2. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Objections
3. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the following claimed limitations do not comprise appropriate antecedent basis:
“the” end cap,
“the” 1090 nm single-mode laser,
“the” core of gain fiber, and
“the” fiber core.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah et al. (US Patent 10,348,051), herein after referred to as Shah, in view of Savage-Leuchs et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0249321), herein after referred to as Savage-Leuchs, in view of Waarts et al. (US Patent 6,212,310), herein after referred to as Waarts, in view of Bauer et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2011/0274129), herein after referred to as Bauer, and further in view of Augst (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0261969).
Regarding independent claim 1, Shah discloses a hundred-kilowatts-level (Column 27 lines 20-24 examples an input of 10 mW produces an amplified output of 10 W. Column 4 lines 4-23 examples the output beam to be 10 W, 100 W, 1 kW, 5 kW, 10 kW, or any other suitable peak power that is calculatable in regards to an optical pulse with a duration and pulse energy, describing a means of acquiring 100 kW.) monolithic fiber laser (Figures 10-15 reference output laser) based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers (figure 8) and hybrid cladding pumping (Figures 10-15 pump laser 1), comprising the following operations:
outputting (Figure 8), by a signal laser seed source (440-1), a signal laser with a central wavelength of λs, outputting, by a first auxiliary laser source (440-2), a second auxiliary laser source (Figure 8 depicts N laser diodes exampled in column 24 lines 6-7 as N=8, herein after second auxiliary laser source will be referred to as 440-3.), . . . , and an Nth auxiliary laser source (440-N), auxiliary lasers with central wavelengths of λP1, λP2, λP3, . . . and λPN respectively (Column 23 lines 14-22 describes each wavelength of each seed laser 440-1 to 440-N to be different.); the signal laser seed source (440-1), the first auxiliary laser source (440-2), the second auxiliary laser source (440-3), . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source (440-N) are coupled into the core of gain fiber (Figure 10-15 reference gain fiber 510.) through a signal port of a cladding pumping combiner (520) (Column 23 lines 46-54 describes the multiplexer 410 to comprise a single output (core). Figures 10-15 depict the input seed light to be coupled to the core via combiner/WDM 520. Column 42 lines 32-36 describes the seed light output propagates in the core of the gain fiber.);
outputting, by a first cladding pumping laser (Figures 10-15 reference pump laser 1.), [ ], cladding pumping laser with [ ] central wavelengths of λPC1 [ ] (Column 27 lines 33-57 describes various examples of the cladding pumping laser wavelength.), and the cladding pumping lasers (pump laser 1) enter the cladding of gain fiber (510) of power amplifier stage (Figures 14-15 depict a first and second gain sections) (Column 43 line 54 to column 44 line 10 describes the optical power gained by the gain section.) through the cladding pumping combiner (520) (Column 41 describes the pump light may propagate substantially within the inner cladding and the core.);
sequentially amplifying the first auxiliary laser source (440-2), the second auxiliary laser source (440-3), . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source (440-N) and the signal laser seed source (440-1) in the gain fiber (Column 23 lines 7-39 describes the seed laser 400 including laser diodes, 440-1 through 440-N, may output with time delayed successive pulses and be amplified.); [ ], the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source in the fiber core will be gradually reabsorbed by gain fiber (Column 44 lines 39-56 describes the seed light produced by a plurality of wavelengths include side wavelengths that may be absorbed.); then the 1090 nm single-mode (Column 25 lines 35-36 describes a smaller diameter core SM (single mode).) laser (column 30 lines 60-67) can be effectively amplified at a rear segment of the gain fiber (Figures 14-15 reference amplified output light as output end.), and hundred-kilowatts-level near-diffraction-limited (describing the practical application void of design/construction flaws) 1090 nm single-mode laser is achieved (Column 27 lines 20-24 examples an input of 10 mW produces an amplified output of 10 W. Column 4 lines 4-23 examples the output beam to be 10 W, 100 W, 1 kW, 5 kW, 10 kW, or any other suitable peak power that is calculatable in regards to an optical pulse with a duration and pulse energy, describing a means of acquiring 100 kW.) after the end cap (Column 39 line 49-olumn 40 line 3 describes the output end, depicted in figures 14-15, may have an end cap attached.).
While Shah implies a means to calculate 100kW, Shah does not specifically disclose 100kW.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Shah’s disclosed calculatable suitable peak power with the known technique of being 100 kW without undue experimentation yielding predictable results in accordance with the disclosed calculation as described by Shah (column 27 lines 20-24).
