Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 23 March 2026 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s timely election without traverse of Group II, claims 19-20, in the reply filed on 21 April 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-18 are withdrawn from consideration from further consideration pursuant to 37
CFR 1.142(b), as being withdrawn to a non-elected invention, and non-elected species of the invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 19-20 are under examination and the requirement for restriction is made final.
Claim Objections
Claims 19-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 19-20, line 1, “proving” should read “providing”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Motta (US 20200157398 A1).
The applied reference has a common assignee and inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
With regard to claim 19, Motta teaches a method for heating or cooling a body, specifically air conditioning systems comprising:
a. an evaporator, a condenser, a compressor, and a refrigerant, said refrigerant comprising A1 through A8, specifically A4 (Table 1, paras. [0105] and [0210]):
b. 78.6 wt.% of R1234ze(E);
ii. 4.4 wt.% of R277ea; and
iii. 17 wt.% of R1336mzz(E)
b. evaporating said refrigerant in said evaporator (para. [0211])
c. condensing said refrigerant at a temperature ranging of 45° C. to 75º C (para. [0211], which overlaps claimed range),
These teachings disclose the claimed system components, refrigerant mixture, and overlap with the claimed temperature ranges.
Motta does not teach the claimed method to the degree of specificity as to be anticipatory.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the refrigerant mixture of Table 1 in Motta to provide cooling in an extreme temperature air conditioning system. Motto would guide one having ordinary skill in the art to evaporate the mixture and condense it at the claimed range to achieve the desired thermal-to-mechanical energy conversion (para [0163]). Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
With regard to claim 20, Motta teaches a method for heating or cooling a body, specifically heat pump system comprising:
a. an evaporator, a condenser, a compressor, and a refrigerant, said refrigerant comprising A1 through A8, specifically A4 (Table 1, paras. [0105] and [0200]):
b. 78.6 wt.% of R1234ze(E);
ii. 4.4 wt.% of R277ea; and
iii. 17 wt.% of R1336mzz(E)
b. evaporator and compressor conditions of said refrigerant (para. [0202])
c. condensing said refrigerant at a temperature of 55º C (para. [0201], which falls within the claimed range)
These teachings disclose the claimed system components, refrigerant mixture, and overlap with the claimed temperature range.
Motta does not teach the claimed method to the degree of specificity as to be anticipatory.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to use the refrigerant mixture of Table 1 in Motta to provide cooling in an extreme temperature heat pump system. Motto would guide one having ordinary skill in the art to evaporate the mixture and condense it at the claimed range to achieve the desired thermal-to-mechanical energy conversion (para [0163]). Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Conclusion
/A.A.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761