DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending in the application.
In Applicant’s most recent response filed 28 November 2025, claims 2, 8, 10, and 16 were amended. These amendments have been entered.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 28 November 2025. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Salice (US Patent 6,257,796).
Re Claim 1: Salice discloses a connection system for connecting two furniture parts (first part 124 and the second part connected to tenon 14; not shown) at right angles, said connection system comprising:
a bracket (casing 1, comprising casing parts 2 and 3), comprising:
an exterior part (the top surfaces of parts 2 and 3; see annotated Fig. 1A below),
an insertable part (front face 126), said insertable part connected to said exterior part at a right angle,
a threaded hole section (20) in said insertable part,
a screw (4) extending through said threaded hole section (20) and connecting said two furniture parts at right angles as said screw is tightened.
Re Claim 2: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein one (124) of said two furniture parts is a bracket receiving part comprising a bracket receiving section (the hole receiving casing 1; see Figs. 1A-1C) and the other (the second part connected to tenon 14; not shown) of said furniture parts is a connectable part to be to connected said bracket receiving part.
Re Claim 3: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein said bracket receiving section comprises a screw access section (the opening in the front side 125 through which extension 20 extends) and an insertable part receiving section (the larger hole in the body of first part 124 that receives the main bodies of parts 2 and 3).
Re Claim 4: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein said exterior part (the top surfaces of parts 2 and 3; see annotated Fig. 1A above) lies flush against said bracket receiving part and provides one wall of a screw access channel.
Re Claim 5: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein said insertable part (126) is inserted into said insertable part receiving section.
Re Claim 6: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein said threaded hole section (20) is a threaded tube (comprising threaded section 23; see Fig. 3) extending downward from said insertable part (126).
Re Claim 7: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein said insertable part receiving section provides finger access (at least via central hole 21) for bracket insertion and removal.
Re Claim 8: Salice discloses a connection system, wherein said screw (14) extends through said connectable part into said bracket to connect said connectable part to said bracket receiving part at a right angle.
Re Claim 9: Salice discloses a method for connecting two furniture parts (first part 124 and the second part connected to tenon 14; not shown) at right angles, said method comprising the steps of:
acquiring a bracket (casing 1, comprising casing parts 2 and 3), said bracket comprising:
an exterior part (the top surfaces of parts 2 and 3; see annotated Fig. 1A below),
an insertable part (front face 126), said insertable part connected to said exterior part at a right angle,
a threaded hole section (20) in said insertable part,
extending a screw (4) extending through said threaded hole section (20) and
connecting said two furniture parts at right angles as said screw is tightened.
Re Claim 10: Salice discloses a method, wherein one (124) of said two furniture parts is a bracket receiving part comprising a bracket receiving section (the hole receiving casing 1; see Figs. 1A-1C) and the other (the second part connected to tenon 14; not shown) of said furniture parts is a connectable part to be to connected said bracket receiving part.
Re Claim 11: Salice discloses a method, wherein said bracket receiving section comprises a screw access section (the opening in the front side 125 through which extension 20 extends) and an insertable part receiving section (the larger hole in the body of first part 124 that receives the main bodies of parts 2 and 3).
Re Claim 12: Salice discloses a method, wherein said exterior part (the top surfaces of parts 2 and 3; see annotated Fig. 1A above) lies flush against said bracket receiving part and provides one wall of a screw access channel.
Re Claim 13: Salice discloses a method, wherein said insertable part (126) is inserted into said insertable part receiving section.
Re Claim 14: Salice discloses a method, wherein said threaded hole section (20) is a threaded tube (comprising threaded section 23; see Fig. 3) extending downward from said insertable part (126).
Re Claim 15: Salice discloses a method, wherein said insertable part receiving section provides finger access (at least via central hole 21) for bracket insertion and removal.
Re Claim 16: Salice discloses a method, wherein said screw (14) extends through said connectable part into said bracket to connect said connectable part to said bracket receiving part at a right angle.
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Albern (US Patent 6,257,796).
