DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 11/14/2025 has been entered.
Claims 2, 9 and 16 have been amended.
Claims 2-21 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 2-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The obviousness-type double patenting rejection of claims 2-21 is maintained (as repeated below) in view of is maintained in view of Applicant’s failure to submit a terminal disclaimer as indicated in the Remarks filed on 11/14/2025.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 2-21 of the current application are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 11696208 B1 as detailed below:
Current application 18/198,210
U.S. Patent No. US 11696208 B1
2.(New) A user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and memory storing computer- executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to:
register for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice; when using a priority data transport service (PDTS),send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, and when not using the PDTS, delete the first set of URSP rules, receive a second set of URSP rules, and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules, wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS, the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions.
3. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to: receive user input to activate the PDTS, wherein the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application; and determine that a URSP rule of the first set of USRP rules or the second set of URSP rules specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application.
4. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to: receive the first set of URSP rules; delete the second set of URSP rules at a time of receiving the first set of URSP rules; receive user input to deactivate the PDTS; send a PDU session establishment request to deactivate the PDTS; receive, based at least in part on the PDU session establishment request to deactivate the PDTS, the second set of URSP rules to replace the first set of URSP rules in [[the]] memory; and send, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, one or more second data packets during a second PDU session via the first network slice.
5. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 2, wherein a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules prevents one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during a PDU session.
6. (Previously Presented) The UE of claim 2, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS; the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS; and one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice.
7. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 6, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to, prior to receiving the first a set of URSP rules, send credentials for authenticating with the PDTS via the second network slice.
8. (Currently Amended) The UE of claim 2, wherein: the UE is not subscribed to the PDTS; the second network slice is usable by UEs that are not subscribed to the PDTS to activate the PDTS; the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to, prior to receiving the first set of URSP rules: receive user input to activate the PDTS, wherein the user input corresponds to navigating a browser to a site or launching an application; send, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, a PDU session establishment request via a third network slice that is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during PDU sessions than the first network slice; and receive, during an intermediate PDU session, second user input corresponding to credentials entered by a user of the UE via the site; and receive the first set of USRP rules; and USC1e one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice based on the first set of USRP rules.
9. (Currently Amended) A method comprising: registering, by a user equipment (UE), for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice; and at least one of: when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), sending, by the UE, data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rules, [[and]]or when not using the PDTS, deleting, by the UE, the first set of URSP rules, receiving, by the UE, a second set of URSP rules, and sending, by the UE, data packets via the first network based on the second set of URSP rules, wherein when the UE switches from not using; the PDTS to using; the PDTS, the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining the connection to the PDU sessions.
10. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving user input to activate the PDTS, wherein the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application; and prior to the receiving of the first set of URSP rules, determining that a URSP rule of a second set of URSP rules stored in memory of the UE specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application.
11. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 9, further comprising: deleting the second set of URSP rules from memory of the UE at a time of receiving of the first set of URSP rules receiving user input to deactivate the PDTS; sending, by the UE, a PDU session establishment request to deactivate the PDTS; receiving, based at least in part on the PDU session establishment request to deactivate the PDTS, the second set of URSP rules to replace the first set of URSP rules in the memory; and sending, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, one or more data packets during a PDU session via the first network slice.
12. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 9, wherein a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules prevents one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during a PDU session.
13. (Previously Presented) The method of claim 9, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS; the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS; and one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice.
14. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 13, further comprising, prior to receiving of the first set of URSP rules, sending credentials for authenticating with the PDTS.
15. (Currently Amended) The method of claim 9, wherein: the UE is not subscribed to the PDTS; a third network slice is usable by UEs that are not subscribed to the PDTS to activate the PDTS; a user input received by the UE corresponds to navigating a browser to a site; and the method further comprises, prior to the receiving of the first set of URSP rules: sending, based at least in part on a URSP rule of a first set of URSP rules stored in memory of the UE, a PDU session establishment request via the second network slice; and receiving, during an intermediate PDU session, second user input corresponding to credentials entered by a user of the UE via the site; [[and]] receiving the first set of URSP rules; and based on the first set of URSP rules, sending one or more data packets during a PDU session via the second network slice.
16. (Currently Amended) A non-transitory computer storage medium having a plurality of programming instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations comprising: registering for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice; when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), sending data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) rules; and when not using the PDTS, deleting the first set Of URSP rules, receiving a second Set of URSP rules, and sending data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules, wherein when1 the UBE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS. the UTE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions
17. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16, wherein: the operations further comprise: receiving user input to activate the PDTS, wherein the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application; and prior to the receiving of the first set of URSP rules, determining that a URSP rule of a second set of URSP rules stored in memory of the UE specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application.
18. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16, the operations further comprising: deleting the second set of URSP rules from memory of the UE at a time of receiving of the first set of URSP rules; receiving user input to deactivate the PDTS; sending, by the UE, a PDU session establishment request to deactivate the PDTS; receiving, based at least in part on the PDU session establishment request to deactivate the PDTS, the second set of URSP rules to replace the first set of URSP rules in the memory; and sending, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, one or more data packets during a PDU session via the first network slice.
19. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16, wherein a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules prevents one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during a PDU session.
20. (Previously Presented) The non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS; the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS; and one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice.
21. (Currently Amended) The non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 20, wherein the operations further comprise, prior to receiving of the first set of URSP rules, sending credentials for authenticating with the PDTS.
1. A user equipment (UE) comprising: a processor; and memory storing a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules and computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to: register for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice; receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS); send a PDU session establishment request; receive, based at least in part on the PDU session establishment request, a second set of URSP rules; delete the first set of URSP rules from the memory at a time of receiving the second set of URSP rules; send, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, one or more data packets during a PDU session via at least one of: the second network slice; or a third network slice that is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during PDU sessions than the first network slice; receive second user input to deactivate the PDTS; send a second PDU session establishment request; receive, based at least in part on the second PDU session establishment request, the first set of URSP rules to replace the second set of URSP rules in the memory; and send, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules, one or more second data packets during a second PDU session via the first network slice.
2. The UE of claim 1, wherein: the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application; and the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to, prior to receiving the second set of URSP rules, determine that a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application.
3. The UE of claim 1, wherein the URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules prevents the one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during the PDU session.
4. The UE of claim 1, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS; the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS; and the one or more data packets are sent during the PDU session via the second network slice.
5. The UE of claim 4, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to, prior to receiving the second set of URSP rules, send credentials for authenticating with the PDTS.
6. The UE of claim 1, wherein: the UE is not subscribed to the PDTS; the second network slice is usable by UEs that are not subscribed to the PDTS to activate the PDTS; the user input corresponds to navigating a browser to a site; the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to, prior to receiving the second set of URSP rules: send, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules, the PDU session establishment request via the second network slice; and receive, during an intermediate PDU session, second user input corresponding to credentials entered by a user of the UE via the site; and the one or more data packets are sent during the PDU session via the third network slice.
7. A method comprising: based on a first set of user equipment route selection policy (URSP) rules stored in memory of a user equipment (UE), registering, by the UE, for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice; receiving, by the UE, user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS), wherein the UE is not subscribed to the PDTS, the second network slice is usable by UEs that are not subscribed to the PDTS to activate the PDTS, and the user input corresponds to navigating a browser to a site; sending, by the UE and based at least in part on a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules, a PDU session establishment request via the second network slice; receiving, during an intermediate PDU session, second user input corresponding to credentials entered by a user of the UE via the site; after sending the PDU session establishment request and after receiving the second user input, receiving, by the UE, based at least in part on the PDU session establishment request, a second set of URSP rules; and sending, by the UE, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, one or more data packets during a PDU session via a third network slice that is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during PDU sessions than the first network slice.
8. The method of claim 7, wherein the method further comprises, prior to the receiving of the second set of URSP rules, determining that a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules specifies an identifier (ID) of the site.
9. The method of claim 7, the method further comprising: deleting the first set of URSP rules from memory of the UE at a time of the receiving of the second set of URSP rules; receiving third user input to deactivate the PDTS; sending, by the UE, a second PDU session establishment request; receiving, based at least in part on the second PDU session establishment request, the first set of URSP rules to replace the second set of URSP rules in the memory; and sending, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules, one or more second data packets during a second PDU session via the first network slice.
10. The method of claim 7, wherein the URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules prevents the one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during the PDU session.
11. The method of claim 7, further comprising, prior to the receiving of the second set of URSP rules, sending the credentials for authenticating with the PDTS.
12. A method comprising: registering a user equipment (UE) for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice; receiving, from the UE, a PDU session establishment request via the second network slice, the PDU session establishment request being associated with activation of a priority data transport service (PDTS); based on the PDU session establishment request, sending, to the UE, a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules, wherein the first set of URSP rules replaces a second set of URSP rules in memory of the UE; routing one or more data packets associated with a PDU session involving the UE via at least one of: the second network slice; or a third network slice that is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during PDU sessions than the first network slice; receiving, from the UE, a second PDU session establishment request associated with deactivation of the PDTS; sending, based at least in part on the second PDU session establishment request, the second set of URSP rules to replace the first set of URSP rules in the memory; and routing, based at least in part on a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, one or more second data packets during a second PDU session via the first network slice.
