DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue that Fu does not disclose substantial open separation lateral channels and no substantial thermally conductive material is brought into significant contact with the “flow-occlusive frozen objects”.
The Office disagrees. Fu clearly discloses parallel bars what form open and unimpeded channels within the wire mesh interlayer. Applicants also removed the limitation of the plates being made of thermally conductive material, therefore, the argument of “no substantial thermally conductive material” is moot, and the claim does not qualify what “significant contact” even means.
The Office appreciates that visually Applicant’s channels appear to be different from from Fu, however, the limitation “open, unimpeded, lateral channel” is broad. Applicant’s channels are essentially the gaps between a plurality of parallel bars. Fu has a plurality of bars next to each other and therefore, the gaps between can also be classified as an open and unimpeded channel.
Applicants argue that Wang’s channel provide vertical flow not lateral flow established by the claimed corrugated embodiment and does not provide increased lateral flow or thermal conduction.
The Office agrees that Wang is relied upon to provide the same functional features as applicant’s corrugated structure. Wang does not disclose increasing lateral flow. Wang discloses that their corrugated channels improve air flow for air frying (page 2, Wang) and the convex portions of the corrugated surfaces touching the object improves heating (page, Wang). And since Fu is a basket for air frying, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use Wang’s teaching and use a similar corrugated shape for Fu’s basket.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claims 1-3, 9, and 22 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “generally solid” in claims 3 and 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “generally planar” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “generally” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
The term “high thermal conductivity” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “high” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claim 22 recites “connect to the next by back-curved portions.” The back-curved portions lack antecedent basis.
Claims 22-23 describes “a single bar bent in a serpentine manner to form multiple parallel linear portions each integrally connected to the next by back-curved portions.” The specification does not use the term “serpentine” or “back-curved.” Usually, “serpentine” is describing a structure with multiple curves. The closest object that could be read as “bent in a serpentine manner” is the plurality of parallel bars that have angled bends 30 at the end of the bars as seen in Fig. 4. However, the claim states that the plurality of bars comprises a single bar. So it is unclear what the single bar is and what is the back-curved portion that connects the multiple parallel linear portions. Also unclear how a single bar forms multiple parallel linear portions. The limitations in claims 22-23 will be interpreted as directed to the angled bend at the end of each parallel bar which are connected by two cross bars at the end, where the “single bar” is referring to each spaced bar, in the plurality of spaced bars, that is bent to form parallel bends that are connected by the cross bar.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-9, 14-15 and 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fu (CN 210019028 U).
Claim 1. Fu discloses a basket system (basket 1, Fig. 1) for facilitating the defrosting of multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects being immersed into (frying food, abstract), moved within, and removed from a volume of defrosting fluid (hot air, where hot air is capable of defrosting and air is fluid, abstract), the basket system comprising;
a basket container having an open top (open top, Fig. 1) and a permeable floor (bottom floor of is permeable, Fig. 1); and
a plurality of separation plates (basket interlayer 11, Fig. 4) sized and shaped to be removably positioned in layers within the basket container above, below, and between layers of the multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects (interlayers can be removable, Fig. 2), each of the separation plates comprising an array of substantially parallel structural members (112, Fig. 4) that define open, unimpeded, laterally oriented channels through which defrosting fluid may flow (structure allows for air flow, Fig. 4);
wherein multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects to be defrosted are layered between the plurality of separation plates (food are layered between the interlayers, Fig. 1, abstract), which together are layered within the basket container, thereby providing open, unimpeded, laterally oriented channels (there are channels between the bars 112, Fig. 4) that permit the free flow of defrosting fluid between the layered separation plates and flow-occlusive frozen objects (hot air has free flow to pass through the baskets, par. 8).
Claim 2. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 1 wherein the array of substantially parallel structural members comprises a plurality of spaced bars (112, Fig. 1) defining a plurality of open, unimpeded, laterally oriented channels between the spaced bars (channels between the bars 112, Fig. 4).
Claim 4. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 1 wherein the basket container further comprises permeable side walls (Fig. 1).
Claim 5. Fu disclose the basket system of Claim 1 further comprising a removable cover plate sized to serve as a lid for the basket container (interlayer 11 can functionally act as a cover plate as long as the user does not place another food item on top of it and the layer can be removed, Fig. 2),
wherein the removable cover plate serves to limit movement of the plurality of separation plates and multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects within the basket container during use (interlayer 11 is capable of limiting food movement).
