DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 20 October 2025, with respect to the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112 have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of the amendments. The rejection of claims 3 – 10, 13 – 20 and 23 – 25 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment, filed 20 October 2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 – 25 under 35 U.S.C. § 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive, in light of the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penninger et al. (US PGPUB 2021/0178160 – previously cited) in view of Noble et al. (US PGPUB 2022/0285005).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 21, Penninger discloses an implantable electrical stimulation (IES) system, a method, and an apparatus enabling an IES, comprising: an implantable electrode array (e.g. 110) having a plurality of electrode contacts (e.g. 112); an electrical stimulus means for applying the electrical stimulus to at least one stimulating electrode contact of the implantable electrode array (e.g. ¶ 5 – 6); a sensor for sensing and determining a measured evoked compound action potential (ECAP) of the at least one stimulating electrode contact to generate data for determining a plurality of parameters for the at least one stimulating electrode contact of the implantable electrode array (e.g. ¶ 34); and a processing circuitry configured for processing the measured ECAP and the plurality of parameters of the at least one stimulating electrode contact of the implantable electrode array to compute the corresponding parameters for the remaining electrode contacts of the implantable electrode array (e.g. ¶ 34). Penninger fails to teach creating an implantable electrical stimulation (IES) model to calculate a spread of electrical current, and calculating a simulated evoked compound action potential (ECAP) based on the spread of electrical current.
Nobel teaches it is known to use a cochlear implant programming system that creates an implantable electrical stimulation (IES) model to calculate a spread of electrical current, and calculates a simulated evoked compound action potential (ECAP) based on the spread of electrical current. (e.g. ¶ 101). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Penninger with the model and simulated ECAP as taught by Nobel, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of improving an audiologist’s ability to program a cochlear implant.
Regarding claims 2, 12, 22, 24, and 25, Penninger discloses the sensor, as previously described. Penninger is silent to the time period of sensing, however.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the sensing as taught by Penninger in view of Noble with sensing and determining the measured ECAP of the at least one stimulating electrode contact during a prescribed time period of 0.05 - 2 milliseconds after the application of the electrical stimulus and lasts for approximately 0.3-10 milliseconds thereafter, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art [In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233] and/or since it has been held that a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties. Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ (Please see MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 3 – 9, 13 – 19, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Penninger et al. in view of Noble, and further in view of Brill et al. (US PGPUB 2019/0262609 – in IDS).
Regrading claims 3 – 9, 13 – 19, and 23, Penninger in view of Noble discloses the claimed invention as previously described, but fails to teach the specific claimed models and machine learning models.
Brill teaches it is known to use specific models and machine learning models in a stimulation system and method (¶ 11 – 14 and 79). While Brill teaches using these models in spinal cord stimulation, It solves the same problem of determining optimal parameters for remaining electrode contacts. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention as taught by Penninger in view of Noble with the specific models as taught by Brill, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of a modification would provide the predictable results of determining optimal parameters for remaining electrode contacts.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSEPH M DIETRICH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796