Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Schuster et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230033877).
Regarding claim 15, Schuster discloses a filtering mouthpiece capable of being adapted for preassembling with a pre-roll body via an airtight seal, the mouthpiece comprising:
an open mouthpiece end (108, fig. 5) disposed opposite to an attachment end (124, fig. 5), and a passage (116, fig. 5) providing fluid communication between the open mouthpiece end and one or more filtration holes disposed through the attachment end [0041].
Regarding claim 16, Schuster discloses wherein the filtering mouthpiece is manufactured from a ceramic material by injection or compression molding [0038]. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695,698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985), (MPEP 2113). In this case Schuster discloses common processes such as injection and molding for materials such as plastics and fibers respectively; the claimed filtering mouthpiece is the same as or obvious from the disclosed ceramic filtering mouthpiece of Schuster.
Regarding claim 17, Schuster discloses wherein the one or more filtration holes are sized during manufacturing of the filtering mouthpiece to filter particulate having a predetermined average maximum particle dimension [0041].
Regarding claim 19, Schuster discloses the filtering mouthpiece tapers from the attachment end toward the open mouthpiece end ([0038-0040] and fig. 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuster et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230033877) in view of Cantrell et al. (U.S Patent No. 4515170).
Regarding claim 18, Schuster does not expressly discloses the dimension of the filtering holes. Cantrell discloses wherein the one or more filtration holes have a maximum cross-sectional dimension overlapping with the claimed range from about 0.5 mm to about 1.5 mm. In case of overlapping ranges, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to pick the claimed range. Cantrell discloses a preferred cross-sectional area of the hole (28) can be 0.00125 cm² and 0.00385 cm² corresponding to diameter of 0.39894 mm to 0.7001mm respectively.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schuster et al. (U.S Pub. No. 20230033877) in view of Sutton et al. (GB2511305A).
Regarding claim 20, Schuster does not expressly disclose the filtering mouthpiece comprising a ring of flexible material. Sutton discloses a filtering mouthpiece comprising a ring of flexible material (34, fig. 2) having an adhesive on a surface thereof, wherein the ring of flexible material is adhered around a side surface of the filtering mouthpiece proximate to the attachment end to form an airtight seal therewith and is capable of being wrapped around and adhered to a side surface of the pre-roll body proximate to an end of the pre-roll body to form an airtight seal therewith (page 9). Sutton does not expressly discloses the material of the 0-ring; however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to select the O-ring material such as vinyl, polypropylene (PP), and polyethylene (PE).
Conclusion
/PHU H NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747