release.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity.
Regarding claim 10, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
releasing, by the base station DU and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
Regarding claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, wherein the sending the information comprises sending, by the base station DU to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating the context release.
Regarding claim 24, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
release, based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating context release.
Regarding claim 31, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity.
Regarding claim 32, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device; and
release, based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device.
Regarding claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending, to the base station CU and based on the command message, a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating the context release.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Byun’444 discloses a method of transmitting data in a scenario in which a central unit and distributed unit of a base station are split that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 2, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, paragraph [0120], if the CU receives the message from the target DU, the CU may trigger a UE context release procedure or bearer release procedure towards the UE in order to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating context release (Byun’444, paragraph [0173], if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE (i.e., an indication indicating context release), the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE).
Regarding claim 9, wherein the sending the information comprises sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, paragraph [0173], if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE (i.e., an indication indicating context release), the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity (Byun’444, Fig. 6 and paragraph [0138], if the source DU receives a bearer release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers for the UE and the corresponding resources on an F1 interface).
Regarding claim 10, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0173], In step S1312, if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE); and
releasing, by the base station DU and based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface).
Regarding claim 11, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0173], In step S1312, if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), wherein the sending the information comprises sending, by the base station DU to the base station CU and based on the command message (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface), a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating the context release (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0175], In step S1314, the source DU may transmit a bearer release response or a UE context release response message to the CU).
Regarding claim 24, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
release, based on a release of a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, paragraph [0120], if the CU receives the message from the target DU, the CU may trigger a UE context release procedure or bearer release procedure towards the UE in order to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating context release (Byun’444, paragraph [0173], if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE (i.e., an indication indicating context release), the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE).
Regarding claim 31, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending a message that comprises:
the information and an indication indicating a context release associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, paragraph [0173], if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE (i.e., an indication indicating context release), the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), and wherein the context release associated with the wireless device comprises at least one of:
a first interface connection release of a first interface between the base station CU and a core network entity; or
a second interface connection release of a second interface between the base station CU and a user plane core network entity (Byun’444, Fig. 6 and paragraph [0138], if the source DU receives a bearer release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers for the UE and the corresponding resources on an F1 interface).
Regarding claim 32, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0173], In step S1312, if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE); and
release, based on the command message, a connection of the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface).
Regarding claim 33, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the base station CU, a command message indicating a context release associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0173], In step S1312, if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information by sending, to the base station CU and based on the command message (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface), a message that comprises: the information and an indication indicating the context release (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0175], In step S1314, the source DU may transmit a bearer release response or a UE context release response message to the CU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Byun’444 in order to support efforts to develop enhanced 5th generation (5G) communication system (see Byun’444, abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0003]).
Claims 3, 5, 25 and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Wang et al., US 2019/0199406 A1 (using continuation of PCT application filing date of November 3, 2017 corresponding to PCT/CN2017/109383; referred to as Wang hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 25 and 27, Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 1, the base station DU of claim 23. Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index.
Regarding claim 5, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
Regarding claim 25, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index.
Regarding claim 27, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Wang discloses a method related to determining Quasi co-location (QCL) beam location in a wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index (Wang, paragraph [0010], The reference signal may be a demodulation reference signal, a channel state information-reference signal, or another reference signal. This is not limited herein. The QCL beam information may be a beam identifier, beam antenna port information, or other beam-related information. Beam identifier information may be a beam synchronization signal identifier).
Regarding claim 5, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam (Wang, paragraph [0097], The QCL beam information is added when the foregoing signaling of the QCL indication information in the RRC signaling is compared with the signaling of the original QCL indication information. The added QCL beam information is Qcl-beam Configid or qcl-beam-RS ports, where Qcl-beam-Configid indicates beam identifier information that has a QCL relationship, and qcl-beam-RS ports indicates beam antenna port information that has a QCL relationship).
