DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to the Amendments to the Claims, Remarks, and Declaration of Demis Pandelidis filed April 24, 2026.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed April 24, 2026, the objections to claims 1 and 18 previous presented in the Office Action sent November 24, 2025 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed April 24, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-4 and 6-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) previous presented in the Office Action sent November 24, 2025 have been withdrawn.
In view of the Amendments to the Claims filed April 24, 2026, the rejections of claims 1-4 and 6-20 under 35 U.S.C. 103 previous presented in the Office Action sent November 24, 2025 have been substantially maintained and modified only in response to the Amendments to the Claims.
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 and 6-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites, “the wall of the first channel is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including the wall of the first channel is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid.
The specification does not depict or describe any first channel that is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein evaporation of the liquid …causes water to condense from the first heat transferring fluid…condensation of water within the first channel”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention wherein evaporation of the liquid causes water to condense from the first heat transferring fluid and condensation of water within the first channel.
The specification generally teaches “As will be clear to one of skill in the art, the cooling capacity of the system 100 may be selected by adjusting the number of channels 104, 106 and/or the area of contact between the walls 110 of the channels 104, 106 and the fluid 112, 114 passing through the channels 104, 106. Greater contact area will increase the amount of evaporation and/or condensation, thereby enabling both the degree of pre-cooling and the amount of dehumidification to be adjusted based on the desired capacity of the system 100”, but does not detail or describe an embodiment wherein evaporation of the liquid causes water to condense from the first heat transferring fluid and condensation of water within the first channel. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Claim 8 recites, “the first exposed surface of each dry channel is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including the first exposed surface of each dry channel is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel.
The specification does not depict or describe the first exposed surface of each dry channel is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Claim 8 recites, “the evaporation of the liquid…resulting in condensation within each dry channel”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including the evaporation of the liquid resulting in condensation within each dry channel.
The specification generally teaches “As will be clear to one of skill in the art, the cooling capacity of the system 100 may be selected by adjusting the number of channels 104, 106 and/or the area of contact between the walls 110 of the channels 104, 106 and the fluid 112, 114 passing through the channels 104, 106. Greater contact area will increase the amount of evaporation and/or condensation, thereby enabling both the degree of pre-cooling and the amount of dehumidification to be adjusted based on the desired capacity of the system 100”, but does not detail or describe an embodiment wherein the evaporation of the liquid resulting in condensation within each dry channel.
Claim 18 recites, “evaporates liquid…resulting in condensation within the dry channels”.
The specification, as originally filed, does not evidence applicant had in possession an invention including evaporates liquid resulting in condensation within the dry channels.
The specification generally teaches “As will be clear to one of skill in the art, the cooling capacity of the system 100 may be selected by adjusting the number of channels 104, 106 and/or the area of contact between the walls 110 of the channels 104, 106 and the fluid 112, 114 passing through the channels 104, 106. Greater contact area will increase the amount of evaporation and/or condensation, thereby enabling both the degree of pre-cooling and the amount of dehumidification to be adjusted based on the desired capacity of the system 100”, but does not detail or describe an embodiment wherein evaporates liquid resulting in condensation within the dry channels. Dependent claims are rejected for dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisotsenko et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0038552 A1) in view of Gaiser et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0358727 A1).
