DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 2-21 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 09/23/2025, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 12 recite “the navigation tool”; however, they should recite - - a navigation tool - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “performing a single operation according to the navigation mode to search, exclusively, all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders, wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user, wherein the navigation tool comprises directional arrows operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria”. Per the instant specification:
[0036] FIG. 6 is a view of the navigation button of the system. The navigation button provides new navigational options for the user. The navigation tool in one embodiment typically appears as at 601 and 602. The tool has four directional arrows (up, down, left right) which can be accessed by clicking on the tool or by using the arrow keys on the keyboard. Clicking on one of the directional arrows will move the user one step where the step depends on where the user is accessing the tool. If the user is at a folder level, a single click on an arrow will move the user to the next folder. If the user is inside a folder and accessing a message, the directional arrows will move from message to message within the folder.
[0038] By clicking the ctrl button on the keyboard, the navigation tool appears as at 603. In this case, the up and down arrows show a number that represents how many steps in the chain each click of an arrow will advance. Within a folder, a click will move the user ten messages up or down for example. The left and right arrows at 604 when the ctrl button is pressed will move the user another screen if the display cannot show the entire inbox at once.
[0039] Clicking on the shift key causes the navigation tool to appear as at 605. This mode ties into, for example, a search operation. The user can define a term or terms, and each click of the directional arrows will move the user to the next message that satisfies the search criteria.
[0040] FIGS. 6A and 6B illustrate the navigation button of the system. The navigation button provides new navigational options for the user. The navigation tool in one embodiment typically appears as at 601 and 602. The tool has four directional arrows (up, down, left, right) which can be accessed by clicking on the tool or by using the arrow keys on the keyboard. Clicking on one of the directional arrows will move the user one step where the step depends on where the user is accessing the tool. If the user is at a folder level, a single click on an arrow will move the user to the next folder. If the user is inside a folder and accessing a message, the directional arrows will move from message to message within the folder.
The specification appears to disclose clicking on the shift key causes the navigation tool to enter a mode that ties into a search operation. The user can define a term or terms, and each click of the directional arrows will move the user to the next message that satisfies the search criteria (see instant specification [0039]). The specification further appears to disclose directional arrows will move from message to message within a folder (see instant specification [0036], [0038], [0040]) or, alternatively, move from a first folder to a second folder ([0040]). The specification does not disclose performing a single operation according to the navigation mode to search, exclusively, all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders, wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user, wherein the navigation tool comprises directional arrows operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria.
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 3-11 and 13-21, claims 3-11 and 13-21 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as being dependent on parent claims failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claims 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 recites “all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders”. The claim does not previously recite “the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders”. It is unclear how this limitation is intended to relate to the previously recited “plurality of documents” and “one or more documents”. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: a plurality of documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders.
Claim 2 further recites “wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user”. It is unclear which limitation “without input by a user” is intended to modify. It is unclear whether the document navigation takes place without input by a user. It is unclear whether the second folder is a second folder without input by a user. For the purposes of examination, this limitation is interpreted as: wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder and wherein the document navigation takes place without input by a user
Regarding claim 12, claim 12 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 12 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claims 3-11 and 13-21, claims 3-11 and 13-21 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for depending on an indefinite parent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 2, 3, 5-13, and 15-21 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over McCann et al., 2009/0327972 A1 in view of Starbuck, U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006/0277210 A1, in further view of Dietz, U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006/0184901 A1.
Claim 2:
McCann discloses a method comprising:
sorting a plurality of documents into a plurality of folders (see Paragraph 0020 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the messages of a conversation may be stored across multiple folders. For example, users may manually organize messages into various folders. Users also may set one or more filtering rules for automatically separating e-mail messages into certain folders based on sender, subject, or other criteria. In addition, a reply message sent by a user may be stored within the sent items folder of the user.);and
performing a single operation according to the navigation mode to search all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders (see Paragraphs 0052-0053 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the UI may comprise a folder list window for allowing the user to view a list of available folders and to select one or more folders to view. The folder view window may include a search box (single operation) for searching the selected folder. Also see Paragraph 0057 – McCann further discloses this limitation in that items within the identified scope may be aggregated with related items outside of the identified scope and displayed as a group. For instance, if the identified scope corresponds to a selected folder such as the Inbox folder, the in-scope items comprise the messages that are locally stored in the selected folder, and the out-of-scope items comprise cross-folder messages that are stored in one or more additional folders such as the Sent Items folder, the Project folder, or other folders.).
