Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. JP 2022-122828, filed on 08/01/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US Patent No. 9,065,111 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches a battery pack (Abstract) comprising: a cell stack configured by stacking a plurality of battery cells with a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape (Abstract, Fig. 4); and a battery case provided in a substantially rectangular parallelepiped shape and accommodating the cell stack (Abstract, Fig. 2), wherein the battery case includes a first protrusion (Lattice shaped rib 112a) protruding from an outer surface of the battery case to an outside of the battery case at a position of a gap between adjacent battery cells in a stacking direction of the cell stack (Fig. 5, Modified Fig. 8a).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein: the battery case includes a pair of side walls (side walls 112), the pair of side walls extending along the stacking direction and facing a side surface of the cell stack (Column 3, lines 35-44; Fig. 2); and the first protrusion is provided on at least one of the pair of side walls (Column 3, lines 3-4; Modified Fig. 8a).
Figure 1: Modified Figure 8a
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-5 & 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Choi et al (U.S. Patent No. 11,777,172 B2).
Regarding claim 3, Kim fails to teach a second protrusion that protrudes from an inner surface of the battery case to be interposed between adjacent battery cells on an inner side of the first protrusion.
Choi teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the battery case includes a second protrusion (spacing bar SS) that protrudes from an inner surface of the battery case to be interposed between the adjacent battery cells on an inner side of the first protrusion (Fig. 3; Column 3, lines 29-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Kim by incorporating the second protrusions between adjacent battery cells and to place them on an inner side of the first protrusion, as taught by Choi. Doing so would secure a gap between adjacent cells and accommodate battery swelling and volume expansion, preventing excessive stress and battery pack deterioration, as stated by Choi (Column 6, lines 10-21).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kim teaches the battery pack according to claim 3, wherein the battery case includes a pair of side walls (sidewalls 112), the pair of side walls extending along the stacking direction and facing a side surface of the cell stack (Column 3, lines 35-44; Fig. 2); the first protrusion is provided on at least one of the pair of side walls; the battery case includes a first rib provided on an outer surface of at least one of the pair of side walls on which the first protrusion is provided (Reinforcement portion 180; Fig. 6, 7a); and the first rib is provided to extend parallel or obliquely to the stacking direction (Claims 13, 17). However, Kim fails to teach the second protrusion provided on at least one pair of the side walls, and a first rib on which the second protrusion is provided.
Choi teaches the second protrusion provided on at least one pair of the side walls (Claims 19-20; Fig. 6), a first rib (Connection bar SC1) provided on an outer surface of at least one of the pair of side walls on which the second protrusion is provided (Fig. 6), and the first rib is provided to extend parallel or obliquely to the stacking direction (Column 6, lines 39-42; Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Kim by incorporating a rib on which a second protrusion is formed, as taught by Choi, in order to improve rigidity in the stacking direction, as recognized by Choi.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kim teaches the battery pack according to claim 4, wherein: the first protrusion provided on at least one of the pair of side walls is provided for each gap of the adjacent battery cells in the cell stack (Lattice shaped rib 112a; Fig. 8a), and the first protrusion provided on at least one of the pair of side walls is provided so as to extend along a gap of the adjacent battery cells (Fig. 7a); and the first rib is provided so as to bridge between the first protrusions adjacent to each other (Reinforcement portion 180; Fig. 6, 7a).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kim teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein: the battery case includes a bottom wall (Bottom portion 111) extending along the stacking direction and facing a bottom surface of the cell stack (Column 3, lines 40-42; Fig. 4). However, Kim fails to teach a third protrusion protruding from an inner surface of the bottom wall to be interposed between adjacent battery cells, and a second rib provided on an outer surface of the bottom wall of the battery case, wherein the second rib extends parallel or obliquely to the stacking direction.
Choi teaches a third protrusion protruding from an inner surface of the bottom wall so as to be interposed between the adjacent battery cells (Column 15, lines 4-8); and the battery case includes a second rib (Bottom connection bar SC2) provided on an outer surface of the bottom wall (Column 2, lines 44-48), wherein the second rib is provided to extend parallel or obliquely to the stacking direction (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery pack taught by Kim by incorporating a third protrusion from the bottom surface to be interposed between adjacent battery cells, and by arranging a second rib on the bottom wall extending in the stacking direction, as taught by Choi. Doing so would increase structural rigidity and provide a gap between batteries in case of swelling, as recognized by Choi.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Park (U.S. Patent No. 9,112,207 B2).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein: the battery case includes an upper wall (Upper cover 122) extending along the stacking direction and facing an upper surface of the cell stack (Fig. 1a). However, Kim fails to teach a third protrusion protruding from an inner surface of the upper wall to be interposed between adjacent cells, and a second rib provided on an outer surface of the upper wall of the battery case, wherein the second rib extends parallel or obliquely to the stacking direction.
Park teaches a third protrusion (Dividing panel 27) protruding from an inner surface of the upper wall (Upper panel 26) so as to be interposed between the adjacent battery cells (Fig. 4); and the battery case includes a second rib (Fig. 1; long box-shaped rib extending down the middle of the cover) provided on an outer surface of the upper wall, wherein the second rib is provided so as to extend parallel or obliquely to the stacking direction (Fig. 1; X-direction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the battery pack taught by Kim by incorporating a protrusion protruding from the upper wall to a gap between two cells and by including a second rib extending along the outer surface of the upper wall, as taught by Park. Doing so would improve battery and frame stability, as recognized by Park (Column 1, lines 14-19).
Conclusion
/CAMERON M BAIRD/
Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728