DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 11/25/2025.
Claims 1-18 and 21-22 are pending.
Claims 1, 12 and 18 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections under 35 USC § 112, first paragraph is withdrawn.
Applicant’s argument(s) a filed on 12/25/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-18 and 21-22 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
In the communication field, applicant argues in substance that:
a. Regarding claim(s) 1,12 and 18, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 2-4)
“Claim 1 has been amended, in part, as follows:
"The combination of Badr, Jung and Leekin do not teach detecting, at a sensor associated with a display providing content, a first indication corresponding to an intent of a user; predicting the intent of the user based on the first indication and historical information; in response to the predicted intent, initiating preemptive caching of additional content corresponding to a webpage having content;”
Applicant's argument(s) b filed on 12/25/2025 with respect to claim(s) 1-18 and 21-22 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
b. Regarding claim(s) 1,12 and 18, Applicant argues (Remark page(s) 2-4)
“The combination of Badr, Jung and Leekin do not teach detecting at the sensor, a second indication based on sensor input received after the preemptive caching has begun; determining that the predicted intent of the user has changed based on the second indication; and ceasing the preemptive caching based on the change in the predicted intent of the user, wherein the sensor input comprises one or more of gaze detection data, pressure detection data, movement detection data, or hover detection data.”
In response to argument [b], Examiners respectfully disagrees.
The examiner interprets the claim limitation as " detecting at the sensor, an input received after the preemptive caching has begun; determining that the predicted intent of the user based on the input; and ceasing/stopping/pausing the preemptive caching based on the predicted intent of the user, wherein the sensor input comprises one or more of gaze detection data, pressure detection data, movement detection data, or hover detection data". Therefore, Leekin teaches this interpretation because "[0030]-[0031], FIG.1; the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9, 10, 12-16, 18 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lymberopoulos (US 20130226837 A1) in view of Leekin (US 20200153696 A1).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions embodied thereon that, when executed, perform a method for performing a caching action based on end-user cues, the method comprising:
Lymberopoulos teaches detecting, at a sensor associated with a display providing content, a first indication corresponding to an intent of a user; (Lymberopoulos, [0023], FIG. 2 represents the online usage of the model 108 (or a copied instance thereof). One of a set of user actions 220, such as unlocking the device, may trigger a prediction operation. Other actions that may trigger a prediction operation include when the user activates a browser, visits a URL, launches an application, when a scheduled event occurs, and so forth. [0025], for each of the feature vectors and corresponding targeted URLs, the model assigns an access probability, as presented by the URL-access probability set 230. Depending on these resulting probabilities as evaluated against a pre-configured threshold probability, e.g., as evaluated by a pre-fetching determination mechanism 232, none, one or more targeted URLs are fetched. Note that content pre-fetching may include pre-fetching the web page content along with any associated images, cascading style sheets, java script, and so forth. This is represented in FIG. 2 as pre-fetched content 234. [0047], while the above example was mostly described in the context of pre-fetching web content for output by a user's browser program, other mechanisms may use the technology in a similar manner. For example, a device may launch an application, which may or may not pre-fetch content, based upon a model that predicts the user's actions based upon historical usage/access patterns. In this way, for example, an application may be pre-loaded into memory to start faster. As another example, a user who regularly runs an application that gets the weather forecast every morning when he or she wakes up is able to have the application automatically launched and/or the content for that application pre-fetched based upon previous access patterns (and a triggering event, which may be the time of day or powering up the device). [examiner notes: a triggering event interprets to be the first indication.])
predicting the intent of the user based on the first indication and historical information; (Lymberopoulos, [0047], while the above example was mostly described in the context of pre-fetching web content for output by a user's browser program, other mechanisms may use the technology in a similar manner. For example, a device may launch an application, which may or may not pre-fetch content, based upon a model that predicts the user's actions based upon historical usage/access patterns. In this way, for example, an application may be pre-loaded into memory to start faster. As another example, a user who regularly runs an application that gets the weather forecast every morning when he or she wakes up is able to have the application automatically launched and/or the content for that application pre-fetched based upon previous access patterns (and a triggering event, which may be the time of day or powering up the device). [examiner notes: a triggering event interprets to be the first indication. Historical usage interprets to be the first indication. Predicting the user's actions interpret to be predicting the of the user.])
in response to the predicted intent, initiating preemptive caching of additional content corresponding to a webpage having content; (Lymberopoulos, [0025], for each of the feature vectors and corresponding targeted URLs, the model assigns an access probability, as presented by the URL-access probability set 230. Depending on these resulting probabilities as evaluated against a pre-configured threshold probability, e.g., as evaluated by a pre-fetching determination mechanism 232, none, one or more targeted URLs are fetched. Note that content pre-fetching may include pre-fetching the web page content along with any associated images, cascading style sheets, java script, and so forth. This is represented in FIG. 2 as pre-fetched content 234.)