13. The method of claim 12, wherein the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS, the method further comprising, prior to the registering: receiving, from the UE, a request to register for the first network slice and the second network slice; and determining that a subscription of the UE has network slice support for the second network slice, wherein the registering is based at least in part on the determining that the subscription of the UE has the network slice support.
14. The method of claim 12, wherein the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS, the method further comprising, after the receiving of the PDU session establishment request, performing secondary slice authentication based at least in part on credentials received from the UE.
15. The method of claim 14, wherein the performing the secondary slice authentication comprises running extensible authentication protocol (EAP) between the UE and an authentication, authorization and accounting (AAA) server.
16. The method of claim 12, wherein the second network slice is usable by UEs that are not subscribed to the PDTS to activate the PDTS, the method further comprising, after the receiving of the PDU session establishment request, authenticating credentials entered by a user of the UE via a site for activating the PDTS.
17. The method of claim 12, wherein a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules prevents the one or more data packets from being routed to or from the UE over Wi-Fi during the PDU session.
Claims 2-21 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. US 11696208 B1 in view of Bogineni et al. (US 20200195521 A1).
Regarding claims 2, 9 and 16 the patent teaches all the limitation of the current application except of based on the set of URSP rules: when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice, and when not using the PDTS, send data packets via the first network slice.
In an analogous art, Bogineni teaches when using a priority data transport service (PDTS)(e.g. low latency traffic, Fig. 1B), send data packets via the second network slice (Fork low latency traffic through co-located functions UFF CU DU, Fig. 1B; based on the set of network slice policies, the CU-CP node can determine the category for each of the one or more services to be involved in the one or more communication sessions requested by the UE and establish the appropriate session context(s) based on whether the category for each of the one or more services is associated with a low-latency SLA and/or low-latency QoS requirements, a latency-tolerant SLA and/or latency-tolerant QoS requirements, and/or the like, [0027] and the core network can be configured to detect application types, classify the applications as low-latency or latency-tolerant, and assign respective priorities to the applications based on the application types. The priority information can be provided to the CU-CP node, which can use the priority information to map different applications to different radio bearers, [0022]) based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules (For example, the network slice policies can include a relative priority policy e.g., relative importance of the application and/or UE compared to other applications and/or UEs, an absolute priority policy e.g., objective importance of the application and/or UE compared to other applications and/or UEs), [0025]), and when not using the PDTS, send data packets via the first network slice based on a second set of USRP rules (Additionally, or alternatively, for services that are associated with a latency-tolerant SLA and/or latency-tolerant QoS requirements, the CU-CP node can establish a session context mapping such services to network slices that traverse the core network, [0029]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu with the traffic routing of Bogineni to provide a methods and a system wherein because the latency-tolerant traffic can tolerate at least some round-trip delay without violating an applicable SLA and/or QoS requirements, the CU-CP node can avoid the processing burden to prepare the latency-tolerant context in potential candidate cells. In this way, computing resources (e.g., network resources, processing resources, memory resources, and/or the like) can be conserved while continuing to comply with applicable SLA and/or QoS requirements as suggested, Bogineni [0037].
Claims 3-8, 10-15 and 17-21 of the current application are also similar to claims 2-17 of the patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 6-7, 9, 13-14, 16 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninglekhu et al. (20220272620) in view of Liu et al. (EP 4184988 A1) and further in view of Talebi et al. (US 20210410059 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ninglekhu teaches a user equipment (UE) (e.g. UE 102 of Figs. 1 and 14) comprising: a processor (processor 118); and memory (memory 132) storing computer- executable instructions (UE may be provisioned with URSP rules by PCF of the HPLMN, [0199]) that, when executed by the processor, cause the UE to:
register for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice (Alternatively, the registration request message could be enhanced to allow the UE to indicate to the network that it wants to register with slices A and B and that slice A is higher priority, [0416]).