Regarding claim 25, wherein the at least one beam index comprises at least one of:
a channel state information-reference signal index; or
a synchronization signal index (Wang, paragraph [0010], The reference signal may be a demodulation reference signal, a channel state information-reference signal, or another reference signal. This is not limited herein. The QCL beam information may be a beam identifier, beam antenna port information, or other beam-related information. Beam identifier information may be a beam synchronization signal identifier).
Regarding claim 27, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection reconfiguration message comprising one or more beam configuration parameters of the at least one beam (Wang, paragraph [0097], The QCL beam information is added when the foregoing signaling of the QCL indication information in the RRC signaling is compared with the signaling of the original QCL indication information. The added QCL beam information is Qcl-beam Configid or qcl-beam-RS ports, where Qcl-beam-Configid indicates beam identifier information that has a QCL relationship, and qcl-beam-RS ports indicates beam antenna port information that has a QCL relationship).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Wang in order to support a terminal determine a beam that has a QCL relationship with a reference signal antenna port so that it can accurately perform large-scale channel property estimation in a 5G communication system (see Wang, abstract and paragraphs [0007]-[0008]).
Claims 4, 13, 26 and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of disclosed prior art Cheng et al., US 2019/0021058 A1 (Cheng hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 4, 13, 26 and 35, Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 1, the base station DU of claim 23. Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 4, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, wherein the sending the information is based on the radio resource control connection release.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the sending the second paging message comprises sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, the second paging message, and wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU sends the second paging message.
Regarding claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release, and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information based on the radio resource control connection release.
Regarding claim 35, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the second paging message by sending, to the wireless device, the second paging message, and wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU sends the second paging message.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Cheng discloses a method for performing beam alignment procedures in RRC inactive state that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 4, further comprising sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release (Cheng, paragraph [0028], In action 310, the UE 210 receives an RRC release with suspend configuration from the base station 220. In action 320, the UE 210 receives a measurement configuration from the base station 220. In action 330, after an RRC release with suspend message (not shown) is received from the base station 220, the UE 210 transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state in response to the RRC release with suspend configuration), wherein the sending the information is based on the radio resource control connection release (Cheng, paragraph [0028], In action 340, the UE 210 receives paging information from the base station 220 in response to the measurement configuration).
Regarding claim 13, wherein the sending the second paging message comprises sending, by the base station DU to the wireless device, the second paging message (Cheng, paragraph [0025], the UE has to perform beam alignment procedure before monitoring and receiving paging information (e.g., paging message and paging indication), i.e., UE monitors and receives paging message from the base station), and wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU sends the second paging message (Cheng, paragraph [0025], During the RRC inactive state, the UE monitors the RAN based paging message based on mobility control information in order to transition to the RRC connected state if necessary; i.e., paging message is received in a RRC inactive mode).
Regarding claim 26, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, to the wireless device, a radio resource control connection message indicating a radio resource control connection release (Cheng, paragraph [0028], In action 310, the UE 210 receives an RRC release with suspend configuration from the base station 220. In action 320, the UE 210 receives a measurement configuration from the base station 220. In action 330, after an RRC release with suspend message (not shown) is received from the base station 220, the UE 210 transitions from the RRC connected state to the RRC inactive state in response to the RRC release with suspend configuration), and wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the information based on the radio resource control connection release (Cheng, paragraph [0028], In action 340, the UE 210 receives paging information from the base station 220 in response to the measurement configuration).
Regarding claim 35, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the second paging message by sending, to the wireless device, the second paging message (Cheng, paragraph [0025], the UE has to perform beam alignment procedure before monitoring and receiving paging information (e.g., paging message and paging indication), i.e., UE monitors and receives paging message from the base station), and wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU sends the second paging message (Cheng, paragraph [0025], During the RRC inactive state, the UE monitors the RAN based paging message based on mobility control information in order to transition to the RRC connected state if necessary; i.e., paging message is received in a RRC inactive mode).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Cheng in order to provide a method for power savings of a UE (see Cheng, paragraph [0027]).
Claims 6 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Sang et al., US 2019/0045481 A1 (Sang hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 6 and 28, Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 1, the base station DU of claim 23. Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 6, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determining, by the base station DU and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information.
