DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over evidence of computer program “Final Fantasy Tactics” (Squaresoft) hereinafter “FFT”, in view of Colenbrander, US 2017/0216720, and evidence of computer program “League of Legends” (Riot Games) hereinafter “LoL”. The evidence constituting FFT consists of 1) Final Fantasy Tactics instruction manual for PlayStation (FFT Manual. Please note that although the Manual includes printed page numbers, reference below will be made to the page numbers in the provided PDF document of the FFT Manual), 2) YouTube video titled “Final Fantasy Tactics (PSX) Complete Playthrough” (FFT YouTube), 3) Gamefaqs.com webpage “Final Fantasy Tactics – Jobs/Abilities chart” (FFT Gamefaqs) and 4) Wikipedia.org webpage “Final Fantasy Tactics” (FFT Wikipedia) which teaches a public release date for the Final Fantasy Tactics software of 1997 in Japan and 1998 in North America. The evidence constituting LoL consists of 1) Reddit.com webpage “You can see Ashe Arrow on the map now too!” (LoL Reddit), 2) Gamefaqs.com webpage “Ashe Ult and mini map question” (LoL Gamefaqs), 3) Youtube.com webpage “Rox Pray Ashe Cross Map Arrow on Duke Ekko!” (LoL Youtube), and 4) Reddit.com webpage “Disable movement from map clicks?” (LoL Map Movement).
In Reference to Claims 1, 16, and 20
FFT teaches an electronic device comprising a memory and processor with executable instructions, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing executable instructions (FFT Wikipedia page 1 “Platform(s) PlayStation” and page 6 “Tactics was first released in Japan on June 20, 1997” and FFT Manual Page 2 “This compact disc is intended for use only with the PlayStation game console.” And Page 4 “PlayStation game console” and “memory card”) and a virtual skill control method, performed by an electronic device (FFT Wikipedia page 1 “Platform(s) PlayStation” FFT Manual Page 4), the method comprising displaying an electronic game interface when starting an electronic game, displaying a region map of a virtual scene, wherein the region map comprises a target region (FFT Manual Page 14 under “Battle” which shows a screenshot of a display of a game battlefield. See also FFT YouTube throughout which shows combat gameplay on battlefield “region map.” See time 1:46:31 for example); displaying a virtual object list of a current player; and displaying a plurality of virtual objects configured by the current player in the virtual object list, the plurality of virtual objects comprising at least one virtual object having target skills (FFT Manual page 25 “Formation/Abilities” “At the formation screen, (accessible through the World Map Menu) a variety of modifications can be made to your Units. Select a Unit from your party by using the directional buttons of the L1 and R1 Buttons, then selection an option from the menu. See also the screenshot which shows the multiple selectable party members on screen. And which teaches “Ability” and “Each Unit has various jobs from which it can learn new skills.” And “Change Job” and Units can change Jobs to earn JP in different areas, learn new abilities, and specialize skills.” Examiner considers this formation screen to be “displaying at least one virtual object having target skills in the region map” since the units configured in the formation screen and the units used by the players in combat on the region map), at least one virtual object having target skills in the region map (FFT Manual page 15 “Act” which teaches that on their turn units under the player’s command can perform actions including “attacking, using items, or casting spells” See also Page 18 “Casting Spells” and 19-20 “Types of Magic”), the at least one virtual object comprising a target virtual object (FFT Manual page 15 “When a Unit that you command reaches AT”); and in response to a target skill casting instruction of the target virtual object for a target region in the region map (FFT Manual page 15 “the Active Turn Menu will appear, offering these choices:” and “Act”), controlling a target skill indicated by the target skill casting instruction to be cast in the target region and to act on at least one virtual object in the target region (FFT Manual page 15 “After selecting an action you will need to select a target – for instance, a nearby enemy to attack, or an ally to use a curative spell on. Move the Cursor to the target unit or panel, press the O button, then confirm your action.” See also FFT YouTube 1:46:33 – 1:46:40 which shows a player’s unit selecting the “Steal Heart” skill from the menu and activating the skill on a target panel an enemy is standing on).
