Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosures statement (IDS) submitted 05/17/2023 was received and has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the reinforcing member assembly is elongated along a transverse direction of the vehicle in which the battery pack is mounted as limited by claim 15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently, only elongation of the reinforcing member in a longitudinal direction of a vehicle can be implied using Figs. 1 and 2. No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Battery Pack For A Vehicle Reinforcing Member Comprising Connection Groove.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “close contact” in claims 13 and 19 is a relative term which renders the claims indefinite. The term “close contact” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The positioning of the bank portions relative to the member cover are rendered indefinite by the use of the term. For purpose of examination, so long as the bank portions are contacting the inside corners of the member cover, it will read on the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (U.S. 20230102065).
With respect to claim 1, Han discloses a battery pack (1000) for a vehicle (Fig. 1; [0003]), comprising:
a base member (1130 – partition wall) forming a skeleton (Fig. 8);
at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403 – second and third connecting member) mounted on the base member (1130) (Fig. 8);
a connection groove (1131 – void) formed by being depressed in the base member (1130) (Fig. 8);
a wire (1401 – first connecting member) inserted into the connection groove (1131) (Fig. 8) and ;
a reinforcing member assembly (1130 and 1140 – partition walls) configured to include the base member (1130), the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403), and the connection groove (1131), the wire (1401) (Fig. 8).
The above cited embodiment of Han (Fig. 8) does not include a member cover coupled to the base member and blocking the at least one bus bar and the connection groove from an outside. However, an alternative embodiment of Han teaches the inclusion of a member cover (1130U – upper frame) coupled to the base member (1130L – lower frame) and blocking the connection groove (131) from an outside (Fig. 4). In this embodiment, it is not shown that the member cover (1130) also covers the busbars (1402 and 1403) depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 8. However, Han details that the Fig. 4 embodiment illustrates an assembly method of the base member (1130) ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to use the assembly method detailed in Fig. 4 of Han to the base member disclosed in Fig. 8 of Han in order to form the base member.
With respect to claim 2, Han discloses the connection groove (1131) is formed in an lower portion of a cross-section of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8), which is perpendicular to a length direction of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8),
wherein the connection groove (1131) extends along the length direction of the base member (1130) (Figs. 2 and 8).
Han does not disclose the connection groove is formed in an upper portion of the base member, instead disclosing the connection groove is formed in a lower portion of the base member. However, applicant is reminded that shifting the position of a part is unpatentable as long as the shift does not modify the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). In this instance, the connection groove housing the wire being at a lower portion or upper portion of the base member does not modify the grooves ability to house the wire and provide an extension space within the battery pack, therefore its relative location is unpatentable.
With respect to claim 3, Han discloses the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) is mounted on at least one of sides of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 4, Han discloses a bus bar mounting groove (1133 – recess), into which the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) is inserted, is formed along the length direction of the base member (1130) (Fig. 2 and 8).
With respect to claim 5, Han discloses with the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) inserted into the bus bar mounting groove (1131) (Fig. 8), when a surface of the base member (1130) and a surface of the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) are aligned and the member cover (1130U) is coupled to the base member (1130L), an inner surface of the member cover (1130U) is configured to come into planar contact with a surface of the base member (1130L) and the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) (Fig. 4 and 8).
Although this is not depicted in a single embodiment, the combination of the embodiments shown in Fig. 4 and Fig. 8 as presented in the above rejection of claim 1 would arrive at the limitations of claim 5. This is made obvious by the exposed sides of the busbars (1402 and 1403) shown in Fig. 8 which align with the lateral sides of the base member (1130). Therefore, when the cover member (1130U) is introduced in Fig. 8, it would connect with the base member (1130L) as depicted in Fig. 4, and the exposed sides of the bus bars (1402 and 1403) as depicted in Fig. 8.
With respect to claim 6, Han discloses the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) includes a plurality of the bus bars (1402 and 1403) symmetrically mounted on sides of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 7, Han discloses the bus bar mounting groove (1133) of the base member (1130) is disposed higher than the connection groove (1131) so as to be vertically spaced away from the connection groove (1131) (Fig. 8).
While Han discloses the mounting groove (1133) and connection groove (1131) are vertically spaced apart, Han discloses the mounting groove (1133) is disposed above the connection groove (1131), not below as claimed. However, applicant is reminded that shifting the position of a part is unpatentable as long as the shift does not modify the operation of the device (In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950)). In this instance, the connection groove housing the wire being lower than the mounting groove for the bus bars does not modify either grooves ability to house the bus bars or wires in the extension direction of the grooves, therefore their relative location is unpatentable.
With respect to claim 8, Han discloses the cross-section perpendicular to the length direction of the base member (1130) is formed by a square cross-section (Fig. 2 and 8).
With respect to claim 9, Han discloses the member cover (1130U) has a cross-sectional structure surrounding an upper side the square cross-section of the base member (1130L) (Fig. 4).
While Han does not disclose that the member cover (1130U) covers the sides of the base member (1130L), however applicant is reminded that the claimed configuration of a part is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed part was significant (In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)). In this instance, extending the sides of the member cover (1130U) to contact the sides of the base member (1130L) offers no significance, as the cover member (1130U) can still be connected to the base member (1130L) via welding or mechanical fastening means as disclosed by Han ([0053]).
