DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments filed 5/4/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Asikainen et al. (US 2022/0296966 A1) in view of Chaney (US 2020/0294298 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Asikainen discloses a method for providing an immersive and interactive fitness experience to a user ([0036], a system for tracking physical activity of a user performing exercise movements and providing feedback and recommendations relating to performing the exercise movements), the method comprising: identifying at least one of a pose and a movement corresponding to the user performing one or more activities in a real-world environment ([0046], a personal training application may include software and/or logic to provide the functionality for tracking physical activity of a user performing exercise movements); rendering the at least one of the pose and the movement identified in the avatar using an Extended Reality (XR) technique ([0039], interactive electronic display may comprise a frameless touch screen configured to morph the reflected image on the full-length mirrored surface and overlay graphical content on and/or beside the reflected image); monitoring a pattern of the one or more activities being performed by the user in the real-world environment using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) model ([0051], the interactive personal training device is configured to process and analyze the stream of sensor data using trained machine learning algorithms); and dynamically providing a feedback to at least one of the user and the avatar based on the monitoring ([0051], provide feedback in real time on the user performing the exercise movement, the feedback may include the weight moved in exercise movement pattern, the number of repetitions performed in the exercise movement pattern, the number of sets completed in the exercise movement pattern, the power generated by the exercise movement pattern, etc.), wherein the feedback is provided through an Al-assisted virtual expert in at least one of the real-world environment and the metaverse or the virtual environment ([0051], the feedback may include a comparison of the exercise form of the user against conditions of an ideal or correct exercise form predefined for the exercise movement and providing a visual overlay on the interactive display of the interactive personal training device to guide the user to perform the exercise movement correctly). Although Asikainen teaches a gamification engine to facilitate users to “level up” a virtual self or avatar based on their preferred physical body representation by following or performing exercise programs or routines ([0107]), Asikainen differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching the steps of generating, in a metaverse or a virtual environment, an avatar corresponding to the user of the real-world environment based on the at least one of the pose and the movement identified, wherein the avatar and the associated virtual environment is customizable based on one of a user's physical appearance, user preferences, or user performance, and monitoring the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment. However, Chaney teaches a method for generating three-dimensional avatars of multiple telepresence participants and rendering the avatars in a virtual three-dimensional space having capture devices to capture data about their corresponding users, and optionally to capture data about the real-world environments in which those users such that a computing device may use movement data captured by capture device to understand movements made by the user and to make the avatar make the same movements as the user ([0027] and [0031]-[0032]) in order to improve telepresence technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asikainen in having the steps of generating, in a metaverse or a virtual environment, an avatar corresponding to the user of the real-world environment based on the at least one of the pose and the movement identified, wherein the avatar and the associated virtual environment is customizable based on one of a user's physical appearance, user preferences, or user performance, and monitoring the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment, as per teaching of Chaney, in order to improve telepresence technologies.
Regarding claim 2, Asikainen discloses capturing a physical appearance of the user in the real-world environment via a capturing module ([0051], sensor(s) configured to capture a video of a scene in which user is performing the exercise movement).
Regarding claim 3, Asikainen discloses tracking, by the Al model, motion of the user and the corresponding image performing the one or more activities in the real-world environment and the metaverse or the virtual environment, respectively; and determining, by the Al model, a type of each of the one or more activities performed by the user and the corresponding image based on the tracking (figure 1B and [0051], the interactive personal training device equipped with the sensor(s) configured to capture a video of a scene in which user is performing the exercise movement and provide feedback in real time on the user performing the exercise movement, wherein the feedback may include a comparison of the exercise form of the user against conditions of an ideal or correct exercise form predefined for the exercise movement and providing a visual overlay on the interactive display of the interactive personal training device to guide the user 106 to perform the exercise movement correctly). Asikainen differs from the claimed invention in not specifically teaching tracking the corresponding avatar and determining the corresponding avatar based on the tracking. However, Chaney teaches such ([0031]-[0032]) in order to improve telepresence technologies. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Asikainen in tracking the corresponding avatar and determining the corresponding avatar based on the tracking, as per teaching of Chaney, to improve telepresence technologies
Regarding claim 4, Asikainen discloses that the feedback comprises one of a positive encouragement feedback provided to the user or the corresponding avatar when performing the one or more activities correctly, a warning or a critical error feedback provided to the user or the corresponding avatar when performing the one or more activities incorrectly, or a feedback provided in a form of accessible progress report of the user or the corresponding avatar performing the one or more activities ([0051] and [0098], provide feedback in real time on the user performing the exercise movement, the feedback may include the weight moved in exercise movement pattern, the number of repetitions performed in the exercise movement pattern, the number of sets completed in the exercise movement pattern, the power generated by the exercise movement pattern; and recommendation engine instructs the user interface engine to generate an alert on the interactive screen of the interactive personal training device informing the user to decrease force in the direction of the actual motion path to avoid injury).