However, Ninglekhu does not clearly teach when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules and when not using the PDTS, delete the first set of URSP rules, receive a second set of URSP rules, and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules (S505: The terminal device stores the URSP in a URSP list based on the URSP delivery instruction, and establishes a PDU session with a corresponding network slice based on the URSP, page 11 , lines 37-38 and When a quantity of slice accounts is less than N, if the application account ranks top N in priorities of online application accounts, the application server determines the URSP usage permission of the application account as available permission, pages 10-11, lines 58, 1-2) and when not using the PDTS (The terminal device sends offline request of the application account to the application server… The offline request is used to indicate that the application account requests to disconnect a connection between the terminal device and the application server, so as not to continue to transmit data between the terminal device and the application server, page 12, lines 32-37), delete the first set of URSP rules (The terminal device deletes, based on the URSP deletion instruction, page 12, line 52), receive a second set of URSP rules (The application server sends the URSP management instruction to the terminal device, page 9, line 34), and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules (If the URSP list currently stored in the terminal device is Table 1 and the URSP carried in the URSP delivery instruction received by the terminal device is a URSP-C, the terminal device stores the URSP-C in the local URSP list (namely, Table 1), to form a URSP list shown in Table 2. Then, in a process of running an application C, the terminal device may activate a PDU session with a network slice of the application C based on the URSP-C in the list, to use the network slice to communicate with the application server C, page 9, lines 49-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu with the rule of Liu to provide a methods and a system to dynamically adjust a range of application accounts that use the network slice of the application, to resolve a problem of waste of network slice resources to some extent as suggested, Liu page 1, lines 48-50.
However, Ninglekhu and Liu do not clearly teach wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS, the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions.
In an analogous art, Talebi teaches wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS (UE in CM IDLE state may initiate a service request procedure in order to send uplink signaling messages, user data, to request MPS priority treatment, to request emergency services fallback, or as a response to a network paging request. After receiving the service request message, the AMF may perform authentication. After the establishment of the signaling connection to an AMF, the UE or network may send signaling messages, e.g., PDU session establishment from the UE to a SMF, via the AMF. The service request procedure may be employed by a UE in CM-CONNECTED to request invocation or activation of MPS priority treatment for one or more PDU sessions of the UE, [0359], Fig. 19), the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules (AMF in response to receiving the MPS indication may determine that network does not support MPS or MPS for DTS. The AMF may trigger the UCU procedure and transmit or update the URSP for the UE, [0362]; when the UE receives the URSP or configuration parameters for MPS (or MPS for DTS), the UE may send a second NAS message. The UE may employ the configuration parameters or the URSP to determine one or more elements of the second NAS message. The second NAS message may be a PDU session establishment/modification request message, [0363]) while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions (The PDU Session Establishment Request may comprise a PDU session ID, Requested PDU Session Type… and [Always-on PDU Session Requested], [0365]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu and Liu with the URSP updated of Talebi to provide a methods and a system wherein if the AMF 155 is aware that some signaling is pending in the AMF 155 or between the UE 100 and the 5GC, the AMF 155 may not release the signaling connection after the completion of the registration procedure as suggested, Talebi [0250].
Regarding claim 6, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS (FIG. 12 shows a user interface that could be used locally in a UE to select contexts, preconditions, and Preparation Actions to enable context aware URSP rules for mutually exclusive access to network slices, Ninglekhu [0470], for example Deregister LP slice, Deregister HP slice form the Select Pre-Condition section); the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS (Send a Registration Update so that slice B is removed from the Allowed NSSAI and Slice A is added”. The UE would do this by including slice A's S-NSSAI in its request NSSAI and not including slice B's S-NSSAI. As the preparation action completes, UE is registered with slice A, Ninglekhu [0415] and Slice A's traffic always takes higher priority over traffic that is targeted for slice B, Ninglekhu [0406]); and one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice (The RSD that the UE selects from the URSP may include preparation actions … for instance, ending an ongoing session of a lower priority slice and/or ensuring for a congestion free network slice, before requesting registration for a higher priority network slice. PDU Session is established in the S-NSSAI that was added to the allowed NSSAI and the UE uses the PDU Session to send the new traffic, Ninglekhu [0806]).
Regarding claim 7, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the UE of claim 6, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to, prior to receiving a second set of URSP rules, send credentials for authenticating with the PDTS (The AMF may request the UE User ID for EAP authentication (EAP ID) for the S-NSSAI, Ninglekhu [0253], see user/administrator encryption key entry of Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Ninglekhu a method (method of Figs. 8, 16 and 20) comprising: registering, by a user equipment (UE), for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice (The registration request message could be enhanced to allow the UE to indicate to the network that it wants to register with slices A and B and that slice A is higher priority, [0416]).
