DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
None of the recited limitations have reference numerals in the specification.
None of the figures illustrated have any reference numerals.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the manner/mechanism in which “the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support” claims 4, 9 and 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-3, 6-8 and 11-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 6 and 11 recite the limitation “a distally attached curved metal support”; keeping in mind that the ladder is part of the ladder stabilizer, what is the term “distally” referring to. In other words which element is it distal from?
Claims 2, 7 and 12 recite “the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports”; since claim 1, 6 and 11 from which claims 2, 7 and 12 depend from respectively, establishes only one high friction coefficient surface, are claims 2, 7 and 12 requiring that the one single high friction coefficient surface is affixed to both triangular supports?
Claims 3, 8 and 13 recite “rubber, silicone, or other substance”; it appears that the disclosure only has support for rubber, silicone or a layer of asphalt, hence the term “other substance” is too broad to include materials which are not disclosed/described/supported.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “A method of manufacturing a ladder stabilizer comprising …”; the claim is indefinite because while the claim is directed to a method of manufacturing, it does not recite any method step. It appears that the claim only contains limitations of the ladder stabilizer, while the claim is a method claim. Applicant is reminded that amendment to the claim cannot include new matter and that there is no method steps disclosed in the specification. The same issue re-occurs and applies to claim 11 which recites “A method of using a ladder stabilizer comprising …”.
Dependent claims are rejected at least for depending from a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson, US (2023/0023715).
In regards to claim 1 Johnson discloses:
A ladder stabilizer (assembly of fig. 1, 2) comprising of a ladder (200), a distally attached curved metal support (110, curved at 114; fig. 4), two triangular supports (134, 154; figs. 3-5,), and a high friction coefficient surface (136, 156; fig. 5).
In regards to claim 2 Johnson discloses the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports (136, 156 affixed to 134, 154 respectively as shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 3 Johnson discloses the high friction coefficient surface comprises of rubber, silicone, or other substance (136, 156 are rubber pads; paragraph [0029]).
In regards to claim 4 Johnson discloses the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support (at pivot pins 140, 160; fig. 5).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson, US (2023/0023715).
In regards to claim 6 (as best understood per lack of method steps) Johnson discloses:
A method of manufacturing a ladder stabilizer (as best understood; at least the assembling and/or manufacturing of the components of the assembly shown in figs. 1, 2, 5) comprising of a ladder (200), a distally attached curved metal support (110, curved at 114; fig. 4), two triangular supports (134, 154; figs. 3-5,), and a high friction coefficient surface (136, 156; fig. 5).
In regards to claim 7 Johnson discloses the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports (136, 156 affixed to 134, 154 respectively as shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 8 Johnson discloses the high friction coefficient surface comprises of rubber, silicone, or other substance (136, 156 are rubber pads; paragraph [0029]).
In regards to claim 9 Johnson discloses the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support (at pivot pins 140, 160; fig. 5).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Johnson, US (2023/0023715).
In regards to claim 11 (as best understood per lack of method steps) Johnson discloses:
A method of using a ladder stabilizer (as best understood; at least the placing/transporting of the assembly shown in figs. 1, 2) comprising of a ladder (200), a distally attached curved metal support (110, curved at 114; fig. 4), two triangular supports (134, 154; figs. 3-5,), and a high friction coefficient surface (136, 156; fig. 5).
In regards to claim 12 Johnson discloses the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports (136, 156 affixed to 134, 154 respectively as shown in fig. 5).
In regards to claim 13 Johnson discloses the high friction coefficient surface comprises of rubber, silicone, or other substance (136, 156 are rubber pads; paragraph [0029]).
In regards to claim 14 Johnson discloses the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support (at pivot pins 140, 160; fig. 5).
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrews, US (2023/0023715).
In regards to claim 1 Andrews discloses:
A ladder stabilizer (assembly of fig. 12) comprising of a ladder (5), a distally attached curved metal support (14; fig. 6), two triangular supports (56, 66, triangular in cross-section as shown in annotated fig. 3 below), and a high friction coefficient surface (56 and 66 being made of rubber; paragraph [0051).
In regards to claim 2 Andrews discloses the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports (supports being made of rubber; the surface would be part of the legs).
In regards to claim 3 Andrews discloses the high friction coefficient surface comprises of rubber, silicone, or other substance (rubber as described in paragraph [0051]).
In regards to claim 4 Andrews discloses the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support (pivots at pins 70 as shown in the pivoted configuration in fig. 6).
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrews, US (2023/0023715).
In regards to claim 6 (as best understood per lack of method steps) Andrews discloses:
A method of manufacturing a ladder stabilizer (as best understood; at least the assembling and/or manufacturing of the components of the assembly shown in figs. 2, 3, 6, 12) comprising of a ladder (5), a distally attached curved metal support (14; fig. 6), two triangular supports (56, 66, triangular in cross-section as shown in annotated fig. 3 below), and a high friction coefficient surface (56 and 66 being made of rubber; paragraph [0051).
In regards to claim 7 Andrews discloses the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports (supports being made of rubber; the surface would be part of the legs).
In regards to claim 8 Andrews discloses the high friction coefficient surface comprises of rubber, silicone, or other substance (rubber as described in paragraph [0051]).
In regards to claim 9 Andrews discloses the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support (pivots at pins 70 as shown in the pivoted configuration in fig. 6).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Andrews, US (2023/0023715).
In regards to claim 11 (as best understood per lack of method steps) Andrews discloses:
A method of using a ladder stabilizer (as best understood; at least the placing/transporting of the assembly shown in fig. 12) comprising of a ladder (5), a distally attached curved metal support (14; fig. 6), two triangular supports (56, 66, triangular in cross-section as shown in annotated fig. 3 below), and a high friction coefficient surface (56 and 66 being made of rubber; paragraph [0051).
In regards to claim 12 Andrews discloses the high friction coefficient surface is affixed to the triangular supports (supports being made of rubber; the surface would be part of the legs).
In regards to claim 13 Andrews discloses the high friction coefficient surface comprises of rubber, silicone, or other substance (rubber as described in paragraph [0051]).
In regards to claim 14 Andrews discloses the triangular supports are pivotally attached to the curved metal support (pivots at pins 70 as shown in the pivoted configuration in fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Johnson as applied to claims 1, 6 and 11 respectively above.
In regards to claims 5, 10 and 15 Johnson does not disclose the triangular supports are 6 to 8 inches in width. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the structure of the triangular supports to be 6 to 8 inches in width since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the supports. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the triangular supports to be 6 to 8 inches in width to provide for enough surface area contact between the supports and the surface against which the supports rests to ensure/enhance grip and overall safety and prevent/minimize chances of slippage.
Claims 5, 10 and 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews as applied to claims 1, 6 and 11 respectively above.
In regards to claims 5, 10 and 15 Andrews does not disclose the triangular supports are 6 to 8 inches in width. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to modify the structure of the triangular supports to be 6 to 8 inches in width since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of the supports. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). A person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to modify the triangular supports to be 6 to 8 inches in width to provide for enough surface area contact between the supports and the surface against which the supports rests to ensure/enhance grip and overall safety and prevent/minimize chances of slippage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please refer to PTO-892 form for list of cited references.
/S.M.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634