Shah does not specifically disclose outputting, by a first cladding pumping laser a second cladding pumping laser, a third cladding pumping laser, . . . and an Nth cladding pumping laser (Interpreted to regard at least four cladding pumping lasers), cladding pumping lasers with gradually-increased central wavelengths of λPC1, λ PC2, . . . and λ PCN respectively, and the cladding pumping lasers enter the cladding of gain fiber of power amplifier stage through the cladding pumping combiner.
Savage-Leuchs discloses (Figures 2A-2F reference seed source 239 with single core pump 222 combined with cladding pumps 218.) outputting, by a first cladding pumping laser (Figure 2C1 reference 214 top left, 214TL.) (Paragraph [0072] describes one or more cladding pump sources 218 connected to the gain fiber 246 via one or more respective optical fibers 214. Figure 2C1 depicts four.) a second cladding pumping laser (214 bottom right, 214BR), a third cladding pumping laser (214BL), . . . and an Nth cladding pumping laser (214TR), cladding pumping lasers with [ ] central wavelengths of λPC1, λ PC2, . . . and λ PCN respectively (Paragraph [0066] describes the cladding pump lasers have a wavelength.), and the cladding pumping lasers (214) enter the cladding (236) of gain fiber (238) of power amplifier stage (245) through the cladding pumping combiner (235) (Figures 2C1 and 2F described in paragraph [0074].).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Shah’s single cladding pumping laser with the known technique of at least 4 cladding pumping lasers that enter the cladding of gain fiber of power amplifier stage through the cladding pumping combiner yielding the predictable results of high power amplification of the input signal within an extended length of the gain fiber as disclosed by Savage-Leuchs (paragraph [0018]).
Savage-Leuchs does not specifically disclose cladding pumping lasers with gradually-increased central wavelengths of λPC1, λ PC2, . . . and λ PCN respectively.
Waarts discloses cladding pumping lasers with gradually-increased central wavelengths of λPC1, λ PC2, . . . and λ PCN respectively (Column 8 describes pump source wavelengths are particularly selected as a function of the absorption band of the active dopant of the fiber lasers. Column 18 59 to column 19 line 15 examples a Yb doped inner core comprises at least two pump lasers with gradually increasing wavelengths of 810nm and 915nm to be within the absorption bands of Nd and Yb respectively.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Shah and Savage-Leuchs with the known technique cladding pumping lasers with gradually-increased central wavelengths of λPC1, λ PC2, . . . and λ PCN respectively yielding the predictable results of being selected as a function of the absorption band of the active dopant of the fiber laser increasing beam quality as disclosed by Waarts (background of invention).
Shah does not specifically disclose the power decreasing of cladding pumping lasers the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source in the fiber core will be gradually reabsorbed by gain fiber.
Bauer describes the power decreasing of cladding pumping lasers the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source in the fiber core will be gradually reabsorbed by gain fiber (Paragraph [0084] describes pump light is primarily absorbed near the input point and will then decrease in power exponentially with an increasing length. This can be prevented using long and low-doped active cores.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application that Shah, Savage-Leuchs, and Waarts cladding pump light would perform the naturally occurring phenomenon of decreasing power as the fiber core of the gain fiber gradually reabsorbs the pump light based on the known relationship of the type of actively doped core yielding a predictable results of a controllable decreasing of power/absorption as disclosed by Bauer (paragraph [0084]).
Shah does not specifically disclose the amplification of signal laser is suppressed at a front segment of the gain fiber.
Augst discloses the amplification of signal laser is suppressed at a front segment of the gain fiber (Figure 2 isolator 210 described in paragraph [0031] to be placed right after (a front segment of the gain fiber 220) the input laser signal 205 to prevent/suppress the amplified signal from reaching any components upstream of the isolator protecting the source of the input laser signal.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Shah’s signal laser with the known technique of the amplification of signal laser is suppressed at a front segment of the gain fiber yielding the predictable results of protecting the source of the input laser signal as disclosed by Augst (paragraph [0031]).
Regarding claim 2, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the central wavelengths of λ.sub.P1, λ.sub.P2, λ.sub.P3 . . . and λ.sub.PN of the auxiliary laser sources should be located in laser emission band width of rare-earth ions of the gain fiber (Column 26 lines 14-53 describes selecting and using any particular type of dopant for the optical gain fiber which comprises a known relationship with the input (seed) light via emitted photons particular wavelengths.), and absorption sections and emission sections of the rare-earth ions at the central wavelengths of λ.sub.P1, λ.sub.P2, λ.sub.P3, . . . and λ.sub.PN are higher than those of the signal laser at the central wavelength of λ.sub.s (Column 23 lines 14-22 describes each wavelength of each seed laser 440-1 to 440-N to be different. The lowest of the disclosed different wavelengths is interpreted as the signal laser.).