However, Ninglekhu does not clearly teach when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules and when not using the PDTS, delete the first set of URSP rules, receive a second set of URSP rules, and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules (S505: The terminal device stores the URSP in a URSP list based on the URSP delivery instruction, and establishes a PDU session with a corresponding network slice based on the URSP, page 11 , lines 37-38 and When a quantity of slice accounts is less than N, if the application account ranks top N in priorities of online application accounts, the application server determines the URSP usage permission of the application account as available permission, pages 10-11, lines 58, 1-2) and when not using the PDTS (The terminal device sends offline request of the application account to the application server… The offline request is used to indicate that the application account requests to disconnect a connection between the terminal device and the application server, so as not to continue to transmit data between the terminal device and the application server, page 12, lines 32-37), delete the first set of URSP rules (The terminal device deletes, based on the URSP deletion instruction, page 12, line 52), receive a second set of URSP rules (The application server sends the URSP management instruction to the terminal device, page 9, line 34), and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules (If the URSP list currently stored in the terminal device is Table 1 and the URSP carried in the URSP delivery instruction received by the terminal device is a URSP-C, the terminal device stores the URSP-C in the local URSP list (namely, Table 1), to form a URSP list shown in Table 2. Then, in a process of running an application C, the terminal device may activate a PDU session with a network slice of the application C based on the URSP-C in the list, to use the network slice to communicate with the application server C, page 9, lines 49-54).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu with the rule of Liu to provide a methods and a system to dynamically adjust a range of application accounts that use the network slice of the application, to resolve a problem of waste of network slice resources to some extent as suggested, Liu page 1, lines 48-50.
However, Ninglekhu and Liu do not clearly teach wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS, the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions.
In an analogous art, Talebi teaches wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS (UE in CM IDLE state may initiate a service request procedure in order to send uplink signaling messages, user data, to request MPS priority treatment, to request emergency services fallback, or as a response to a network paging request. After receiving the service request message, the AMF may perform authentication. After the establishment of the signaling connection to an AMF, the UE or network may send signaling messages, e.g., PDU session establishment from the UE to a SMF, via the AMF. The service request procedure may be employed by a UE in CM-CONNECTED to request invocation or activation of MPS priority treatment for one or more PDU sessions of the UE, [0359], Fig. 19), the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules (AMF in response to receiving the MPS indication may determine that network does not support MPS or MPS for DTS. The AMF may trigger the UCU procedure and transmit or update the URSP for the UE, [0362]; when the UE receives the URSP or configuration parameters for MPS (or MPS for DTS), the UE may send a second NAS message. The UE may employ the configuration parameters or the URSP to determine one or more elements of the second NAS message. The second NAS message may be a PDU session establishment/modification request message, [0363]) while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions (The PDU Session Establishment Request may comprise a PDU session ID, Requested PDU Session Type… and [Always-on PDU Session Requested], [0365]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu and Liu with the URSP updated of Talebi to provide a methods and a system wherein if the AMF 155 is aware that some signaling is pending in the AMF 155 or between the UE 100 and the 5GC, the AMF 155 may not release the signaling connection after the completion of the registration procedure as suggested, Talebi [0250].
Regarding claim 13, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the method of claim 9, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS (FIG. 12 shows a user interface that could be used locally in a UE to select contexts, preconditions, and Preparation Actions to enable context aware URSP rules for mutually exclusive access to network slices, Ninglekhu [0470], for example Deregister LP slice, Deregister HP slice form the Select Pre-Condition section); the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS (Send a Registration Update so that slice B is removed from the Allowed NSSAI and Slice A is added”. The UE would do this by including slice A's S-NSSAI in its request NSSAI and not including slice B's S-NSSAI. As the preparation action completes, UE is registered with slice A, Ninglekhu [0415] and Slice A's traffic always takes higher priority over traffic that is targeted for slice B, Ninglekhu [0406]); and one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice (The RSD that the UE selects from the URSP may include preparation actions … for instance, ending an ongoing session of a lower priority slice and/or ensuring for a congestion free network slice, before requesting registration for a higher priority network slice. PDU Session is established in the S-NSSAI that was added to the allowed NSSAI and the UE uses the PDU Session to send the new traffic, Ninglekhu [0806]).
Regarding claim 14, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the method of claim 13, further comprising, prior to receiving of the first set of URSP rules, sending credentials for authenticating with the PDTS (The AMF may request the UE User ID for EAP authentication (EAP ID) for the S-NSSAI, Ninglekhu [0253], see user/administrator encryption key entry of Fig. 13).
