DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in this office action.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is in response to applicant’s communication filed on November 25th, 2025. The applicant’s remark and amendments to the claims were considered with the results that follow.
In response to the last Office Action, claims 1, 9, and 14 have been amended. As a result, claims 1-20 are pending in this application.
Applicant’s argument filed on November 25th, 2025, with respect to claims 1-20 as being directed to being abstract idea have overcome the rejection. The rejection have been withdrawn due to the arguments filed on November 25th, 2025.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, see pgs. 12-17 of the remarks, filed on November 25th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1, 9, and 14 as amended under 35 U.S.C 103, where the applicant asserts that the prior arts do not teach or suggest the alleged steps of “responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to a first text of the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file”, and “to incorporate the first text of the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file, the edit to the one or more cells modifying the first text of the first data value of the first cell to a second text of a second data value”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. This limitation is merely indicating to insert a pointer comprising of the spreadsheet cell to the second file of the word document without the structure of the spreadsheet. Accordingly, Gookin teaches this on pg. 243-244.
As shown here on Figure 13-3, there are two document side by side comprising of a Microsoft Excel Sheet and the Microsoft Word Document. The user will insert or embed a pointer by selecting the cell the user wants to copy from the first document which the excel spreadsheet and the copy it into the second document which is the word document.
To include the embedding, a pointer to a first text of the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file. The user would select a cell to copy and select a pointer to be pasted to another location. Accordingly, the user wants to make sure the structure of the first cell of the first data value does not include the structure of the spreadsheet. Thus, as shown on pg. 244 above, the user would link & use the destination style by including a linked table inserted in word’s text format into the second file without including the structure of the spreadsheet.
Furthermore, Gookin teaches to incorporate the first text of the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file, the edit to the one or more cells modifying the first text of the first data value of the first cell to a second text of a second data value. Gookin teaches on pg. 246.
As shown below there are two documents which is a spreadsheet and a word document. The user will make a modification on the cell on the spreadsheet which will then reflect from to the second file as the linked data is linked between the two documents as shown below.
For the two documents to be open and linked together, the requirements of that to happen is shown below according to the insertion of the pointer between the two documents by selecting a cell from the first spreadsheet and then inserting a pointer to the second document for the table of the cell to be pasted and copying pasting the structure of the cell of the table to the second document to linked the two documents together.
{Examiner interprets limitations as merely automatically incorporating updated text from an excel cell into a word document based on the edit according to the paste special (link) for real time update. The procedure works by preparing excel by copying the cell and then using a paste special in such create a link in which this scenario is link and us destination style. Accordingly by having both documents open at the same time would cause the linked data to update and reflect the changes instantly}
As such, Gookin teaches the above limitations.
Applicant’s argument, see pgs. 12-17 of the remarks, filed on November 25th, 2025, with respect to the rejection of independent claims 1, 9, and 14 as amended under 35 U.S.C 103, where the applicant asserts that the prior arts do not teach or suggest the alleged steps of “the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell, wherein the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. SHINYA teaches the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell. SHINYA teaches the pointer embedded at the position within the second file on [0005]. SHINYA indicates on [0005], “together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process in addition to the original and copy to share the data by using the pointer”. That is the pointer is inserted to copy document (second file) which reference to each other.
SHINYA then teaches “the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell” on [0014]. SHINYA indicates on [0014], “detects an address document or document element to be processed” by accessing “a predetermined address” is adapted to be executed” which is merely teaching identifying a document element which is the cell of the spreadsheet and the address. Additionally, SHINYA indicates the linking between the two documents on [0005]. SHINYA indicates on [0005], “together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference…to reflect the process in addition to the original and copy to share the data by using the pointer”. The sharing of the data between the two document would help link to that specific cell address, where the original side is the first document and the copy document is the second document. The statements above cover a pointer embedded in a file that help identify the specific address in another file.
Additionally, SHINYA teaches the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction.
SHINYA indicates on [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change). The pointer from the original and copy of the documents help share the action data in such that changes applied to the original side reflect to the party side without the user interacting on the party side as the changes applied on the original side is reflected on the party side.
