DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This office action is in response to the application filed 5/17/2023, wherein claims 1-13 are pending.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d).
The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a pair of socks extending from toes to the ankle and the ankle to the knee, also having a top portion from the ankle to the knee must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
If the drawings are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
The examiner is interpreting “mainly” in the claims to mean “majority”.
The examiner in interpreting “mainly polyester or nylon” to mean “mainly polyester or mainly nylon”.
Claim Objections
Claims 2-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claims 2-13, the applicant does not need to restate the entirety of claim 1 in all dependent claims. The applicant could amend the claims to recite “ The pair of socks according to claim 1,…”
Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “the toes”, “the ankle” and “the knee” are lacking antecedent basis. Additionally, it is not clear if these are referring to parts of the wearer (which would result in a 101 issue) or parts of the sock. These terms also appear in claims 2-13. For the purpose of the prior art rejection, the examiner is interpreting these terms as referring to parts of the sock.
Regarding claims 2-13, “the foot” is lacking antecedent basis. It is not clear if this is referring to part of the wearer (which would result in a 101 issue) or part of the sock. For the purpose of the prior art rejection, the examiner is interpreting “the foot” as referring to part of the sock. Additionally, it is not clear if “from the toes to the ankle” in claim 1 is referring to the same area as “from the foot to the ankle” in claims 2-13.
Regarding claims 2-13, “the top portion” is lacking antecedent basis. It is unclear if the top portion is referring to a top part of the part extending from the ankle to the knee or is just another term for the part extending from the ankle to the knee. If “the top portion” is another term for the part extending from the ankle to the knee, it would be helpful to incorporate this term into claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Serrano-Wu (U.S. 20160150830).
Regarding claim 1, Serrano-Wu teaches a pair of socks (para. 5, claim 1) designed for use while playing soccer (para. 5) which comprises mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) and then the socks comprise of mainly polyester or nylon from the ankle to the knee (para. 13, 2 can be made of nylon).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto Rodrigues (U.S. 20150327606) in view of Serrano-Wu (U.S. 20160150830) in view of Araki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7614257) and further in view of Amarasiriwardena (U.S. 20140311187).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Araki teaches a sock having a cotton/ polyester blend of 60% cotton and 40% polyester with a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties (col. 5, lines 59-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Araki in order to provide comfort, protection, a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties to the wearer’s foot.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Amarasiriwardena further teaches providing a sock with 80% polyester and 20% cotton to remove moisture from the wearer (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference such that the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton, the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Amarasiriwardena in order to provide desired moisture removing properties from the ankle to the knee. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (varying the ratio of cotton to polyester would impact the moisture removing properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)).
Claim(s) 1,3, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto Rodrigues (U.S. 20150327606) in view of Serrano-Wu (U.S. 20160150830) in view of Araki et al. (U.S. Patent No. 7614257) and further in view of Gat et. Al. (U.S. 20140162048).
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle, and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle, and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Araki teaches a sock having a cotton/ polyester blend of 60% cotton and 40% polyester with a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties (col. 5, lines 59-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Araki in order to provide comfort, protection, a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties to the wearer’s foot.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Gat teaches Dri Release® fabric being formed of 85 to 90 percent polyester and the remainder being cotton to pull moisture and perspiration away from the skin and push it out of the fabric for improved evaporation (para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Gat because it would enable pulling moisture and perspiration away from the skin and pushing it out of the fabric for improved evaporation and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (polyester being hydrophobic and cotton being hydrophilic)(MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 1 and 4, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Araki teaches a sock having a cotton/ polyester blend of 60% cotton and 40% polyester with a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties (col. 5, lines 59-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Araki in order to provide comfort, protection, a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties to the wearer’s foot.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Gat teaches Dri Release® fabric being formed of 85 to 90 percent polyester and the remainder being cotton to pull moisture and perspiration away from the skin and push it out of the fabric for improved evaporation (para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Gat because it would enable pulling moisture and perspiration away from the skin and pushing it out of the fabric for improved evaporation and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (polyester being hydrophobic and cotton being hydrophilic)(MPEP 2144.07).
Claim(s) 1,5,6,9,10,13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto Rodrigues (U.S. 20150327606) in view of Serrano-Wu (U.S. 20160150830) in view of Amarasiriwardena (U.S. 20140311187).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Araki teaches a sock having a cotton/ polyester blend of 60% cotton and 40% polyester with a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties (col. 5, lines 59-61).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 60% cotton and 40% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Araki in order to provide comfort, protection, a high degree of water absorbability and rapid drying properties to the wearer’s foot.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Amarasiriwardena further teaches providing a sock with various ratios of polyester and cotton to remove moisture from the wearer (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference such that the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton, the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Amarasiriwardena in order to provide desired moisture removing properties from the ankle to the knee and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (varying the ratio of cotton to polyester would impact the moisture removing properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 70% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 30% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Amarasiriwardena further teaches providing a sock with 80% polyester and 20% cotton to remove moisture from the wearer (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference such that the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton, the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Amarasiriwardena in order to provide desired moisture removing properties from the ankle to the knee. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (varying the ratio of cotton to polyester would impact the moisture removing properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)).