Regarding claim 28, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles; and
determine, based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Sang discloses a method for paging a first device and a second device that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 6, further comprising:
receiving, by the base station DU from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles (Sang, paragraph [0154], Paging UE 605, with uplink data to transmit, sends an uplink page ( event 615). The uplink page may be sent using beam sweeping. If the uplink data is small MO data or has high priority, then the uplink page may be sent using a random access technique on a dedicated uplink paging channel, instead of waiting for POs or slots where paging UE 605 would listen for beam swept downlink pages from nearby TRPs. The uplink page may include a preamble (such as a random access preamble), as well as a UE ID or beam ID, AU code or page cause code, and so on. Also see paragraph [0069], It is noted that a TRP of the macro layer (e.g., a gNB) may be logically partitioned into a centralized unit (CU) and one or multiple distributed units (DUs), where in different embodiments, each DU may connect to one or multiple SC-TRPs or remote radio heads (RRHs), or each DU may be a SC-TRP or RRH itself, etc. Collectively, the legacy TRPs and the small cell TRPs may be referred to as network access nodes); and
determining, by the base station DU and based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information (Sang, paragraph [0155], Paged TRP 607 fetches the context of paging UE 605 from anchor TRP 609 (event 619). Paged TRP 607 may send a context fetch including the UE ID to anchor TRP 609, for example. Paged TRP 607 receives the UE context of paging UE 605 from anchor TRP 609 (event 621). Paged TRP 607 sends a page response to paging UE 605 ( event 623)).
Regarding claim 28, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive, from the wireless device via the at least one beam, one or more random access preambles (Sang, paragraph [0154], Paging UE 605, with uplink data to transmit, sends an uplink page ( event 615). The uplink page may be sent using beam sweeping. If the uplink data is small MO data or has high priority, then the uplink page may be sent using a random access technique on a dedicated uplink paging channel, instead of waiting for POs or slots where paging UE 605 would listen for beam swept downlink pages from nearby TRPs. The uplink page may include a preamble (such as a random access preamble), as well as a UE ID or beam ID, AU code or page cause code, and so on. Also see paragraph [0069], It is noted that a TRP of the macro layer (e.g., a gNB) may be logically partitioned into a centralized unit (CU) and one or multiple distributed units (DUs), where in different embodiments, each DU may connect to one or multiple SC-TRPs or remote radio heads (RRHs), or each DU may be a SC-TRP or RRH itself, etc. Collectively, the legacy TRPs and the small cell TRPs may be referred to as network access nodes); and
determine, based on receiving the one or more random access preambles, the information (Sang, paragraph [0155], Paged TRP 607 fetches the context of paging UE 605 from anchor TRP 609 (event 619). Paged TRP 607 may send a context fetch including the UE ID to anchor TRP 609, for example. Paged TRP 607 receives the UE context of paging UE 605 from anchor TRP 609 (event 621). Paged TRP 607 sends a page response to paging UE 605 ( event 623)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Sang in order to improve discovery, enabling quick wake-up or small data exchange, and signaling of status update and connection setup in communications systems using beamformed communications (see Sang, abstract and paragraphs [0005]).
Claims 8 and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Lee et al., US 2018/0337846 A1 (Lee hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 8 and 30, Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 1, the base station DU of claim 23. Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 8, further comprising:
causing sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device.
Regarding claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to: cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or
a mobility management function (MMF) device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Lee discloses a method related to wirelessly routing packets that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 8, further comprising:
causing sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or a mobility management function (MMF) device (Lee, paragraph [0106], As shown, FIG. 10 shows the signaling between DU 822, DU 804, CU 802, CF 810, and functions 815 (e.g., authentication functions (e.g., AMF/SEAF and/or AUSF/ARPF)) ( e.g., performed by elements of the core network, CU 802, etc.) to add DU 822 to the fronthaul of CU 802. At 1001, DU 822 sends (e.g., using RRC) to DU 804 an attach request message including an identifier of the DU 822 indicating the DU 822 is to act as a wireless relay).
