DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of invention Group I (claims 1-10, directed to a method attenuating the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs) comprising administration of a DFS70 autoantibody or functional equivalent) in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
3. Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/26/2025.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 16 August 2023 and the references cited therein have been considered, unless indicated otherwise.
Claims Status
5. Claims 1-10 are pending and under examination.
Claim Objections
6. In claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 8, and 9 the “DFS70” acronym is not defined in the claim. An acronym should be defined the first time it appears in the claims. For the purpose of examining, the “DFS70” is interpreted to mean “Dense Fine Speckled 70 kDa”. An acronym should only be defined the first time it appears in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
7. In claim 5, the “ARDS” ” acronym is not defined in the claim. An acronym should be defined the first time it appears in the claims. For the purpose of examining, the “ARDS” is interpreted to mean “acute respiratory distress syndrome”. An acronym should only be defined the first time it appears in the claims. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
8. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The instant claims are drawn to a method of attenuating the formation of neutrophil extra cellular traps (NETs) in a mammal comprising administering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody, wherein the DFS70 antibody is administered to the mammal, wherein the mammal is a human, wherein the mammal has an autoimmune disease, autoinflammatory disease, inflammation, sepsis, thrombolytic disease or a disease resulting from a pathogenic infection, wherein the mammal has ARDS, wherein a dosage in the range of about 1-500 mg of the DFS70 antibody is administered to the mammal, wherein the DFS70 antibody, variant or nucleic acid is administered by a route suitable to increase the plasma levels thereof, wherein the DFS70 antibody, variant or nucleic acid is administered by inhalation, wherein the DFS70 antibody, variant or nucleic acid is administered in combination with a different NET-inhibiting pharmacologic intervention, and wherein the method of instant claim 1 is used to treat inflammation in the mammal.
The specification teaches DFS70 (Dense Fine Speckled, 70kDa molecular weight) autoantibody, also referred to herein as anti-DFS70 antibody, encompasses a sub-group of anti-nuclear IgG antibodies (ANA) against a 70kDa antigen that gives rise to a fine dense speckled pattern (DFS) by indirect immunofluorescence. DFS70 is a chromatin-associated protein designated as dense fine speckled protein of 70 kD (DFS70), also known as lens epithelium-derived growth factor protein of 75 kD (LEDGF/p75) and PC4 and SFRS 1Interacting protein 1 (PSIP1). The specification teaches the term "functionally equivalent" refers to naturally or non-naturally occurring variants of the DFS70 autoantibody that retain the biological activity of the DFS70 autoantibody, e.g. to attenuate the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs) and/or platelet aggregation. The specification further teaches, "DFS70 autoantibody- encoding nucleic acid" is used herein to encompass mammalian DFS70 autoantibody-encoding nucleic acid, including human and non-human forms, and functionally equivalent forms thereof (e.g. that encode functionally equivalent DFS70 autoantibody, or nucleic acids which differ due to degeneracy of the genetic code).
The claims state that the DFS70 autoantibody, functionally equivalent variant thereof or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody attenuate the formation of neutrophil extracellular However, the specification provides no guidance regarding any antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof that specifically binds DFS70 and does not define all six complementary domain regions (CDRs). The specification does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad genus of the claims because the specification does not disclose a correlation between the necessary structure of the antibody, and the claimed functions to be maintained (i.e. administering DFS70 autoantibody to attenuate the formation of NETs). Thus, the specification does not distinguish the claimed genus from others, except by function. Although the term “antibody” does impart some structure, the structure that is common to antibodies is generally unrelated to its specific binding function; therefore, correlation is less likely for antibodies than for other molecules. Accordingly, the specification does not define any structural features commonly possessed by members of the genus because, while the description of an ability of a claimed antibody or antibody fragment thereof may generically describe that molecule’s function, it does not describe the molecule itself. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the antibody or antigen-binding fragment thereof does, rather than what it is; therefore it is only a definition of a useful result rather than a definition of what achieves that result. In addition, because the genus of antibodies, is highly variable (i.e. each different antibody capable of binding to DFS70 would necessarily have a unique sequence of amino acids; see MPEP 2434), the functional characteristic of binding to something specific, is insufficient to describe the genus. Further, given the highly diverse nature of antibodies, particularly in CDRs, even one of skill in the art cannot envision the structure of an antibody by only knowing its binding characteristics. Thus, the specification does not provide substantive evidence for possession of this large and variable genus, encompassing a potentially massive number of antibodies or antigen-binding fragments thereof claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristics.