As such SHINYA teaches the amended limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-9, 13-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-Patent Literature. "Microsoft Word 2016 For Professionals dummies issued to Dan Gookin (hereinafter as "Gookin") in view of JPH0696077A Patent Application issued to Shinya Et al. (hereinafter as “Shinya”) in further view of U.S Patent 10,708,208 issued to Wilde et al. (hereinafter as “Wilde”).
Regarding claim 1, Gookin teaches a method comprising: a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file (Gookin: See pg 242-243; Pasting part of an Excel worksheet into a document, This process involves some legerdemain with regard to showing two program windows on screen at once. Carefully heed these directions: 1. Open both Excel and Word. 2. Create the document and work on the spreadsheet. Perform whatever magic you need in both programs to get ready to copy from one to the other. If possible, keep the windows overlapping to where you can access both easily in Figure 13-3
3. Select the cells you want to copy ln Excel.
Drag the mouse over the cells to select them
4. Press Ctrl+C to copy.
5. Switch to the Word window.
6. Position the insertion pointer where you want the table to be pasted.
For now, consider that the copied portion of the worksheet becomes a table in Word.
7. Press Ctrl+V to paste.
The cells appear as a table inside your document.
As with any time you paste, a Paste Options button appears in Word, as shown in Figure 13-3.
The other choices available on the Paste Options menu are illustrated in Table 13-1.
{Examiner correlates the embedding as copying and pasting spreadsheet worksheet that includes a cell and value (first file) into a word document (Second file (See Figure 13-3)}), wherein
the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting (Gookin: Pg. 243-244;
{Examiner correlates the first file as the spreadsheet in which has cells in the structures that has cell boundaries and cell formatting. See Fig. 13-3});
responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to a first text of the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 243-244;
{Examiner correlates this as merely selecting the cell the user wants to copy and paste and then positioning a pointer to be pasted using the following option by linking and using a linked table to be inserted using word text format (With out the structure of the cell) into the second file (word document)}),
to incorporate the first text of the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file, the edit to the one or more cells modifying the first text of the first data value of the first cell to a second text of a second data value (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 246;
{Examiner interprets limitations as merely automatically incorporating updated text from an excel cell into a word document based on the edit according to the paste special (link) for real time update. The procedure works by preparing excel by copying the cell and then using a paste special in such create a link in which this scenario is link and us destination style. Accordingly by having both documents open at the same time would cause the linked data to update and reflect the changes instantly});
receiving, via the first file, the edit to one or more cells included within the first file (Gookin: pg. 246;
{Examiner correlates that by changing the excel worksheet (first file) as modifying the cell in the spreadsheet});
the second file by replacing the text of the first data value included within the second file with the second text of the second data value (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 246;
).
Although, Gookin teaches a pointer (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
). Gookin does not explicitly teach the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell, wherein the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction, responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer, the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is open or displayed at the given time
However, SHINYA teaches the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell (SHINYA: [0005]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process in addition to the original and copy to share the data by using the pointer. [0014]; the respective processing units 5 and 6, this object by accessing the management unit 8, detects an address document or document element to be processed is stored, the process of the document element by accessing a predetermined address is adapted to be executed. Although not shown, the object management unit 8 creates a table in which a pointer (address) and a document (element) name are paired and stores the table), wherein
the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction (SHINYA: [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change. [0020]; Then, to detect the copy (documents) that share a document element has been changed from the destination data linked (stored) in the document, the document element of the copy side, perform the same change (S105,106)),
responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer (SHINYA: [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change),
the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is open or displayed at the given time (SHINYA: [0020]; Then, to detect the copy (documents) that share a document element has been changed from the destination data linked (stored) in the document, the document element of the copy side, perform the same change (S105,106) {Examiner correlates that the update are made whether the destination file is open or displayed as it indicates that when the copy of the document shared the same document element that has been changed from the destination which is data linked that change shall be applied the same way whether it is display or not as it detects a linked data change which is stored}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better improvement in synchronizing data without the need to have multiple document open (See SHINYA: [0032]). In addition, the references (Gookin and SHINYA) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin and SHINYA are directed to data sharing among plurality of documents.