Regarding claims 1 and 9, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 70% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 30% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Amarasiriwardena further teaches providing a sock with various ratios of polyester and cotton to remove moisture from the wearer (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference such that the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton, the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Amarasiriwardena in order to provide desired moisture removing properties from the ankle to the knee and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (varying the ratio of cotton to polyester would impact the moisture removing properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Regarding claims 1 and 10, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 80% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 20% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Amarasiriwardena further teaches providing a sock with 80% polyester and 20% cotton to remove moisture from the wearer (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference such that the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton, the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 80% polyester and 20% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Amarasiriwardena in order to provide desired moisture removing properties from the ankle to the knee. Additionally, it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (varying the ratio of cotton to polyester would impact the moisture removing properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)).
Regarding claims 1 and 13, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 80% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 20% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Amarasiriwardena further teaches providing a sock with various ratios of polyester and cotton to remove moisture from the wearer (para. 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference such that the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton, the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 95% polyester and 5% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Amarasiriwardena in order to provide desired moisture removing properties from the ankle to the knee and it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (varying the ratio of cotton to polyester would impact the moisture removing properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)).
Claim(s) 1,7,8,11 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pinto Rodrigues (U.S. 20150327606) in view of Serrano-Wu (U.S. 20160150830) in view of Amarasiriwardena (U.S. 20140311187) and further in view of Gat et. al. (U.S. 20140162048).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 70% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 30% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Gat teaches Dri Release® fabric being formed of 85 to 90 percent polyester and the remainder being cotton to pull moisture and perspiration away from the skin and push it out of the fabric for improved evaporation (para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Gat because it would enable pulling moisture and perspiration away from the skin and pushing it out of the fabric for improved evaporation and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (polyester being hydrophobic and cotton being hydrophilic)(MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 70% cotton and 30% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 70% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 30% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Gat teaches Dri Release® fabric being formed of 85 to 90 percent polyester and the remainder being cotton to pull moisture and perspiration away from the skin and push it out of the fabric for improved evaporation (para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Gat because it would enable pulling moisture and perspiration away from the skin and pushing it out of the fabric for improved evaporation and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (polyester being hydrophobic and cotton being hydrophilic)(MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 80% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 20% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Gat teaches Dri Release® fabric being formed of 85 to 90 percent polyester and the remainder being cotton to pull moisture and perspiration away from the skin and push it out of the fabric for improved evaporation (para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Araki combined reference such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Gat because it would enable pulling moisture and perspiration away from the skin and pushing it out of the fabric for improved evaporation and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (polyester being hydrophobic and cotton being hydrophilic)(MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Pinto Rodrigues teaches a sock (abstract) designed for use while playing soccer (can be used while playing soccer, this limitation is considered to recite intended use of the claimed invention) wherein the top portion of the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of Dri Release®—mixture of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material and the foot portion (3) can be formed of cotton or polyester (para. 29, claim 9), but doesn’t specifically teach the sock is part of a pair of socks, each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the sock of Pinto Rodrigues part of a pair of socks in order to cover both feet of a wearer.
The modified Pinto Rodrigues reference fails to teach each sock has a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle , and the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Serrano-Wu teaches a sock having a cotton/polyester blend (para. 13, 1 can be made of cotton) from the toes until the ankle (fig. 1) to provide comfort and protection (para. 13).
Amarasiriwardena teaches a sock having about a 75/25 ratio of hydrophilic (cotton is hydrophilic) fibers to hydrophobic fibers (polyester is hydrophobic)(para. 9) and also teaches various ratios of cotton and polyester may be used to wick moisture away from the wearer (para. 30) (see also claims 15-17).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the modified Pinto Rodrigues reference so as to have a fabric blend which is 80% cotton and 20% polyester from the foot/toes to the ankle such that each sock is mainly of cotton from the toes until the ankle in view of Serrano-Wu and Amarasiriwardena since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable (optimizing moisture wicking properties) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(B)). Additionally, 80% cotton would provide a high level of breathability while 20% polyester would add durability. The examiner also notes that the specification doesn’t provide criticality for each particular ratio.
Pinto Rodrigues teaches the sock from the ankle to the knee (legging 1) can be formed of 85-90% hydrophobic material/synthetic and 10-15% natural/hydrophilic material but the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference fails to teach the hydrophobic material is polyester and the hydrophilic material is cotton such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 85% polyester and 15% cotton and the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee.
Gat teaches Dri Release® fabric being formed of 85 to 90 percent polyester and the remainder being cotton to pull moisture and perspiration away from the skin and push it out of the fabric for improved evaporation (para. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed each sock of the Pinto Rodrigues/ Serrano-Wu/ Amarasiriwardena combined reference such that the top portion of each sock from the ankle to the knee is 90% polyester and 10% cotton such that the socks comprise of mainly polyester from the ankle to the knee in view of Gat because it would enable pulling moisture and perspiration away from the skin and pushing it out of the fabric for improved evaporation and it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (polyester being hydrophobic and cotton being hydrophilic)(MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
/ABBY M SPATZ/ Examiner, Art Unit 3732
/NATHAN E DURHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732