Additionally, the specification fails to disclose a representative number of species. Thus, the genus has substantial variation because of the numerous alternatives and combinations permitted. MPEP §2163 states that for a generic claim, the genus can be adequately described if the disclosure presents a sufficient number of representative species that encompass the genus. If the genus has a substantial variance (as in the instant case), the disclosure must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within that genus. Although the MPEP does not define what constitutes a sufficient number of representative species, the courts have indicated what does not constitute a representative number to adequately describe a broad genus. The courts determined that the disclosure of two chemical compounds within a subgenus did not describe that subgenus (e.g. see In re Gostelli, 872, F.2d at 1012, 10 USPQ2d at 1618).
Further, the disclosure of only one or two species encompassed within a genus adequately describes a claim directed to that genus only if the disclosure "indicates that the patentee has invented species sufficient to constitute the gen[us]; emphasis added. "See Enzo Biochem, 323 F.3d at 966, 63 USPQ2d at 1615; Noelle v. Lederman, 355 F.3d 1343, 1350, 69 USPQ2d 1508, 1514 (Fed. Cir. 2004) (Fed. Cir. 2004) "[A] patentee of a biotechnological invention cannot necessarily claim a genus after only describing a limited number of species because there may be unpredictability in the results obtained from species other than those specifically enumerated."). "A patentee will not be deemed to have invented species sufficient to constitute the genus by virtue of having disclosed a single species when ... the evidence indicates ordinary artisans could not predict the operability in the invention of any species other than the one disclosed." In re Curtis, 354 F.3d 1347, 1358, 69 USPQ2d 1274, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 2004).
Accordingly, the specification also does not provide adequate written description to identify the broad genus of the claims, claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristics and not structures per se, because inter alia, it does not describe a sufficient number and/or a sufficient variety of representative species to reflect the breadth and variation within the claimed genus. Consequently, based on the lack of information within the specification, there is evidence that a representative number and a representative variety of the numerous antibodies had not yet been identified and thus the specification represents little more than a wish for possession; See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (written description requirement not satisfied by merely providing "a result that one might achieve if one made that invention"); In re Wilder, 736 F.2d 1516,1521,222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming a rejection for lack of written description because the specification does "little more than outline goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate"). Therefore, one of skill in the art would not conclude that Applicant was in possession of the broad and highly variable genus of antibodies claimed only by a partial structure and functional characteristics.
In Abbvie v. Centocor (Fed. Cir. 2014), the Court held that a disclosure of many different antibodies was not enough to support the genus of all neutralizing antibodies because the disclosed antibodies were very closely related to each other in structure and were not representative of the full diversity of the genus. The Court further noted that functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description support especially in technology fields that are highly unpredictable where it is difficult to establish a correlation between structure and function for the whole genus or to predict what would be covered by the functionally claimed genus. The instant case has many similarities to AbbVie above. First, the claims clearly attempt to define the genus of DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally variant thereof or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody by the functions of attenuating the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs) in a subject having an autoimmune disease, autoinflammatory disease, inflammation, sepsis, thrombolytic disease, a disease resulting from a pathogenic infection or having acute respiratory distress syndrome. As noted by AbbVie above, functionally defined genus claims can be inherently vulnerable to invalidity challenge for lack of written description. Second, there is no information in the specification based upon which one of skill in the art would conclude that the disclosed species for which applicant has identified as having the recited functions would be representative of the entire genus. The specification discloses no structure to correlate with the function. Therefore, the specification provides insufficient written description to support the genus encompassed by the claim. Vas-Cath Inc. v. Mahurkar, 19 USPQ2d 1111, makes clear that "applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, he or she was in possession of the invention. The invention is, for purposes of the 'written description' inquiry, whatever is now claimed." (See page 1117.) The specification does not "clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [he or she] invented what is claimed." (See Vas-Cath at page 1116.)
DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof, or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody comprising fewer than six CDRs do not meet the requirements under 35 U.S.C. 112 first paragraph because the skilled artisan cannot envision the detailed chemical structure of the encompassed antibody variants, regardless of the complexity or simplicity of the method of isolation. Adequate written description requires more than a mere statement that it is part of the invention and reference to a potential method for isolating it. The nucleic acid and/or protein itself is required. See Fiers v. Revel, 25 USPQ2d 1601, 1606 (CAFC 1993) and Amgen Inc. V. Chugai Pharmaceutical Co. Ltd., 18 USPQ2d 1016. In Fiddes v. Baird, 30 USPQ2d 1481, 1483, claims directed to mammalian FGF's were found unpatentable due to lack of written description for the broad class. The specification provided only the bovine sequence.
