DETAILED ACTION
This is a final Office action responsive to the reply filed on 09/22/2025.
Claims 1, 9, 12, 13, 20 and 21 have been amended.
Claim 2 has been canceled.
Claim 22 was added.
Claims 1 and 3-22 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-6, 9 and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4, line 2 “or heat fusible tape” should be - - or the heat fusible tape - -.
Claim 4, line 3 “a non-clothing object” should be - - the non-clothing object - -.
Claim 5, line 2 “or heat fusible tape” should be - - or the heat fusible tape - -.
Claim 5, line 3 “a non-clothing object” should be - - the non-clothing object - -.
Claim 6, line 2 “or heat fusible tape” should be - - or the heat fusible tape - -.
Claim 6, line 3 “a non-clothing object” should be - - the non-clothing object - -.
Claim 9, line 11 “the first piece” should be - - the first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape - -.
Claim 9, line 14 “the second piece” should be - - the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape - -.
Claim 10, line 2 “or heat fusible tape” should be - - or the heat fusible tape - -.
Claim 10, line 3 “a non-clothing object” should be - - the non-clothing object - -.
Claim 10, line 4 “the fabric or the object” should be - - the first piece of fabric or the non-clothing object - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The amendment filed on 09/22/2025 introduces new matter that is not supported in the originally filed disclosure. The claimed subject matter pertaining to “a non-adhesive cord” constitutes new matter since the originally filed disclosure fails to support this claimed subject matter.
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the stud member" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a stud member - - or define a stud member earlier in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the socket member" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is suggested to ament to - - a socket member - - or define a socket member earlier in the claim.
The term “substantially” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is suggested to amend to “the cord is secured at a center area”.
Claims 4-6, 10 and 11 are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected claim.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 currently depends from a canceled claim 2. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Russell (US Patent No. 3,161,932).
Regarding claim 1, Russell discloses an adhesive secured temporary fabric fastener, comprising:
a first portion of a non-snap fastening member, the first portion having a first back surface, said first portion adapted for securement to a first section of a piece of fabric (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3);
a second portion of the non-snap fastening member, the second portion having a second back surface, said second portion adapted for securement to a second section of the piece of fabric (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3);
a first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape provided at the first back surface (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3; also Col. 1, lines 48-54); and
a second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape provided at the second back surface (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3; also Col. 1, lines 48-54);
wherein the first portion is non-permanently secured to the first section of the piece of fabric by the first self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the second portion is non-permanently secured to the second section of the piece of fabric by the second self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the first section of the piece of fabric is secured to the second section of the piece of fabric by securing the first portion to the second portion (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3; also Col. 1, lines 48-54);
wherein securement of the first portion and the second portion of the non-snap fastening member is achieved without any alterations or piercing of the piece of fabric (see annotated Figs. 1 and 3; also Col. 1, lines 48-54).
Regarding claim 8, Russell discloses wherein the fastening member is hidden from view during use (see annotated Fig. 1).
Claims 9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896).
Regarding claim 9, Taylor discloses an adhesive secured temporary fabric fastener, comprising:
a fastening member comprising a cord having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 2);
a first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape having a front surface and a back surface, the back surface being an opposite side of the front surface and having an amount of adhesive disposed thereon (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape having a front surface and a back surface, the back surface being an opposite side of the front surface having an amount of adhesive disposed thereon (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the front surface of the first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape is permanently secured to the first end of the cord such that the first end of the cord is secured substantially at a center area of the front surface of the first piece and the front surface of the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape is permanently secured to the second end of the cord such that the second end of the cord is secured substantially at a center area of the front surface of the second piece (see annotated Figs. 2 and 3);
wherein the first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape is non- permanently secured to a first section of a first piece of fabric by the back surface of the first self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape is non-permanently secured to a second section of the first piece of fabric or a non- clothing object by the back surface of the second self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape causing the first section of the first piece of fabric to be secured to the second section of the first piece of fabric or the non-clothing object (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, Taylor discloses wherein the fastening member is hidden from view during use (see Fig. 1).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rosin (US Patent No. 4,074,397).
