DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Application
Receipt of the amendments to the claims, specification and drawings as well as applicant arguments/remarks, filed 08/12/2026, is acknowledged. Amendments to the specification and drawings have been entered.
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 24-28, 30-34, 47, 49 are pending in this action. Claims 2, 48 have been cancelled. Claims 4, 8-23, 29, 35-46, 50-51 have been cancelled previously. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 24, 30, 33, 47, 49 have been amended. Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 24-28, 30-34, 47, 49 are currently under consideration.
Any rejection or objection not reiterated in this action is withdrawn. Applicant's amendments necessitated new ground(s) of rejection presented in this office action.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Priority
This application claims benefit of provisional U.S. Application No. 63/344,521, filed May 20, 2022.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 24, 31-33, 47 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 comprises the typographic error “0.5% sodium dodecyl sulfate” that needs to be corrected to “0.5% of sodium dodecyl sulfate”. Similar is applied to claims 24, 33, 47.
It is suggested that in claims 31, 32 the limitation “when tested according to USP <429> Laser Light Diffraction” should be corrected to “as measured by laser light diffraction” for clarity.
Claim 33 comprises the typographic error “46% percent” that needs to be corrected to “46%” or clarified.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 24-28, 30-34, 47, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Newly amended claim 1 recites the limitations “differ by no more than 5%, on an absolute basis, from the percentage released at 0 months”, “tested … using USP Apparatus 2” that is unclear and indefinite. First, it is unclear what % should be measured (e.g., mol %, wt%, etc.). Second, it is unclear what the limitation “at 0 months” does imply. Can it be 20, or 29, or 30 days? Third, it is unclear what parameter of the system the recited apparatus should measure. Similar is applied to claims 3, 7, 24, 33, 47. Clarification is required.
Claim 1 attempts to encompass immediate release metaxalone tablets of metaxalone and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient(s) that maintain a stable dissolution profile over 6 months or more, but it does so without including any materials that cause said result. As stated previously, it is well known in the field that properties of multicomponent systems (i.e., tablets) depend on compounds included as well as on concentrations and/or distributions of said compounds that define the network of intermolecular interactions, and thereby physical and chemical properties of the system/tablet. The claim attempts to define the subject matter in terms of the result to be achieved, which merely amounts to a statement of the underlying problem, without providing the technical features necessary for achieving this result. Claiming a result without reciting what materials produce that result is the epitome of an indefinite claim. Such a claim fails to delineate with any reasonable certainty the requirements of the formulation. See Forest Labs., Inc. v. Teva Pharms. USA, Inc. 2017 U.S. App. LEXIS 24877. Further, it is noted that “[i]f a claim is amenable to two or more plausible constructions, applicant is required to amend the claim to more precisely define the metes and bounds of the claimed invention or the claim is indefinite under §112, ¶ 2. Ex parte Miyazaki, 89 USPQ2d 1207 (BPAI 2008). Similar is applied to claims 3, 24-26, 33, 47, 49. Clarification is required.
Newly amended claim 3 recites the limitations “the tablets comprise a hardness”, “metaxalone particles comprise a particles size” that is not reasonably clear. These limitations were interpreted as best understood as “a hardness of tablet”, “metaxalone particle size”. Similar is applied to claim 49. Clarification is required.
Claim 5 recites the limitations “providing a 1st batch quantity of a 1st grade of metaxalone, “providing a 1st batch quantity of a 2nd grade of metaxalone” that is not reasonably clear. First, it is unclear what should be provided – metaxalone or particles of metaxalone. Second, it is unclear if said recited constituents can be similar or are different. To this point, it is noted that “Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Similar is applied to claims 6, 24, 27-28. Clarification is required.
Claim 25 recites the term "substantially" that is a relative term, which renders the claim indefinite. This term is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Clarification is required.
Claims 31-32, 34 are rejected as being dependent on rejected independent claims 1 and 24 and failing to cure the defect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103- MAINTAINED
Claims 1, 3, 5-7, 24-28, 30-34, 47, 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gande et al., US 2020/0405693A1 (pub date 12/31/2020, hereinafter referred to as Gande).
Gande teaches compressed tablets comprising 640 mg of metaxalone, wherein said tablets release up to 65 wt% of metaxalone at 90 minutes when tested in 900 mL of a pH 6.0 phosphate buffer dissolution medium (Para. 0007, 0053 as applied to claims 1, 24, 47). Gande further teaches that said tablets may include: (a) 40-80 wt% micronized particles of metaxalone, wherein 90% of the micronized particles of metaxalone are smaller than 500, or 350, or 200, or 100, or 75, or 50 microns as tested according to the Malvern Method; and (b) 20-60 wt % of non-micronized particles of metaxalone, wherein less than 10%, or 5%, or 2% of the non-micronized particles are retained on a #30 sieve (i.e., 600 micron), and at least 25%, or 35%, or 45% of the non-micronized particles of metaxalone are retained on a #120 sieve (i.e., 125 micron) when tested by the Sieve Method (Para. 0008 as applied to claims 31, 32).