Finally, University of California v. Eli Lilly and Co., 43 USPQ2d 1398, 1404. 1405 held that: ...To fulfill the written description requirement, a patent specification must describe an invention and does so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that "the inventor invented the claimed invention." Lockwood v. American Airlines Inc., 107 F.3d 1565, 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1961, 1966 (1997); In re Gosteli , 872 F.2d 1008, 1012, 10 USPQ2d 1614, 1618 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (" [T]he description must clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that [the inventor] invented what is claimed."). Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations, not that which makes it obvious," and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." Lockwood, 107 F.3d at 1572, 41 USPQ2d 1966.
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. Paul (Fundamental Immunology, 3rd Edition, Raven Press, New York, Chapter 8, pages 292-295, 1993) teaches that the amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity, which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences, which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites (See pages 293-295). While some publications acknowledge that CDR3 is important for antigen binding, the conformations of other CDRs as well as the framework are equally important in antigen binding. For example, MacCallum et al. (Journal of Molecular Biology, 262:732-745, 1996) analyzed antigen-contacting residues and combining site shape of various antibodies and state that although CDR3 of the heavy chain and light chain dominate, a number of residues outside of the standard CDR definitions make antigen contacts (See page 733) . MacCallum et al. teach that antigens tend to bind to the antibody residues located at the center of the combining site where the six CDRs meet (See abstract and page 742) and less central CDR residues are only contacted by large antigens (See page 733 and 735). MacCallum et al. further teach that non-contacting residues are important in defining "canonical" backbone conformations.
The fact that not just one CDR is essential for antigen binding or maintaining the conformation of the antigen binding site, is further underscored by Casset et al. (Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, 307:198-205, 2003), which discuss the importance of multiple CDRs in antigen contact. Casset et al. teach that all antibodies have six CDR residues, all of which are more or less involved in antigen recognition (See page 199). Casset et al. teach that peptide mimetics of antibody combining sites have previously only targeted CDR H3, since this CDR is typically at the center of most, if not all, antigen interactions; however this strategy is flawed since other CDRs play an important role in the recognition of antigen (See page 199). Casset et al. construct a peptide mimetic of an anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody, containing antigen contact residues from five CDR regions, except L2 and additionally using a framework residue located just before the H3 and show that the peptide has high binding to CD4, thus signifying the contribution of multiple CDRs, and not a single CDR, in antigen recognition (See page 202 and Figure 4). Vajdos et al. (Journal of Molecular Biology, 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28) additionally states that, “ ... Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site.
Further, Sela-Culang et al. 2013 (The structural basis of antibody-antigen recognition; Frontiers in Immunology 4(302):1-13) teach the hypervariable loops within the variable domains of antibody polypeptides are widely assumed to be responsible for antigen recognition while the constant domains are believed to mediate effector activation, but that recent analysis indicates that their clear functional separation between the two regions is an over-simplification (see abstract). Sela-Culang et al. teach some residues within the CDRs may not participate in antigen binding and some residues outside the CDRs (e.g. in framework regions and in the constant domains) often contribute critically to the integration with the antigen (see abstract). Sela-Culang et al. teach understanding the role of each structural element is essential for successful engineering of binding polypeptides (e.g. page 2, left column). Sela-Culang et al. teach almost all of the residues predicted to be part of an epitope may be considered as correct predictors as they will bind to some antibodies but also are false predictors as they don’t bind to the others and accordingly that predicting that a residue is not in an epitope may be either a true negative or a false negative depending on the anybody considered (page 2, right column). Sela-Culang et al. teach each CDR has its own unique amino-acid composition different from the composition of the other CDRs and that each CDR has a unique set of contact preferences favoring certain amino acids over others (page 5-6, bridging). Sela-Culang et al. teach the combined action of all six CDRs is the evolutionary response of the immune system that enables the antibody polypeptide to recognize virtually any surface patch on the antigen (page 6). Therefore, the state of the art supports that even the skilled artisan requires guidance on the critical structures of the antibody per se and thereby does not provide adequate written description support for which structural features of any given polypeptide would predictably retain their functional activities.
Accordingly, one of skill in the art would conclude that the claimed invention encompasses a plurality of antibodies comprising fewer than six CDRs that may not have the biological functions recited in the claims. It should be noted that the claimed invention encompasses the DFS70 antibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody. Based on the teachings of the instant specification and the prior art, one of skill in the art would not conclude that Applicant was in possession of the claimed genus of antibodies.
Therefore, the species specifically disclosed are not representative of the genus because the genus is highly variant. Applicant is reminded that Vas-Cath makes clear that the written description provision of 35 USC 112 is severable from its enablement provision. (See page 1115).
9. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification does not reasonably provide enablement for DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof, or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
Case law holds that applicant' s specification must be “commensurately enabling [regarding the scope of the claims]” Ex Parte Kung, 17 USPQ2d 1545, 1547 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1990). Otherwise undue experimentation would be involved in determining how to practice and use applicant' s invention. The test for undue experimentation as to whether or not [Claimed Feature] within the scope of the claims can be used [meet the claim requirements] as claimed and whether the claims meet the test is stated in Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546, 547 Application/Control Number: 18/128,310 Page 5 Art Unit: 1674 (Bd. Pat. App. Inter. 1986) and In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400, 1404 (Fed.Cir. 1988). Upon applying this test to claim 17, it is believed that undue experimentation would be required because: (A) Nature of the invention, (B) State of the prior art, (C) The level of one of ordinary skill, (D) The level of predictability in the art, (E) Amount of direction provided, (F) The existence of working examples,(G) The quantity of experimentation needed to make or use the invention based on the content of the disclosure.
(1) Nature of the invention and (6) Breadth of the claims
The claims broadly encompass a genus of antibodies that comprise DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof, or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody. The claims state that the DFS70 antibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof, or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody can be administered to a mammal to attenuate the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps. The specification teaches DFS70 (Dense Fine Speckled, 70kDa molecular weight) autoantibody, also referred to herein as anti-DFS70 antibody, encompasses a sub-group of anti-nuclear IgG antibodies (ANA) against a 70kDa antigen that gives rise to a fine dense speckled pattern (DFS) by indirect immunofluorescence. DFS70 is a chromatin-associated protein designated as dense fine speckled protein of 70 kD (DFS70), also known as lens epithelium-derived growth factor protein of 75 kD (LEDGF/p75) and PC4 and SFRS 1Interacting protein 1 (PSIP1). The specification teaches the term "functionally equivalent" refers to naturally or non-naturally occurring variants of the DFS70 autoantibody that retain the biological activity of the DFS70 autoantibody, e.g. to attenuate the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps (NETs) and/or platelet aggregation. The specification further teaches, "DFS70 autoantibody- encoding nucleic acid" is used herein to encompass mammalian DFS70 autoantibody-encoding nucleic acid, including human and non-human forms, and functionally equivalent forms thereof (e.g. that encode functionally equivalent DFS70 autoantibody, or nucleic acids which differ due to degeneracy of the genetic code).
Thus, the claims are broad in that they encompass a vast genus of antibodies or antigen-binding fragment thereof comprising fewer than all six CDRs and in any combination, and having specific functional requirements, including attenuating the formation of neutrophil of extracellular traps in mammals with autoimmune disease, autoinflammatory disease, inflammation, sepsis, thrombolytic disease or a disease resulting from a pathogenic infection, wherein the mammal has ARDS
(5) The state of the prior art and (7) The predictability or unpredictability of the art
It is well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. Paul (Fundamental Immunology, 3rd Edition, Raven Press, New York, Chapter 8, pages 292-295, 1993) teaches that the amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity, which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences, which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites (See pages 293-295). While some publications acknowledge that CDR3 is important for antigen binding, the conformations of other CDRs as well as the framework are equally important in antigen binding. For example, MacCallum et al. (Journal of Molecular Biology, 262:732-745, 1996) analyzed antigen-contacting residues and combining site shape of various antibodies and state that although CDR3 of the heavy chain and light chain dominate, a number of residues outside of the standard CDR definitions make antigen contacts (See page 733) . MacCallum et al. teach that antigens tend to bind to the antibody residues located at the center of the combining site where the six CDRs meet (See abstract and page 742) and less central CDR residues are only contacted by large antigens (See page 733 and 735). MacCallum et al. further teach that non-contacting residues are important in defining "canonical" backbone conformations.
The fact that not just one CDR is essential for antigen binding or maintaining the conformation of the antigen binding site, is further underscored by Casset et al. (Biochemical and Biophysical Research Communications, 307:198-205, 2003), which discuss the importance of multiple CDRs in antigen contact. Casset et al. teach that all antibodies have six CDR residues, all of which are more or less involved in antigen recognition (See page 199). Casset et al. teach that peptide mimetics of antibody combining sites have previously only targeted CDR H3, since this CDR is typically at the center of most, if not all, antigen interactions; however this strategy is flawed since other CDRs play an important role in the recognition of antigen (See page 199). Casset et al. construct a peptide mimetic of an anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody, containing antigen contact residues from five CDR regions, except L2 and additionally using a framework residue located just before the H3 and show that the peptide has high binding to CD4, thus signifying the contribution of multiple CDRs, and not a single CDR, in antigen recognition (See page 202 and Figure 4). Vajdos et al. (Journal of Molecular Biology, 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28) additionally states that, “ ... Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site.
