Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1, 11, and 18 are amended
Claims 1-20 are pending
Examiner’s Note: Paragraph 0001 of the specification a host device may include a USB connected to a USB port. Additionally, paragraph 0051 discloses the host device comprises a processor.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendment to claims 1, 11 and 18 filed on 3/4/2026 regarding, “performing, by the driver loaded by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, a universal serial bus authentication by: obtaining, by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, a key associated with the device; attempting, by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, to authenticate the key using an authentication mechanism; and in response to not successfully authenticating the key, disabling the universal serial bus port of determining, by the host device[[,]] to block the device from communication through the universal serial bus port of the host device with the host device.”, necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Therefore, Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1.) Claims 1, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer
In regards to claim 1, Kokubun teaches a method, comprising:
detecting a device attempting to connect to a universal serial bus port of a host device(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0029, The USB controller 109a performs control of communication with the USB device in response to a predetermined protocol when the PC is activated or when the connection of the USB device to the connector C1 is detected,); performing a test to determine a device type of the device(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0029, acquires the device type, which indicates the type of the device, from the USB device,);
loading, by the host device, a driver for communicating with the device based upon the driver corresponding to the device type(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0029, from the USB device, and loads the driver corresponding to the device type.); and Kokubun does not teach performing, by the driver, loaded by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, a universal serial bus authentication by: obtaining, by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, obtaining a key associated with the device;
attempting, by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, to authenticate the key using an authentication mechanism; in response to successfully authenticating the key, retaining the universal serial bus port of the host device in an enabled state for allowing the device to communicate through the universal serial bus port with the host device; and
in response to not successfully authenticating the key, disabling the universal serial bus port of the host device to block the device from communication through the universal serial bus port of the host device with the host device However, Soffer teaches performing, by the driver, loaded by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0009, USB flash dive control software may be downloaded from http://www.softpedia.com/get/System/System-Miscellaneous/USB-Port-Blocker.shtml USB blocker software may also be obtained from iSM), a universal serial bus authentication by:obtaining, by the host device having the universal serial bus port to which the device is attempting to connect, obtaining a key associated with the device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0263, Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase (FIG. 12 step 2).)(US 20140143386, Soffer, para. 0007, The instructions may include a key. The generated instructions may be transmitted to a HIP server,);
attempting to connect, to authenticate the key using an authentication mechanism(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0046 and 0263: [0046]- a USB hub having a upstream port coupled to said self-locking USB plug and having at least a first downstream port and a second downstream port; an authentication chip coupled to said first downstream port of said the USB hub to enable positive authentication of the self-locking peripheral filter device by software installed at said protected computing device; at least one USB device port for connecting a user device;[0263]- Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase); in response to successfully authenticating the key, retaining the universal serial bus port of the host device in an enabled state for allowing the device to communicate through the universal serial bus port with the host device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0263-0265, [0263] Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase (FIG. 12 step 2).
[0264] Once the protection device is properly authenticated and approved, its LED will start blinking in green color.
[0265] The technician may then connect to the protected computer 30′ the required USB peripheral devices); and
in response to not successfully authenticating the key, disabling the universal serial bus port of the host device to block the device from communication through the universal serial bus port of the host device with the host device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0106, 0112 and 0263: [0106]- If one or more of the plugs is missing or fail to authenticate, the security software installed on the host may take on of few corrective actions such as: …[0112] Disabling all the USB port. [0263]- Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase [i.e. note: implicitly, failure of a USB to authenticate against the unique key results in the disabling of the USB port(s) due to an authentication failure]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kokubun with the teaching of Soffer because a user would have been motivated to enhance the system security of the biometric authentication system, taught by Kokubun, by using a self-locking device, taught by Soffer, in order to secure and qualify peripheral components attached to devices in the system taught by KoKubun (Soffer, para. 0025) In regards to claim 11, Kokubun teaches a host device comprising a processor for executing instructions for performing a bus authentication operation associated with authenticating devices for communication with the host device, wherein the host device comprises:
a bus physical layer that establishes communication channels over a bus with devices connected to the bus(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0024, a host-PCI bridge that connects a local bus, which connects the CPU 101 and the northbridge 103, and a PCI (Peripheral Component Interconnect) bus which connects the northbridge 103 and the southbridge 109;);
a driver that is loaded for communicating to a device that is connected to the bus, wherein the driver is selected from available drivers based upon the driver corresponding to a device type of the device(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0029, from the USB device, and loads the driver corresponding to the device type. By loading the driver, it is possible to use the USB device which is connected through the connector C1. For example, when device types indicating the USB keyboard and the USB mouse for an operation input are acquired, the drivers of the USB keyboard and the USB mouse are loaded.[i.e. note: implicitly, drivers are selected based on device types]); and Kokubun does not teach an operating system that performs the bus authentication operation by:
obtaining authentication information associated with the device;
attempting to authenticate the authentication information using an authentication mechanism; in response to successfully authenticating the authentication information, allowing the device to communicate over the bus with the host device; and
in response to not successfully authenticating the authentication information, blocking the device from communication over the bus with the host device However, Soffer teaches an operating system that performs the bus authentication operation by:
obtaining authentication information associated with the device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0263, Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905);
attempting to authenticate the authentication information using an authentication mechanism(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0046 and 0263: [0046]- a USB hub having a upstream port coupled to said self-locking USB plug and having at least a first downstream port and a second downstream port; an authentication chip coupled to said first downstream port of said the USB hub to enable positive authentication of the self-locking peripheral filter device by software installed at said protected computing device; at least one USB device port for connecting a user device;[0263]- Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase); in response to successfully authenticating the authentication information, allowing the device to communicate over the bus with the host device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0263-0265, [0263] Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase (FIG. 12 step 2).