However, FFT does not explicitly teach that the current player’s game data is of a current login account, or where an effect of the target skill is synchronously displayed in the target region and the region map in real time.
Colenbrander teaches a gaming system where a current’s players save game data is of a current login account (Par. 69 which teaches saving game data associated with a particular game in associated with their user account which uses login information to authenticate the user).
It would be desirable to modify the method and system of FFT to include a login account for the user as taught by Colenbrander in order to allow the user to store their game save data in the cloud. Thus providing a save data backup and allowing the player to resume gameplay on another different device or resume gameplay if their local data is lost.
LoL teaches a game which includes a region map and target region of a virtual scene (See LoL Youtube at time 0:03 which shows a display of a game where both a region of a game scene and a minimap in the lower right hand corner also displays a map of the whole game area beyond the area immediately shown on screen. Examiner considers this to constitute a target region and region map), where an effect of the target skill is synchronously displayed in the target region and the region map in real time (See Lol Reddit “You can see Ashe Arrow on the map now too!” and which shows a screenshot with an arrow icon on the minimap which is circled. See also LoL Youtube from about 0:01-0:04 and 0:08-0:09 where the “Arrow” skill from the “Ashe” game character is show both on the game screen and minimap in synchronously in real-time. See below zoomed in and annotated screenshots from about 0:03 which illustrate this display functionality.
Finally see also LoL Reddit which teaches “Is Ashe's ult supposed to fire in the direction relative to where you placed your cursor on the mini map?” and “if your cursor is over the minimap it will direct global skillshots relative to the position of the minimap icon and your cursor” which teaches that Ashe’s arrow skill can be targeted via the minimap. As such since the arrow can be both displayed and targeted via the minimap examiner considers the skill to be “a target skill in the region map” when the target region and region map are defined as taught by LoL. See also Lol Map Movement which teaches where the player can input movement command to game characters via clicking the minimap).
It would be desirable to modify the method and system of FFT to include a minimap which simultaneously shows skills with the standard game display region and to allow player to target game inputs via the minimap as taught by LoL in order to give the player a better awareness of the layout of the game battlefield when the battlefield includes areas that are larger than is display on the players screen at one time, and to allow players to both easily target long range skills via the minimap. Thus players could input and view long range skills and their effects by simultaneously displaying them on the minimap so that the player remains informed about the location and impact of long range skills when they are looking at the corresponding location or not.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method and system of FFT to include a login account for the user as taught by Colenbrander, and to modify the method and system of FFT to include a minimap which simultaneously shows skills with the standard game display region and to allow player to target skills via the minimap as taught by LoL
In Reference to Claim 3
FFT and Colenbrander teach displaying an object configuration function item in the virtual object list; in response to a trigger operation for the object configuration function item, displaying a category selection interface comprising at least one candidate category; and in response to a selection operation for a target category in the at least one candidate category, configuring a virtual object of the target category as a virtual object of the current login account (FFT Manual page 25 “Formation/Abilities” see in particular “Select a Unit from your party” “then select an option from the menu” and “Ability” and “Change Job” as well as “press left/right to change the type of Ability (Action, Reaction, Support, or Move Ability” and “Press up/down to select a specific Ability for the Unit to learn.”).
In Reference to Claim 4
FFT and Colenbrander teach displaying a skill configuration function item of each virtual object in the virtual object list (FFT Manual Page 25); in response to a trigger operation for the skill configuration function item, displaying an object category to which a corresponding virtual object belongs and at least one candidate skill corresponding to the object category (FFT Manual Page 25 “Change Job” where examiner considers the Jobs to be object categories. See pages 26-28 “Jobs”); and in response to a selection operation for a target skill in the at least one candidate skill, configuring the selected target skill to the corresponding virtual object (FFT Manual Page 25 under ability “Each Unit has various Jobs from which it can learn new skills.”).