McCann fails to expressly disclose:
selecting a navigation mode according to a key, wherein the navigation mode indicates an automated movement through one or more documents of the plurality of documents; and
to search, exclusively, all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders, wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user, wherein the navigation tool comprises navigation tools operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria.
In the same field of endeavor, Starbuck teaches:
selecting a navigation mode according to a key, wherein the navigation mode indicates an automated movement through one or more documents of the plurality of documents; and to search, exclusively, all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders ([0051], The folders pane 402 includes representations of a plurality of folders which may be utilized to organize email, the illustrated examples including an "inbox", "sent items", "deleted items", "drafts", "outbox" and "spam". These folders may also include sub-folders, the illustrated examples including "personal", "business" and "travel". The sub-folders in this example include a plurality of representations of email messages, each of which having a respective sender 410(1)-410(11) line and a respective subject line 412(1)-412(11); [0052], The keyword hierarchy pane 404 includes a portion of the user interface 300 of FIG. 3. Email messages that correspond to keywords selected in the keyword hierarchy pane 404 are displayed in the keyword preview pane 406; a message in the keyword preview pane 406 may be selected to display at least a portion of its contents in the email preview pane 408; [0054], The keyword hierarchy pane 502 of the user interface 500 of FIG. 5 is configured to accept a plurality of selections (e.g., through use of a cursor control device) by the client of keywords at any one time to navigate to emails having one or more of the selected keywords. The keyword hierarchy pane 502 is illustrated as including a "check box" for each keyword included in the keyword hierarchy pane 502. By selecting a keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate to" to emails having that keyword. Likewise, by unselecting a selected keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate from" emails having that keyword. Thus, the client may simply "click" through the displayed keyword to navigate through the emails to locate a particular email of interest; [0056], To provide the user with the ability to decide whether or not to utilize this functionality, an "enable" button 606 is provided in the user interface 600 along with related text that queries the user as to whether to "enable automatic searches". In an implementation, the "enable" button 604 enables searches to be performed for items that are available remotely over the network 104, such as newsgroups, web pages, and so on. For instance, when the "enable" button is not selected by the user, searches for items local to the client 102(n) may be performed locally without communicating with the search service 138 over the network 104. When the enable button 604 has been selected, searches for both locally stored items 110(i) and items which are available over the network 104 may be performed; [0062], the user may manually select one or more of the keywords from a message being displayed, which then automatically causes the search pane 602 to perform a search using the selected keyword; [0063], FIG. 8 is an illustration of a user interface 800 having the search pane 602 of FIG. 6 as enabled to provide automatic searches that include messages and contacts); and
wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user, wherein the navigation tool comprises navigation tools operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria ([0051], The folders pane 402 includes representations of a plurality of folders which may be utilized to organize email; [0058], a search being performed for items local to the client 102(n) (e.g., messages) and items accessible remotely over the network 104, e.g., web sites having web pages; [0060], The search performed through the search pane 602 may also leverage items currently being displayed. For example, the search "London", when performed, may also be based on the message being displayed in the preview pane 408. The keyword analysis module 120, for instance, may determine whether any keywords contained in the message are sufficiently related (e.g., "close") to the searched keyword to be utilized in conjunction with the search; [0061], the search being performed in the search pane 602 is done automatically based on a current message being displayed, such as the message in the preview pane 408. The search may leverage keywords found in the message and locate messages having the same and similar (e.g., "close") keywords. Thus, in this example, the search pane 602 may provide search results that contain related messages and other items (e.g., such as web pages, documents, music, contacts, and so on) as the user selects messages for display; [0073], a search may be automatically performed based on keywords from the data mining that are contained in a message currently being displayed in the user interface (block 1012). The user interface 700 of FIG. 7, for instance, may locate keywords contained in the message of the preview pane 408 that were found by data mining items. These keywords may then be utilized to find "similar" items (e.g., remotely and/or locally) to the displayed message. Thus, the user interface may automatically display related items such that a user may navigate to the items without manually entering search terms).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the media, disclosed in McCann, to include:
selecting a navigation mode according to a key, wherein the navigation mode indicates an automated movement through one or more documents of the plurality of documents; and
to search, exclusively, all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders, wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user, wherein the navigation tool comprises navigation tools operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria
Doing so would be desirable because the amount of email that is received by the user is ever increasing, however, and may consequently hinder the user's efficiency in dealing with each email. From work to personal use, for instance, users of email are increasingly exposed to larger and larger numbers of emails in a given day. Additionally, the user may not be able to readily differentiate between these different uses of email, and therefore not readily navigate to particular emails of interest. Further, these emails have ever increasing importance as users have come to trust and rely on email to receive a variety of content from bills to pictures of loved ones (see Starbuck [0003]). Messages, such as email, are voluminous and consequently need better organization in order to enable a recipient of the messages to locate particular messages of interest. In a variety of implementations, techniques are described which may be utilized to organize email and other items, such as contacts, documents, instant messages, appointments, and so on (See Starbuck [0027]). Further, both McCann and Starbuck are concerned with the organization, search, and navigation of a compilation of documents.
The combination fails to expressly disclose wherein the navigation tool comprises directional arrows operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria.
In the same field of endeavor, Dietz teaches wherein the navigation tool comprises directional arrows operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria ([0034], a displayable content set 460 (e.g., a set of displayable data or elements that can include symbols, alphanumeric characters, words, pictures, and/or figures); [0037], One or more anchors 430 can be displayed proximate to the navigation tool 410; [0038], This feature can provide a user with an indication of the location of the various portions 462 relative to one another and can also provide the user with an indication of the depth of content; [0042], in the illustrated embodiment navigation arrows 440 are displayed at the top and bottom of the navigation tool 410 (shown as a first navigation arrow 440a and a second navigation arrow 440b). In other embodiments, at least one navigation arrow 440 can be part of the navigation tool 410, attached to the navigation tool 410, and/or separate from the navigation tool 410. In certain embodiments, a user can use the navigation arrows 440 to command movement of the location marker 420. For example, in one embodiment the user can command the movement of the location marker 420 by selecting one of the navigation arrows 440 using a mouse. For instance, the user can place a cursor proximate to one of the navigation arrows and press a selected button on a mouse. If the user holds the selected button down, the location marker 420 can scroll or move continuously proximate to the navigation tool 410 in the direction indicated by the selected arrow until the selected mouse button is released. As discussed above, a part 468 of the content set 460 corresponding to the selected position of the location marker 420 relative to the navigation tool 410 can be displayed while the location marker 420 is in motion, and/or after the selected button is released and the location marker 420 has stopped moving. Similarly, if the user momentarily depresses a selected button on the mouse (e.g., "clicks" on one of the navigation arrow 440), the location marker 420 can move proximate to the navigation tool 410 in discrete increments and the corresponding parts 468 of the content set 460 can be displayed; [0047], in FIG. 7 multiple anchors 730 are shown proximate to a navigation tool 710. Each anchor 730 corresponds to a portion 762 of a content set 760. A label 732 is associated with each of the anchors 730, and is displayed whenever the associated anchor 730 is displayed. In the illustrated embodiment, the labels 732 show the number of items (e.g., related word groups or element groups) contained in each portion 762 of the content set 76; [0052], FIG. 8 is a partially schematic illustration of the display 700 shown in FIG. 7 where a different display format has been selected (e.g., some of the window sizes have been adjusted). Because the display format has changed, part of a fifth portion 762e is displayed in FIG. 8. For example, the window sizes of the second portion 762b and the third portion 762c have been reduced; [0054], FIG. 9 is a partially schematic illustration of display 900 with a navigation tool 910 in accordance with other embodiments of the invention ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the media, taught in the combination, to include wherein the navigation tool comprises directional arrows operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria. Doing so would be desirable because computer systems are capable of providing users with large amounts of information. A problem associated with this feature is that a computer monitor can only display a certain amount of information at one time. Accordingly, a user is often faced with paging or scrolling through a large number of pages or screen shots in order to locate specific pieces of information (see Dietz [0002]). Even when an application provides a user with an index or scroll bar, it can be difficult and time consuming to locate specific types or pieces of information when the information includes a large number of pages or screen shots (see Dietz [0004]). A feature of embodiments described above is that a user can be provided with a navigational tool that provides contextual information regarding various portions of the content set, the relative depth of information contained in the portions of the content set, and/or the position of the portions relative to one another in the content set. This can provide a user with a better understanding of what information is available in a content set, how the information is organized, and where one piece of information is located relative to other pieces of information. Additionally, this feature can allow the user to more quickly locate a specific piece of information contained in the content set. An advantage of this feature is that it can allow a user to search for and/or access information more effectively and efficiently. This can result in a savings of time and/or money (see Dietz [0059]). Additionally, the system of Dietz is applicable to a variety of displayable content sets, such as displayable data, symbols, alphanumeric characters, words, pictures, and/or figures (see Dietz [0034]).