[0264] Once the protection device is properly authenticated and approved, its LED will start blinking in green color.
[0265] The technician may then connect to the protected computer 30′ the required USB peripheral devices); and
in response to not successfully authenticating the authentication information, disabling the bus of the host device to block the device from communication over the bus with the host device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0106, 0112 and 0263: [0106]- If one or more of the plugs is missing or fail to authenticate, the security software installed on the host may take on of few corrective actions such as: …[0112] Disabling all the USB port. [0263]- Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase [i.e. note: implicitly, failure of a USB to authenticate against the unique key results in the disabling of the USB port(s) due to an authentication failure]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kokubun with the teaching of Soffer because a user would have been motivated to enhance the system security of the biometric authentication system, taught by Kokubun, by using a self-locking device, taught by Soffer, in order to secure and qualify peripheral components attached to devices in the system taught by KoKubun (Soffer, para. 0025)
In regards to claim 18, Kokubun teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that when executed facilitate performance of operations comprising:
detecting a device attempting to connect to a bus of a host device(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0029, The USB controller 109a performs control of communication with the USB device in response to a predetermined protocol when the PC is activated or when the connection of the USB device to the connector C1 is detected,);
loading, by the host device, a driver for communicating with the device based upon the driver corresponding to a device type of the device(US 20140181937, Kokubun, para. 0029, from the USB device, and loads the driver corresponding to the device type.); and Kokubun does not teach performing a universal serial bus authentication by:
obtaining, by the host device having the bus to which the device is attempting to connect, authentication information associated with the device;
attempting, by the host device having the bus to which the device is attempting to connect, to authenticate the authentication information using an authentication mechanism; in response to successfully authenticating the authentication information, determining, by the host device, to allow the device to communicate over the bus of the host device with the host device; and
in response to not successfully authenticating the authentication information, determining, by the host device, to block the device of the host device from communication over the bus with the host device However, Soffer teaches performing a universal serial bus authentication by:
obtaining, by the host device having the bus to which the device is attempting to connect, authentication information associated with the device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0263, Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905);
attempting, by the host device having the bus to which the device is attempting to connect, to authenticate the authentication information using an authentication mechanism(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0046 and 0263: [0046]- a USB hub having a upstream port coupled to said self-locking USB plug and having at least a first downstream port and a second downstream port; an authentication chip coupled to said first downstream port of said the USB hub to enable positive authentication of the self-locking peripheral filter device by software installed at said protected computing device; at least one USB device port for connecting a user device;[0263]- Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase); in response to successfully authenticating the authentication information, determining, by the host device, to allow the device to communicate over the bus of the host device with the host device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0263-0265, [0263] Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase (FIG. 12 step 2).
[0264] Once the protection device is properly authenticated and approved, its LED will start blinking in green color.