Regarding claim 5, Asikainen discloses that the feedback is provided in one of a visual form, an audio form, or a haptic form ([0040] and 0051], to create haptic feedback including vibrations or a rumble in the equipment or to provide feedback including computation of classical force exerted by the user in the exercise movement and providing an audible and/or visual instruction to the user).
Regarding claim 6, Asikainen discloses assisting, by the Al-assisted virtual expert, the user and the corresponding avatar to perform the one or more activities individually; and providing, by the Al-assisted virtual expert, a personalized feedback to the user and the corresponding avatar based on performance of the one or more activities ([0138], the feedback may be displaying a graphical representation of a personal trainer ‘avatar’ correctly performing a squat exercise movement next to the 3D model of the user performing the same exercise movement for comparison).
Regarding claim 7, Asikainen discloses assisting, by the Al-assisted virtual expert, a set of users and corresponding avatars to perform the one or more activities in a group ([0134], the personal training engine may instantiate a channel for the platform provided by each one of the third-party partners); and providing, by the Al-assisted virtual expert, a generalized feedback to each the set of users and the corresponding avatars based on performance of the one or more activities. wherein the set of avatars performing the group activities are presented as if they are physically present in the real-world, but the activities are actually performed at different times or experienced solely in the metaverse or virtual environment when the user is actively engaged ([0138], the feedback may be green tick mark displayed on the interactive screen for a perfect repetition of the exercise movement, a yellow tick mark displayed for an acceptable repetition of the exercise movement, and a red strike mark displayed for an incorrect form in the repetition of the exercise movement, and the program enhancement engine provides the third-party partner with a base acceptable thresholds prepopulated for a common set of exercise movements from exercise and fitness literature and associated feedback to be relayed to the user, wherein the third-party partner has the ability to review and revise the base acceptable thresholds and associated feedback to match their training methodology or principles).
Regarding claim 8, Asikainen discloses when the user is actively engaged in the metaverse or virtual environment, the set of users and corresponding avatars performing the group activities are presented as if physically present in the real-world environment at the same time, for the activities performed at different times and locations ([0107], avatar including the real time information about the user's fitness activity may be shared with or made visible to other users via the interactive personal training device or via a social media application).
Regarding claim 9, Asikainen discloses that the metaverse or the virtual environment is one of a virtual reality (VR) environment, an augmented reality (AR) environment, a mixed reality (MR) environment, or an XR environment ([0100], instruct the user interface engine to generate an augmented reality).
Regarding claim 10, Asikainen discloses that the one or more activities comprises of high knees, leg raises, crunches, jumping jacks, lateral squats, lunges, squats, burpees, overhead triceps, push-ups, dumbbell squat press, core scissors, elbow knee, a band lateral raise, a band lateral stretch, a hook, an uppercut, boxing, kettlebell, deadlift, dead bug, squat thrusters, yoga, or high-intensity interval training (HIlT) ([0051] and [0070], each equipment, i.e. barbell, plate, kettlebell, dumbbell, medical ball, accessories, etc., includes an IMU sensor, and workout programs may include one or more exercise movements based on, cardio, yoga, strength training, weight training, bodyweight exercises, dancing, toning, stretching, martial arts, Pilates, core strengthening, or a combination thereof).