Re Claim 1: Albern discloses a connection system (see the embodiment of Figs. 2-3 and 6-7) for connecting two furniture parts (30, 31) at right angles, said connection system comprising:
a bracket (see Fig. 2), comprising:
an exterior part (13),
an insertable part (insert member 1; see Fig. 1), said insertable part (1) connected to said exterior part (13) at a right angle,
a threaded hole section (5; Fig. 1) in said insertable part,
a screw (22; Fig. 4) extending through said threaded hole section (5) and connecting said two furniture parts at right angles as said screw is tightened.
Re Claim 2: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein one (30) of said two furniture parts is a bracket receiving part comprising a bracket receiving section (at the “receiving section” shown in annotated Fig. 6 above) and the other (31) of said furniture parts is a connectable part to be to connected said bracket receiving part.
Re Claim 3: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein said bracket receiving section comprises a screw access section (see annotated Fig. 6 above) and an insertable part receiving section (see the “receiving section” in annotated Fig. 6 above).
Re Claim 4: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein said exterior part (13) lies flush against (see Figs. 6 and 7) said bracket receiving part (30) and provides one wall of a screw access channel.
Re Claim 5: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein said insertable part (1) is inserted into said insertable part receiving section (see Fig. 6).
Re Claim 6: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein said threaded hole section (5) is a threaded tube (see Figs. 1 and 2) extending downward from said insertable part (1, specifically at web 8).
Re Claim 7: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein said insertable part receiving section (see “receiving section” in annotated Fig. 6 above) provides finger access (for example, at least from the bottom if cover cap 17 is removed) for bracket insertion and removal.
Re Claim 8: Albern discloses a connection system, wherein said screw (22) extends through said connectable part (31) into said bracket to connect said connectable part to said bracket receiving part (30) at a right angle (see Fig. 6).
Re Claim 9: Albern discloses a method (see the embodiment of Figs. 2-3 and 6-7) for connecting two furniture parts (30, 31) at right angles, said method comprising the steps of:
acquiring a bracket (see Fig. 2), said bracket comprising:
an exterior part (13),
an insertable part (insert member 1; see Fig. 1), said insertable part (1) connected to said exterior part (13) at a right angle,
a threaded hole section (5; Fig. 1) in said insertable part,
extending a screw (22; Fig. 4) through said threaded hole section (5),
connecting said two furniture parts (30, 31) at right angles (see Fig. 6) as said screw (22) is tightened.
Re Claim 10: Albern discloses a method, wherein one (30) of said two furniture parts is a bracket receiving part comprising a bracket receiving section (at the “receiving section” shown in annotated Fig. 6 above) and the other (31) of said furniture parts is a connectable part to be to connected said bracket receiving part.
Re Claim 11: Albern discloses a method, wherein said bracket receiving section comprises a screw access section (see annotated Fig. 6 above) and an insertable part receiving section (see the “receiving section” in annotated Fig. 6 above).
Re Claim 12: Albern discloses a method, wherein said exterior part (13) lies flush against (see Figs. 6 and 7) said bracket receiving part (30) and provides one wall of a screw access channel.
Re Claim 13: Albern discloses a method, wherein said insertable part (1) is inserted into said insertable part receiving section (see Fig. 6).
Re Claim 14: Albern discloses a method, wherein said threaded hole section (5) is a threaded tube (see Figs. 1 and 2) extending downward from said insertable part (1, specifically at web 8).
Re Claim 15: Albern discloses a method, wherein said insertable part receiving section (see “receiving section” in annotated Fig. 6 above) provides finger access (for example, at least from the bottom if cover cap 17 is removed) for bracket insertion and removal.
Re Claim 16: Albern discloses a method, wherein said screw (22) extends through said connectable part (31) into said bracket to connect said connectable part to said bracket receiving part (30) at a right angle (see Fig. 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 28 November 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant's arguments do not comply with 37 CFR 1.111(c) because they do not clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. Further, they do not show how the amendments avoid such references or objections.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678