DETAILED ACTION
This Action is in response to Applicant’s response filed on 09/16/2025. Claims 1 and 3-13 are still pending in the present application. Claim 2 is canceled. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 09/16/2025 have been fully considered but are moot in view of Von Badinski et al (U.S. 20150220109 A1; Von) and Sanchez et al (U.S. 20220320899 A1; Sanchez).
Claim Status
Claim(s) 1 and 3-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Badinski et al (U.S. 20150220109 A1; Von), in view of Sanchez et al (U.S. 20220320899 A1; Sanchez).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Von Badinski et al (U.S. 20150220109 A1; Von), in view of Sanchez et al (U.S. 20220320899 A1; Sanchez).
Regarding claim 1, Von discloses a detection device (Paragraph 155: “a wearable computing device (WCD) that enables a wearable fitness monitor(s)/computer(s) which is suitable for prolonged usage with accurate results”) comprising:
a ring-shaped housing wearable on a living body; (Paragraph 155: “The WCD can be in the form of a ring that can be worn on the finger of a human (or animal) user.”)
a light source provided inside the housing; (Fig.3B: and Paragraph 167: “As shown in the example of FIG. 3B, the sensor modules 220 can include a temperature sensor 320a, a red light emitting diode (LED) 320b, a light sensor 320c, and an infra-red LED 320d.”; Fig.20a: light source 2070; Fig. 21A: IR source 2110) an optical sensor provided inside the housing; (Fig.20 A: CPV 2022; optical element 2090; Fig.21A and Paragraph 243: “the WCD 2100 can include one or more infrared illumination sources 2110 and an infrared CMOS imaging device 2120. The finger 2190 can extend through the finger space of the WCD and the IR source 2110 can illuminate a portion of the skin of the finger 2190”)
a battery (Fig. 4: battery 480; Fig.6: battery 680); and a wireless power receiving element configured to charge the battery, (Fig.6: electromagnetic Induction Charging Coil)
wherein the optical sensor is provided in an area facing the light source inside the housing, (Fig.20 and Paragraph 238: “FIG. 20A is a cross section of a WCD 2000 engaged with a base assembly 2050 according to one or more aspects of the disclosure. In this example, the magnets 2060 can surround the concentrated light source 2070, and the WCD can include a ferrous steel 2020, CPV 2022, … the base assembly can include one or more optical elements 2090 for focusing the concentrated light 2080.”, it shows that “concentrated photovoltaic (CPV) sensor” is facing the “light source 2070”. The person ordinary skill in the art would know that “concentrated photovoltaic (CPV) sensor” is a type of optical sensor that user to convert light)
a coil of the power receiving element is provided outside the optical sensor in the housing, (Paragraph 187: “the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board,”; Fig.6: electromagnetic Induction Charging Coil; Paragraph 179: “the power generation and management module 240 can include electromagnetic induction charging coil so that a WCD (e.g., ring 610) can be charged using an inductive charger. FIG. 6 shows an exploded view 600 of such alternative embodiment of WCD with the inductive charging mechanism including the charging coil 640, as well as battery 680, housing 612, and rigid-flex PCBA 615.”, it show that “rigid-flex PCBA 615” included “the optical sensor and/or light sensor” (module 220), and
the battery , the coil of the wireless power receiving element, and the optical sensor are arranged sequentially from an outer spherical surface side of the housing to an inner spherical surface side of the housing. (Paragraph 187: “the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board ; Fig. 6 and Paragraph 179: FIG. 6 shows an exploded view 600 of such alternative embodiment of WCD with the inductive charging mechanism including the charging coil 640, as well as battery 680, housing 612, and rigid-flex PCBA 615.”; it shows that “the rigid-flex PCBA 615” including light sensor and/or optical sensor (module 220).)
However, Von does not discloses the coil of the wireless power receiving element, the battery, and the optical sensor are arranged sequentially from an outer spherical surface side of the housing to an inner spherical surface side of the housing.