Regarding claim 16, Ninglekhu a non-transitory computer storage medium (e.g. UE 102 of Figs. 1 and 14) having a plurality of programming instructions stored thereon that, when executed by a user equipment (UE), cause the UE to perform operations comprising: registering for a first network slice and a second network slice, wherein the second network slice is configured to provide higher priority transport of data packets during protocol data unit (PDU) sessions than the first network slice (Alternatively, the registration request message could be enhanced to allow the UE to indicate to the network that it wants to register with slices A and B and that slice A is higher priority, [0416]).
However, Ninglekhu does not clearly teach when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules and when not using the PDTS, delete the first set of URSP rules, receive a second set of URSP rules, and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules, wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS, the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches when using a priority data transport service (PDTS), send data packets via the second network slice based on a first set of UE route selection policy (URSP) rules (S505: The terminal device stores the URSP in a URSP list based on the URSP delivery instruction, and establishes a PDU session with a corresponding network slice based on the URSP, page 11 , lines 37-38 and When a quantity of slice accounts is less than N, if the application account ranks top N in priorities of online application accounts, the application server determines the URSP usage permission of the application account as available permission, pages 10-11, lines 58, 1-2) and when not using the PDTS (The terminal device sends offline request of the application account to the application server… The offline request is used to indicate that the application account requests to disconnect a connection between the terminal device and the application server, so as not to continue to transmit data between the terminal device and the application server, page 12, lines 32-37), delete the first set of URSP rules (The terminal device deletes, based on the URSP deletion instruction, page 12, line 52), receive a second set of URSP rules (The application server sends the URSP management instruction to the terminal device, page 9, line 34), and send data packets via the first network slice based on second set of URSP rules (If the URSP list currently stored in the terminal device is Table 1 and the URSP carried in the URSP delivery instruction received by the terminal device is a URSP-C, the terminal device stores the URSP-C in the local URSP list (namely, Table 1), to form a URSP list shown in Table 2. Then, in a process of running an application C, the terminal device may activate a PDU session with a network slice of the application C based on the URSP-C in the list, to use the network slice to communicate with the application server C, page 9, lines 49-54), wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS (The terminal device sends offline request of the application account to the application server… The offline request is used to indicate that the application account requests to disconnect a connection between the terminal device and the application server, so as not to continue to transmit data between the terminal device and the application server, page 12, lines pars 32-37), the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules (The terminal device deletes, based on the URSP deletion instruction, page 12, line 52) and receives the first set of URSP rules (The application server sends the URSP management instruction to the terminal device, page 9, line 34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu with the rule of Liu to provide a methods and a system to dynamically adjust a range of application accounts that use the network slice of the application, to resolve a problem of waste of network slice resources to some extent as suggested, Liu page 1, lines 48-50.
However, Ninglekhu and Liu do not clearly teach wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS, the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions.
In an analogous art, Talebi teaches wherein when the UE switches from not using the PDTS to using the PDTS (UE in CM IDLE state may initiate a service request procedure in order to send uplink signaling messages, user data, to request MPS priority treatment, to request emergency services fallback, or as a response to a network paging request. After receiving the service request message, the AMF may perform authentication. After the establishment of the signaling connection to an AMF, the UE or network may send signaling messages, e.g., PDU session establishment from the UE to a SMF, via the AMF. The service request procedure may be employed by a UE in CM-CONNECTED to request invocation or activation of MPS priority treatment for one or more PDU sessions of the UE, [0359], Fig. 19), the UE deletes the second set of URSP rules and receives the first set of URSP rules (AMF in response to receiving the MPS indication may determine that network does not support MPS or MPS for DTS. The AMF may trigger the UCU procedure and transmit or update the URSP for the UE, [0362]; when the UE receives the URSP or configuration parameters for MPS (or MPS for DTS), the UE may send a second NAS message. The UE may employ the configuration parameters or the URSP to determine one or more elements of the second NAS message. The second NAS message may be a PDU session establishment/modification request message, [0363]) while keeping the PDU sessions active and maintaining connection to the PDU sessions (The PDU Session Establishment Request may comprise a PDU session ID, Requested PDU Session Type… and [Always-on PDU Session Requested], [0365]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the slice priority of Ninglekhu and Liu with the URSP updated of Talebi to provide a methods and a system wherein if the AMF 155 is aware that some signaling is pending in the AMF 155 or between the UE 100 and the 5GC, the AMF 155 may not release the signaling connection after the completion of the registration procedure as suggested, Talebi [0250].