[0265] The technician may then connect to the protected computer 30′ the required USB peripheral devices); and
in response to not successfully authenticating the authentication information, determining, by the host device, to block the device of the host device from communication over the bus with the host device(US 20160196454, Soffer, para. 0106, 0112 and 0263: [0106]- If one or more of the plugs is missing or fail to authenticate, the security software installed on the host may take on of few corrective actions such as: …[0112] Disabling all the USB port. [0263]- Each one of the inserted USB protection devices is being authenticated (961a to 961n respectively) against the unique key entered into the databases 921 and 905 during the preparations phase [i.e. note: implicitly, failure of a USB to authenticate against the unique key results in the disabling of the USB port(s) due to an authentication failure]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of Kokubun with the teaching of Soffer because a user would have been motivated to enhance the system security of the biometric authentication system, taught by Kokubun, by using a self-locking device, taught by Soffer, in order to secure and qualify peripheral components attached to devices in the system taught by KoKubun (Soffer, para. 0025)
2.) Claims 6, 8, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20210248223, Chippakurthy In regards to claim 6, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the attempting to authenticate the key comprises: key using a chain certificate hosted by the host device; However, Chippakurthy teaches wherein the attempting to authenticate the key comprises:key using a chain certificate hosted by the host device (US 20210248223, Chippakurthy, para. 0065, In general, each certificate chain may correspond to a private key whose corresponding public key is certified. Thus, the authentication procedure involves confirming that a given authentication responder has access to their unique private key.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Chippakurthy because a user would have been motivated to enhance system security, taught by Kokubun, by performing device authentication with an attached device, taught by Chippakurthy, in order to protect the system from damage caused by non-compliant devices(Chippakurthy, para. 0057)
In regards to claim 8, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach comprising: in response to loading the driver, triggering the universal serial bus authentication However, Chippakurthy teaches comprising: in response to loading the driver, triggering the universal serial bus authentication(US 20210248223, Chippakurthy, para. 0064 and 0065: [0064]- authenticating devices that are connected downstream of a USB hub may involve implementing a USB Type-C bridge function in both the USB hub and the corresponding driver in the USB host.
[0065]- assuming USB Type-C authentication is employed, the authentication initiator can query an authentication responder for certificate chain digests, read a certificate chain from the authentication responder, and challenge the authentication responder in order to verify its authenticity.[i.e. a USB with a loaded driver is configured for authenticating]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Chippakurthy because a user would have been motivated to enhance system security, taught by Kokubun, by performing device authentication with an attached device, taught by Chippakurthy, in order to protect the system from damage caused by non-compliant devices(Chippakurthy, para. 0057) In regards to claim 19, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the universal serial bus authentication is performed by an operating system of the host device However, Chippakurthy teaches wherein the universal serial bus authentication is performed by an operating system of the host device (US 20210248223, Chippakurthy, para. 0064, [0064]- the authentication procedure (e.g., at block 304) may be based on a standard (e.g., USB Type-C (PD) Authentication). For example, the USB Type-C specification generally defines a certificate-based method for authentication that allows a product (or device) to authenticate another attached product (or device). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Chippakurthy because a user would have been motivated to enhance system security, taught by Kokubun, by performing device authentication with an attached device, taught by Chippakurthy, in order to protect the system from damage caused by non-compliant devices(Chippakurthy, para. 0057)
In regards to claim 20, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 18. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the universal serial bus authentication is performed by the driver However, Chippakurthy teaches wherein the universal serial bus authentication is performed by the driver (US 20210248223, Chippakurthy, para. 0064, authenticating devices that are connected downstream of a USB hub may involve implementing a USB Type-C bridge function in both the USB hub and the corresponding driver in the USB host.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Chippakurthy because a user would have been motivated to enhance system security, taught by Kokubun, by performing device authentication with an attached device, taught by Chippakurthy, in order to protect the system from damage caused by non-compliant devices(Chippakurthy, para. 0057)3.) Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20210152338, Anson
In regards to claim 2, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein obtaining the key comprises:
receiving the key from the device through the universal serial bus port However, Anson teaches wherein obtaining the key comprises:
receiving the key from the device through the universal serial bus port(US 20210152338, Anson, para. 0046, When creating an initial set of keys, or creating any other key created at a later time, the private key of the new next key that was created should be removed from the network and stored in an external location, for example on a USB device stored in a hidden location,[i.e. note: where keys are sent from a network device to be stored in a USB device]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Anson because a user would have been motivated to enhance key protection, taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer, by using a blockchain to securely store and transfer keys(Anson, para. 0058)
In regards to claim 3, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein obtaining the key comprises:
retrieving the key from a remote source over a network However, Anson teaches wherein obtaining the key comprises:
retrieving the key from a remote source over a network (US 20210152338, Anson, para. 0004, The method further includes transmitting the current key to a remote computer system responsive to receipt of a key request indicating the remote computer system.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Chippakurthy with the teaching of Anson because a user would have been motivated to enhance key protection, taught by the combination of Kokubun and Chippakurthy, by using a blockchain to securely store and transfer keys(Anson, para. 0058)
In regards to claim 4, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein obtaining the key comprises:
retrieving the key from a distributed ledger stored across a plurality of remote data sources However, Anson teaches wherein obtaining the key comprises:
retrieving the key from a distributed ledger stored across a plurality of remote data sources (US 20210152338, Anson, para. 0019, The datacenter 110 can also be connected to other datacenters. The computer network system 100 can contain at least two datacenters and can provide a blockchain being a distributed database for storing and distributing encryption keys, in non-transitory or other data storage media). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Anson because a user would have been motivated to enhance key protection, taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer, by using a blockchain to securely store and transfer keys(Anson, para. 0058)
4.) Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 7676042, Okamoto
In regards to claim 5, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein attempting to authenticate the key comprises:
attempting to authenticate the key using a certificate authority hosted by the host device, wherein the key is derived from the certificate authority However, Okamoto teaches wherein attempting to authenticate the key comprises:
attempting to authenticate the key using a certificate authority hosted by the host device(US 7676042, Okamoto, col. 14, lines 31-38, The secure communication control unit 901 inputs the public key certificate of the certificate authority stored in the unique information storage unit 903 and the server public key certificate included in the response and challenge message to the cryptographic processing unit 905, to perform signature verification on the server public key certificate.), wherein the key is derived from the certificate authority(US 7676042, Okamoto, col. 9, lines 36-38, The server public key certificate is generated by the certificate authority signing public key KDs of the license server 101.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Okamoto because a user would have been motivated to use a Secure Authenticated Channel protocol, taught by Okamoto, in order to protect data communication in the system taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer (Okamoto, col. 2, lines 14-24)
5.) Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20100186062, Banti
In regards to claim 7, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the universal serial bus authentication considers the device to be an untrusted server and the host device to be a trusted client However, Banti teaches wherein the universal serial bus authentication considers the device to be an untrusted server and the host device to be a trusted client (US 20100186062, Banti, para. 0004 and 0006: [0004]- The disclosed architecture employs security rules that facilitate encryption and storage of encryption keys to protect client message (e.g., e-mail) content of a trusted client from an untrusted third-party hosting service through which the message is processed and routed.
[0006]- Alternatively or in combination therewith, an administrator of the hosted (or untrusted) application can define and apply rules (or policies) within the untrusted message server that determine when automatic protection is applied to messages and the level of protection.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Banti because a user would have been motivated to protect trusted entities in the system taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer from untrusted third party hosting services(Banti, para. 0004)
6.) Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20180336160, Fukumoto
In regards to claim 9, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach comprising:
implementing the universal serial bus authentication through security controls executing over a universal serial bus physical layer However, Fukumoto teaches comprising:
implementing the universal serial bus authentication through security controls executing over a universal serial bus physical layer (US 20180336160, Fukumoto, para. 0107, in a configuration in which the USB receptacle is connected to the second bus BS2 (physical layer circuit 12), it is possible to pass the USB standard authentication test in the USB receptacle by setting m=32). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Fukumoto because a user would have been motivated to configure a physical layer circuit, taught by Fukumoto, in order to enable authentication testing of the USB component in the system taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer (Fukumoto, para. 0022 and 0026)
7.) Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20150052192, Chauhan
In regards to claim 10, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the method of claim 1. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach comprising:
in response to retaining the universal serial bus port in the enabled state, facilitating a troubleshooting procedure with the device in order to troubleshoot the host device However, Chauhan teaches comprising:
in response to retaining the universal serial bus port in the enabled state, facilitating a troubleshooting procedure with the device in order to troubleshoot the host device(US 20150052192, Chauhan, para. 0041, Another benefit of the static IP address on the cellular connection is that a mobile server can be maintained/monitored remotely over the internet using secure VPN (Virtual Private Network) this is particularly useful when the server is located in an aircraft and its not practical to physically attend to the server for maintenance or trouble shooting.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Chauhan because a user would have been motivated to use dynamic web servers, taught by Chauhan, in order to provide mobile environments, taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer to access content held on a server without requiring access to the internet(Chauhan, para. 0008 and 0009)
8.) Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20150223069, Solondz