Regarding claim 30, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to: cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity, the information, wherein the core network entity comprises at least one of:
an access and mobility management function (AMF) device; or
a mobility management function (MMF) device (Lee, paragraph [0106], As shown, FIG. 10 shows the signaling between DU 822, DU 804, CU 802, CF 810, and functions 815 (e.g., authentication functions (e.g., AMF/SEAF and/or AUSF/ARPF)) ( e.g., performed by elements of the core network, CU 802, etc.) to add DU 822 to the fronthaul of CU 802. At 1001, DU 822 sends (e.g., using RRC) to DU 804 an attach request message including an identifier of the DU 822 indicating the DU 822 is to act as a wireless relay).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Lee in order to support demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase and further improvements in NR technology (see Lee, abstract and paragraphs [0006]).
Claims 14, 17-18, 21, 36, 39-40 and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., US 2020/0229049 A1 (using foreign filing date of September 22, 2017 of application CN 201710867093.1 corresponding to PCT application PCT/CN2018/105516; referred to as Wu hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), and in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claim 14, Wu discloses a method (Wu, abstract, Embodiments of the present application provide a communication method under a wireless base station separation architecture, a functional entity and a wireless base station) comprising:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device (Wu, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [0217] and [0218], At S 11, the target DU sends the handover completion notification message to the CU, and the CU a downlink user plane data tunnel to the target DU, and switches CU-UE context information … At S12, the CU sends a UE context release message to the source DU, and the source DU releases local resources), wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell (Wu, paragraph [0159], At S4, the DU sends a message of requiring initializing a UE context ( or called an initial UE context request message) to the CU, carrying the DU-UE-ID, a DU-ID, a cell ID and an NAS message carried in the RRC connection establishment completion message); … and
wherein the sending the first message is based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release (Wu, Fig. 12, step S620 and paragraph [0179], At S620, the DU completes radio resource configuration of a protocol stack after succeeding in radio resource admission in the target cell, interacts with the UE to complete RRC connection reconfiguration, and sends a handover completion notification message to the CU. Also see Fig. 15 and paragraphs [0217] and [0218], At S 11, the target DU sends the handover completion notification message to the CU, and the CU a downlink user plane data tunnel to the target DU, and switches CU-UE context information … At S12, the CU sends a UE context release message to the source DU, and the source DU releases local resources);
Regarding claim 36, Wu discloses a base station distributed unit (DU) (Wu, paragraph [0025], FIG. 5 is a module diagram of a DU in the first embodiment of the present disclosure) comprising:
one or more processors (Wu, paragraph [0018], the embodiments of the present disclosure also provide a computer device, including a memory, a processor and a computer program which is stored on the memory and can be run on the processor); and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors (Wu, paragraph [0019], the embodiments of the present disclosure also provide a computer-readable storage medium, on which a computer program is stored. When executed by the processor, the computer program implements the processing of any above method), configure the base station DU to:
sending, by a base station distributed unit (DU) to a base station central unit (CU), a first message indicating a context release associated with a wireless device (Wu, Fig. 15 and paragraphs [0217] and [0218], At S 11, the target DU sends the handover completion notification message to the CU, and the CU a downlink user plane data tunnel to the target DU, and switches CU-UE context information … At S12, the CU sends a UE context release message to the source DU, and the source DU releases local resources), wherein the first message comprises:
a cell identifier of a cell (Wu, paragraph [0159], At S4, the DU sends a message of requiring initializing a UE context ( or called an initial UE context request message) to the CU, carrying the DU-UE-ID, a DU-ID, a cell ID and an NAS message carried in the RRC connection establishment completion message); … and
wherein the first message is sent based on at least one of:
a radio resource control connection release; or
an indication indicating the context release (Wu, Fig. 12, step S620 and paragraph [0179], At S620, the DU completes radio resource configuration of a protocol stack after succeeding in radio resource admission in the target cell, interacts with the UE to complete RRC connection reconfiguration, and sends a handover completion notification message to the CU. Also see Fig. 15 and paragraphs [0217] and [0218], At S 11, the target DU sends the handover completion notification message to the CU, and the CU a downlink user plane data tunnel to the target DU, and switches CU-UE context information … At S12, the CU sends a UE context release message to the source DU, and the source DU releases local resources);
Wu does not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 14, and a beam index of a beam of the cell … and
receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message.
