DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-8, 15-20, and 27-32 are presented for examination.
Claims 9-14 and 21-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 05/08/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 15, 16, 27, 29, 31, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Fibers, Oh My!,” Dale Weller, October 5, 2020, pages 1-23, retrieved from graphitemaster.github.io/fibers/#what-are-fibers, hereinafter Weller.
As per claim 1, Weller teaches the limitations as claimed, including an accelerator device, the accelerator device comprising:
a processing element array (Page 22); and
a command processor to:
receive a plurality of fibers each including multiple tasks and dependencies between the multiple tasks (Page 5, “…sharing it among multiple fibers…”; Page 8, dependencies);
place a first fiber in a sleep pool based on a first task within the first fiber having an unresolved dependency (Page 23);
place a second fiber in a ready pool based on a second task within the second fiber having a resolved dependency (Page 22, ready queue); and
launch the second task to be executed by the processing element array based on the second fiber being in the ready pool (Pages 22 and 23).
As per claim 7, Weller teaches that the plurality of fibers indicate fiber level dependencies between the plurality of fibers (Page 8), and wherein the command processor is configured to stall launch of tasks from a dependent fiber until the multiple tasks of an additional fiber on which the dependent fiber depends are executed by the processing element array (Page 23).
As per claim 8, Weller teaches that the plurality of fibers include multiple independent fibers, and wherein the command processor is configured to dispatch at least one task from each of the multiple independent fibers for in parallel execution by the processing element array (Page 3).
As per claim 15, it is a method claim with similar limitations as those rejected above, along with an additional limitation. As to the similar limitations, they are rejected for the same reasons listed above. As to the new limitation, Weller teaches generating, by the command processor, multiple sub-fibers from the fiber, the multiple sub-fibers each including two or more tasks that are independent of tasks within other sub-fibers (Pages 2-4).
As per claim 16, Weller teaches moving, by the command processor, the first sub-fiber to the ready pool based on the unresolved dependency being resolved (Page 22, ready queue) and launching, by the command processor, the first task to be executed by the processing element array in parallel with the second task (Pages 22 and 23).
As per claims 27, 29, 31, and 32, they are system claims with no further limitations beyond those rejected above. Therefore, they are rejected for the same reasons.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6, 17-20, 28, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/GREGORY A KESSLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2197