Claim 3:
The combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the method comprises:
dynamically updating information regarding each folder of the plurality of folders (see Paragraph 0020 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the rules may automatically separate incoming email messages based on preset criteria.); and
displaying the information regarding a folder of the plurality of folders (see Figure 4, Element 449 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the number of messages and unread messages are displayed next to the corresponding folder containing the messages.)
Claim 5:
The combination McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the method comprises:
wherein the plurality of folders each comprise a numeric indicator that displays a time since a folder has been updated (see Figure 4 – McCann teaches this limitation in that a timestamp is associated with each updated message.).
Claim 6:
The combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the plurality of folders each comprise a numeric indicator that displays a number of new documents (see Figure 4, Element 449 and Paragraph 0067 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the number of unread messages is indicated by the folder containing the messages.).
Claim 7:
The combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein each document of the plurality of documents is color coded according to a type of document (see Paragraph 0062 – McCann discloses this limitation in that messages that are within a scope are a displayed in a different color and/or font than messages that are outside of said scope.).
Claim 8:
The combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches the method of claim 2, wherein each document in the plurality of documents comprises a button that is adapted to expand into a window when engaged by a user (see Figure 4, Element 450 and Paragraph 0072 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the preview pane allows the user to collapse and expand previews of unread messages without fully opening the unread messages; see also [0066], The aggregate conversation header 447 can be selectively expanded to view a list of the messages 431-442 contained within the conversation 443 and collapsed to roll up the messages 431-442 of the conversation 443 so that only the aggregate conversation header 447 is displayed).
Claim 9:
The combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches the method of claim 8, wherein the window displays information about the document (see Figure 4, Element 450 and Paragraph 0072 – McCann discloses this limitation in that the preview pane allows the user to collapse and expand previews of unread messages without fully opening the unread messages.).
Claim 10:
As indicated in the above rejection, the combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches every limitation of claim 8. Starbuck further teaches:
wherein the window allows a user to enter information about the document ([0065], FIG. 9 is an illustration of a user interface 900 having a notes pane 902. The user interface 900 includes a folders pane 402, a keyword preview pane 406 and a preview pane 408, as previously described in relation to FIGS. 4 and 6. Additionally, the notes pane 902 is included to store portions of messages of the user interface. For example, an email message is displayed in the preview pane 408 which includes direction to the Langham Hotel from Heathrow airport. The user may select the directions to be copied from the displayed message to the notes pane, which are displayed as a portion 904 (i.e., the "note") of the message in the notes pane 902; [0113] FIG. 19 is a flow diagram depicting a procedure 1900 in an exemplary implementation in which a user interface configured to display messages includes a notes pane which is utilized to store and organize portions of the displayed messages; the user may select the directions from the currently displayed email and drag the selected directions to the notes pane 902, which is illustrates as portion 904; [0114], the notes pane 902 may include keywords which are implemented as hyperlinks to portions which include the keywords, which are illustrated as "London", "Langham Hotel", "Work" and "Personal". In this way, particular portions of the messages which are of interest to the user are organized separately from the messages themselves)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the media, disclosed in McCann, to include:
wherein the window allows a user to enter information about the document
Doing so would be desirable because the amount of email that is received by the user is ever increasing, however, and may consequently hinder the user's efficiency in dealing with each email. From work to personal use, for instance, users of email are increasingly exposed to larger and larger numbers of emails in a given day. Additionally, the user may not be able to readily differentiate between these different uses of email, and therefore not readily navigate to particular emails of interest. Further, these emails have ever increasing importance as users have come to trust and rely on email to receive a variety of content from bills to pictures of loved ones (see Starbuck [0003]). Messages, such as email, are voluminous and consequently need better organization in order to enable a recipient of the messages to locate particular messages of interest. In a variety of implementations, techniques are described which may be utilized to organize email and other items, such as contacts, documents, instant messages, appointments, and so on (see Starbuck [0027]). Further, A variety of other assistive techniques are also described, such as a user interface may include a notes portion such that portions of the messages of particular interest to a user may be saved and organized based on closeness of keywords contained in the portions (see Starbuck [0004]).