Regarding claim 20, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16, wherein: the UE is subscribed to the PDTS (FIG. 12 shows a user interface that could be used locally in a UE to select contexts, preconditions, and Preparation Actions to enable context aware URSP rules for mutually exclusive access to network slices, Ninglekhu [0470], for example Deregister LP slice, Deregister HP slice form the Select Pre-Condition section); the second network slice is usable by UEs that are subscribed to the PDTS to activate and use the PDTS (Send a Registration Update so that slice B is removed from the Allowed NSSAI and Slice A is added”. The UE would do this by including slice A's S-NSSAI in its request NSSAI and not including slice B's S-NSSAI. As the preparation action completes, UE is registered with slice A, Ninglekhu [0415] and Slice A's traffic always takes higher priority over traffic that is targeted for slice B, Ninglekhu [0406]); and one or more data packets are sent during a PDU session via the second network slice (The RSD that the UE selects from the URSP may include preparation actions … for instance, ending an ongoing session of a lower priority slice and/or ensuring for a congestion free network slice, before requesting registration for a higher priority network slice. PDU Session is established in the S-NSSAI that was added to the allowed NSSAI and the UE uses the PDU Session to send the new traffic, Ninglekhu [0806]).
Regarding claim 21, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 20, wherein the operations further comprise, prior to receiving of the first set of URSP rules, sending credentials for authenticating with the PDTS (The AMF may request the UE User ID for EAP authentication (EAP ID) for the S-NSSAI, Ninglekhu [0253], see user/administrator encryption key entry of Fig. 13).
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninglekhu et al. (20220272620) in view of Liu and further in view of Talebi and Ianev et al. (US 20220256417 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the computer-executable instructions when executed by the processor, further cause the UE to: receive user input (the UE may allow a user to press a button to trigger the procedure for an application, Ninglekhu [0505]), wherein the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application (This new procedure may also be triggered when a new application is installed or updated on the UE, when the OS is updated, when a new OS is installed. Furthermore, the procedure may be triggered by a GUI. For example, a GUI that lists applications that are installed on the UE may allow a user to press a button to trigger the procedure for an application, Ninglekhu [0505]); and determine that a URSP rule of the first set of USRP rules or the second set of URSP rules specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application (OSId and OSAppID, IP tuples, domain descriptors, Non-IP descriptors, DNN, and Connection Capabilities) is used by the UE to determine what traffic the rule applies to, Ninglekhu [0178]).
However, Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi do not teach receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS).
In an analogous art, Ianev teaches receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS) (It is proposed that when the UE 3 triggers a request for service via a PDU Session Establishment Request message or a Service Request message, the user may choose to prioritize the service and if so, the UE 3 provides priority for the PDU Session over the NAS. The PDU Session priority may also be based on user preferences set in the UE 3 in advance by prioritizing the type of the service, [0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the additional slice priority of Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi with the slice priority of Ianev to provide a device, a method and a system that allow mobile terminal users to prioritize a service or a type of service that would improve the service continuity across network slices for user preferred services as suggested.
Regarding claim 10, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the method of claim 9, further comprises: receiving user input (the UE may allow a user to press a button to trigger the procedure for an application, Ninglekhu [0505]), wherein the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application (This new procedure may also be triggered when a new application is installed or updated on the UE, when the OS is updated, when a new OS is installed. Furthermore, the procedure may be triggered by a GUI. For example, a GUI that lists applications that are installed on the UE may allow a user to press a button to trigger the procedure for an application, Ninglekhu [0505]); and prior to the receiving of the first set of URSP rules, determining that a URSP rule of a second set of URSP rules stored in memory of the UE specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application (OSId and OSAppID, IP tuples, domain descriptors, Non-IP descriptors, DNN, and Connection Capabilities) is used by the UE to determine what traffic the rule applies to, Ninglekhu [0178]).
However, Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi do not teach receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS).
In an analogous art, Ianev teaches receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS) (It is proposed that when the UE 3 triggers a request for service via a PDU Session Establishment Request message or a Service Request message, the user may choose to prioritize the service and if so, the UE 3 provides priority for the PDU Session over the NAS. The PDU Session priority may also be based on user preferences set in the UE 3 in advance by prioritizing the type of the service, [0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the additional slice priority of Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi with the slice priority of Ianev to provide a device, a method and a system that allow mobile terminal users to prioritize a service or a type of service that would improve the service continuity across network slices for user preferred services as suggested.