Sanchez discloses the coil of the wireless power receiving element, the battery, and the optical sensor are arranged sequentially (Fig.5; Paragraph 62: “ Disposed within a housing 510 of the smart ring, may be a power source 520 (e.g., battery 120), a charging circuit 530 (e.g., included in the charging unit 130) that includes an induction coil 532 and rectification components 536, and a smart-ring component 540 (referred to as component 540). The component 540 may be a part or an entirety of the controller 140, the sensor unit 150, the user input unit 170, the communications unit 160 or the output unit 190.”; Paragraph 36: “The sensor unit 150 may include one or more sensors disposed within or throughout the housing 110 of the ring 101, Each of the one or more sensors may transduce one or more of: light, sound, acceleration, translational or rotational movement, strain, temperature, chemical composition, surface conductivity or other suitable signals into electrical or electronic sensors or signals.”) from an outer spherical surface side of the housing to an inner spherical surface side of the housing. (Fig.3 and Paragraph 50: “On the outside of the configuration 305a, the interfaces 312a, 312b may be electrically or optically connected with a charger to transfer energy from the charger to a battery (e.g., the battery 120), or with another device to transfer data to or from the ring 305a. The outer surface of the configuration 305a may include a display 390a, while the inner surface may include a biometric sensor 350a.”; , it shows that the outer surface including an induction coil 532 first and then a battery 120 or a power source 520 and the sensor unit 150 include light sensor/optical sensor disposed within the housing of the ring and/or the inner surface include a sensor 150 and/or smart-ring component 540.
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von by including a charging system for a smart ring that is taught by Sanchez, to make the invention that charging smart ring devices using energy harvested from motion; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving the changes in magnetic flux through the coil and enhancing the generating electricity for charging the power source.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Von further discloses the housing is a finger ring. (Paragraph 155: “The WCD can be in the form of a ring that can be worn on the finger of a human (or animal) user.”)
Regarding claim 4, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses the housing is formed of a ceramic. (Paragraph 76: “the ring 700 may be configured as a radial ball bearing. … The balls may be made of plastic, glass, ceramic, metal or metal alloy (e.g., steel) or any other suitable material.)
Regarding claim 5, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Von further discloses the light source comprises a first light source configured to emit near-infrared light and a second light source configured to emit red light. (Fig.3: red led 320b and IR led 320d; Paragraph 167: “As shown in the example of FIG. 3B, the sensor modules 220 can include a temperature sensor 320a, a red light emitting diode (LED) 320b, a light sensor 320c, and an infra-red LED 320d.”)
Regarding claim 6, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses a plurality of the first light sources and a plurality of the second light sources are alternately arranged. ( Paragraph 39; Paragraph 50-52: FIG. 3 includes perspective views of example configurations 305a, 305b, and 305c of a smart right (e.g., the smart ring 101) in which a number of surface elements are included. … a variety of suitable surface elements may be disposed at the illustrated configurations 305a, 305b, and 305c at largely interchangeable locations. For example, the output elements 390d, 390e, and 390f may be replaced with sensors (e.g., UV sensor, ambient light or noise sensors, etc.”),
Regarding claim 7, Von discloses A detection system (Paragraph 36: “a wearable computing device system”) comprising:
a detection device (Paragraph 155: “a wearable computing device (WCD) that enables a wearable fitness monitor(s)/computer(s) which is suitable for prolonged usage with accurate results”) ; and a power supply device configured to supply power to the detection device, (Fig.2 ; Paragraph 162: “As shown in diagram 200, the WCD 110 can include a processor module 210, a plurality of sensor modules 220, a status indicator module 230, a power generation and management module 240 … the WCD 110 can also include a battery module 280 that provides electrical power for the WCD 110.”) wherein the detection device comprises:
a ring-shaped housing wearable on a living body; (Paragraph 155: “The WCD can be in the form of a ring that can be worn on the finger of a human (or animal) user.”)