Claim 11:
As indicated in the above rejection, the combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches every limitation of claim 2. Further, McCann discloses:
wherein the method comprises: a selected folder displays one or more folder buttons to allow interaction by a user, one of the folder buttons is a navigation tool that includes a plurality of folder sub-buttons, one of the folder sub-buttons allows a user to move to and expand another folder ([0052] The UI 400 may comprise a folder list window 410 for allowing the user to view a list of available folders in the mailbox and to select one or more folders to view. As shown, the folder list window 410 may include an Inbox folder 412, a Junk E-mail folder 414, a Sent Items folder 416, a user-created Project folder 418, and other folders. It can be appreciated that, in some implementations, the Inbox folder 412, the Junk E-mail folder 414, the Sent Items folder 416, the user-created Project folder 418, and other folders may correspond to logical storage locations and that the physical storage locations for such items may reside within the e-mail application 300, as described above with reference to FIG. 3, as well as in any other location on the client computing device 110; [0053], In this example, the Inbox folder 412 has been selected to be viewed, and the UI 400 includes a folder view window 420 corresponding to the selected folder. The folder view window 420 may allow the user to perform various operations for the selected folder; [0054], When a selected folder, such as the Inbox folder 412 or the Sent Items folder 416, is arranged by date for example, the list pane 430 may display all the messages that are stored in the selected folder based on the date and time associated with each message, such as by date and time received for the Inbox folder 412 or by date and time sent for the Sent Items folder 416. In some cases, the messages also may be grouped by date and sorted so that the newest messages are displayed from the top; [0056], In the example illustrated in FIG. 4, the Inbox folder 412 has been selected for viewing and identifies the scope of item retrieval)
Further, Starbuck teaches:
expanding a first document associated with the two or more selected folders to display text associated with the first document ([0052], Email messages that correspond to keywords selected in the keyword hierarchy pane 404 are displayed in the keyword preview pane 406; a message in the keyword preview pane 406 may be selected to display at least a portion of its contents in the email preview pane 408; [0053], a keyword preview pane 406 for displaying a result of navigation through a keyword hierarchy pane 502, and a preview pane 408 for display of messages selected in the keyword preview pane 406 and/or the folders pane 402; [0054], By selecting a keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate to" to emails having that keyword. Likewise, by unselecting a selected keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate from" emails having that keyword. Thus, the client may simply "click" through the displayed keyword to navigate through the emails to locate a particular email of interest); and
moving from the first document to a second document of the plurality of documents according to the navigation mode and a user-defined criteria ([0052], Email messages that correspond to keywords selected in the keyword hierarchy pane 404 are displayed in the keyword preview pane 406; a message in the keyword preview pane 406 may be selected to display at least a portion of its contents in the email preview pane 408; [0053], a keyword preview pane 406 for displaying a result of navigation through a keyword hierarchy pane 502, and a preview pane 408 for display of messages selected in the keyword preview pane 406 and/or the folders pane 402; [0054], By selecting a keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate to" to emails having that keyword. Likewise, by unselecting a selected keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate from" emails having that keyword. Thus, the client may simply "click" through the displayed keyword to navigate through the emails to locate a particular email of interest);