Regarding claim 36, and
a beam index of a beam of the cell … and
receive, from the base station CU, a paging message that is based on the first message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Byun discloses a method related to wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 14, and a beam index of a beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0136], the CU may transmit, to the DU, a message including information related to SIBy. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The information related to the SIB included in the message may be provided per SIB. The information related to the SIB may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including system information, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID);
Regarding claim 36, and
a beam index of a beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0136], the CU may transmit, to the DU, a message including information related to SIBy. The message may be a system information broadcast request message or a new message. The information related to the SIB included in the message may be provided per SIB. The information related to the SIB may include at least one of an SIB ID, a container including system information, timing information for broadcasting, logical channel-related information, broadcast activation, a DU ID, a cell ID, and a beam ID);
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu by using the features, as taught by Byun in order to support a method for providing system information in a scenario where a central unit and a distributed unit of a base station are split (see Byun, abstract and paragraphs [0001] and [0005]).
Wu and Byun do not explicitly discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 14, receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message.
Regarding claim 36, receive, from the base station CU, a paging message that is based on the first message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Byun’878 discloses a method related to transmitting paging message that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 14, receiving, by the base station DU from the base station CU, a paging message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device that is based on the first message (Byun’878, Fig. 8 step S802 and paragraph [0086], In step S802, the DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station).
Regarding claim 36, receive, from the base station CU, a paging message that is based on the first message, associated with a paging procedure for the wireless device (Byun’878, Fig. 8 step S802 and paragraph [0086], In step S802, the DU receives a paging information from a Central Unit (CU) of the base station).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu and Byun by using the features, as taught by Byun’878 in order to support procedure for performing paging in case of CU-DU split (see Byun’878, abstract and paragraph [0006]).
Wu discloses the following features.
Regarding claim 17, discloses wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device (Wu, paragraph [0052], the DU assigns a DU-side UE Identity DU-UE-ID to the UE accessing, creates a UE instance on the DU, and manages a UE state and UE context information. In the present embodiment, after the DU assigns the DU-UE-ID to the UE accessing, the DU carries the DU-UE-ID in the message sent to the CU, obtains a CU-side UE Identity CU-UE-ID, which is assigned to the UE by the CU, from the message sent by the CU, and carries the DU-UE-ID and the CU-UE-ID in all messages subsequently sent to the CU);
Regarding claim 18, further comprising causing sending, by the base station CU to a core network entity and prior to receiving the paging message (Wu, Fig. 11 step 5 and paragraph [0160], At S5, after receiving the message of requiring initializing the UE context, the CU saves the DU-UE-ID and other context information in the message, assigns the CUUE- ID to the UE, creates a CU-side UE instance (called a CU-UE instance for short), sets the UE state as CONNECTED, and then forwards through an initial UE message the NAS message to the core network for processing), a second message (Wu, Fig. 11 step 5 and paragraph [0173], At S15, after receiving the UE context setup response message, the CU sends an initial context setup response message to the core network, carrying the successfully admitted ERAB list. Now user plane data channels between the UE, the DU, the CU and the core network are established completely).