With regard to claim 1, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a heat exchanger comprising:
a first channel (3, Fig. 1), the first channel comprising:
a first inlet proximate a first end of the first channel, the first inlet configured to intake a first heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first top end of the cited first channel 3, Fig. 1; see for example [0063] teaching a first heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within first channel 3); and
a first outlet proximate a second end of the first channel, the first outlet configured to expel the first heat transferring fluid (such a first outlet proximate a second bottom end of the cited first channel 3, Fig. 1);
a second channel (5, Fig. 1), the second channel comprising:
a second inlet proximate a first end of the second channel, the second inlet configured to intake a second heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first bottom end of the cited second channel 5, Fig. 1; see for example [0063] teaching a second heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within the cited second channel 5); and
a second outlet proximate a second end of the second channel, the second outlet configured to expel the second heat transferring fluid (such as a second outlet proximate a second top end of the cited second channel 5, Fig. 1), wherein
the first channel and second channel are separated by a single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited first channel 3 and cited second channel 5 are separated by a single integrated plate 7) having
a first surface forming a wall of the first channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 has a first left surface forming a wall of the cited first channel 3) and
a second surface forming a wall of the second channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 has a second right surface forming a wall of the cited second channel 5); wherein
the first surface and second surface of the single integrated plate are thermally coupled (see Fig. 1); and wherein
the single integrated plate is the only solid material separating the first channel and second channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 is the only solid material horizontally separating the cited first channel 3 and cited second channel 5), wherein
the wall of the first channel is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid and the first channel forms a dry channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited wall of the cited first channel 3 is cited to read on the claimed “is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid” because it is structurally capable of being dry prior to intake of the cited first heat transferring fluid; see [0063] teaching “Dry Channel-3”); wherein
a liquid is disposed along the walls of the second channel to form a wet channel (see 10 depicted in Fig. 1 as disposed along walls of the second channel 5 to form a wet channel; see [0063] “Wet Channel-5”); wherein
the second heat transferring fluid evaporates at least a portion of the liquid disposed along the walls of the second channel thereby reducing a temperature of the second surface of the single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1 and described in [0083], the cited second heat transferring fluid, recall working air 4 within the cited second channel 5, evaporates at least a portion of the liquid 10 disposed along the walls of the second channel 5 thereby reducing a temperature of the cited second right surface of the single integrated plate 7); wherein
evaporation of the liquid transfers heat between the second surface of the integrated plate and first surface of the single integrated plate such that reducing a temperature of the second surface of the single integrated plate reduces a temperature of the first surface of the single integrated plate and cools the first heat transferring fluid traversing the first channel which causes water to condense from the first heat transferring fluid and creates a pre-cooled first heat transferring fluid (as depicted in Fig. 1 and described in [0083], evaporation of the liquid 10 transfers heat between the cited second right surface of the single integrated plate 7 and the cited first left surface of the integrated plate 7 such that the cited reducing a temperature of the second right surface of the single integrated plate 7 reduces a temperature of the cited first left surface of the single integrated plate 7 and cools the cited first heat transferring fluid, recall working air 4 within first channel 3, traversing the first channel 3 which causes water to condense from the cited first heat transferring fluid and creates a pre-cooled first heat transferring fluid as the cited first heat transferring fluid is cooled; see [0083] teaching cited wall of the first channel can be made of wick).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose wherein a thermoelectric generator is disposed between a wall of the first channel and adjacent wall of the second channel to form the shared, thermally coupled wall, the single integrated plate comprises a thermoelectric generator (TEG).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) incorporating a thermoelectric generator (TEG) (see Fig. 1B, annotated Fig. 1B below, and see [0080]).
Annotated Fig. 1B
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the single integrated plate of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses wherein a heat flux generated by evaporation of the liquid within the second channel and condensation of water within the first channel and a resulting transfer of heat between the second channel and the first channel is converted to energy (see Fig. 1 and see, for example [0083] of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claim 2, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a heat exchanger comprising:
a first channel (3, Fig. 1), the first channel comprising:
a first inlet proximate a first end of the first channel, the first inlet configured to intake a first heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first top end of the cited first channel 3, Fig. 1; see for example [0063] teaching a first heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within first channel 3); and
a first outlet proximate a second end of the first channel, the first outlet configured to expel the first heat transferring fluid (such a first outlet proximate a second bottom end of the cited first channel 3, Fig. 1);
a second channel (5, Fig. 1), the second channel comprising:
a second inlet proximate a first end of the second channel, the second inlet configured to intake a second heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first bottom end of the cited second channel 5, Fig. 1; see for example [0063] teaching a second heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within the cited second channel 5); and
a second outlet proximate a second end of the second channel, the second outlet configured to expel the second heat transferring fluid (such as a second outlet proximate a second top end of the cited second channel 5, Fig. 1), wherein
the first channel and second channel are separated by a single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited first channel 3 and cited second channel 5 are separated by a single integrated plate 7) having
a first surface forming a wall of the first channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 has a first left surface forming a wall of the cited first channel 3) and
a second surface forming a wall of the second channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 has a second right surface forming a wall of the cited second channel 5); wherein
