DETAILED ACTION
This communication is responsive to Amendment filed 01/02/2026.
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-13 and 15-20 are pending in this application. In the Amendment, claims 1, 3, 13, 15 and 20 are amended and claims 2 and 14 are cancelled. This action is made Final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims amended 01/20/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 12-13, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0146248) in view of Wang (US 2020/0298104) in view of Ando et al. (“Ando”, US 2011/0276879) and further in view of Srivastava et al. (“Srivastava”, US 2019/0174054).
As per claim 1, Chen teaches a display method of a virtual environment picture in a user interface, the method comprising:
displaying a first virtual environment picture, the first virtual environment picture being a picture for observing a virtual environment including a virtual object from a first perspective (Chen, para.41, Figs.1-2, 4, current view field 400);
in response to detecting a touch position of a first touch operation, controlling the virtual object to perform a first function (Chen, para.42, 44, 64, 68, Fig.5, skill release operation on first function control 520), at least a part of the first touch operation being located in a response region (Chen, para.42, 44, 64, 68, Fig.5, skill release operation located in first function control region 520);
in response to moving the touch position of the first touch operation from a first position to a second position, acquiring the touch position of the first touch operation (Chen, para.42, 44, 64, 68, Fig.5, touch position located in first function control region 520);
calculating a distance between the touch position of the first touch operation and a reference position of the response region (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, distance between touch and first control region 1010); and
determining that the touch position is located outside the response region in response in accordance with a determination that the distance is greater than a threshold (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, touch operation outside first virtual skill region 1010);
taking the touch position as one of the first position or the second position located outside the response region of the first touch operation (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation).
controlling the virtual object to perform the first function (Chen, para.69, skill release operation) and changing a displayed perspective of the virtual environment (Chen, para.46, 64-66, Fig.12, view field changes with sliding operation), the second position being located in an extended response region surrounding the response region (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, touch operation outside first virtual skill region 1010 in extended response region 1020), and wherein the displayed perspective of the virtual environment is changed based on the moved touch position of the first touch operation (Chen, para.46, 64-66, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of sliding operation); and
in response to moving the touch position of the first touch operation from the first position to a third position, ceasing the first function and the third position being located outside of both the response region and the extended response region (Chen, para.70, 73, 103-104, skill is cancelled when outside of regions).
However, Chen does not explicitly teach controlling the virtual object to perform a second function in the third position. Wang teaches a method of virtually controlling objects wherein a second function is performed in a third touch position (Wang, Fig.8, para.33, 56, 74-75, 82, automatic moving function). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Wang’s teaching with Chen’s method in order to move with limited input.
Furthermore, the method of Chen and Wang does not teach wherein the first touch operation is a single continuous touch operation maintained on the user interface and the transition from the first function to the second function occurs without lifting the touch. Ando teaches a method of virtual controlling objects based on touch positions wherein the first touch operation is a single continuous touch operation maintained on the user interface and the transition from the first function to the second function occurs without lifting the touch (Ando, Fig.3, 12, 14, virtual controller 101; para.64, 68-70, 98-102, 107-111, different functions for different regions without leaving interface). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Ando’s teaching with the method of Chen and Wang in order to perform different functions with a single touch.
Additionally, the method of Chen, Wang and Ando does not teach wherein the displayed perspective of the virtual environment is changed independent of the direction in which the touch operation moves. Srivastava teaches a method of image control wherein the displayed perspective of the environment is changed independent of the direction in which the touch operation moves (Srivastava, para.71-77, perspective changed independent of input direction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Srivastava’s teaching with the method of Chen, Wang and Ando in order to perform seamless view adjustments with a single continuous touch.
As per claim 3, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the changing the displayed perspective comprises:
acquiring direction information of the movement of the touch position of the first touch operation relative to the reference position (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation);
determining an orientation of a second perspective according to the direction information (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation); and
displaying the changed perspective of the virtual environment based on the orientation of the second perspective (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation).
As per claim 12, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first function controls the virtual object to shoot (Chen, para.42, 68-70, skill release operation; para.41, shooting games) and the second function controls the virtual object to move (Wang, Fig.8, para.33, 56, 74-75, 82, automatic moving function).
Claims 13 and 20 are similar in scope to claim 1, and are therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is similar in scope to claim 3, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4-7, 11 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0146248), Wang (US 2020/0298104), Ando et al. (“Ando”, US 2011/0276879) and Srivastava et al. (“Srivastava”, US 2019/0174054) in view of Alexeev et al. (“Alexeev”, US 2015/0258430).
As per claim 4, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising:
the first control mode defining that, for a touch operation having an initial touch position located in a response region of a function control, the touch operation fails to trigger perspective change when moving in the response region of the function control (Chen, para.64, Fig.10, touch operation within region 1010 does not change view) and the touch operation triggers perspective change when moving outside the response region of the function control (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, touch operation outside first virtual skill region 1010 changes view field);
the second control mode defining that, for the touch operation having the initial touch position located in the response region of the function control, the touch position of the touch operation fails to trigger perspective change when moving (Chen, para.64, Fig.10, touch operation within region 1010 does not change view);
the third control mode defining that, for the touch operation having the initial touch position located in the response region of the function control, the touch position of the touch operation triggers perspective change when moving (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, touch moving outside first virtual skill region 1010 changes view field); and
performing the changing the displayed perspective of the virtual environment picture in response to the control mode being the first control mode and the touch position of the first touch operation moving from the first position to the second position (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, touch operation outside first virtual skill region 1010 changes view field).
However, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava does not teach obtaining a control mode selected from a plurality of candidate control modes, the plurality of candidate control modes comprising a first control mode, and at least one of a second control mode or a third control mode. Alexeev teaches a method of virtually controlling objects comprising obtaining a control mode selected from a plurality of candidate control modes, the plurality of candidate control modes comprising a first control mode, and at least one of a second control mode or a third control mode (Alexeev, para.59, 72-75, different viewing modes like sniper mode control 628 that adjust touch controller zones accordingly). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Alexeev’s teaching with the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava in order to adjust the controller for accurate input.
As per claim 5, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando, Srivastava and Alexeev teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein in response to the control mode being the second control mode (Chen, para.64, Fig.10, touch operation within region 1010 does not change view), the method further comprises: after the controlling the virtual object to perform the first function in response to the first touch operation, controlling the virtual object to keep displaying the virtual environment in the first perspective (Chen, para.42, 44, 64, 68, Fig.5, skill release operation on first function control 520 while still in current view field).
As per claim 6, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando, Srivastava and Alexeev teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving a second touch operation, an initial touch position of the second touch operation being the third position located outside the response region of the first touch operation (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation); and
changing the displayed perspective of the virtual environment in response to moving a touch position of the second touch operation from the third position to a fourth position, wherein the displayed perspective of the virtual environment is changed based on the moved touch position of the second touch operation (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation).
As per claim 7, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando, Srivastava and Alexeev teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein in response to the obtained control mode being the third control mode (Chen, para.64-66, 70, Fig.10, touch moving outside first virtual skill region 1010 changes view field), the method further comprises: changing the displayed perspective of the virtual environment in response to moving the touch position of the first touch operation from the first position to a fifth position located in the response region, wherein the displayed perspective of the virtual environment is changed based on the moved touch position of the first touch operation (Chen, para.46, 64-66, 70, Fig.12, view field changes in direction of touch operation).
As per claim 11, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach wherein the method further comprises: controlling the virtual object to repeatedly perform the first function in response to the second position being located in the extended response region of the first touch operation. Alexeev teaches a method of virtually controlling objects comprising controlling a virtual object to repeatedly perform a function in response to a determination that a position is located in a response region of a touch operation (Alexeev, para.101-102, touch held at location performs cruise function). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Alexeev’s teaching with the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava in order to reduce user input to perform certain functions.
Claim 16 is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 17 is similar in scope to claim 5, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is similar in scope to claim 6, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 19 is similar in scope to claim 7, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0146248), Wang (US 2020/0298104), Ando et al. (“Ando”, US 2011/0276879), Srivastava et al. (“Srivastava”, US 2019/0174054) and Alexeev et al. (“Alexeev”, US 2015/0258430) in view of Tahara et al. (“Tahara”, US 2009/0082107).
As per claim 8, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando, Srivastava and Alexeev teaches the method according to claim 4, however does not teach wherein the obtaining the control mode comprises: displaying a configuration interface comprising selection items corresponding to the plurality of candidate control modes; and setting one of the candidate control modes as the control mode in response to a selection of the one of the candidate control modes. Tahara teaches a game controller method including displaying a configuration interface comprising selection items corresponding to the plurality of candidate control modes; and setting one of the candidate control modes as the control mode in response to a selection of the one of the candidate control modes (Tahara, Fig.14, para.188, interface 140 for selecting a function 106 for control button). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Tahara’s teaching with the method of Chen, Wang, Ando, Srivastava and Alexeev in order to configure the controls to user preference.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2021/0146248), Wang (US 2020/0298104), Ando et al. (“Ando”, US 2011/0276879) and Srivastava et al. (“Srivastava”, US 2019/0174054) in view of Kikuchi (US 2010/0248826).
As per claim 10, the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava teaches the method according to claim 1, however does not teach determining whether the first function and the second function are mutually exclusive; executing the controlling the virtual object to perform the second function in response to a determination that the first function and the second function are non-mutually exclusive; and controlling the virtual object to perform one of the first function or the second function in response to a determination that the first function and the second function are mutually exclusive.
Kikuchi teaches a game processing method to include determining whether the first function and the second function are mutually exclusive (Kikuchi, para.41-43, 47-49, Fig.7, allowable action management table); and executing the controlling the virtual object to perform the second function in response to a determination that the first function and the second function are non-mutually exclusive (Kikuchi, para.41-43, 47-49, Fig.7, “1” stored for non-mutually exclusive functions); and controlling the virtual object to perform one of the first function or the second function in response to a determination that the first function and the second function are mutually exclusive (Kikuchi, para.41-43, 47-49, Fig.7, “0” stored for mutually exclusive functions and not executed). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include Kikuchi’s teaching with the method of Chen, Wang, Ando and Srivastava in order to make actions natural and realistic.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Levin (US 11,409,411) teaches a method of implementing a continuous input for zooming and rotating for a perspective view.
Inquiries
/S.M./
Sajeda MuhebbullahExaminer, Art Unit 2174
/WILLIAM L BASHORE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2174