Claim 6. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 5 wherein the cover plate is perforated to allow a flow of liquids therethrough (interlayer 11 is permeable, Fig. 3; broadest reasonable interpretation of perforation includes holes and apertures).
Claim 7. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 5 wherein the perforated cover plate comprises one or more perimeter tabs and at least one vertical wall of the basket container defines a vertically oriented linear array of apertures into which the one or more perimeter tabs of the perforated cover plate may engage so as to fix the perforated cover plate at a variable height within the basket container (interlayer’s clip 110 can be fixed into a plurality of apertures 1012 to set the height, Fig. 3).
Claim 8. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 5 wherein the removable cover plate further comprises at least one handle to facilitate the placement of the cover plate onto or into the basket container (interlayer 11 has a clip 110 that can be used as a handle, Fig. 4), as well as the removal therefrom.
Claim 9. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 2 wherein the plurality of spaced bars is fixed in spaced arrangement by at least one cross-member integral (mesh have cross members 111, Fig. 4) with or attached to each of the spaced bars.
Claim 14. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 1 further comprising a perimeter collar fixed on a perimeter edge of the open top of the basket container, the perimeter collar structured to engage a means for holding the basket system while it is immersed into, moved within, and removed from the volume of defrosting fluid (metal collar at the top of the basket is structured to hold the basket system, Fig. 3).
Claim 15. Fu discloses a basket system (basket 1) for facilitating the defrosting of multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects (frying food, abstract) being immersed into, moved within, and removed from a volume of defrosting fluid (hot air, where hot air is capable of defrosting and air is fluid, abstract), the basket system comprising;
a basket container having an open top (open top, Fig. 1), vertical side walls (side walls, Fig. 1), and a permeable floor (bottom floor, Fig. 1); and
a plurality of separation plates sized and shaped to be removably positioned in layers within the basket container (basket interlayer 11, Fig. 4), each of the separation plates comprising a plurality of spaced parallel bars defining a plurality of open, unimpeded, laterally oriented flow channels between the parallel bars (112, Fig. 4), each of the separation plates further comprising at least one cross-member integral with or attached to each of the spaced bars so as to fix the spaced bars in their parallel spaced arrangement (barrier frame 111, Fig. 4);
wherein multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects to be defrosted are layered between the plurality of separation plates (food are layered between the interlayers, Fig. 1, abstract), which together are layered within the basket container, thereby providing laterally oriented channels that permit the free flow of defrosting fluid between the layered separation plates and flow-occlusive frozen objects (hot air has free flow to pass through the baskets, par. 8).
Claim 17. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 15 wherein the vertical side walls of the basket container are permeable (Fig. 1).
Claim 18. Fu disclose the basket system of Claim 15 further comprising a removable permeable cover plate sized to serve as a lid for the basket container (interlayer 11 can functionally act as a cover plate as long as the user does not place another food item on top of it, Fig. 2),
Claim 19. Fu discloses the basket system of Claim 15 wherein the removable permeable cover plate further comprises one or more perimeter tabs (clip 110, Fig. 4) and at least one vertical wall of the basket container defines a vertically oriented linear array of apertures into which the one or more perimeter tabs of the removable permeable cover plate may engage so as to fix the cover plate at a variable height within the basket container (interlayer’s clip 110 can be fixed into a plurality of apertures 1012 to set the height, Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu.
Claim 11. Fu does not disclose the basket system of Claim 2 wherein the plurality of spaced bars comprises bars having a rectangular cross-section.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified REF to make the spaced bars have rectangular cross-sections since it has been held that the mere change in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Svabek (US 2005/0268791 B1).
Claims 10 and 20. Fu does not discloses the basket system of Claim 9 wherein the at least one cross-member is positioned offset from a plane within which the plurality of spaced bars are positioned, whereby the channels defined by the spaced bars are open ended.
Fu discloses that the bars 112 intersect with the cross bar 111 (Fig. 4). However, it is well known in the art that metal bars can be welded while stacking the parallel and cross bars, as seen in Svabek, see figure below. When the bottom section of the basket have parallel and cross bars are welded by stacking them on top of each other, this creates an offset and open channel (see schematic drawing below).
Claim(s) 3 and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Li (CN 217524776 U)
Claim 3. Fu does not disclose the basket system of Claim 1 wherein the array of substantially parallel structural members comprises a plurality of corrugations in a generally solid sheet of material, the corrugations defining a plurality of open, unimpeded, laterally oriented flow channels above and below the separation plates between the corrugations.