In regards to claim 12, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the host device of claim 11. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the operating system utilizes a key infrastructure as the authentication mechanism, and wherein the authentication information comprises a key However, Solondz teaches wherein the operating system utilizes a key infrastructure as the authentication mechanism, and wherein the authentication information comprises a key (US 20150223069, Solondz, para. 0042, the AP 501A or EUD processor may perform mandatory server authentication using public key infrastructure (PKI) protocols). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Solondz because a user would have been motivated to use an authorized shared access system and database (ASAS), taught by Solondz, to manage radio frequency spectrum for wireless devices in the system taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer in order to prevent radio frequency interference between devices(Solondz, para. 0018)
In regards to claim 13, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the host device of claim 11. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the operating system utilizes transport layer security (TLS) as the authentication mechanism to determine whether a TLS certificate within the authentication information is valid However, Solondz teaches wherein the operating system utilizes transport layer security (TLS) as the authentication mechanism to determine whether a TLS certificate within the authentication information is valid (US 20150223069, Solondz, para. 0042, Using the SSL/TLS parameters, the AP 501A or EUD processor may perform mandatory server authentication using public key infrastructure (PKI) protocols and insure that the device delivering the secure control word has a properly built certificate chain, such as a X509v3 certificate, to validate.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Solondz because a user would have been motivated to use an authorized shared access system and database (ASAS), taught by Solondz, to manage radio frequency spectrum for wireless devices in the system taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer in order to prevent radio frequency interference between devices(Solondz, para. 0018)
In regards to claim 14, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the host device of claim 11. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the bus is associated with a universal asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART) protocol However, Solondz teaches wherein the bus is associated with a universal asynchronous receiver transmitter (UART) protocol (US 20150223069, Solondz, para. 0034, The interface between the secure synthesizer 530 and the local controller 550A may be via an inter-integrated circuit (12C), a universal asynchronous receiver/transmitter (UART), and universal serial bus (USB), or the like.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Solondz because a user would have been motivated to use an authorized shared access system and database (ASAS), taught by Solondz, to manage radio frequency spectrum for wireless devices in the system taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer in order to prevent radio frequency interference between devices(Solondz, para. 0018)
9.) Claims 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20140181937, Kokubun in view of US 20160196454, Soffer and further in view of US 20210266240, Phillips
In regards to claim 15, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the host device of claim 11. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein at least one of the host device or the device comprises an Internet of Things (loT) device However, Phillips teaches wherein at least one of the host device or the device comprises an Internet of Things (loT) device(US 20210266240, Phillips, para. 0029, In some embodiments, one or more of the building devices within each space may include IoT functionality. Space 100 may be an example of such a space within a building that includes a plurality of IoT enabled building devices.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Phillips because a user would have been motivated to employ embedded intrusion detection, taught by Phillips, to monitor data flow between devices taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer in order to determine whether a device is in a compromised state and to initiate a corrective action responsive to the determination(Phillips, para. 0002)
In regards to claim 16, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the host device of claim 11. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein the bus is an internal bus within the host device However, Phillips teaches wherein the bus is an internal bus within the host device (US 20210266240, Phillips, para. 0009, In some embodiments, the communication path is at least one of an address bus, a data bus, or a control bus). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Phillips because a user would have been motivated to employ embedded intrusion detection, taught by Phillips, to monitor data flow between devices taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer in order to determine whether a device is in a compromised state and to initiate a corrective action responsive to the determination(Phillips, para. 0002)
In regards to claim 17, the combination of Kokubun and Soffer teach the host device of claim 11. The combination of Kokubun and Soffer do not teach wherein at least one of the device or the host device comprises flash memory, and wherein at least one of the device or the host device comprises a system on chip (SoC) However, Phillips teaches wherein at least one of the device or the host device comprises flash memory, and wherein at least one of the device or the host device comprises a system on chip (SoC)(US 20210266240, Phillips, para. 0031, Security camera 102 may include a system-on-chip (SoC) (i.e., a processing circuit or central processing unit (CPU)) that enables the functionality of security camera 102. The SoC may include internal flash memory, random-access memory (RAM), inputs/outputs (I/O's), a cache, and a processor, for example. In some embodiments, EIDS 110 is communicably coupled to one or more external or internal communication busses of the SoC of security camera 102.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of the combination of Kokubun and Soffer with the teaching of Phillips because a user would have been motivated to employ embedded intrusion detection, taught by Phillips, to monitor data flow between devices taught by the combination of Kokubun and Soffer in order to determine whether a device is in a compromised state and to initiate a corrective action responsive to the determination(Phillips, para. 0002)
CONCLUSION
/GREGORY A LANE/Examiner, Art Unit 2438
/TAGHI T ARANI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2438