The modification of Gookin and SHINYA does not explicitly teaches responsive to receiving by a collaborative content management system.
However, Wilde teaches responsive to receiving by a collaborative content management system (Wilde: Col 2, lines 43-47; In this regard, users and/or co-authors of the files created with the information processing applications may clearly and easily identify and review specific conversation moments that occurred while collaborating in the information processing applications. Col 5, lines 15-23; In one example, an application may include any application suitable for collaboration and/or co-authoring such as a word processing application, spreadsheet application, electronic slide presentation application, email application, chat application, voice application, and the like. Col 9, lines 24-26; In another example, collaborators of the file who are present and / or active in the file may have viewing permissions).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer …the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better improvement in providing users a more cohesive experience when it comes to collaboration based on the scenario (Wilde: Col 3, lines 35-42). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde are directed to data sharing among plurality of documents.
Regarding claim 6, the modification of Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Gookin further teaches
the second file is updated in substantially real- time in response to receiving the edit to the one or more cells included within the spreadsheet in the first file (Gookin: pg. 246;
).
Regarding claim 7, the modification of Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Gookin further teaches
the second file comprises a word processing document (Gookin: See pg 242-243; Pasting part of an Excel worksheet into a document, This process involves some legerdemain with regard to showing two program windows on screen at once. Carefully heed these directions: 1. Open both Excel and Word. 2. Create the document and work on the spreadsheet. Perform whatever magic you need in both programs to get ready to copy from one to the other. If possible, keep the windows overlapping to where you can acess both easily in Figure 13-3
{Examiner correlates Word document as the second file as shown here in Fig. 13-3}).
Regarding claim 8, the modification of Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Gookin further teaches
the word processing document includes a block of text, and wherein the block of text describes the first data value (Gookin: See pg 242-243;
{Examiner correlates the word documenting having a block of text based on the pasted chunk of a worksheet. As shown in the pasted chunk of worksheet contains a block of text describing a value}).
Regarding claim 9, Gookin teaches a method comprising: a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file (Gookin: See pg 242-243; Pasting part of an Excel worksheet into a document, This process involves some legerdemain with regard to showing two program windows on screen at once. Carefully heed these directions: 1. Open both Excel and Word. 2. Create the document and work on the spreadsheet. Perform whatever magic you need in both programs to get ready to copy from one to the other. If possible, keep the windows overlapping to where you can access both easily in Figure 13-3
3. Select the cells you want to copy ln Excel.
Drag the mouse over the cells to select them
4. Press Ctrl+C to copy.
5. Switch to the Word window.
6. Position the insertion pointer where you want the table to be pasted.
For now, consider that the copied portion of the worksheet becomes a table in Word.
7. Press Ctrl+V to paste.
The cells appear as a table inside your document.
As with any time you paste, a Paste Options button appears in Word, as shown in Figure 13-3.
The other choices available on the Paste Options menu are illustrated in Table 13-1.
{Examiner correlates the embedding as copying and pasting spreadsheet worksheet that includes a cell and value (first file) into a word document (Second file (See Figure 13-3)}), wherein
the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting (Gookin: Pg. 243-244;
{Examiner correlates the first file as the spreadsheet in which has cells in the structures that has cell boundaries and cell formatting. See Fig. 13-3});
responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to a first text of the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 243-244;
{Examiner correlates this as merely selecting the cell the user wants to copy and paste and then positioning a pointer to be pasted using the following option by linking and using a linked table to be inserted using word text format (With out the structure of the cell) into the second file (word document)}),
to incorporate the first text of the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file, the edit to the one or more cells modifying the first text of the first data value of the first cell to a second text of a second data value (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 246;
{Examiner interprets limitations as merely automatically incorporating updated text from an excel cell into a word document based on the edit according to the paste special (link) for real time update. The procedure works by preparing excel by copying the cell and then using a paste special in such create a link in which this scenario is link and us destination style. Accordingly by having both documents open at the same time would cause the linked data to update and reflect the changes instantly});
receiving, via the first file, the edit to one or more cells included within the first file (Gookin: pg. 246;
{Examiner correlates that by changing the excel worksheet (first file) as modifying the cell in the spreadsheet});
the second file by replacing the text of the first data value included within the second file with the second text of the second data value (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 246;
).