Wang discloses an air fryer with a baking tray (3) that is corrugated and has open channels (31) for air flow (Fig. 2)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu in view of Du to incorporate the teachings of Wang and have a corrugated plate. Doing so would have the influencing the air flow and improve heating with the convex ribs (page 2, par. 7, Wang)
Claim 12. Fu in view of Wang discloses the basket system of Claim 3 wherein the plurality of corrugations comprises corrugations that are sinusoidal in cross-section (Fig. 3).
Wang does not disclose a continuously sinusoidal shape in the cross-section of the corrugated plate. However, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu in view of Wang to have a continuous sinusoidal cross-sectional shape since it has been held that the mere change in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966), MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B).
Claim 13. Fu in view of Wang discloses the basket system of Claim 3 wherein each generally solid sheet of material is perforated with at least one aperture sized to serve as a finger-hold to facilitate the placement and removal of the plurality of separation plates into and out from the basket container (holes at the center of the baking tray 2 can be used as a finger-hold to facilitate placement/removal, Fig. 2, Wang).
Claim(s) 16 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Du (CN 213429696 U).
Claims 16 and 21. Fu does not disclose the basket system of Claim 15 wherein the plurality of separation plates each comprise generally planar constructs made of material having high thermal conductivity.
Du discloses a frying basket wherein the basket material is made of metal (claim 10).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Fu to incorporate the teachings of Du and make the basket trays of metal. Doing so would help the basket withstand the heat of the air fryer.
Claim(s) 1 and 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Du in view of Svabek.
Claim 1. Du discloses a basket system (basket 1, Fig. 1) for facilitating the defrosting of multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects being immersed into (frying food material, abstract), moved within, and removed from a volume of defrosting fluid (hot air, where hot air is capable of defrosting and air is fluid, abstract), the basket system comprising;
a basket container having an open top (open top, Fig. 1) and a permeable floor (bottom floor of A1 is permeable, Fig. 2); and
a plurality of separation plates (baskets A1-A3 are made of metal, claim 10) sized and shaped to be
wherein multiple flow-occlusive frozen objects to be defrosted are layered between the plurality of separation plates (objects 6 are layered between the plurality of baskets, Fig. 1), which together are layered within the basket container, thereby providing open, unimpeded, laterally oriented channels that permit the ducted flow of defrosting fluid between the layered separation plates and flow-occlusive frozen objects (hot air has free flow to pass through the baskets, par. 8).
Du does not disclose that the baskets are removable and that the channels are unimpeded.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to make the baskets separable since it has been maintained that making an claimed structure separable has no patentable significane unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (MPEP 2144.04.V.C.)
Du does not disclose that the channels are unimpeded.
Du shows a bottom section of the basket wherein the wire mesh appears to be joined, tip to tip, at each intersection (Fig. 5). However, Du demonstrates in Fig. 5 that the sides of the mesh have the parallel and cross wires stacked on top of each other (see highlighted area in the figure below).
However, often times for frying baskets the wire meshes are not actually joined at each intersection but rather they are welded by stacking them on top of each other. As seen in Svabek, see figure below. When the bottom section of the basket have parallel and cross wires welded by stacking them on top of each other, this creates an open, unimpeded, laterally oriented channel (see schematic drawing below).
Claim 22. Du in view of Svabek does not disclose the basket system of Claim 2 wherein the plurality of spaced bars fixed in substantially parallel spaced arrangement comprises a single bar bent in a serpentine manner to form multiple parallel linear portions each integrally connected to the next by back-curved portions (see 112b rejection).
Svabek further discloses that the wire basket has parallel bent bars that are connected to cross-bars (Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Du in view of Svabek to incorporate the teachings of Svabek and provide that the parallel bars are bent and connected with cross bars. Svabek demonstrates that this form of construction is well known in the art and one of ordinary skill in the art would be capable of constructing it for the wire basket.
Claim 23. Du in view of Svabek discloses the basket system of Claim 22 wherein the back-curved portions of the serpentine bar are collectively bent in a direction orthogonal to a plane of the separation plate to prevent obscuring the open, unimpeded, laterally oriented channels thereof (parallel bars are bent orthogonal to the channels, Fig. 2, Svabek).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SIMPSON A CHEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /ELIZABETH M KERR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761