the first surface and second surface of the single integrated plate are thermally coupled (see Fig. 1); and wherein
the single integrated plate is the only solid material separating the first channel and second channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 is the only solid material horizontally separating the cited first channel 3 and cited second channel 5), wherein
the wall of the first channel is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid and the first channel forms a dry channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited wall of the cited first channel 3 is cited to read on the claimed “is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid” because it is structurally capable of being dry prior to intake of the cited first heat transferring fluid; see [0063] teaching “Dry Channel-3”); wherein
a liquid is disposed along the walls of the second channel to form a wet channel (see 10 depicted in Fig. 1 as disposed along walls of the second channel 5 to form a wet channel; see [0063] “Wet Channel-5”); wherein
the second heat transferring fluid evaporates at least a portion of the liquid disposed along the walls of the second channel thereby reducing a temperature of the second surface of the single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1 and described in [0083], the cited second heat transferring fluid, recall working air 4 within the cited second channel 5, evaporates at least a portion of the liquid 10 disposed along the walls of the second channel 5 thereby reducing a temperature of the cited second right surface of the single integrated plate 7); wherein
evaporation of the liquid transfers heat between the second surface of the integrated plate and first surface of the single integrated plate such that reducing a temperature of the second surface of the single integrated plate reduces a temperature of the first surface of the single integrated plate and cools the first heat transferring fluid traversing the first channel which causes water to condense from the first heat transferring fluid and creates a pre-cooled first heat transferring fluid (as depicted in Fig. 1 and described in [0083], evaporation of the liquid 10 transfers heat between the cited second right surface of the single integrated plate 7 and the cited first left surface of the integrated plate 7 such that the cited reducing a temperature of the second right surface of the single integrated plate 7 reduces a temperature of the cited first left surface of the single integrated plate 7 and cools the cited first heat transferring fluid, recall working air 4 within first channel 3, traversing the first channel 3 which causes water to condense from the cited first heat transferring fluid and creates a pre-cooled first heat transferring fluid as the cited first heat transferring fluid is cooled; see [0083] teaching cited wall of the first channel can be made of wick).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose wherein a thermoelectric generator is disposed between a wall of the first channel and adjacent wall of the second channel to form the shared, thermally coupled wall, the single integrated plate comprises a thermoelectric generator (TEG).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) a single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below, the cited first channel and cited second channel are separated by a single integrated plate), wherein a TEG is embedded within the single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1B below, a TEG at components 31/32/33, 41/42/43, and 51/52/53 is embedded within the first top surface of 1 and the second bottom surface of 2 of the cited single integrated plate).
Annotated Fig. 1B
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the single integrated plate of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses wherein a heat flux generated by evaporation of the liquid within the second channel and condensation of water within the first channel and a resulting transfer of heat between the second channel and the first channel is converted to energy (see Fig. 1 and see, for example [0083] of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claims 3 and 4, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a heat exchanger comprising:
a first channel (3, Fig. 1), the first channel comprising:
a first inlet proximate a first end of the first channel, the first inlet configured to intake a first heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first top end of the cited first channel 3, Fig. 1; see for example [0063] teaching a first heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within first channel 3); and
a first outlet proximate a second end of the first channel, the first outlet configured to expel the first heat transferring fluid (such a first outlet proximate a second bottom end of the cited first channel 3, Fig. 1);
a second channel (5, Fig. 1), the second channel comprising:
a second inlet proximate a first end of the second channel, the second inlet configured to intake a second heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first bottom end of the cited second channel 5, Fig. 1; see for example [0063] teaching a second heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within the cited second channel 5); and
a second outlet proximate a second end of the second channel, the second outlet configured to expel the second heat transferring fluid (such as a second outlet proximate a second top end of the cited second channel 5, Fig. 1), wherein
the first channel and second channel are separated by a single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited first channel 3 and cited second channel 5 are separated by a single integrated plate 7) having
a first surface forming a wall of the first channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 has a first left surface forming a wall of the cited first channel 3) and
a second surface forming a wall of the second channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 has a second right surface forming a wall of the cited second channel 5); wherein
the first surface and second surface of the single integrated plate are thermally coupled (see Fig. 1); and wherein
the single integrated plate is the only solid material separating the first channel and second channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited single integrated plate 7 is the only solid material horizontally separating the cited first channel 3 and cited second channel 5), wherein
the wall of the first channel is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid and the first channel forms a dry channel (as depicted in Fig. 1, the cited wall of the cited first channel 3 is cited to read on the claimed “is dry prior to intake of the first heat transferring fluid” because it is structurally capable of being dry prior to intake of the cited first heat transferring fluid; see [0063] teaching “Dry Channel-3”); wherein
a liquid is disposed along the walls of the second channel to form a wet channel (see 10 depicted in Fig. 1 as disposed along walls of the second channel 5 to form a wet channel; see [0063] “Wet Channel-5”); wherein
the second heat transferring fluid evaporates at least a portion of the liquid disposed along the walls of the second channel thereby reducing a temperature of the second surface of the single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1 and described in [0083], the cited second heat transferring fluid, recall working air 4 within the cited second channel 5, evaporates at least a portion of the liquid 10 disposed along the walls of the second channel 5 thereby reducing a temperature of the cited second right surface of the single integrated plate 7); wherein