In Reference to Claim 5
FFT and Colenbrander teach displaying a skill configuration function item of each virtual object in the virtual object list; in response to a trigger operation for the skill configuration function item, displaying a virtual era to which a corresponding virtual object belongs and at least one candidate skill of the virtual era; and in response to a selection operation for a target skill in the at least one candidate skill, configuring the selected target skill to the corresponding virtual object (FFT Manual Page 25 as described above and further “Different Units with different levels of experience may have different Jobs to choose from. Certain Jobs will only become available later in the game, when your units have gone up several levels and learned many skills. Where examiner considers early Jobs available immediately and Jobs available only later in the game to constitute different “virtual eras.”).
In Reference to Claims 6 and 18
FFT teaches displaying at least one virtual object group, the virtual object group comprising at least one virtual object; and in response to a trigger operation for a target virtual object group in the at least one virtual object group, displaying at least one virtual object having target skills in the target virtual object group (FFT Manual page 11 “Forming an attack team” which is construction of a small group of units which participate in a battle. And which teaches using the menu display and select units to form the group and assign them to participate in the battle).
In Reference to Claim 7
FFT teaches displaying a construction function item for constructing the virtual object group (FFT Manual page 11 “Forming an attack team” where examiner consider the “formation” of the attack team to be “constructing” the attack team); in response to a trigger operation for the construction function item (FFT Manual page 10 under “Flow of the game” which teaches players progress from the formation screen which is under their control, see page 25, to forming the attack team which is also under their control, see Page 11. Examiner considers this game flow progress for each battle to constitute a trigger operation for the construction function item.), displaying a plurality of alternative candidate virtual objects having different virtual skills (Page 11 “Forming an attack team” See also where the player can select differ unit and view a unit’s status. And Pages 12-13 which teaches the components of the status screen including a listing of the unit’s abilities. See pages 19-20 and 26-28 which teach different types of magic and other different abilities that can be assigned to units); in response to a selection operation for a target number of virtual objects in the plurality of candidate virtual objects, controlling the selected target number of virtual objects to be in a selected state (Page 11 “To Place a Unit” and “An Attack Team contains up to 5 Units.”); and in response to a one-key configuration operation for the target number of virtual objects in the selected state, constructing a virtual object group comprising the target number of virtual objects (Page 11 “Press the START Button when ready to enter the battle” where examiner considers entering the battle with the constructed attack to be a “one-key configuration operation” to construct the virtual object group of the attack team for the battle).
In Reference to Claims 9 and 19
FFT teaches in response to a trigger operation for the target virtual object, displaying a skill control of at least one target skill possessed by the target virtual object, the skill controls having a one-to-one correspondence with the target skills; and receiving the target skill casting instruction based on a target skill control in the presented skill controls (FFT Manual page 15 “Act” “After selecting an action, you will need to select a target” and “Move the cursor to the target Unit or Panel”).
In Reference to Claim 10
FFT teaches where the receiving the target skill casting instruction based on a target skill control in the presented skill controls comprises displaying, in response to a trigger operation for the target skill control, at least one alternative region in the region map; and receiving, in response to a trigger operation for a target region in the at least one region, the target skill casting instruction (FFT Manual page 15 “Act” and “After selecting an action, you will need to select a target” and “Move the cursor to the target Unit or Panel” and Page. 14 “Each battlefield is unique, and is made up of a grid of Panels, on which individual ally units, enemies or obstacles appear” Further see also FFT YouTube 1:46:33 – 1:46:40 which shows a unit using the steal heart skill and where a plurality of “alternative” panels where the skill could be targeted are highlighted in red after selection of the skill. See also FFT Gamefaqs pages 4 and 9 which teaches that the “Steal Heart” ability has a range of three squares as shown by the red area. See the annotated screenshot below. See also LoL Gamefaqs which teaches the minimap can be used for targeting as described above).