Regarding claim 12, Rosin discloses an adhesive secured fabric temporary fastener, comprising:
a fastening member comprising a non-adhesive cord having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape permanently secured to the first end of the non-adhesive cord (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the first end of the cord is non-permanently secured to a first portion of a piece of fabric (analogous to a fabric (14)) by the first self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the second end of the non-adhesive cord is wrapped around a second portion of the piece of fabric (analogous to a fabric cord (20)) and then secured to the first self- adhesive or the heat fusible tape by adhesive, tying, or twisting (twisted see Fig. 3) causing the first portion of the piece of fabric to be secured to the second portion of the piece of fabric (see annotated Fig. 2 and Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Rosin discloses wherein securement of the cord to the first portion of the piece of fabric is achieved without any alterations or piercing of the first portion of the piece of fabric (analogous to a fabric (14)) (see annotated Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US Patent No. 3,161,932), in view of Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896).
Regarding claim 3, Russell discloses the claimed invention except for the first portion is a first end of a cord and the second portion is a second end of the cord.
However, Taylor teaches the first portion is a first end of a cord and the second portion is a second end of the cord (see annotated Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the fastening member (as shown in Russell) with the cord (as shown in Taylor) to keep together the first and second sections of the piece of fabric.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896), in view of Forte et al. (US Publication No. 2010/0005694).
Regarding claim 4, Taylor discloses the claimed invention except for the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape is non-permanently secured to a non-clothing object; wherein the first piece of fabric is a garment and the non-clothing object is a decorative object or an identification/name badge.
However, Forte et al. teaches the first piece of fabric is a garment (14) and the non-clothing object is a decorative object or an identification/name badge (12) (see Fig. 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fastening members in order to secure the display frame to the garment.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896), in view of Gledhill (US Publication No. 2010/0132595).
Regarding claim 5, Taylor discloses the claimed invention except for the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape is non-permanently secured to a non-clothing object; wherein the first piece of fabric is a tablecloth and the non-clothing object is a table.
However, Gledhill teaches the first piece of fabric is a tablecloth (10) and the non-clothing object is a table (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fastening members in order to secure the tablecloth to the table.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896), in view of Srivastava et al. (US Publication No. 2017/0035129).
Regarding claim 6, Taylor discloses the claimed invention except for the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape is non-permanently secured to a non-clothing object; wherein the first piece of fabric is a table skirt or banner and the non-clothing object is a covered table.
However, Srivastava et al. teaches the first piece of fabric is a table skirt (450) or banner and the non-clothing object is a covered table (see Fig. 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use fastening members in order to secure the table skirt to the table.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896), in view of Sherman, Jr. et al. (US Patent No. 4,432,120).
Regarding claim 10, Taylor discloses the claimed invention except for the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape is non-permanently secured to a non-clothing object; wherein securement of the cord to the first piece of fabric or the non-clothing object is achieved without any alterations or piercing of the fabric or the object.
However, Sherman, Jr. et al. teaches the second piece of paper-backed self- adhesive or heat fusible tape (20) is non-permanently secured to a non-clothing object (16); wherein securement of the cord (24) to the non-clothing object (16) is achieved without any alterations or piercing of the object (16) (see Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to secure the gas cap with a chain that is secure to the car's body in order to not drop the cap.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rosin (US Patent No. 4,074,397), in view of Grant (US Patent No. 4,554,710).
Regarding claim 14, Rosin discloses the claimed invention except for the fastening member is hidden from view during use.
However, Grant teaches the fastening member (10) is hidden from view during use (see Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the fastening member from Grant with the fastening member from Rosin in order to hold the tie with a shirt without button holes.
Claims 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taylor (US Patent No. 3,947,896), in view of Rentos (US Patent No. 5,379,888).
