DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,468,961 (“Gradon”).
Claim 1
Gradon discloses a pyrometer configured to sense thermal radiation within a volume, comprising: a photodiode configured to sense radiation at least within a desired infrared bandwidth and to output a photodiode signal (col. 5, lns 8-60, photodiode infrared detector); and a bandpass filter disposed in front of the photodiode to prevent radiation outside of the desired bandwidth from reaching the photodiode (infrared bandpass filters 30 and 31), wherein the desired infrared bandwidth is selected to be outside the absorption band of one or more selected fluids such that the presence of one or more fluids within the volume does not affect radiation that reaches the photodiode (col. 5, lns 27-40, absorption outside of water absorption band).
Claim 2
Gradon discloses the pyrometer of claim 1, wherein the one or more fluids include CO2 and H20 (col. 5, lns 35-40).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,468,961 (“Gradon”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0290045 (“Saptari”).
Claim 3
Gradon discloses the pyrometer of claim 2.
Gradon discloses an infrared bandwidth but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the desired infrared bandwidth has a center wavelength of about 1625nm.
Saptari discloses a tunable filter accounting for water liquid analysis with a 1625 nm wavelength (paragraph [0050]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the desired infrared bandwidth has a center wavelength of about 1625nm, as disclosed by Saptari, into the device of Gradon, for the purpose of filtering the effect of water in the measurements (Saptari, paragraph [0050]).
Claim 4
Gradon in view of Saptari discloses the pyrometer of claim 3, wherein the desired infrared bandwidth are wavelengths between about 1575nm to about 1675nm (Saptari, paragraph [0050]).
Claims 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,468,961 (“Gradon”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0290045 (“Saptari”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2008/0255769 (“Zhou”).
Claim 5
Gradon in view of Saptari discloses the pyrometer of claim 4.
Gradon discloses wherein the photodiode is germanium type but does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the photodiode is an InGaAs photodiode.
Zhou discloses photodiodes in gas detection using germanium or indium gallium arsenide photodiodes (paragraph [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted an indium gallium arsenide photodiode instead of a germanium photodiode, as disclosed by Zhou, into the device of Gradon in view of Saptari, as the materials have been recognized in the art as equivalents for gas detection photodetectors (Zhou, paragraph [0049]). MPEP 2144.
Claim 6
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou discloses the pyrometer of claim 5, wherein the bandpass filter is a 100nm filter configured to pass wavelengths between 1575nm and 1675nm (Zhou, paragraph [0054], about 100 nm width including 1610 nm).
Claim 7
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou discloses the pyrometer of claim 6, wherein the bandpass filter can be configured to have a bandwidth of 100nm ±10nm and a center wavelength drift amount less than or equal to 1 nm (Zhou, paragraph [0051, 0054], about 100 nm width including 1610 nm, drift calibrated).
Claim 8
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou discloses the pyrometer of claim 7, wherein the photodiode can be configured such that responsivity drifts less than a drift amount over an operational temperature range of about -55°C to about 125°C ambient temperature or about 1000°F to about 2100°F blackbody temperature such that a cutoff wavelength of the photodiode does not drift into the desired infrared bandwidth (Zhou, paragraph [0051], drift is calibrated for).
Claim 9
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou discloses the pyrometer of claim 8, further comprising an op amp operatively connected to the photodiode to receive the photodiode signals and configured to output one or more sensor signals (Gradon, lock-in amplifier 72).
Claim 10
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou discloses the pyrometer of claim 9, wherein the op amp is chopper stabilized to prevent drift over the operating temperature range (Gradon, lock-in amplifier 72).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,468,961 (“Gradon”) in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2010/0290045 (“Saptari”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2008/0255769 (“Zhou”), further in view of U.S. Patent Pub. 2017/0314996 (“Alrt”).
Claim 11
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou discloses the pyrometer of claim 10.
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the op amp includes a maximum input offset voltage of about 6.5 microvolts over the operating temperature range.
Alrt discloses pyrometer with operational amplifiers with offset voltage and bias current of 2.5 microvolt and 400 pA (paragraph [0005]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the op amp includes a maximum input offset voltage of about 6.5 microvolts over the operating temperature range, as disclosed by Alrt, into the device of Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou, for the purpose of compensating for fault currents (Alrt, paragraph [0010]).
Claim 12
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou, further in view of Alrt discloses the pyrometer of claim 11, wherein the op amp includes a maximum input offset current of about 500 picoamps over the operating temperature range (Alrt, paragraph [0005]).
Claim 13
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou, further in view of Alrt discloses the pyrometer of claim 12, wherein the op amp includes a maximum input bias current of about 2000 picoamps over the operating temperature range (Alrt, paragraph [0005]).
Claim 14
Gradon in view of Saptari, further in view of Zhou, further in view of Alrt discloses the pyrometer of claim 13, wherein the op amp includes an input offset voltage drift of about 2.5 nanovolts per degree C to about 15 nanovolts per degree C (Alrt, paragraph [0005]).
Conclusion
/ERICA S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853