evaporation of the liquid transfers heat between the second surface of the integrated plate and first surface of the single integrated plate such that reducing a temperature of the second surface of the single integrated plate reduces a temperature of the first surface of the single integrated plate and cools the first heat transferring fluid traversing the first channel which causes water to condense from the first heat transferring fluid and creates a pre-cooled first heat transferring fluid (as depicted in Fig. 1 and described in [0083], evaporation of the liquid 10 transfers heat between the cited second right surface of the single integrated plate 7 and the cited first left surface of the integrated plate 7 such that the cited reducing a temperature of the second right surface of the single integrated plate 7 reduces a temperature of the cited first left surface of the single integrated plate 7 and cools the cited first heat transferring fluid, recall working air 4 within first channel 3, traversing the first channel 3 which causes water to condense from the cited first heat transferring fluid and creates a pre-cooled first heat transferring fluid as the cited first heat transferring fluid is cooled; see [0083] teaching cited wall of the first channel can be made of wick).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose wherein a thermoelectric generator is disposed between a wall of the first channel and adjacent wall of the second channel to form the shared, thermally coupled wall, the single integrated plate comprises a thermoelectric generator (TEG).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) a single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below, the cited first channel and cited second channel are separated by a single integrated plate), wherein a TEG is disposed along the second surface of the single integrated plate to contact the second heat transferring fluid (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1B below, a TEG at components 31/32/33, 41/42/43, 51/52/53, bottom horizontal portion of 1, and top horizontal potion of 2 is disposed along a second bottom surface 2 of the cited single integrated plate to contact a second heat transferring fluid flowing in direction 20), wherein the TEG forms the entirety of the single integrated plate (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1B below, the cited TEG, recall 31/32/33, 41/42/43, 51/52/53, bottom horizontal portion of 1, and top horizontal potion of 2, forms the entirety of the cited single integrated plate).
Annotated Fig. 1B
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the single integrated plate of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses wherein a heat flux generated by evaporation of the liquid within the second channel and condensation of water within the first channel and a resulting transfer of heat between the second channel and the first channel is converted to energy (see Fig. 1 and see, for example [0083] of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claim 6, independent claim 1 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein the heat exchanger further comprises
additional dry and wet channels arranged in an alternating pattern wherein a TEG is incorporated between walls of the wet and dry channels which form shared, thermally coupled walls (see Fig. 9a depicting additional dry and wet channels arranged in an alternating pattern, as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claim 7, dependent claim 6 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein
channels of the heat exchanger are comprised on rectangular prisms (see Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 8, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a heat exchanger comprising
an alternating series of wet and dry channels (see Fig. 9a depicting an alternating series of wet 5 and dry 3/1 channels), wherein
shared walls disposed between each of the alternating series of wet and dry channels (see Fig. 9a depicting shared walls 7/46 disposed between each of the alternating series of wet and dry channels),
each shared wall being thermally coupled (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a) and comprising
a first exposed surface forming a wall of a dry channel (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, a first left exposed surface forming a wall of the cited dry channel 3) and
a second exposed surface forming a wall of an adjacent wet channel (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, a second right exposed surface forming a wall of an adjacent wet channel 5), and
an integral sheet of material extending therebetween (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, an integral sheet of material 7/46 extending therebetween); wherein
the first exposed surface of each dry channel is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and 9a, the cited first exposed surface of each dry channel 3 is cited to read on the claimed “is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel” because it is structurally capable of being dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel; see [0063] teaching “Dry Channel-3”); wherein
the second exposed surface of each wet channel is coated in a liquid such that the passage of fluid through each wet channel evaporates a portion of the liquid coated on the second exposed surface of each wet channel thereby reducing a temperature of the second exposed surface of each of the shared walls (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the cited second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 is coated in a liquid 10 such that the passage of fluid 4 through each wet channel evaporates a portion of the liquid 10 coated on the second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 thereby reducing a temperature of the second right exposed surface of each of the shared walls 7/46); and wherein
the evaporation of the liquid transfers heat between the second exposed surface of each wet channel and the first exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel such that reducing the temperature of the second exposed surface of each wet channel reduces a temperature of the first exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel and any fluid traversing each dry channel, thereby resulting in condensation within each dry channel and transfer of heat from each dry channel through the shared wall to the wet channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the evaporation of the liquid 10 transfers heat between the cited second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 and the cited first left exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel 3 such that reducing the temperature of the second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 reduces a temperature of the first left exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel 3 and any fluid traversing each dry channel, thereby resulting in condensation within each dry channel and transfer of heat from each dry channel 3 through the shared wall 7/46 to the wet channel 5; see [0083] teaching cited wall of the dry channel can optionally be made of wick).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose a plurality of thermoelectric generators (TEGs).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B) incorporating a thermoelectric generator (TEG) (see Fig. 1B and see [0080]).