Regarding claim 17, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16, the operations further comprise: receiving user input (the UE may allow a user to press a button to trigger the procedure for an application, Ninglekhu [0505]), wherein the user input corresponds to at least one of navigating a browser to a site or launching an application (This new procedure may also be triggered when a new application is installed or updated on the UE, when the OS is updated, when a new OS is installed. Furthermore, the procedure may be triggered by a GUI. For example, a GUI that lists applications that are installed on the UE may allow a user to press a button to trigger the procedure for an application, Ninglekhu [0505]); and prior to the receiving of the first set of URSP rules, determining that a URSP rule of a second set of URSP rules stored in memory of the UE specifies an identifier (ID) of at least one of the site or the application (OSId and OSAppID, IP tuples, domain descriptors, Non-IP descriptors, DNN, and Connection Capabilities) is used by the UE to determine what traffic the rule applies to, Ninglekhu [0178]).
However, Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi do not teach receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS).
In an analogous art, Ianev teaches receive user input to activate a priority data transport service (PDTS) (It is proposed that when the UE 3 triggers a request for service via a PDU Session Establishment Request message or a Service Request message, the user may choose to prioritize the service and if so, the UE 3 provides priority for the PDU Session over the NAS. The PDU Session priority may also be based on user preferences set in the UE 3 in advance by prioritizing the type of the service, [0155]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the additional slice priority of Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi with the slice priority of Ianev to provide a device, a method and a system that allow mobile terminal users to prioritize a service or a type of service that would improve the service continuity across network slices for user preferred services as suggested.
Claims 5, 12 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ninglekhu et al. (20220272620) in view of Liu and further in view of Talebi and Faccin et al. (US 20180324577 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the UE of claim 2.
However, Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi do not teach wherein a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules prevents one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during a PDU session.
In an analogous art, Faccin teaches wherein a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, prevents the one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during the PDU session (UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) may include a prioritized list of URSP rules, and each USRP rule may be composed of one or more of the following components: Non-seamless offload: This indicates if the matching traffic is Prohibited, Preferred or Permitted (i.e. allowed but not preferred) to be offloaded to non-3GPP access outside of a PDU session. Non-seamless offload may also indicate a specific non-3GPP access type (e.g. wireless local area network (WLAN), a service set identifier (SSID) of a network) on which the matching traffic is Prohibited, [0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the additional slice priority of Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi with the URSP of Faccin to provide a device, a method and a system for handling mobility between areas with heterogeneous network slices in wireless communications systems operating according to new radio (NR) technologies as suggested.
Regarding claim 12, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the method of claim 9.
However, Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi do not teach wherein the first set URSP rule of the set of URSP rules prevents one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during a PDU session.
In an analogous art, Faccin teaches wherein a URSP rule of the second set of URSP rules, prevents the one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during the PDU session (UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) may include a prioritized list of URSP rules, and each USRP rule may be composed of one or more of the following components: Non-seamless offload: This indicates if the matching traffic is Prohibited, Preferred or Permitted (i.e. allowed but not preferred) to be offloaded to non-3GPP access outside of a PDU session. Non-seamless offload may also indicate a specific non-3GPP access type (e.g. wireless local area network (WLAN), a service set identifier (SSID) of a network) on which the matching traffic is Prohibited, [0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the additional slice priority of Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi with the URSP of Faccin to provide a device, a method and a system for handling mobility between areas with heterogeneous network slices in wireless communications systems operating according to new radio (NR) technologies as suggested.
Regarding claim 19, Ninglekhu as modified by Liu and Talebi teaches the non-transitory computer storage medium of claim 16.
However, Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi do not teach wherein the first URSP rule of the set of URSP rules prevents one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during a PDU session.
In an analogous art, Faccin teaches wherein a URSP rule of the first set of URSP rules, prevents the one or more data packets from being sent over Wi-Fi during the PDU session (UE Route Selection Policy (URSP) may include a prioritized list of URSP rules, and each USRP rule may be composed of one or more of the following components: Non-seamless offload: This indicates if the matching traffic is Prohibited, Preferred or Permitted (i.e. allowed but not preferred) to be offloaded to non-3GPP access outside of a PDU session. Non-seamless offload may also indicate a specific non-3GPP access type (e.g. wireless local area network (WLAN), a service set identifier (SSID) of a network) on which the matching traffic is Prohibited, [0126]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the claimed invention to have modified the additional slice priority of Ninglekhu, Liu and Talebi with the URSP of Faccin to provide a device, a method and a system for handling mobility between areas with heterogeneous network slices in wireless communications systems operating according to new radio (NR) technologies as suggested.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 8, 11, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NICOLE M LOUIS-FILS/Examiner, Art Unit 2641
/CHARLES N APPIAH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2641