a light source provided inside the housing; (Fig.3B: and Paragraph 167: “As shown in the example of FIG. 3B, the sensor modules 220 can include a temperature sensor 320a, a red light emitting diode (LED) 320b, a light sensor 320c, and an infra-red LED 320d.”; Fig.20a: light source 2070; Fig. 21A: IR source 2110) an optical sensor provided inside the housing; (Fig.20 A: CPV 2022; optical element 2090; Fig.21A and Paragraph 243: “the WCD 2100 can include one or more infrared illumination sources 2110 and an infrared CMOS imaging device 2120. The finger 2190 can extend through the finger space of the WCD and the IR source 2110 can illuminate a portion of the skin of the finger 2190”)
a battery (Fig. 4: battery 480; Fig.6: battery 680); and a wireless power receiving element configured to charge the battery, (Fig.6: electromagnetic Induction Charging Coil)
wherein the optical sensor is provided in an area facing the light source inside the housing, (Fig.20 and Paragraph 238: “FIG. 20A is a cross section of a WCD 2000 engaged with a base assembly 2050 according to one or more aspects of the disclosure. In this example, the magnets 2060 can surround the concentrated light source 2070, and the WCD can include a ferrous steel 2020, CPV 2022, … the base assembly can include one or more optical elements 2090 for focusing the concentrated light 2080.”, it shows that “concentrated photovoltaic (CPV) sensor” is facing the “light source 2070”. The person ordinary skill in the art would know that “concentrated photovoltaic (CPV) sensor” is a type of optical sensor that user to convert light)
a coil of the power receiving element is provided outside the optical sensor in the housing, (Paragraph 187: “the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board,”; Fig.6: electromagnetic Induction Charging Coil; Paragraph 179: “the power generation and management module 240 can include electromagnetic induction charging coil so that a WCD (e.g., ring 610) can be charged using an inductive charger. FIG. 6 shows an exploded view 600 of such alternative embodiment of WCD with the inductive charging mechanism including the charging coil 640, as well as battery 680, housing 612, and rigid-flex PCBA 615.”, it show that “rigid-flex PCBA 615” included “the optical sensor and/or light sensor” (module 220), and
the battery , the coil of the wireless power receiving element, and the optical sensor are arranged sequentially from an outer spherical surface side of the housing to an inner spherical surface side of the housing. (Paragraph 187: “the modules 210-270 (of FIG. 2) are formed on a flexible or rigid-flex printed circuit (FPC) board ; Fig. 6 and Paragraph 179: FIG. 6 shows an exploded view 600 of such alternative embodiment of WCD with the inductive charging mechanism including the charging coil 640, as well as battery 680, housing 612, and rigid-flex PCBA 615.”; it shows that “the rigid-flex PCBA 615” including light sensor and/or optical sensor (module 220).)
However, Von does not discloses the coil of the wireless power receiving element, the battery, and the optical sensor are arranged sequentially from an outer spherical surface side of the housing to an inner spherical surface side of the housing.
Sanchez discloses the coil of the wireless power receiving element, the battery, and the optical sensor are arranged sequentially (Fig.5; Paragraph 62: “ Disposed within a housing 510 of the smart ring, may be a power source 520 (e.g., battery 120), a charging circuit 530 (e.g., included in the charging unit 130) that includes an induction coil 532 and rectification components 536, and a smart-ring component 540 (referred to as component 540). The component 540 may be a part or an entirety of the controller 140, the sensor unit 150, the user input unit 170, the communications unit 160 or the output unit 190.”; Paragraph 36: “The sensor unit 150 may include one or more sensors disposed within or throughout the housing 110 of the ring 101, Each of the one or more sensors may transduce one or more of: light, sound, acceleration, translational or rotational movement, strain, temperature, chemical composition, surface conductivity or other suitable signals into electrical or electronic sensors or signals.”) from an outer spherical surface side of the housing to an inner spherical surface side of the housing. (Fig.3 and Paragraph 50: “On the outside of the configuration 305a, the interfaces 312a, 312b may be electrically or optically connected with a charger to transfer energy from the charger to a battery (e.g., the battery 120), or with another device to transfer data to or from the ring 305a. The outer surface of the configuration 305a may include a display 390a, while the inner surface may include a biometric sensor 350a.”; , it shows that the outer surface including an induction coil 532 first and then a battery 120 or a power source 520 and the sensor unit 150 include light sensor/optical sensor disposed within the housing of the ring and/or the inner surface include a sensor 150 and/or smart-ring component 540.
Therefore, it would been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Von by including a charging system for a smart ring that is taught by Sanchez, to make the invention that charging smart ring devices using energy harvested from motion; thus, one of ordinary skilled in the art would have been motivated to combine the references since this will improving the changes in magnetic flux through the coil and enhancing the generating electricity for charging the power source.
Thus, the claimed subject matter would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 8, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses an alternating- current voltage is to be applied to the power supply element. (Paragraph 64: “ The rectifying components 536 included in the charging circuit 530 may be configured to convert the generally alternating current (AC) waveform generated in the coil 532 to a direct current (DC) output suitable for charging the power source 520. Smoothing the voltage excursions in the generated AC (e.g., by converting to DC) may increase the energy efficiency of charging.”)