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified each integral sheet of material of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses the resulting transfer of heat from each dry channel 3 through the shared wall 7/46 and TEG to the wet channel 5, as modified above to include the TEG’s suggested by Gaiser et al., and a resulting heat flux is converted to energy (see Fig. 9 and see, for example [0083] of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claim 9, independent claim 8 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein each dry channel comprises:
a first inlet proximate a first end of the first channel, the first inlet configured to intake a first heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first top end of the cited first channel 3 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a; see for example [0109] teaching a first heat transferring fluid such as working air 4); and
a first outlet proximate a second end of the first channel, the first outlet configured to expel the first heat transferring fluid (such a first outlet proximate a second bottom end of the cited first channel 3 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a); each of the wet channels comprising:
a second inlet proximate a first end of the second channel, the second inlet configured to intake a second heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first bottom end of the cited second channel 5 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a; see for example [0109] teaching a second heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within the cited second channel 5); and
a second outlet proximate a second end of the second channel, the second outlet configured to expel the second heat transferring fluid (such as a second outlet proximate a second top end of the cited second channel 5 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a), wherein
the second heat transferring fluid interacts with the liquid to reduce a temperature on a wet channel side of the shared wall (see Fig. 9-9a and see for example [0083]).
With regard to claim 10, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein
the channels of the heat exchanger are comprised on rectangular prisms (see Fig. 9).
With regard to claim 12, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein
channels of the heat exchanger are comprised on metal (see [0052]).
With regard to claim 13, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a heat exchanger comprising
an alternating series of wet and dry channels (see Fig. 9a depicting an alternating series of wet 5 and dry 3/1 channels), wherein
shared walls disposed between each of the alternating series of wet and dry channels (see Fig. 9a depicting shared walls 7/46 disposed between each of the alternating series of wet and dry channels),
each shared wall being thermally coupled (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a) and comprising
a first exposed surface forming a wall of a dry channel (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, a first left exposed surface forming a wall of the cited dry channel 3) and
a second exposed surface forming a wall of an adjacent wet channel (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, a second right exposed surface forming a wall of an adjacent wet channel 5), and
an integral sheet of material extending therebetween (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, an integral sheet of material 7/46 extending therebetween); wherein
the first exposed surface of each dry channel is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and 9a, the cited first exposed surface of each dry channel 3 is cited to read on the claimed “is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel” because it is structurally capable of being dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel; see [0063] teaching “Dry Channel-3”); wherein
the second exposed surface of each wet channel is coated in a liquid such that the passage of fluid through each wet channel evaporates a portion of the liquid coated on the second exposed surface of each wet channel thereby reducing a temperature of the second exposed surface of each of the shared walls (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the cited second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 is coated in a liquid 10 such that the passage of fluid 4 through each wet channel evaporates a portion of the liquid 10 coated on the second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 thereby reducing a temperature of the second right exposed surface of each of the shared walls 7/46); and wherein
the evaporation of the liquid transfers heat between the second exposed surface of each wet channel and the first exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel such that reducing the temperature of the second exposed surface of each wet channel reduces a temperature of the first exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel and any fluid traversing each dry channel, thereby resulting in condensation within each dry channel and transfer of heat from each dry channel through the shared wall to the wet channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the evaporation of the liquid 10 transfers heat between the cited second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 and the cited first left exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel 3 such that reducing the temperature of the second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 reduces a temperature of the first left exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel 3 and any fluid traversing each dry channel, thereby resulting in condensation within each dry channel and transfer of heat from each dry channel 3 through the shared wall 7/46 to the wet channel 5; see [0083] teaching cited wall of the dry channel can optionally be made of wick) wherein each dry channel comprises:
a first inlet proximate a first end of the first channel, the first inlet configured to intake a first heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first top end of the cited first channel 3 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a; see for example [0109] teaching a first heat transferring fluid such as working air 4); and