In Reference to Claim 11
FFT teaches in response to a trigger operation for the target skill control, displaying a detail page of a target skill of the target skill control; and displaying a skill description of the target skill in the detail page, the skill description describing at least one of the following information of the target skill: skill cooling time, skill casting notes, or skill consumption (FFT Manual page 18 “Magical Spells” which teaches details of magical spell abilities including an MP consumption cost and a Charge Time, and an indicator for whether the spell can be reflected. See FFT YouTube at 1:46:47 which shows an example of this detail page showing reflect indicator arrow, MP consumption and spell charge time, after selection of a units “Black Magic” skills. Examiner considers this to constitute at least “skill casting notes” and “skill consumption.” A screenshot has been provided below).
In Reference to Claim 12
FFT teaches displaying a use function item of a target skill corresponding to the target skill control in the detail page; in response to a trigger operation for the use function item, displaying prompt information for prompting a selected skill casting position; and in response to a selection operation for a target region in the region map, receiving the target skill casting instruction based on the prompt information (FFT Manual page 15 “Act” and FFT YouTube 1:46:33 – 1:46:40 which teaches where the player selects the panel or unit for the target of the skill and executes the skill. See also LoL Gamefaqs which teaches the minimap can be used for targeting as described above).
In Reference to Claim 13
FFT teaches determining, in response to a trigger operation for the target skill control, a skill type of a target skill corresponding to the target skill control, and displaying at least one region adapted to the skill type in a target display style in the region map, the target display style being used for distinguishing between other regions that are displayed in the region map and not adapted to the skill type; and receiving, in response to a selection operation for a target region in the at least one region, the target skill casting instruction (FFT Manual page 15 “Act” and “After selecting an action, you will need to select a target” and “Move the cursor to the target Unit or Panel” and Page. 14 “Each battlefield is unique, and is made up of a grid of Panels, on which individual ally units, enemies or obstacles appear” Further see also FFT YouTube 1:46:33 – 1:46:40 which shows a unit using the steal heart skill and where panels where the skill are in range are highlighted in red after selection of the skill. And panels beyond the range of the skill are not highlighted. See also FFT Gamefaqs pages 4 and 9 which teaches that the “Steal Heart” ability has a range of three squares as shown by the red area. And further where various different skills have different ranges such as 1 or 3. See the annotated screenshot above in reference to Claim 10 which shows this highlighted skill range. Examiner considers the square on the battlefield in range to be “adapted to the skill type” and beyond the range of the selected skill to be other regions “not adapted to the skill type.” Where the area of the main display in the game is also displayed in the region map, see LoL as described above).
In Reference to Claim 14
FFT teaches displaying an object model of the target virtual object in the region map; in response to a trigger operation for the target skill control, displaying at least one alternative region in the region map; in response to a selection operation for a target region in the at least one region, controlling the object model of the target virtual object to move towards the target region (FFT manual page 15 “Move” and “if you choose to move, adjacent Panels to which you may travel will be indicated in blue.” “Use the Directional Buttons to direct the Cursor over the blue Panel that you wish to move to, then press the O button. After confirming, the Unit will move. See also the display of alternative regions for s skill control as described above in reference to Claim 10 and the screenshot provided); when the object model of the target virtual object moves to the target region, displaying prompt information for inquiring whether to cast skills; and in response to a determining operation for the prompt information, receiving the target skill casting instruction (FFT manual page 15 “When a unit that you command reaches AT, the Active Turn Menu will appear, offering these choices:”, “Move” and “Act.” See also page 14 “A Unit may execute a maximum of one movement (Move) and on action (Act) per AT.” Finally see FFT YouTube 1:46:33 – 1:46:40 which depicts this process of a unit using the menu to move to a new location and then use a skill. See also LoL Youtube and Lol Reddit where virtual object of the game are displayed on the minimap, and Lol Map Movement which teaches that the player can target movement locations for virtual objects via clicking the minimap).