Although, Gookin teaches a pointer (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
). Gookin does not explicitly teach the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell, wherein the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction, responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer, the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is open or displayed at the given time
However, SHINYA teaches the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell (SHINYA: [0005]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process in addition to the original and copy to share the data by using the pointer. [0014]; the respective processing units 5 and 6, this object by accessing the management unit 8, detects an address document or document element to be processed is stored, the process of the document element by accessing a predetermined address is adapted to be executed. Although not shown, the object management unit 8 creates a table in which a pointer (address) and a document (element) name are paired and stores the table), wherein
the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction (SHINYA: [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change. [0020]; Then, to detect the copy (documents) that share a document element has been changed from the destination data linked (stored) in the document, the document element of the copy side, perform the same change (S105,106)),
responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer (SHINYA: [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change),
the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is open or displayed at the given time (SHINYA: [0020]; Then, to detect the copy (documents) that share a document element has been changed from the destination data linked (stored) in the document, the document element of the copy side, perform the same change (S105,106) {Examiner correlates that the update are made whether the destination file is open or displayed as it indicates that when the copy of the document shared the same document element that has been changed from the destination which is data linked that change shall be applied the same way whether it is display or not as it detects a linked data change which is stored}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better improvement in synchronizing data without the need to have multiple document open (See SHINYA: [0032]). In addition, the references (Gookin and SHINYA) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin and SHINYA are directed to data sharing among plurality of documents.
The modification of Gookin and SHINYA does not explicitly teach a system comprising: one or more processors; and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable computer instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a collaborative content management system.
However, Wilde teaches a system comprising: one or more processors (Wilde: Col 16, lines 12-16; Processing system 502 may be implemented within a single multiple processing devices or sub-systems that cooperate in executing program instructions); and
a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable computer instructions that (Wilde: Col 19, lines 34-38; The computer program product may be a computer storage medium readable by a computer system and encoding a computer program that comprises instructions for causing a computer or computing system to perform example process(es)), when executed by the one or more processors (Wilde: Col 16, lines 12-16; Processing system 502 may be implemented within a single multiple processing devices or sub-systems that cooperate in executing program instructions), cause the system to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a collaborative content management system (Wilde: Col 2, lines 43-47; In this regard, users and/or co-authors of the files created with the information processing applications may clearly and easily identify and review specific conversation moments that occurred while collaborating in the information processing applications. Col 5, lines 15-23; In one example, an application may include any application suitable for collaboration and/or co-authoring such as a word processing application, spreadsheet application, electronic slide presentation application, email application, chat application, voice application, and the like. Col 9, lines 24-26; In another example, collaborators of the file who are present and / or active in the file may have viewing permissions)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer …the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better improvement in providing users a more cohesive experience when it comes to collaboration based on the scenario (Wilde: Col 3, lines 35-42). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde are directed to data sharing among plurality of documents.
Regarding claim 13, the modification of Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Gookin further teaches the second file comprises a word processing document which includes a block of text, and wherein the block of text describes the first data value (Gookin: See pg 242-243;
{Examiner correlates the word documenting having a block of text based on the pasted chunk of a worksheet. As shown in the pasted chunk of worksheet contains a block of text describing a value}).
Regarding claim 14, Gookin teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file (Gookin: See pg 242-243; Pasting part of an Excel worksheet into a document, This process involves some legerdemain with regard to showing two program windows on screen at once. Carefully heed these directions: 1. Open both Excel and Word. 2. Create the document and work on the spreadsheet. Perform whatever magic you need in both programs to get ready to copy from one to the other. If possible, keep the windows overlapping to where you can access both easily in Figure 13-3
3. Select the cells you want to copy ln Excel.
Drag the mouse over the cells to select them
4. Press Ctrl+C to copy.
5. Switch to the Word window.
6. Position the insertion pointer where you want the table to be pasted.
For now, consider that the copied portion of the worksheet becomes a table in Word.