a first outlet proximate a second end of the first channel, the first outlet configured to expel the first heat transferring fluid (such a first outlet proximate a second bottom end of the cited first channel 3 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a); each of the wet channels comprising:
a second inlet proximate a first end of the second channel, the second inlet configured to intake a second heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first bottom end of the cited second channel 5 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a; see for example [0109] teaching a second heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within the cited second channel 5); and
a second outlet proximate a second end of the second channel, the second outlet configured to expel the second heat transferring fluid (such as a second outlet proximate a second top end of the cited second channel 5 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a), wherein
the second heat transferring fluid interacts with the liquid to reduce a temperature on a wet channel side of the shared wall (see Fig. 9-9a and see for example [0083]).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose a plurality of thermoelectric generators (TEGs).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) a shared wall (as depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below, the cited first channel and cited second channel are separated by a single integrated plate/shared wall), wherein a TEG is embedded within the shared wall (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1B below, a TEG at components 31/32/33, 41/42/43, and 51/52/53 is embedded within the first top surface of 1 and the second bottom surface of 2 of the cited single integrated plate/shared wall).
Annotated Fig. 1B
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified each integral sheet of material of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses the resulting transfer of heat from each dry channel 3 through the shared wall 7/46 and TEG to the wet channel 5, as modified above to include the TEG’s suggested by Gaiser et al., and a resulting heat flux is converted to energy (see Fig. 9 and see, for example [0083] of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claims 14 and 15, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a heat exchanger comprising
an alternating series of wet and dry channels (see Fig. 9a depicting an alternating series of wet 5 and dry 3/1 channels), wherein
shared walls disposed between each of the alternating series of wet and dry channels (see Fig. 9a depicting shared walls 7/46 disposed between each of the alternating series of wet and dry channels),
each shared wall being thermally coupled (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a) and comprising
a first exposed surface forming a wall of a dry channel (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, a first left exposed surface forming a wall of the cited dry channel 3) and
a second exposed surface forming a wall of an adjacent wet channel (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, a second right exposed surface forming a wall of an adjacent wet channel 5), and
an integral sheet of material extending therebetween (such as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a, an integral sheet of material 7/46 extending therebetween); wherein
the first exposed surface of each dry channel is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and 9a, the cited first exposed surface of each dry channel 3 is cited to read on the claimed “is dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel” because it is structurally capable of being dry prior to passage of fluid through each dry channel; see [0063] teaching “Dry Channel-3”); wherein
the second exposed surface of each wet channel is coated in a liquid such that the passage of fluid through each wet channel evaporates a portion of the liquid coated on the second exposed surface of each wet channel thereby reducing a temperature of the second exposed surface of each of the shared walls (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the cited second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 is coated in a liquid 10 such that the passage of fluid 4 through each wet channel evaporates a portion of the liquid 10 coated on the second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 thereby reducing a temperature of the second right exposed surface of each of the shared walls 7/46); and wherein
the evaporation of the liquid transfers heat between the second exposed surface of each wet channel and the first exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel such that reducing the temperature of the second exposed surface of each wet channel reduces a temperature of the first exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel and any fluid traversing each dry channel, thereby resulting in condensation within each dry channel and transfer of heat from each dry channel through the shared wall to the wet channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the evaporation of the liquid 10 transfers heat between the cited second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 and the cited first left exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel 3 such that reducing the temperature of the second right exposed surface of each wet channel 5 reduces a temperature of the first left exposed surface of each adjacent dry channel 3 and any fluid traversing each dry channel, thereby resulting in condensation within each dry channel and transfer of heat from each dry channel 3 through the shared wall 7/46 to the wet channel 5; see [0083] teaching cited wall of the dry channel can optionally be made of wick) wherein each dry channel comprises:
a first inlet proximate a first end of the first channel, the first inlet configured to intake a first heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first top end of the cited first channel 3 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a; see for example [0109] teaching a first heat transferring fluid such as working air 4); and