Regarding claim 9, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses the power supply element is provided in a mobile phone. (Paragraph 55: “The smart ring 405 may interact (e.g., by sensing, sending data, receiving data, receiving energy) with a variety of devices, such as bracelet 420 or another suitable wearable device, a mobile device 422 (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet, etc.) that may be, for example, the user device 104, another ring 424 (e.g., another smart ring, a charger for the smart ring 405, etc.), a secure access panel 432, a golf club 434 (or another recreational accessory), a smart ring 436 worn by another user, or a steering wheel 438 (or another vehicle interface).”; Paragraph 62, Paragraph 57)
Regarding claim 10, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses the power supply element is provided in a steering wheel of a mobile object. (Paragraph 55: “The smart ring 405 may interact (e.g., by sensing, sending data, receiving data, receiving energy) with a variety of devices, such as bracelet 420 or another suitable wearable device, a mobile device 422 (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet, etc.) that may be, for example, the user device 104, another ring 424 (e.g., another smart ring, a charger for the smart ring 405, etc.), a secure access panel 432, a golf club 434 (or another recreational accessory), a smart ring 436 worn by another user, or a steering wheel 438 (or another vehicle interface).”); Paragraph 62, Paragraph 57)
Regarding claim 11, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses the power supply element is provided in a handrail to be contacted by an object wearing the detection device. (Paragraph 55: “The smart ring 405 may interact (e.g., by sensing, sending data, receiving data, receiving energy) with a variety of devices, such as bracelet 420 or another suitable wearable device, a mobile device 422 (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet, etc.) that may be, for example, the user device 104, another ring 424 (e.g., another smart ring, a charger for the smart ring 405, etc.), a secure access panel 432, a golf club 434 (or another recreational accessory), a smart ring 436 worn by another user, or a steering wheel 438 (or another vehicle interface).”, Paragraph 62, Paragraph 57)
Regarding claim 12, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses the power supply element is provided in an input device of a computer. (Paragraph 55: “The smart ring 405 may interact (e.g., by sensing, sending data, receiving data, receiving energy) with a variety of devices, such as bracelet 420 or another suitable wearable device, a mobile device 422 (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet, etc.) that may be, for example, the user device 104, another ring 424 (e.g., another smart ring, a charger for the smart ring 405, etc.), a secure access panel 432, a golf club 434 (or another recreational accessory), a smart ring 436 worn by another user, or a steering wheel 438 (or another vehicle interface).”, Paragraph 62, Paragraph 57)
Regarding claim 13, Von, as modified by Sanchez, discloses all the claims invention. Sanchez further discloses the power supply element is provided in a hanging strap of a mobile object. (Figs. 4-5; Paragraph 55: “The smart ring 405 may interact (e.g., by sensing, sending data, receiving data, receiving energy) with a variety of devices, such as bracelet 420 or another suitable wearable device, a mobile device 422 (e.g., a smart phone, a tablet, etc.) that may be, for example, the user device 104, another ring 424 (e.g., another smart ring, a charger for the smart ring 405, etc.), a secure access panel 432, a golf club 434 (or another recreational accessory), a smart ring 436 worn by another user, or a steering wheel 438 (or another vehicle interface).”, Paragraph 62, Paragraph 57: “The chargers for may transfer energy to the ring 405 via a wired or wireless (e.g., inductive coupling) connection with the charging unit 130 of the ring 405.”; the one having ordinary skill in the art can be understand that power supply can be provide in a hanging strap of a mobile object base on the wireless power transfer)
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Wittenberg et al (U.S. 20190074729 A1), “Architecture of Portable Electronic Devices With Wireless Charing Receiver Systems”, , teaches about the wireless power receiving system can be configured to receive charge from various wireless charging devices and can fit within a compact enclosure of the portable electronic device along with an antenna configured for wireless (e.g., radio wave) communication. In some embodiments, the portable electronic device can be a smart watch that has a receiver system designed to include at least two different receiver coils for receiving wireless power from different wireless charging devices. The portable electronic device can have a compact footprint while having the ability to charge from multiple wireless charging devices, thereby easing the way in which the portable electronic device can receive power to charge its battery.
Vescovi et al (U.S. 20150277559 A1), “Devices And Methods For A Ring Computing Device”, teaches about A user controls an external electronic device with a finger-ring-mounted touchscreen that includes a computer processor, wireless transceiver, and rechargeable power source; the ring is worn on a first finger receives an input from a second finger, selects one of a plurality of touch events associated with the input, and wirelessly transmits a command associated with the touch event to the external electronic device.
Kato et al (U.S. 20220036036 A1), “Detection Device”, teaches about A detection device includes a plurality of optical sensors arranged in a detection area, a light source configured to emit light that is emitted to an object to be detected and is detected by the optical sensors, and a processor configured to perform processing based on outputs from the optical sensors. The processor is configured to determine, based on the outputs of the respective optical sensors obtained at a cycle of a predetermined period, an optical sensor an output of which is to be employed from among the optical sensors.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUY TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674