Lymberopoulos does not teach detecting at the sensor, a second indication based on sensor input received after the preemptive caching has begun; determining that the predicted intent of the user has changed based on the second indication; and ceasing the preemptive caching based on the change in the predicted intent of the user, wherein the sensor input comprises one or more of gaze detection data, pressure detection data, movement detection data, or hover detection data.
Leekin however in the same field of computer networking teaches detecting at the sensor, a second indication based on sensor input received after the preemptive caching has begun; (Leekin, [0030]- [0031], FIG.1; the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.)
determining that the predicted intent of the user has changed based on the second indication; and (Leekin, [0030]- [0031], FIG.1; the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.)
ceasing the preemptive caching based on the change in the predicted intent of the user,
wherein the sensor input comprises one or more of gaze detection data, pressure detection data, movement detection data, or hover detection data. (Leekin, [0030]- [0031], FIG.1; the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system/method of Lymberopoulos to specify detecting at the sensor, a second indication based on sensor input received after the preemptive caching has begun; determining that the predicted intent of the user has changed based on the second indication; and ceasing the preemptive caching based on the change in the predicted intent of the user, wherein the sensor input comprises one or more of gaze detection data, pressure detection data, movement detection data, or hover detection data as taught by Leekin. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to improve and optimizes computer systems and computer networks by requiring less data to be transmitted over a data network while still achieving equal satisfaction by a data consumer (Leekin, [0015]).
Claim(s) 12 and 18 is/are substantially similar to claim 1, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin teach wherein the historical information corresponds to prior actions taken by the user. (Lymberopoulos, [0016], while pre-fetching web content in the form of URLs for a browser is used as one example, any downloaded content (e.g., applications and/or application content) may be preloaded and/or pre-fetched based upon the technology described herein. [0023], FIG. 2 represents the online usage of the model 108 (or a copied instance thereof). One of a set of user actions 220, such as unlocking the device, may trigger a prediction operation. Other actions that may trigger a prediction operation include when the user activates a browser, visits a URL, launches an application, when a scheduled event occurs, and so forth.)
Regarding claim(s) 3, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin teach wherein the historical information corresponds to previously accessed content associated with the webpage. (Lymberopoulos, [0016], while pre-fetching web content in the form of URLs for a browser is used as one example, any downloaded content (e.g., applications and/or application content) may be preloaded and/or pre-fetched based upon the technology described herein. [0023], FIG. 2 represents the online usage of the model 108 (or a copied instance thereof). One of a set of user actions 220, such as unlocking the device, may trigger a prediction operation. Other actions that may trigger a prediction operation include when the user activates a browser, visits a URL, launches an application, when a scheduled event occurs, and so forth.)
Regarding claim(s) 6, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin teach further comprising determining the indication based on gaze detection corresponding to the user. (Leekin, [0030], the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 9, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin teach further comprising determining the indication based on movement detection corresponding to a user device. (Lymberopoulos, [0018], the sensing devices 110 may each be integrated, attached, or otherwise connected to one of the user devices 111. The sensing devices 110 may be a camera, a webcam, an image capture device, a movement detector sensor, or any device that may be capable of determining, or facilitating the determination of, the gaze of a user..)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Regarding claim(s) 10, the media of claim 9,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin teach wherein the user device is a mouse or touch-sensitive device. (Lymberopoulos, [0059], a user may communicate with other users via speaking into the microphone 542 and via text messages that are entered on the key pad 541 or a touch sensitive display 543, for example.)
Regarding claim(s) 22, the system of claim 18,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin teach wherein the processor is further configured to resume the preemptive caching if the predicted intent of the user increases above a threshold. (Leekin, (Leekin, [0030], the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 1 applies here.
Claim(s) 13 is/are substantially similar to claim 2, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 14 is/are substantially similar to claim 6, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Claim(s) 16 is/are substantially similar to claim 9, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
2. Claim(s) 4, 5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over in view of Lymberopoulos-Leekin further in view of Matejka (US 20160360262 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 4, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin do not teach further comprising loading the additional content in the background without changing the display providing content.
Matejka however in the same field of computer networking teaches further comprising loading the additional content in the background without changing the display providing content. (MATEJKA, [0028] Thus, while one video stream is playing on media player 212, media player 214 and the third media player may be assigned to the background of the display region and one or more of the media players 212 may load a different video stream while in the background of the display region)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system/method of Lymberopoulos to specify further comprising loading the additional content in the background without changing the display providing content as taught by Matejka. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to detect an event associated with the playback of the first video stream, and, in response, initiating playback of the second video stream within the foreground of the display region (Matejka, [0007]).