a first outlet proximate a second end of the first channel, the first outlet configured to expel the first heat transferring fluid (such a first outlet proximate a second bottom end of the cited first channel 3 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a); each of the wet channels comprising:
a second inlet proximate a first end of the second channel, the second inlet configured to intake a second heat transferring fluid (such as a first inlet proximate a first bottom end of the cited second channel 5 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a; see for example [0109] teaching a second heat transferring fluid such as working air 4 within the cited second channel 5); and
a second outlet proximate a second end of the second channel, the second outlet configured to expel the second heat transferring fluid (such as a second outlet proximate a second top end of the cited second channel 5 detailed in Fig. 9, as embodied in the embodiment of Fig. 9a), wherein
the second heat transferring fluid interacts with the liquid to reduce a temperature on a wet channel side of the shared wall (see Fig. 9-9a and see for example [0083]).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose a plurality of thermoelectric generators (TEGs).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below) a shared wall with a first surface (as depicted in Fig. 1B and annotated Fig. 1B below, the cited first channel and cited second channel are separated by a single integrated plate/shared wall with a first top surface of the cited single integrated plate/shared wall), wherein the TEG forms the entirety of the shared walls (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1B below, a TEG, at components 31/32/33, 41/42/43, 51/52/53, bottom horizontal portion of 1, and top horizontal potion of 2, forms the entirety of the cited single integrated plate/shared wall), wherein the TEGs are disposed along the first surface of each shared wall (as depicted in Fig. 1 and annotated Fig. 1B below, the TEG, recall components 31/32/33, 41/42/43, 51/52/53, bottom horizontal portion of 1, and top horizontal potion of 2, are disposed along the cited first top surface of each shared wall).
Annotated Fig. 1B
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified each integral sheet of material of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses the resulting transfer of heat from each dry channel 3 through the shared wall 7/46 and TEG to the wet channel 5, as modified above to include the TEG’s suggested by Gaiser et al., and a resulting heat flux is converted to energy (see Fig. 9 and see, for example [0083] of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claims 16 and 17, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein
the TEGs connect to an electrical wire which transfers energy from the TEGs to fans to improve movement of the first and second heat transferring fluids through the wet and dry channels (see 74/11, Fig. 9; while Maisotsenko et al. teaches fans and TEGs, as modified by Gaiser et al. above, modified Maisotsenko et al. doesn’t teach connecting the TEGs to a wire to power the cited fans; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have powered the cited fans in the heat exchanger of Maisotsenko et al., as modified by Gaiser et al. above, with the cited TEGs because it would have provided for an on device power source).
With regard to claim 18, Maisotsenko et al. discloses a method of generating electricity to improve heat exchanger efficiency, the method comprising the steps of:
drawing a first heat transfer fluid through inlets of a plurality of dry channels and discharging the first heat transfer fluid through outlets of the dry channels; drawing a second heat transfer fluid through inlets of a plurality of wet channels and discharging the second heat transfer fluid through outlets of the wet channels (see Fig. 9a depicting an alternating series of wet 5 and dry 3/1 channels with corresponding inlets for drawing, outlets for discharging, and first/second heat transfer fluid 4 within each channel), wherein
a surface of a wall of each wet channel and a surface of a wall of each dry channel are joined together to form a shared thermally coupled wall (see Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a a right surface of a wall 7/46 of each wet channel 5 and a left surface of a wall 7/46 of each dry channel 3 are joined together to form a shared thermally coupled wall 7/46);
a passage of the second heat transfer fluid through the wet channels evaporates liquid within the wet channels to cool the surfaces of the shared thermally couple wall within each wet channel (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], a passage of the cited second heat transfer fluid through the wet channels 5 evaporates liquid 10 within the wet channels 5 to cool the surfaces of the shared thermally couple wall within each wet channel 5) and
the evaporation of liquid transfers heat between the surfaces of the shared thermally coupled wall within each wet channel and surface of the shared thermally coupled wall within each dry channel such that reducing temperature of the surfaces of the shared thermally coupled wall within each wet channel reduces the temperature of the surface of the shared thermally coupled walled within each dry channel as well the first heat transfer fluid traversing the dry channels resulting in condensation within the dry channels (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the evaporation of liquid 10 transfers heat between the surfaces of the shared thermally coupled wall within each wet channel 5 and surfaces of the shared thermally coupled wall within each dry channel 3 such that reducing temperature of the surfaces of the shared thermally coupled wall within each wet channel 5 reduces the temperature of the surfaces of the shared thermally coupled wall within each dry channel 3 as well the first heat transfer fluid traversing the cited dry channels 3 resulting in condensation within the dry channels 3; see [0083] teaching cited dry channel wall can optionally be made of wick); and
the dry channels transfer heat to the wet channels (as depicted in Fig. 9 and Fig. 9a and described in [0109], the dry channels 3 transfer heat to the wet channels 5).