Regarding claim 20, Taylor discloses an adhesive secured temporary fabric fastener, comprising:
a first portion of a fastening member, the first portion connected to a first back surface, said first back surface adapted for securement to a first section of a piece of fabric (see annotated Fig. 2);
a second portion of the fastening member, the second portion connected to a second back surface, said second back surface adapted for securement to a second section of the piece of fabric (see annotated Fig. 2);
a first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape provided at the first back surface (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape provided at the second back surface (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the first back surface is non-permanently secured to the first section of the piece of fabric by the first self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the second back surface is non- permanently secured to the second section of the piece of fabric by the second self- adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the first section of the piece of fabric is secured to the second section of the piece of fabric (see annotated Fig. 2).
Taylor does not disclose wherein the piece of fabric is a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons and a plurality of button holes with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons.
However, Rentos teaches wherein the piece of fabric is a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons (left side) and a plurality of button holes (right side) with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section (left side) is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section (right side) is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons (see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fastening member (as shown in Taylor) with the button down shirt (as shown in Rentos) to close the gap between two buttons and the two sections of the shirt.
Regarding claim 21, Taylor discloses an adhesive secured temporary fabric fastener, comprising:
a fastening member comprising a cord having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 2);
a first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape permanently secured to the first end of the cord (see annotated Fig. 2); and
a second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or heat fusible tape permanently secured to the second end of the cord (see annotated Fig. 2);
wherein the first end of the cord is non-permanently secured to a first section of a piece of fabric by the first self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape and the second end of the cord is non-permanently secured to a second section of the piece of fabric by the second self- adhesive or the heat fusible tape causing the first section of the piece of fabric to be secured to the second section of the piece of fabric (see annotated Fig. 2).
Taylor does not disclose wherein the piece of fabric is a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons and a plurality of button holes with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons.
However, Rentos teaches wherein the piece of fabric is a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons (left side) and a plurality of button holes (right side) with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section (left side) is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section (right side) is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons (see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fastening member (as shown in Taylor) with the button down shirt (as shown in Rentos) to close the gap between two buttons and the two sections of the shirt.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Russell (US Patent No. 3,161,932), in view of Rentos (US Patent No. 5,379,888).
Regarding claim 22, Russell discloses the claimed invention except for the piece of fabric is a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons and a plurality of button holes with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons.
However, Rentos teaches wherein the piece of fabric is a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons (left side) and a plurality of button holes (right side) with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section (left side) is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section (right side) is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons (see Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the fastening member (as shown in Russell) with the button down shirt (as shown in Rentos) to close the gap between two buttons and the two sections of the shirt.
REASONS FOR ALLOWANCE
Claims 15-19 are allowed.
The following is an examiner's statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 15, the prior art of record fails to anticipate or render obvious the presently claimed subject matter, when viewed as a whole, requiring the structural combination, or claimed combination of elements defining the invention(s), requiring the first section of the fastening member is secured between two adjacent buttons and the second section of the fastening member is secured between two button holes such that the fastening members are hidden from view.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8 and 9, filed 09/22/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Russell. Russell discloses non-snap fastener which is a magnet (see annotated Fig. 3)
Regarding claim 9 arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because Taylor broadly discloses the front surface of the first piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape is permanently secured to the first end of the cord such that the first end of the cord is secured substantially at a center area of the front surface of the first piece and the front surface of the second piece of paper-backed self-adhesive or the heat fusible tape is permanently secured to the second end of the cord such that the second end of the cord is secured substantially at a center area of the front surface of the second piece (see annotated Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 12 arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive because Rosin broadly discloses a fastening member comprising a non-adhesive cord having a first end and a second end (see annotated Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 20 and 21 arguments have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in Taylor, in view of Rentos.
Rentos teaches a button down shirt having a plurality of buttons (left side) and a plurality of button holes (right side) with the buttons spaced apart along a portion of a first side of the shirt and the button holes spaced apart along a portion of a second side of the shirt, wherein in buttoned configuration for the shirt the first section (left side) is secured to the first side of the shirt between two adjacent buttons and the second section (right side) is secured to an internal area of the second side of the shirt between two button holes associated with the two adjacent buttons (see Fig. 3).
The applicant does not further describe how the first and second portions of the fastening member are secure to the button down shirt.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOUIS A. MERCADO/
Examiner
Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/SPE, Art Unit 3677