Regarding claim(s) 5, the media of claim 4,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin-Matejka teach further comprising, upon receiving an interaction from the user, changing the display to cease providing the additional content. (Leekin, [0030], the adjusting module 134 may be configured to pause or resume downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. Still further, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to enable or disable downloading content, an image, a video or the like, based on the determined gaze and/or attentiveness of the user toward that content, image, video or the like. The adjusting module 134 may be configured to adjust the rate of download down to zero in order to prevent or stop the download of content completely. For example, the adjusting module 134 may be configured to stop or prevent all download of content that is not being looked at by the user. The stopping or prevention may be permanent or temporary. The adjusting module 134 may be programmed to provide any type of download adjustment based on the particular interest detected and determined by the determining module 133.)
Claim(s) 21 is/are substantially similar to claim 4, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
3. Claim(s) 7-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lymberopoulos in view of Leekin further in in view of PAZMINO (US 20230206572 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 7, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos -Leekin do not teach further comprising determining the indication based on pressure detection corresponding to a user device.
PAZMINO however in the same field of computer networking teaches further comprising determining the indication based on pressure detection corresponding to a user device. (PAZMINO, [0105], the computer system is optionally able to determine the “effective” distance between physical objects in the physical world and virtual objects in the three-dimensional environment, for example, for the purpose of determining whether a physical object is directly interacting with a virtual object (e.g., whether a hand is touching, grabbing, holding, etc. a virtual object or within a threshold distance of a virtual object). For example, a hand directly interacting with a virtual object optionally includes one or more of a finger of a hand pressing a virtual button, a hand of a user grabbing a virtual vase, two fingers of a hand of the user coming together and pinching/holding a user interface of an application, and any of the other types of interactions described here.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system/method of Lymberopoulos to specify further comprising determining the indication based on pressure detection corresponding to a user device as taught by PAZMINO. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need for electronic devices with improved methods and interfaces for interacting with content in a three-dimensional environment (PAZMINO, [0007]).
Regarding claim(s) 8, the media of claim 7,
Lymberopoulos -Leekin-PAZMINO wherein the user device comprises one or more of a keyboard, a touchscreen, or a pressure-sensitive input surface. (PAZMINO, [0111], FIG. 7A illustrates a computer system (e.g., an electronic device) 101 displaying, via a display generation component (e.g., display generation component 120 of FIG. 1 ), a three-dimensional environment 702 from a viewpoint of the user 726 illustrated in the overhead view (e.g., facing the back wall of the physical environment in which computer system 101 is located). In some embodiments, computer system 101 includes a display generation component (e.g., a touch screen) and a plurality of image sensors (e.g., image sensors 314 of FIG. 3).)
The same motivation to combine as the independent claim 7 applies here.
Claim(s) 15 is/are substantially similar to claim 7, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
4. Claim(s) 11 and 17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lymberopoulos in view of Leekin further in view of Domm (US 20200304863 A1).
Regarding claim(s) 11, the media of claim 1,
Lymberopoulos-Leekin do not teach wherein the hover detection data is based on hovering over a display region corresponding to a user device.
Domm however in the same field of computer networking teaches wherein the hover detection data is based on hovering over a display region corresponding to a user device. (DOMM, [0066] Contact/motion module 130 optionally detects contact with touch screen 112 (in conjunction with display controller 156) and other touch-sensitive devices (e.g., a touchpad or physical click wheel). Contact/motion module 130 includes various software components for performing various operations related to detection of contact, such as determining if contact has occurred (e.g., detecting a finger-down event), determining an intensity of the contact (e.g., the force or pressure of the contact or a substitute for the force or pressure of the contact) determining if there is movement of the contact and tracking the movement across the touch-sensitive surface (e.g., detecting one or more finger-dragging events), and determining if the contact has ceased (e.g., detecting a finger-up event or a break in contact). Contact/motion module 130 receives contact data from the touch-sensitive surface.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the system/method of Lymberopoulos to specify wherein the hover detection data is based on hovering over a display region corresponding to a user device as taught by Domm. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to reduces power usage and improves battery life of the electronic device by enabling the user to use the electronic device more quickly and efficiency, while reducing errors in usage (Domm, [0423]).
Claim(s) 17 is/are substantially similar to claim 11, and is thus rejected under substantially the same rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUJI CHEN/
Examiner, Art Unit 2449
/NICHOLAS P CELANI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449