wherein: the movement in a first mode is up or down based on a user-defined criteria that is independent of a previously executed operation, the movement in a second mode is up or down by a predetermined number of documents ([0052], Email messages that correspond to keywords selected in the keyword hierarchy pane 404 are displayed in the keyword preview pane 406; a message in the keyword preview pane 406 may be selected to display at least a portion of its contents in the email preview pane 408; [0053], a keyword preview pane 406 for displaying a result of navigation through a keyword hierarchy pane 502, and a preview pane 408 for display of messages selected in the keyword preview pane 406 and/or the folders pane 402; [0054], By selecting a keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate to" to emails having that keyword. Likewise, by unselecting a selected keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate from" emails having that keyword. Thus, the client may simply "click" through the displayed keyword to navigate through the emails to locate a particular email of interest),
the first document and the second document each display one or more document buttons to allow interaction by a user, one of the documents buttons is a navigation tool that includes a plurality of document sub-buttons, and one of the document sub-buttons allows a user to move to and expand another document ([0052], Email messages that correspond to keywords selected in the keyword hierarchy pane 404 are displayed in the keyword preview pane 406; a message in the keyword preview pane 406 may be selected to display at least a portion of its contents in the email preview pane 408; [0053], a keyword preview pane 406 for displaying a result of navigation through a keyword hierarchy pane 502, and a preview pane 408 for display of messages selected in the keyword preview pane 406 and/or the folders pane 402; [0054], By selecting a keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate to" to emails having that keyword. Likewise, by unselecting a selected keyword, the keyword preview pane 406 may "navigate from" emails having that keyword. Thus, the client may simply "click" through the displayed keyword to navigate through the emails to locate a particular email of interest)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the media, disclosed in McCann, to include:
expanding a first document associated with the two or more selected folders to display text associated with the first document; and
moving from the first document to a second document of the plurality of documents according to the navigation mode and a user-defined criteria; wherein:
the movement in a first mode is up or down based on a user-defined criteria that is independent of a previously executed operation, the movement in a second mode is up or down by a predetermined number of documents,
the first document and the second document each display one or more document buttons to allow interaction by a user, one of the documents buttons is a navigation tool that includes a plurality of document sub-buttons, and one of the document sub-buttons allows a user to move to and expand another document
Doing so would be desirable because the amount of email that is received by the user is ever increasing, however, and may consequently hinder the user's efficiency in dealing with each email. From work to personal use, for instance, users of email are increasingly exposed to larger and larger numbers of emails in a given day. Additionally, the user may not be able to readily differentiate between these different uses of email, and therefore not readily navigate to particular emails of interest. Further, these emails have ever increasing importance as users have come to trust and rely on email to receive a variety of content from bills to pictures of loved ones (see Starbuck [0003]). Messages, such as email, are voluminous and consequently need better organization in order to enable a recipient of the messages to locate particular messages of interest. In a variety of implementations, techniques are described which may be utilized to organize email and other items, such as contacts, documents, instant messages, appointments, and so on (see Starbuck [0027]).
Claims 12-13, and 15-21:
Claims 12-13 and 15-21 are the medium claims corresponding the method of claims 2-3 and 5-11. As indicated in the above rejections, the combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches every limitation of claims 2-3 and 5-11. In addition, McCann teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions of a method (see Paragraph 0084). Therefore, claims 12-13 and 15-21 are rejected for the same reasons as claims 2-3 and 5-11 above.
Claims 4 and 14 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over the combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz, further in view of Chung, U.S. Patent Publication Number 2006/0072723 A1.
Claim 4:
As indicated in the above rejection, the combination of combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz teaches every limitation of claim 2. The combination fails to expressly disclose wherein the plurality of folders each comprise an indicator that blinks or flashes when the folder contains a new document.