7. Press Ctrl+V to paste.
The cells appear as a table inside your document.
As with any time you paste, a Paste Options button appears in Word, as shown in Figure 13-3.
The other choices available on the Paste Options menu are illustrated in Table 13-1.
{Examiner correlates the embedding as copying and pasting spreadsheet worksheet that includes a cell and value (first file) into a word document (Second file (See Figure 13-3)}), wherein
the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting (Gookin: Pg. 243-244;
{Examiner correlates the first file as the spreadsheet in which has cells in the structures that has cell boundaries and cell formatting. See Fig. 13-3});
responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to a first text of the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 243-244;
{Examiner correlates this as merely selecting the cell the user wants to copy and paste and then positioning a pointer to be pasted using the following option by linking and using a linked table to be inserted using word text format (With out the structure of the cell) into the second file (word document)}),
to incorporate the first text of the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file, the edit to the one or more cells modifying the first text of the first data value of the first cell to a second text of a second data value (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 246;
{Examiner interprets limitations as merely automatically incorporating updated text from an excel cell into a word document based on the edit according to the paste special (link) for real time update. The procedure works by preparing excel by copying the cell and then using a paste special in such create a link in which this scenario is link and us destination style. Accordingly by having both documents open at the same time would cause the linked data to update and reflect the changes instantly});
receiving, via the first file, the edit to one or more cells included within the first file (Gookin: pg. 246;
{Examiner correlates that by changing the excel worksheet (first file) as modifying the cell in the spreadsheet});
the second file by replacing the text of the first data value included within the second file with the second text of the second data value (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
Gookin: pg. 246;
).
Although, Gookin teaches a pointer (Gookin: pg. 243-244;
). Gookin does not explicitly teach the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell, wherein the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction, responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer, the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is open or displayed at the given time
However, SHINYA teaches the pointer embedded at the position within the second file identifying the spreadsheet and an address of the first cell (SHINYA: [0005]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process in addition to the original and copy to share the data by using the pointer. [0014]; the respective processing units 5 and 6, this object by accessing the management unit 8, detects an address document or document element to be processed is stored, the process of the document element by accessing a predetermined address is adapted to be executed. Although not shown, the object management unit 8 creates a table in which a pointer (address) and a document (element) name are paired and stores the table), wherein
the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be automatically updated, without receiving a user interaction (SHINYA: [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change. [0020]; Then, to detect the copy (documents) that share a document element has been changed from the destination data linked (stored) in the document, the document element of the copy side, perform the same change (S105,106)),
responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer (SHINYA: [0005]-[0006]; together with the original side is provided with a pointer to all copies side, the copy side is provided with a pointer to the original side to reference at least, the original side or copy upon attempting to process on the data at the side, and so as to reflect the process. In the original side and the copy side to share the [action] data, because it has the other party of the pointer to each other, for example, or when you erase or change the data in the original side, in all copy side to share with the pointer in accordance with It informs that it has its changes and the like, equal modify the data, and the like of the other party, to reflect the data change),
the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is open or displayed at the given time (SHINYA: [0020]; Then, to detect the copy (documents) that share a document element has been changed from the destination data linked (stored) in the document, the document element of the copy side, perform the same change (S105,106) {Examiner correlates that the update are made whether the destination file is open or displayed as it indicates that when the copy of the document shared the same document element that has been changed from the destination which is data linked that change shall be applied the same way whether it is display or not as it detects a linked data change which is stored}).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better improvement in synchronizing data without the need to have multiple document open (See SHINYA: [0032]). In addition, the references (Gookin and SHINYA) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin and SHINYA are directed to data sharing among plurality of documents.
The modification of Gookin and SHINYA does not explicitly teach a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable computer instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising: receiving, by a collaborative content management system.