With respect to claim 10, Han discloses the wire (1401) inserted into the connection groove (1131) is a wire for communication (connects electrical component 1301 to another electrical component (1303) (Fig. 2. [0041]).
With respect to claim 11, Han discloses a cross-section of the base member (1130) perpendicular to a length direction of the base member (1130) is formed by a square cross-section (Fig. 2 and 8),
wherein the member cover (1130U) is formed in a shape surrounding both sides and an upper side of the square cross-section of the base member (1130L) (see above rejection of claim 9), wherein the at least one bus bar (1402 and 1403) is inserted and mounted in at least one bus bar mounting groove (1133) formed on surfaces of the square cross-section of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 12, Han discloses the at least one bus bar mounting groove (1133) includes a plurality of bus bar mounting grooves (1133 right and 1133 left) vertically disposed on surfaces of the square cross- section of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8).
With respect to claim 13, Han discloses the connection groove (1131) is formed in a central portion of an upper side of the square cross-section of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8; see above rejection of claim 2 to read on “upper” location of connection groove 1131), and
bank portions (labeled) of sides of the connection groove (1131) are in close contact with an inside of corners of the member cover (1130U) (Fig. 4 and 8 - below).
Although no one embodiment shows the bank portions of the connection groove being in close contact with the inside corners of the member cover, once the embodiments of Fig. 4 and Fig. 8 are combined, as referenced in the above rejection of claim 1, and the connection groove is disposed above the bus bar mounting grooves in an upper portion of the base member, as referenced in the above rejection of claims 2 and 7, the bank portions (labeled) would necessarily be in close contact with the inside corners of the member cover.
With respect to claims 14 and 15, Han discloses the reinforcing member assembly (1130 and 1140) is elongated in a longitudinal/transverse direction of a vehicle in which the battery pack (1000) is mounted (Fig. 1; [0044]). Han discloses that the connecting member (1400) can be housed in either the portion of the reinforcement assembly (1130 and 1140) (Fig. 1). Therefore, regardless of the mounting orientation of the battery pack (1000) in a vehicle, the reinforcing assembly (1130 and 1140) would extend in both (longitudinal and transverse) directions.
With respect to claim 16, a reinforcing member assembly (1130 and 1140) for a battery case (1100 – pack housing) of a vehicle (Fig. 1; [0003]), comprising:
a base member (1130 – partition wall) forming a skeleton (Fig. 8);
a bus bar mounting groove (1133) formed by being depressed on a surface of the base member (130) to mount a bus bar (1402 and 1403) (Fig. 8)
a connection groove (1131 – void) formed by being depressed in the base member (1130) (Fig. 8);
The above cited embodiment of Han (Fig. 8) does not include a member cover coupled to the base member and blocking the bus bar mounting groove and the connection groove from an outside. However, an alternative embodiment of Han teaches the inclusion of a member cover (1130U – upper frame) coupled to the base member (1130L – lower frame) and blocking the connection groove (131) from an outside (Fig. 4). In this embodiment, it is not shown that the member cover (1130) also covers the busbars (1402 and 1403) depicted in the embodiment of Fig. 8. However, Han details that the Fig. 4 embodiment illustrates an assembly method of the base member (1130) ([0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time that the application was effectively filed to use the assembly method detailed in Fig. 4 of Han to the base member disclosed in Fig. 8 of Han in order to form the base member.
With respect to claim 17, Han discloses the base member (1130) has a square cross-section perpendicular to a length direction of the base member (1130) (Fig. 2 and 8),
wherein the member cover (1130U) is formed in a shape surrounding sides and an upper side of the square cross-section of the base member (1130L) (see above rejection of claim 9),
wherein the bus bar mounting groove (1133) is formed on surfaces of the square cross-section of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8),
wherein the connection groove (1131) is formed on an upper surface of the square cross-section of the base member (1130) (see above rejection of claim 2).
With respect to claim 18, Han discloses the bus bar mounting groove (1133) of the base member (1130) is disposed lower than the connection groove (1131) so as to be vertically spaced away from the connection groove (1131) (see above rejection of claim 7).
With respect to claim 19, Han discloses the connection groove (1131) is formed in a central portion of an upper side of the square cross-section of the base member (1130) (Fig. 8), and bank portions (labeled) of both sides of the connection groove (1131) are in close contact with an inside of both corners of the member cover (1130U) (Fig. 4 and 8; see above rejection of claim 13).
With respect to claim 20, Han discloses with the bus bar mounting groove (1133) inserted into the bus bar (1402 and 1403), when a surface of the base member (1130) and a surface of the bus bar (1402 and 1403) are aligned and the member cover (1130U) is coupled to the base member (1130L) (Fig. 4 and 8), an inner surface of the member cover (1130U) is formed to have a depth so as to be in planar contact with surfaces of the base member (1130L) and the bus bar (1402 and 1403) (Fig. 4 and 8; see rejection of claim 5).
Conclusion
/J.E.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727