Regarding claim 39, wherein:
the paging message comprises:
a wireless device identifier of the wireless device (Wu, paragraph [0052], the DU assigns a DU-side UE Identity DU-UE-ID to the UE accessing, creates a UE instance on the DU, and manages a UE state and UE context information. In the present embodiment, after the DU assigns the DU-UE-ID to the UE accessing, the DU carries the DU-UE-ID in the message sent to the CU, obtains a CU-side UE Identity CU-UE-ID, which is assigned to the UE by the CU, from the message sent by the CU, and carries the DU-UE-ID and the CU-UE-ID in all messages subsequently sent to the CU);
Regarding claim 40, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to cause the base station CU to send, to a core network entity and prior to receiving the paging message (Wu, Fig. 11 step 5 and paragraph [0160], At S5, after receiving the message of requiring initializing the UE context, the CU saves the DU-UE-ID and other context information in the message, assigns the CUUE- ID to the UE, creates a CU-side UE instance (called a CU-UE instance for short), sets the UE state as CONNECTED, and then forwards through an initial UE message the NAS message to the core network for processing), a second message (Wu, Fig. 11 step 5 and paragraph [0173], At S15, after receiving the UE context setup response message, the CU sends an initial context setup response message to the core network, carrying the successfully admitted ERAB list. Now user plane data channels between the UE, the DU, the CU and the core network are established completely).
Wu and Buyn’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 17, the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station DU and based on the paging message, a second paging message.
Regarding claim 21, Byun discloses wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
Regarding claim 39, wherein:
the paging message comprises: … the cell identifier of the cell; and
the beam index of the beam of the cell; and
the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, based on the paging message, a second paging message.
Regarding claim 43, Byun discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the first message by sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Byun discloses a method related to wireless communication system that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 17, the cell identifier of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more cells, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a cell ID of each cell); and
the beam index of the beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more beams, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a beam ID (i.e., a beam index) of each beam); and
the method further comprises sending, by the base station DU and based on the paging message (Byun, Fig. 12 and paragraph [00129], In step S1204, upon receiving the system information request from the UE, the DU may transmit the system information request to the CU), a second paging message (Byun, Fig. 12 and paragraph [0137] In step S1205c, the DU may transmit a system information broadcast response message or a new message to the CU).
Regarding claim 21, Byun discloses wherein the sending the first message comprises sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (Byun, paragraph [0108], Referring to FIG. 11, in step S110, a DU of a BS may receive system information from a CU of the BS. The system information may be received via an F1 interface. The F1 interface may refer to an interface between the CU and the DU. The system information may be system information owned by the CU of the BS).
Regarding claim 39, wherein:
the paging message comprises: … the cell identifier of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more cells, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a cell ID of each cell); and
the beam index of the beam of the cell (Byun, paragraph [0126], When the DU controls, manages, or covers one or more beams, the Fl setup response message or the Fl setup request message may include a beam ID (i.e., a beam index) of each beam); and
the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to send, based on the paging message (Byun, Fig. 12 and paragraph [00129], In step S1204, upon receiving the system information request from the UE, the DU may transmit the system information request to the CU), a second paging message (Byun, Fig. 12 and paragraph [0137] In step S1205c, the DU may transmit a system information broadcast response message or a new message to the CU).
Regarding claim 43, Byun discloses wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, configure the base station DU to send the first message by sending the first message via an interface between the base station DU and the base station CU, and wherein the interface comprises a F1 interface (Byun, paragraph [0108], Referring to FIG. 11, in step S110, a DU of a BS may receive system information from a CU of the BS. The system information may be received via an F1 interface. The F1 interface may refer to an interface between the CU and the DU. The system information may be system information owned by the CU of the BS).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Byun in order to support a method for providing system information in a scenario where a central unit and a distributed unit of a base station are split (see Byun, abstract and paragraphs [0001] and [0005]).
Claims 15, 20, 37 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., US 2020/0229049 A1 (using foreign filing date of September 22, 2017 of application CN 201710867093.1 corresponding to PCT application PCT/CN2018/105516; referred to as Wu hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), and in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of Byun et al., US 2019/0387444 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of March 7, 2017, March 23, 2017, April 21, 2017, July 25, 2017 and September 7, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/467,830, 62/475,227, 62/488,076, 62/536,468 and 62/555,050 respectively; referred to as Byun’444 hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 15, 20, 37 and 42, Wu, Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 14 and the base station DU of claim 36. Wu, Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 15, further comprising:
receiving the indication indicating the context release, wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device.
Regarding claim 20, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
Regarding claim 37, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive the indication indicating the context release, and wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device.