However, Wilde teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable computer instructions that (Wilde: Col 19, lines 34-38; The computer program product may be a computer storage medium readable by a computer system and encoding a computer program that comprises instructions for causing a computer or computing system to perform example process(es)),
when executed by one or more processors (Wilde: Col 16, lines 12-16; Processing system 502 may be implemented within a single multiple processing devices or sub-systems that cooperate in executing program instructions), cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving, by a collaborative content management system (Wilde: Col 2, lines 43-47; In this regard, users and/or co-authors of the files created with the information processing applications may clearly and easily identify and review specific conversation moments that occurred while collaborating in the information processing applications. Col 5, lines 15-23; In one example, an application may include any application suitable for collaboration and/or co-authoring such as a word processing application, spreadsheet application, electronic slide presentation application, email application, chat application, voice application, and the like. Col 9, lines 24-26; In another example, collaborators of the file who are present and / or active in the file may have viewing permissions)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of provide better improvement in providing users a more cohesive experience when it comes to collaboration based on the scenario (Wilde: Col 3, lines 35-42). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde are directed to data sharing among plurality of documents.
Regarding claim 19, the modification of Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Gookin further teaches the second file comprises a word processing document (Gookin: See pg 242-243; Pasting part of an Excel worksheet into a document, This process involves some legerdemain with regard to showing two program windows on screen at once. Carefully heed these directions: 1. Open both Excel and Word. 2. Create the document and work on the spreadsheet. Perform whatever magic you need in both programs to get ready to copy from one to the other. If possible, keep the windows overlapping to where you can acess both easily in Figure 13-3
).
Regarding claim 20, the modification of Gookin, SHINYA, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, and Gookin further teaches
the word processing document includes a block of text, and wherein the block of text describes the first data value (Gookin: See pg 242-243;
{Examiner correlates the word documenting having a block of text based on the pasted chunk of a worksheet. As shown in the pasted chunk of worksheet contains a block of text describing a value}).
Claims 2, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-Patent Literature. "Microsoft Word 2016 For Professionals dummies issued to Dan Gookin (hereinafter as "Gookin") in view of JPH0696077A Patent Application issued to Shinya Et al. (hereinafter as “Shinya”) in view of U.S Patent 10,708,208 issued to Wilde et al. (hereinafter as “Wilde”) in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2011/0307772 issued to Lloyd et al. (hereinafter as “Lloyd”).
Regarding claim 2, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, and Wilde does not explicitly teach a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on the formula.
Lloyd teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on the formula (Lloyd: [0052]; Particular steps may be taken to permit a user to interact with a formula for a cell when the view might only include a literal value for the cell. In such a situation, a text entry area or box may be displayed adjacent to a viewport on a browser, and when a user places a cursor over a particular cell, the model data for the cell may be obtained and provided in the text entry area, while the literal value is shown in the cell in the viewport. As the user changes the formula, that change may be propagated to the model on the client (with changes to downstream cells) and may be rendered back into the DOM).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to further include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Lloyd: [0008]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, and Lloyd) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, and Lloyd are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 10, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, and Wilde does not explicitly teach a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on the formula.
Lloyd teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on the formula ((Lloyd: [0052]; Particular steps may be taken to permit a user to interact with a formula for a cell when the view might only include a literal value for the cell. In such a situation, a text entry area or box may be displayed adjacent to a viewport on a browser, and when a user places a cursor over a particular cell, the model data for the cell may be obtained and provided in the text entry area, while the literal value is shown in the cell in the viewport. As the user changes the formula, that change may be propagated to the model on the client (with changes to downstream cells) and may be rendered back into the DOM).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to further include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Lloyd: [0008]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, and Lloyd) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, and Lloyd are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 15, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, and Wilde teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, and Wilde does not explicitly teach a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on the formula.