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose wherein the shared thermally coupled wall comprises a thermoelectric generator (TEG).
However, Gaiser et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Abstract) and teaches between a first channel (such as a first channel formed within the interior space of 1 with flowing fluid in direction 10 depicted in Fig. 1B) and a second channel (such as a second channel formed within the interior space of 2 with flowing fluid in direction 20 depicted in Fig. 1B) incorporating a thermoelectric generator (TEG) (see Fig. 1B and see [0080]).
Gaiser et al. discloses the addition of the TEG provides for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation (see [0002-0003]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have modified the shared thermally coupled wall of Maisotsenko et al. to include incorporating a TEG as suggested by Gaiser et al. because it would have provided for improved efficiency by using thermal energy in flowing fluid for electric energy generation.
Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, discloses the dry channels 3 transfer heat to the wet channels 5 and generate energy as a heat flux passes through the TEG (see Fig. 9-9a and see for example [0083]; as modified above to include the TEGs suggested by Gaiser et al.).
With regard to claims 19 and 20, independent claim 18 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above. Maisotsenko et al. discloses wherein
the TEGs connect to an electrical wire which transfers energy from the TEGs to fans to improve a movement of the first and second heat transferring fluids through the wet and dry channels (see 74/11, Fig. 9; while Maisotsenko et al. teaches fans and TEGs, as modified by Gaiser et al. above, modified Maisotsenko et al. doesn’t teach connecting the TEGs to a wire to power the cited fans; however, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have powered the cited fans in the heat exchanger of Maisotsenko et al., as modified by Gaiser et al. above, with the cited TEGs because it would have provided for an on device power source).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maisotsenko et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2002/0038552 A1) in view of Gaiser et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2017/0358727 A1), and in further view of Koizumi et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0179867 A1).
With regard to claim 11, dependent claim 9 is obvious over Maisotsenko et al. in view of Gaiser et al. under 35 U.S.C. 103 as discussed above.
Maisotsenko et al. does not disclose wherein channels of the heat exchanger are comprised of cylinders.
However, the change in shape of the channels is an obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.04 IV B). Koizumi et al. discloses a heat exchanger (see Fig. 8) and teaches channels can conventionally be designed with rectangular or cylindrical shapes (see [0097]).
Thus, at the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the shape of the channels in the heat exchanger of Maisotsenko et al., as modified above, to include cylinder shapes, as exemplified by Koizumi et al., because the simple substitution of a known element known in the art to perform the same function supports a prima facie obviousness determination (see MPEP 2143 B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, in the Remarks and Declaration of Demis Pandelidis filed April 24, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues the claims do not include passage between the wet and dry channels like Maisotsenko. However, the claims do not preclude passage between the wet and dry channels.
Applicant argues has two separate fluid streams, working air stream 4 and product stream 2. However, the rejections of the claims do not cite working air stream 4 and product stream 2 to read on the claimed first and second heat transferring fluids. The claims do not require separate first and second heat transferring fluids.
Applicant argues Gaiser alone does not disclose a TEG as claimed in claim 1 and does not teach evaporative cooling. However, the rejections of the claims do not allege or rely on Gaiser alone to teach a TEG as claimed in claim 1 and evaporative cooling.
Applicant argues a person of ordinary skill in the art would not seek to combine Maisotsenko and Gaiser because they both lack key elements of the application as claimed. However, this argument is not persuasive.
The rejections of the claims maps out each claimed element and provide motivation for the combination.
Applicant argues there is not enough heat transfer across the TEG to generate electricity. However, this speculation is not persuasive.
Maisotsenko does not teach any heat transfer across the cited shared thermally coupled wall that is not enough to generate electricity from a TEG. In contrast Maisotsenko teaches increasing the heat transfer (see, for example, [0029]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUSTIN Q DAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1721 July 8, 2026