In Reference to Claim 15
FFT teaches displaying an object model of the target virtual object in the region map; and controlling the object model of the target virtual object to move to the target region, and controlling the object model of the target virtual object to cast a target skill corresponding to the target skill control in the target region (FFT manual page 15 “When a unit that you command reaches AT, the Active Turn Menu will appear, offering these choices:”, “Move” and “Act.” See also page 14 “A Unit may execute a maximum of one movement (Move) and on action (Act) per AT.” See FFT YouTube 1:46:33 – 1:46:40 which depicts this process of a unit using the menu to move to a new location and then use a skill. See also FFT Gamefaqs page 4 which teaches “Range: This number indicates how far away the skill can be used. Auto means that the ability is centered on the user. The first number indicates how many squares away the skill can be executed, and the height indicates the maximum difference in height between user and target for the skill to be able to be used. If no height is indicated, than there is no height restriction.” Thus a player could move a unit to a new square and then activate an ability with a range of “auto.” Where LoL teaches displaying, as well as moving characters and targeting skills be clicking on a minimap).
Claims 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FFT, Colenbrander, and LoL, further in view of gamefaqs.com webpage for the White Knight Chronicles International Edition game titled “can you seriously nor exchange weapons between characters?” (hereinafter WKC Gamefaqs).
In Reference to Claim 8
FFT teaches a method as described above in reference to Claim 6. Further FFT teaches when the virtual object group comprises at least two virtual objects and different virtual objects have different object attributes (FFT Manual Pages 12-13 which teach that units have different object attributes including equipment),
Further, FFT teaches that units can be equipped with different equipment (FFT Manual Page 25 “Item”). However, FFT does not explicitly teach displaying an exchange function item for exchanging the object attributes; in response to a trigger operation for the exchange function item, controlling each virtual object in the virtual object group to be in a candidate state; and in response to a selection operation for a first virtual object and a second virtual object in the candidate state, controlling the first virtual object and the second virtual object to exchange the object attributes.
WKC Gamefaqs teaches game software which includes displaying an exchange function item for exchanging the object attributes; in response to a trigger operation for the exchange function item, controlling each virtual object in the virtual object group to be in a candidate state; and in response to a selection operation for a first virtual object and a second virtual object in the candidate state, controlling the first virtual object and the second virtual object to exchange the object attributes (See the post by user 0niichan which states: “Yes you can switch items and equipment with other characters. To do that is simple. - Go to the Item Menu and select the first option. - Now go to item/equipment you want to give to another character and select it - You are presented with 4 options they are - Use/Equip - Move to player - Move to box – Drop - So select move to player then pick the player’s name.” Which teaches where player character uses a menu in order to move items from one player character to another player character so the new character can equip the item. In the examiner’s opinion, this constitutes exchanging of object attributes, in this case equipment, between the two selected player characters).
It would be desirable to modify the method of FFT, Colenbrander, and LoL to include a menu for exchanging equipment between characters as taught by WKC Gamefaqs in order to increase the enjoyment of the player by allowing them to more quickly and easily exchange equipment between the character on their account in order to allow the player to configure each unit in the game according to their preferences.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to modify the method of FFT, Colenbrander, and LoL to include a menu for exchanging equipment between characters as taught by WKC Gamefaqs.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/05/2026 have been fully considered. Regarding rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101. In light of applicant’s amendments to the claims rejection under 35 U.S.C. 101 is withdrawn.
Regarding applicant arguments directed at 35 U.S.C. 102. New grounds of rejection based on the LoL reference have been provided to better address the new scope of the amended claims. In particular the LoL reference teaches a map display shown alongside the main display region of the game where the player can target skills and move character via inputs to the minimap. And where a game character skill is synchronously displayed in real-time on both the main game region screen and the map screen. New grounds of rejection incorporating the LoL reference as well as Colenbrander have been provided to address the new scope of the amended claims as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CARL V LARSEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3715