Lloyd teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on the formula (Lloyd: [0052]; Particular steps may be taken to permit a user to interact with a formula for a cell when the view might only include a literal value for the cell. In such a situation, a text entry area or box may be displayed adjacent to a viewport on a browser, and when a user places a cursor over a particular cell, the model data for the cell may be obtained and provided in the text entry area, while the literal value is shown in the cell in the viewport. As the user changes the formula, that change may be propagated to the model on the client (with changes to downstream cells) and may be rendered back into the DOM).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to further include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Lloyd: [0008]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, and Lloyd) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, and Lloyd are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Claims 3-5, 11-12, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Non-Patent Literature. "Microsoft Word 2016 For Professionals dummies issued to Dan Gookin (hereinafter as "Gookin") in view of JPH0696077A Patent Application issued to Shinya Et al. (hereinafter as “Shinya”) in view of U.S Patent 10,708,208 issued to Wilde et al. (hereinafter as “Wilde”) in view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2011/0307772 issued to Lloyd et al. (hereinafter as “Lloyd”) in further view of U.S Patent Application Publication 2006/0224946 issued to Barrett et al. (hereinafter as "Barrett").
Regarding claim 3, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises a summation of data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises a summation of data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values (Barrett:[0083]; To enter an expression, one will need to precede the expression with an equals sign, e.g., =A1+A2. Essentially, this means that the cell containing the expression has the value that corresponds to the result of performing the operations defined in the expression. For example, to add cell A1, with a value of 1, and A2, with a value of 2, in cell A3, one will need to edit A3 and write in the expression=A1+A2, as shown below:
).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 4, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises an extrapolation formula, and wherein the second data value is an extrapolation based on data values within the one or more cells.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises an extrapolation formula, and wherein the second data value is an extrapolation based on data values within the one or more cells (Barrett: [0238]; A TimePlot is a component that produces an X-Y plot where the X-axis is the time each point was added. A5 is another example of event-driven code. Each time there is a new value in A2, it is added to the plot with a current time stamp to the line titled “http server”. Another simple extension would be to output data to an instant message application. Automating this using the invention is simple:
B1: IM(“root”, “pwd”, “crit-sit-chat”)
A8: on (A2) {B1.send(“http “+A2+” ”+A1)}
).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 5, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises a count formula, wherein data values within the one or more cells comprise Boolean values, and wherein the second data value comprises one or more of a count of "0" values within the data values or a count of "1" values within the data values.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises a count formula, wherein data values within the one or more cells comprise Boolean values, and wherein the second data value comprises one or more of a count of "0" values within the data values or a count of "1" values within the data values (Barrett: [0106]; Further, the programming code statements can comprise conditional statements. An if( ) statement likewise only exist inside a code block and allows one to perform different operations based on the value of a condition. For example, in the code below:
[0107]; When A3 is executed the value of A1 is checked to see if it evaluates to true or false. If it evaluates to true 10 will be added to the ObjectCollection in A2 otherwise 5 will be added. In the above case since A1 is false, 5 will be added to A2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 11, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises a summation of data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of data values.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises a summation of data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of data values (Barrett:[0083]; To enter an expression, one will need to precede the expression with an equals sign, e.g., =A1+A2. Essentially, this means that the cell containing the expression has the value that corresponds to the result of performing the operations defined in the expression. For example, to add cell A1, with a value of 1, and A2, with a value of 2, in cell A3, one will need to edit A3 and write in the expression=A1+A2, as shown below:
).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 12, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises an extrapolation formula, and wherein the second data value is an extrapolation based on data values within the one or more cells.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises an extrapolation formula, and wherein the second data value is an extrapolation based on data values within the one or more cells (Barrett: [0238]; A TimePlot is a component that produces an X-Y plot where the X-axis is the time each point was added. A5 is another example of event-driven code. Each time there is a new value in A2, it is added to the plot with a current time stamp to the line titled “http server”. Another simple extension would be to output data to an instant message application. Automating this using the invention is simple:
B1: IM(“root”, “pwd”, “crit-sit-chat”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 16, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises a summation of data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises a summation of data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values (Barrett:[0083]; To enter an expression, one will need to precede the expression with an equals sign, e.g., =A1+A2. Essentially, this means that the cell containing the expression has the value that corresponds to the result of performing the operations defined in the expression. For example, to add cell A1, with a value of 1, and A2, with a value of 2, in cell A3, one will need to edit A3 and write in the expression=A1+A2, as shown below:
).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 17, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises an extrapolation formula, and wherein the second data value is an extrapolation based on data values within the one or more cells.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises an extrapolation formula, and wherein the second data value is an extrapolation based on data values within the one or more cells (Barrett: [0238]; A TimePlot is a component that produces an X-Y plot where the X-axis is the time each point was added. A5 is another example of event-driven code. Each time there is a new value in A2, it is added to the plot with a current time stamp to the line titled “http server”. Another simple extension would be to output data to an instant message application. Automating this using the invention is simple:
B1: IM(“root”, “pwd”, “crit-sit-chat”).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Regarding claim 18, the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd teaches claimed invention substantially as claimed, however the modification of Gookin, Shinya, Wilde, and Lloyd does not explicitly teach the formula comprises a count formula, wherein data values within the one or more cells comprise Boolean values, and wherein the second data value comprises one or more of a count of "0" values within the data values or a count of "1" values within the data values.