Regarding claim 11, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 12, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 16, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 17, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 7.
Regarding claim 18, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 19, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 9.
Regarding claim 20, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Regarding claim 21, the limitations of the claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/4/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Asikainen fails to show "monitoring a pattern of the one or more activities being performed by the user in the real-world environment and the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment using an Artificial Intelligence (Al) model; and dynamically providing a feedback to at least one of the user and the avatar based on the monitoring, wherein the feedback is provided through an Al-assisted virtual expert in at least one of the real-world environment and the metaverse or the virtual environment", examiner respectfully disagreed. It is noted that Asikainen teaches an interactive personal training device, read as AI-assisted virtual expert, may comprise an interactive electronic display mounted behind and visible through a reflective, full-length mirrored surface ([0039]), and may receive a sequence of images that capture the details of the user's body in 360 degrees to generate a 3D visualization, e.g., avatar, of user's body and provides an estimate for body measurements ([0084]), wherein the interactive personal training device is configured to process and analyze the stream of sensor data using trained machine learning algorithms and provide feedback in real time on the user performing the exercise movement ([0051]) such that the interactive personal training device, as taught by Asikainen, obviously to monitore a pattern of the one or more activities being performed by the user in the real-world environment and the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment using an Artificial Intelligence (Al) model in order to provide feedback in real time on the user performing the exercise movement in view of a visual overlay on the interactive display of the interactive personal training device. Note the claimed language merely recites “monitoring a pattern of the one or more activities being performed by the user in the real-world environment and the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment using an Artificial Intelligence (Al) model” and Applicant’s specification [0059] discloses the similar language as recited in claim 1 without further defined the distinction between a pattern of the one or more activities being performed by the user in the real-world environment and the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment Thus, Asikainen teaches the broad claimed limitations. In addition, Asikainen also teaches dynamically providing feedback to at least one of the user and the avatar based on the monitoring, wherein the feedback is provided through an Al-assisted virtual expert in at least one of the real-world environment and the metaverse or the virtual environment ([0051], Asikainen teaches using trained machine learning algorithms to provide feedback in real time on the user performing the exercise movement including a comparison of the exercise form of the user against conditions of an ideal or correct exercise form predefined for the exercise movement and providing a visual overlay on the interactive display of the interactive personal training device to guide the user to perform the exercise movement correctly and computation of classical force exerted by the user in the exercise movement and providing an audible and/or visual instruction to the user to increase or decrease force in a direction using motion path guidance on the interactive display of the interactive personal training device, which reads on the broad claimed language of dynamically providing a feedback to at least one of the user and the avatar based on the monitoring, wherein the feedback is provided through an Al-assisted virtual expert in at least one of the real-world environment and the metaverse or the virtual environment because the claims and the specification do not specifically define what kind of feedback to the avatar. Further, Chaney also teaches to generate haptic feedback via a haptic interface associated with the first user device (figure 8 and [0090]). Therefore, Examiner submits that Asikainen alone or in combination with other to teach, disclose, or suggest, "monitoring a pattern of the one or more activities being performed by the user in the real-world environment and the corresponding avatar in the metaverse or virtual environment using an Artificial Intelligence (Al) model, and dynamically providing a feedback to at least one of the user and the avatar based on the monitoring, wherein the feedback is provided through an Al-assisted virtual expert in at least one of the real-world environment and the metaverse or the virtual environment ", as recited in amended independent claims 1, 11, and 21 of the claimed invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Dobbins et al. (US 20090278917 A1) discloses a system for providing a simulated collaborative immersive environment and tele-presence to enable a designer to interact with each other in the immersive environment and to evaluate the engineering design while eliminating a need to build expensive prototypes, wherein an immersive observation system where multiple observers can view, in real-time, the virtual reality simulation including the interactions of the avatars in a common, immersive environment and a virtual reality simulator can include collision detection software to provide feedback within the simulation (abstract and [0009]-[0017]).
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699