DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the nut plate on the inside of the mesh cage barrel (claim 2) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Line 7 reads “loch” instead of –lock--. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landzie Compost & Peatmoss Spreader (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6ig5GI1m50) hereinafter “Landzie” in view of Watral (3,219,239).
Regarding claim 1, Landzie discloses a peat moss and top dressing spreader comprising:
A mesh cage barrel for holding peat moss and other top dressing materials
A mesh gate having a j-hook latch welded onto the mesh gate (Landzie – 2:36/6:54)
A plurality of latching clasps (Landzie – 2:36/6:54) mounted to the mesh cage with each latching clasp comprising:
A mounting base
A push tab
A latching clasp arm that provides downward force on the j-hook latch to lock the mesh gate in place through surface tension against the j-hook latch
A handle (2:04-2:07/6:54) attached to the mesh cage barrel, the handle configured to allow a user to push or pull the spreader across a surface
A u-joint connecting the handle to the mesh cage barrel through a pair of pins and a washer (Landzie - 2:07/6:54)
While Landzie discloses the invention as described above, it fails to disclose that the latching clasps are side latching clasps. Like Landzie, Watral also discloses a rolling spreader with a perforated drum for distributing top dressing materials to the ground and a gate member with latches for adding material to the drum. Unlike Landzie, Watral discloses that j-hooks can be welded to the gate (column 3 line 10) with the latching members mounted to the side panels. Watral discloses a desire to reduce large protrusions on the barrel to allow for smooth rolling operation of the drum(column 3 lines 10-12). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to place the latching members of Landzie on the sides as taught by Watral as the use of a known technique to improve similar devices in the same way (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination disclose that the side latching clasps reduces the amount of contact to the ground when the peat moss and top dressing spreader is mobile dispersing sediment.
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Landzie Compost & Peatmoss Spreader (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=n6ig5GI1m50) hereinafter “Landzie” in view of Watral (3,219,239) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Kost (2,258,555).
Regarding claim 2, the combination discloses that the latching clasps are mounted using two machine screws (Landzie 2:36/6:54). The combination fails to specifically disclose a nut plate. Like the combination, Kost discloses fastening sheet metal elements together with machine screws. Unlike the combination, Kost disclose the use of a nut plate to ensure threading engagement with thin metal parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize a nut plate in the combination of Landzie and Watral as taught by Kost to ensure a secure attachment of the clasp with the drum as it would be combining prior art elements according to known methods to obtain predictable results (KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007)).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-3 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMIE L MCGOWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671