DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-8 and 11-15 in the reply filed on 3/21/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups share a common inventive concept. This is not found persuasive because the instant application is not a 371 application of PCT application, but a CON application. Therefore, unity of invention standard for a 371 application has not been applied. The examiner has provided the reason for distinct invention in the previous office action mailed on 2/11/26
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8, and 11-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5, 7, and 14-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,695,151 (hereinafter ‘151 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim scope of ‘151 patent encompasses the claim scope of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (KR 10-1752869 B1, hereinafter Kim).
Re Claim 1. Kim teaches a casing (Fig. 1-3) for a lithium metal secondary battery comprising:
a battery casing material (item 100);
at least one releasable capsule (item 130) attached to an inner surface of the casing material to cover the inner surface of the casing material; and
a release solution (item 140) contained in the releasable capsule,
wherein the releasable capsule comprises a capsule coating film (item 130) and a capsule inner space (Fig. 1-3) surrounded by the capsule coating film,
the release solution is contained in the capsule inner space (Fig. 1-3), and
the release solution comprises a release agent and a solvent (P4).
Re Claim 2. Kim teaches wherein the release agent comprises epoxy resin (P4).
Claim(s) 1, 4, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Niida et al. (JP 2010-073595 A, hereinafter Niida, cited by applicant).
Re Claim 1. Niida teaches a casing for a lithium metal secondary battery comprising:
a battery casing material (para. 11);
at least one releasable capsule (Fig. 1, para. 11) attached to an inner surface of the casing material to cover the inner surface of the casing material; and
a release solution (item b) contained in the releasable capsule,
wherein the releasable capsule comprises a capsule coating film (item a) and a capsule inner space surrounded by the capsule coating film (Fig. 1),
the release solution is contained in the capsule inner space (Fig. 1), and
the release solution comprises a release agent and a solvent (para. 32).
Re Claim 4. Niida teaches wherein the releasable capsule comprises a polymer resin as a capsule coating film ingredient (para. 23), and the capsule coating film is ruptured by a penetration member inserted from an outside of the casing so that the release solution contained in the capsule inner space is discharged (functional limitations).
While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function. A claim containing a “recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus” if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. See MPEP 2114.
Re Claim 7. Niida teaches wherein a size of the releasable capsule is 5 µm (para. 32).
"[W]hen, as by a recitation of ranges or otherwise, a claim covers several compositions, the claim is ‘anticipated’ if one of them is in the prior art." Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2131.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niida.
Niida fails to specifically teach that the release agent is present in an amount of 0.1-80 wt%/20 to 30 wt% based on a total weight of the release solution.
However, since the amount of release agent would determine the effectiveness of flame retardation, one would perform routine experimentation to find the optimum amount of release agent in the release solution.
“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” See MPEP 2144.05, II.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim or Niida as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yu et al. (KR 10-2016-0059991 A, hereinafter Yu, cited by applicant, see US 2017/0352844 A for English translation).
Kim and Niida teaches a lithium metal secondary battery (Kim, P2 & Niida, para. 11) comprising:
a battery casing according to claim 1 (see rejection of claim 1); and
an electrode assembly contained in the battery casing (Kim, P2 & Niida, para. 11),
wherein the electrode assembly comprises a negative electrode, a positive electrode and a separator interposed between the negative electrode and the positive electrode (Kim, P2 & Niida, para. 11).
Kim and Niida fails to specifically teach that the negative electrode includes lithium metal as a negative electrode active material .
The invention of Yu encompasses secondary battery. Yu teaches that the negative electrode includes lithium metal as a negative electrode active material (para. 63).
In view of Yu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to modify the invention of Kim or Niida to employ lithium metal as a negative electrode active material, since using a well-known negative electrode active material is within purview of one skill in the art.
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood from the texts. Only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out to emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, however, each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
/KEVIN E YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735
4/4/2026