Regarding claim 3, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary lasers with the central wavelengths of λ.sub.P1, λ.sub.P2, . . . and λ.sub.PN and the signal laser with the central wavelength of λ.sub.s are sequentially amplified at the power amplifier stage (Column 23 lines 7-39 describes the seed laser 400 including laser diodes, 440-1 through 440-N, may output with time delayed successive pulses and be amplified.), and thermal loads at an input end of the amplifier are reduced due to a smaller wavelength difference between the auxiliary lasers with the central wavelength of λ.sub.P1 and the cladding pumping lasers (Undisclosed acceptable range to be considered smaller wavelength difference. Shah discloses the wavelengths to be different (Column 27 lines 33-57), these different wavelengths inherently comprise a wavelength difference that, in view of the means for type claim language, always comprises a thermal load due to said difference.); and when the auxiliary lasers with the central wavelengths of λ.sub.P2, . . . and λ.sub.PN and the signal laser with the central wavelength of λ.sub.s are sequentially amplified (Column 23 lines 7-39 describes the seed laser 400 including laser diodes, 440-1 through 440-N, may output with time delayed successive pulses and be amplified.), quantum defects generated are reduced, and uniformly distributed thermal loads will be achieved (Means for type language: sequential amplification is described as the means to reduce quantum defects.).
Regarding claim 4, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the signal laser with the central wavelength of λ.sub.s is in-band pumped by the auxiliary lasers with the central wavelengths of λ.sub.P1, λ.sub.P2, . . . and λ.sub.PN on a rear segment of the power amplifier (Figures 14-15 end of first and/or second gain section, interpreted as a rear segment, applied with the same signal and auxiliary laser.), thereby reducing waste heat generated by the quantum defects, and improving gain saturation of a system to increase the threshold of a TMI effect (Means for type language: The means is described to be the in-band pumped by the signal and aux lasers in order to reduce the waste heat.).
Regarding claim 5, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the auxiliary lasers with the central wavelengths of λ.sub.P1, λ.sub.P2, . . . and λ.sub.PN are introduced to inhibit gain of the signal laser with the central wavelength of λ.sub.s on a front segment of the amplifier, so as to modulate the gain distribution of the signal laser at the power amplifier stage and reduce the effective a nonlinear length, therefore the nonlinear effect can be suppressed (Column 24 lines 15-24 describes the use of the aux lasers to reduce nonlinear effects in the fiber.).
Regarding claim 6, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein output power of the signal laser seed source, the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser source, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source is independently controlled, and the energy transfer among the auxiliary lasers and the signal laser in the power amplifier stage can be controlled (Column 23 lines 23-31 describes the aux lasers operate independently and in a controlled sync.).
Regarding claim 8, Savage-Leuchs discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the first cladding pumping laser, the second cladding pumping laser, the third cladding pumping laser, . . . and the Nth cladding pumping laser are semiconductor lasers (Paragraph [0066] describes cladding pump sources 118 include laser diodes.), solid lasers or fiber lasers.
Regarding claim 9, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the signal laser seed source and the auxiliary laser sources are oscillators or amplifiers (Column 27 lines 9-14 describes MOPA or MOFA.).
Regarding claim 10, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the end cap is a laser transmission device used for reducing power density of a laser output end face (Column 39 line 49 to column 40 line 3 describes the end cap to allow the amplified output light to spread out to reduce the optical intensity/power density.).
5. Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shah, Savage-Leuchs, Waarts, Bauer, and Augst in view of Kanskar et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0190545), herein after referred to as Kanskar.
Regarding claim 7, Shah discloses the hundred-kilowatts-level monolithic fiber laser based on multi-wavelength auxiliary lasers and hybrid cladding pumping according to claim 1, wherein the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser source, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source are solid lasers, fiber lasers, or semiconductor lasers (Column 23 lines 14-15 laser diodes); [ ]; and the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser source, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source are single-transverse-mode lasers or high-order transverse-mode lasers (Column 41 describes the pump light may propagate substantially within the inner cladding and the core, describing a high-order transverse mode.).
Shah does not specifically disclose the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser source, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source are single-longitudinal-mode lasers or multi-longitudinal-mode lasers.
Kanskar discloses the first auxiliary laser source, the second auxiliary laser source, . . . and the Nth auxiliary laser source are single-longitudinal-mode lasers or multi-longitudinal-mode lasers (figure 9 and paragraph [0063] describes the use of a DFB oscillator 900 to produce a single longitudinal mode to mitigate spectral broadening.).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to enable Shah’s laser source with the known technique of single-longitudinal-mode lasers yielding the predictable results of mitigating spectral broadening as disclosed by Kanskar (paragraph [0063]).
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER E LEIBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621