Regarding claim 42, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to release, based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Byun’444 discloses a method of transmitting data in a scenario in which a central unit and distributed unit of a base station are split that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 15, further comprising:
receiving the indication indicating the context release (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0173], In step S1312, if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface).
Regarding claim 20, further comprising releasing, by the base station DU and based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface. Also see paragraph [0175], paragraph [0175], In step S1314, the source DU may transmit a bearer release response or a UE context release response message to the CU).
Regarding claim 37, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to:
receive the indication indicating the context release (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0173], In step S1312, if the CU receives the RRC connection reconfiguration complete message from the UE, the CU may trigger a bearer release procedure or UE context release procedure by requesting the source DU to release a radio resource and/or UE context for the UE), and wherein the first message comprises an indication indicating a context release completion associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface).
Regarding claim 42, wherein the instructions, when executed by the one or more processors, further configure the base station DU to release, based on releasing a connection of the wireless device, a context associated with the wireless device (Byun’444, Fig. 13B and paragraph [0174], In step S1313, upon receiving a bearer release request message or a UE context release request message, the source DU may release all of bearers and/or UE context for the UE and corresponding resources on an Fl interface. Also see paragraph [0175], paragraph [0175], In step S1314, the source DU may transmit a bearer release response or a UE context release response message to the CU).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu, Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Byun’444 in order to support efforts to develop enhanced 5th generation (5G) communication system (see Byun’444, abstract and paragraphs [0002]-[0003]).
Claims 22 and 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu et al., US 2020/0229049 A1 (using foreign filing date of September 22, 2017 of application CN 201710867093.1 corresponding to PCT application PCT/CN2018/105516; referred to as Wu hereinafter), in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0338277 A1 (using provisional application filing dates of July 6, 2017, June 15, 2017, May 1, 2017 and April 13, 2017, corresponding to applications 62/529,442, 62/519,889, 62/492,327 and 62/487,897 respectively; referred to as Byun hereinafter), and in view of Byun et al., US 2018/0302878 A1 (US provisional applications filing dates of April 13, 2017 and July 17, 2017 corresponding to 62/484,901 and 62/533,135 respectively; referred to as Byun’878 hereinafter), as applied to the claims above and further in view of disclosed prior art Cheng et al., US 2019/0021058 A1 (Cheng hereinafter).
Here is how the references teach the claims.
Regarding claims 22 and 44, Wu, Byun and Byun’878 disclose the method of claim 14 and the base station DU of claim 36. Wu, Byun and Byun’878 do not explicitly disclose the following features.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU receives the paging message.
Regarding claim 44, wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU receives the paging message.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., communication system) Cheng discloses a method for performing beam alignment procedures in RRC inactive state that comprises the following features.
Regarding claim 22, wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU receives the paging message (Cheng, paragraph [0025], During the RRC inactive state, the UE monitors the RAN based paging message based on mobility control information in order to transition to the RRC connected state if necessary; i.e., paging message is received in a RRC inactive mode).
Regarding claim 44, wherein the wireless device is in a radio resource control (RRC) inactive mode when the base station DU receives the paging message (Cheng, paragraph [0025], During the RRC inactive state, the UE monitors the RAN based paging message based on mobility control information in order to transition to the RRC connected state if necessary; i.e., paging message is received in a RRC inactive mode).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Wu, Byun and Byun’878 by using the features, as taught by Cheng in order to provide a method for power savings of a UE (see Cheng, paragraph [0027]).
Examiner’s Comments
Claims 16, 19, 38 and 41 are subjected to double patenting, they are also objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if amended to overcome the rejection set forth in this office action above and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to applicant’s amendment and remarks received on 02/17/2026. Claims 1-44 are currently pending.
Double patenting rejection on claims 1-12, 14-21, 23-34 and 36-43 are maintained since no action was taken to overcome the rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, filed on 02/17/2026, with respect to the claims 1-44 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of new ground (s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/OBAIDUL HUQ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2473 Dated: 03/11/2026