Gande teaches that said compressed tablets may also include such pharmaceutically acceptable excipients as 10-30 wt% of propylene glycol alginate, 20-35 wt% of lactose monohydrate; 10-30 wt% of alginic acid; 40-60 wt% of povidone; and 2-8 wt% of magnesium stearate (Para. 0009, 0043; Examples as applied to claims 1, 30, 47).
Therefore, the examiner maintaines the position that the claimed invention (i.e., metaxalone tablets), as a whole, would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made/filed, because every element of the invention has been taught by the teaching of the reference cited.
Regarding product-by-process claims 5, 7, it is noted that product-by-process claims do not carry any patentable weight unless there is factual evidence to the contrary. MPEP 2113. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). As a practical matter, the Patent Office is not equipped to manufacture products by the myriad number of processes put before it and then obtain prior art products and make physical comparisons therewith. In re Brown, 459 F.2d 531, 535, 173 USPQ 685, 688 (CCPA 1972). Therefore, with the showing of the reference, the burden of establishing non-obviousness by objective evidence is shifted to the applicants.
Regarding the properties of the disclosed tablets, it is noted that the cited prior art teaches tablets that are substantially the same as the tablets recited by the instant claims and/or described/exemplified in the instant specification (see Page 20 in the instant specification). Therefore, it is expected that since the prior art is comprised of the same components, the same beneficial properties and effects would also be provided. Further, it is noted that it is well known in the field that controlling the hardness of pharmaceutical compositions/tablets can be used for providing/improving a bioavailability of the active compound included in said compositions/tablets. The pertinent prior art of record provides the support to the examiner’s positions. Furthermore, it is noted that the fact that applicant has recognized another advantage, which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art, cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious. Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1985).
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20060167069 A1 - teaches tablet comprising 400-1600 mg of metaxalone micronized to the desired particle size range (Para. 0011-0016), wherein said tablets may also include polyvinyl pyrrolidone, magnesium stearate, and other pharmaceutically acceptable excipients (Para. 0018), and further teaches that bioavailability of said active compound can be controlled by hardness of tablets (Para. 0020).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed 08/12/2026, have been fully considered, but they were not found to be persuasive for the reasons set forth above. New arguments and/or rejections have been added to the record to clarify the position of the examiner and/or to address newly introduced amendments. Additional examiner’s comments are set forth next.
In response to the applicant’s argument that instant claims clearly define metes and bounds of the private protection requested, it is noted that the instant claims disclose immediate release tablets comprising metaxalone and excipient, wherein said tablets have properties as instant claimed. First, as stated previously, it is well known in the field that properties of multicomponent systems (e.g., tablets/products) depend on compounds included as well as on concentrations and/or distribution of said compounds that define the network of intermolecular interactions, and thereby physical and chemical properties of the system/composition/product. Second, it is noted that the applicant recites the property of said product/tablet as measured under specific conditions, i.e., 900 ml of 0.5% of sodium dodecyl sulfate (claims 1, 24, 33, 47). Given that said limitation/property depends on user’s choice, the claims are not sufficiently definite, because they refer to a variable. MPEP 2173.05. Given that there is no clear cut indication of the scope of the subject matter covered by the claims, one of ordinary skill in the art would not know from the claim terms what structure are encompassed by the claims. MPEP 2173.05(g).
Declaration under 37 CFR §1.132, filed 08/12/2026, has been considered and it is understood that the applicant discloses a specific method of preparation of metaxalone tablets. However, it is noted that section 112 of the U.S. Patent Act (35 U.S.C. § 112) sets the legal requirements for a patent’s specification, including written description, enablement, best mode, and how claims must be drafted. In the present case, the instant claims do not clearly define the structure of the metaxalone tablets as instantly claimed as well as preparation steps and/or compounds that can be included and/or should be excluded from said tablets for providing claimed properties. As best understood, the applicant discloses the preparation of tablets by using two types of metaxalone particles having specific particle size, wherein the mean particle size of the first FGM is 1-60 microns and the mean particle size of the first SGM is 100-1000 microns as measured by laser light diffraction (Specification, Para. 0038-0041, 0063; Fig. 1); and wherein said particles are present at a specific ratio (Para. 0043, 0046). Therefore, it is the examiner’s position that features that are taught as critical in the specification should be recited in the claims (see MPEP § 2172.01). Applicant is advised to clarify the claimed language, the structure of the claimed tablets, the preparation steps and clearly point out the patentable novelty, which the applicant thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited, to place the application in condition for allowance.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed at this time.
/OLGA V. TCHERKASSKAYA/
Examiner, Art Unit 1615
/Robert A Wax/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1615