Barrett teaches the formula comprises a count formula, wherein data values within the one or more cells comprise Boolean values, and wherein the second data value comprises one or more of a count of "0" values within the data values or a count of "1" values within the data values (Barrett: [0106]; Further, the programming code statements can comprise conditional statements. An if( ) statement likewise only exist inside a code block and allows one to perform different operations based on the value of a condition. For example, in the code below:
[0107]; When A3 is executed the value of A1 is checked to see if it evaluates to true or false. If it evaluates to true 10 will be added to the ObjectCollection in A2 otherwise 5 will be added. In the above case since A1 is false, 5 will be added to A2).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Gookin (teaches a request to embed a first data value included within a first cell of a spreadsheet in a first file at a position within a second file different from the first file wherein the first cell has a structure which includes one or more of cell boundaries and cell formatting…responsive to receiving the request, embedding, a pointer to the first data value without including the structure of the first cell in the second file…the pointer includes instructions causing the second file to be updated to incorporate the first data value responsive to detecting that an edit to one or more cells is made in the first file…) with the teachings of SHINYA (teaches responsive to receiving the edit, dynamically updating, based on the pointer…the update to the second file occurring regardless of whether the second file is displayed at the given time) with the further teachings of Wilde (teaches a collaborative content management system) to include the teachings of Lloyd (teaches a formula is associated with the first cell and the one or more cells such that the second data value is based on data values) to further include the teachings of Barrett (teaches the formula comprises a summation of the data values within the one or more cells, and wherein the second data value comprises a result of the summation of the data values). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination of providing useful information on how often the users is participating in the modification of the document improve the collaboration when users are manipulating and editing the document simultaneously (See Barrett: [0230]). In addition, the references (Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett) teach features that are directed to analogous art and they are directed to the same field of endeavor as Gookin, SHINYA, Wilde, Lloyd, and Barrett are directed to modifying and editing documents by a user to determine the reflected changes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2009/0112990 issued to Campbell et al. (hereinafter as “Campbell”) teaches performing real time collaboration by multiple users on a spreadsheet where calculation are perform locally and the determination to update is according to the changes applied.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2014/0372855 issued to Myerscough et al. (hereinafter as “Myerscough”) teaches managing the exchange of information between multiple networked devices in a shared electronic document based on the active region of the first client device to the second.
U.S Patent Application Publication 2016/0239488 issued to Aguilon et al. (hereinafter as “Aguilon”) teaches sharing changes to a document where the share request is received from the first computing device and then changes applied to shared document is updated according to the determination of the change.
U.S Patent 7,506,243 issued to Kotler et al. (hereinafter as “Kotler”) teaches integrating spreadsheets and word processing tables where the bifurcated architecture supports cross table referencing throughout all the tables in the document including nested table structures in which one table is nested within a cell of another table.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
3/2/2026
/ANDREW N HO/Examiner
Art Unit 2169
/SHERIEF BADAWI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2169