In the same field of endeavor, Chung teaches wherein the plurality of folders each comprise an indicator that blinks or flashes when the folder contains a new document ([0037], a shortcut to any of the folders 47, 48, 49 can be separately located on the desktop or wireless web device of the User or viewer and such can be made to blink or otherwise alert the User or viewer when the contents of the rack is updated (e.g., a "high priority" email is sent to the folder).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the media, taught in the combination, to include wherein the plurality of folders each comprise an indicator that blinks or flashes when the folder contains a new document. Doing so would be desirable because invention of Chung addresses several existing and anticipated problems (see Chung [0003]). The indicators of Chung would improve the system of McCann by better alerting the user when new items arrive in a folder (see Chung [0037]). Further, McCann and Chung are concerned with the presentation of messages to a user.
Claim 14:
Claim 14 is the medium claims corresponding the method of claim 4. As indicated in the above rejections, the combination of McCann, Starbuck, Dietz, and Chung teaches every limitation of claim 4. In addition, McCann teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing instructions of a method (see Paragraph 0084). Therefore, claim 14 is rejected under the combination of McCann, Starbuck, and Chung for the same reasons as claim 4 above.
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant' s amendments to claims 2 and 12.
Applicant alleges claims 2-21 comply with the written description requirement. Applicant alleges the present specification clearly describes navigation across multiple folders using a single operation. Paragraph [0036] describes directional arrows that move a user between folders and messages. Paragraph [0038] explains that when combined with a modifier key (e.g., "ctrl"), the navigation advances multiple messages at once. Paragraph [0039] discloses that when combined with a "shift" key, the navigation tool ties into a search operation, automatically moving to the next message satisfying the search criteria. Paragraph [0040] confirms the navigation tool's ability to operate at both the folder and message level, with a single action moving the user from message to message and folder to folder. Thus, the written description supports that a single operation (arrow + modifier key) advances navigation without further input across multiple folders according to a search query. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, the instant specification [0036] discloses a navigational tool the enables a user to move from message to message within a folder. The instant specification [0038], discloses that clicking the ctrl button the keyboard enables a user to move ten messages up or down within a folder. The instant specification [0039] discloses that clicking on a shift key ties into a search operation and with each click of the directional arrows, a user moves to a next message that satisfies the search criteria. The instant specification [0040] discloses that the directional arrow functionality may depend on where a user is accessing a tool. If “the user is at a folder level, a single click on an arrow will move the user to the next folder”. such as moving from one folder to another folder. Or “if the user is inside a folder and accessing a message, the directional arrows will move from message to message within the folder”.
The specification appears to disclose clicking on the shift key causes the navigation tool to enter a mode that ties into a search operation. The user can define a term or terms, and each click of the directional arrows will move the user to the next message that satisfies the search criteria (see instant specification [0039]). The specification further appears to disclose directional arrows will move from message to message within a folder (see instant specification [0036], [0038], [0040]) or, alternatively, move from a first folder to a second folder ([0040]). The specification does not disclose performing a single operation according to the navigation mode to search, exclusively, all of the documents in two or more folders of the plurality of folders, wherein document navigation takes place from a first document in a first folder to a second document in a second folder without input by a user, wherein the navigation tool comprises directional arrows operable, when used in combination with a modifier key, to automatically advance through messages across multiple folders according to a search term or user-defined criteria.
Applicant further alleges Claims 2 and 12 as amended remove ambiguity and particularly point out the claimed invention. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection, the metes and bounds of the claimed invention are unclear. Per the MPEP 2173, the definiteness of claim language is to ensure that the scope of the claims is clear so the public is informed of the boundaries of what constitutes infringement of the patent. During examination, a claim must be given its broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification as it would be interpreted by one of ordinary skill in the art. If the language of a claim, given its broadest reasonable interpretation, is such that a person of ordinary skill in the relevant art would read it with more than one reasonable interpretation, then a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph is appropriate (see MPEP 2173). As discussed in the rejection, Examiner determined that the language of claims 2 and 12 was indefinite and claims 2-21 stand rejected stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).
Regarding independent claim 2, the Applicant alleges that McCann and Starbuck as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach amended claim 2. Examiner has therefore rejected independent claim 2 under 35 U.S.C § 103 as unpatentable over McCann, Starbuck, and Dietz. Similar arguments have been presented for claim 12 and thus, Applicant' s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons. Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, McCann and Starbuck is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Weber (US 20060064649 A1) see Figs. 1-7 and [0038].
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).