Further, Sela-Culang et al. 2013 (The structural basis of antibody-antigen recognition; Frontiers in Immunology 4(302):1-13) teach the hypervariable loops within the variable domains of antibody polypeptides are widely assumed to be responsible for antigen recognition while the constant domains are believed to mediate effector activation, but that recent analysis indicates that their clear functional separation between the two regions is an over-simplification (see abstract). Sela-Culang et al. teach some residues within the CDRs may not participate in antigen binding and some residues outside the CDRs (e.g. in framework regions and in the constant domains) often contribute critically to the integration with the antigen (see abstract). Sela-Culang et al. teach understanding the role of each structural element is essential for successful engineering of binding polypeptides (e.g. page 2, left column). Sela-Culang et al. teach almost all of the residues predicted to be part of an epitope may be considered as correct predictors as they will bind to some antibodies but also are false predictors as they don’t bind to the others and accordingly that predicting that a residue is not in an epitope may be either a true negative or a false negative depending on the anybody considered (page 2, right column). Sela-Culang et al. teach each CDR has its own unique amino-acid composition different from the composition of the other CDRs and that each CDR has a unique set of contact preferences favoring certain amino acids over others (page 5-6, bridging). Sela-Culang et al. teach the combined action of all six CDRs is the evolutionary response of the immune system that enables the antibody polypeptide to recognize virtually any surface patch on the antigen (page 6). Therefore, the state of the art supports that even the skilled artisan requires guidance on the critical structures of the antibody per se and thereby does not provide adequate written description support for which structural features of any given polypeptide would predictably retain their functional activities.
(6) The amount of direction or guidance by the inventor; (7) The existence of working examples
Although the specification discloses anti-DFS70 antibody, encompasses a sub-group of anti-nuclear IgG antibodies (ANA) against a 70kDa antigen that gives rise to a fine dense speckled pattern (DFS) by indirect immunofluorescence. DFS70 is a chromatin-associated protein designated as dense fine speckled protein of 70 kD (DFS70), also known as lens epithelium-derived growth factor protein of 75 kD (LEDGF/p75) and PC4 and SFRS 1Interacting protein 1 (PSIP1), the specification does not recite all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences, which maintain their required conformation, which are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites.
Applying the above test to the facts of record, it is determined that 1) no declaration under 37 C.F.R. 1.132 or other relevant evidence has been made of record establishing the amount of experimentation necessary, 2) insufficient direction or guidance is presented in the specification with respect DFS70 antibodies having the claimed functions, 3) the relative skill of those in the art is commonly recognized as quite high (post-doctoral level). One of skill in the art would require guidance, in order to make or use the genus of DFS70 antibody defined by a partial structure and their function only in a method of attenuating the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps in a mammal comprising administering to the mammal a therapeutically effective amount of DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody. Without proper guidance, the experimentation to is undue.
The Applicant has not provided sufficient guidance to enable one of skill in the art to make and use the claimed invention in a manner reasonably correlated with the scope of the claims broadly including attenuating the formation of neutrophil extracellular traps with the administration of DFS70 autoantibody, a functionally equivalent variant thereof or nucleic acid encoding DFS70 antibody. The scope of the claims must bear a reasonable correlation with the scope of enablement (In re Fisher, 166 USPQ 19 24 (CCPA 1970). Without such guidance, the changes which can be made in the protein's structure and still maintain activity is unpredictable and the experimentation left those skilled in the art is unnecessarily and improperly, extensive and undue. See Amgen Inc v Chugai Pharmaceutical Co Ltd. 927 F 2d 1200, 18 USPQ2d 1016 (Fed. Cir. 1991) at 18 USPQ2d 1026-1027 and Exparte Forman, 230 U.S.P.Q. 546(Bd. Pat=. App & int. 1986).
In view of all of the above, one of skill in the art would be forced into undue experimentation to practice the claimed invention, and thus, the claimed invention does not satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
10. Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable over Son, et al. ( The Inability to Limit Autoimmune Pathology is Associated with COVID-19 Hospital Fatality, AM J Respir Crit Care Med 22022; 205: A5309).
Son, et al. teach neutrophils treated with survivor sera with high anti-DFS70 titers exhibited reduced NETosis and anti-DFS70 autoantibodies inhibit pathogenic autoantibody-triggered NETosis, as recited in instant claim 1.
The Applicant’s filing date is 18 May 2023 and Son, et al. was presented on 18 May 2022 at the American Thoracic Society 2022 Internation Conference. However, based on EurekAlert! (https://www.eurekalert.org/news-releases/951297), the abstract was publicly available on May 02, 2022.
Conclusion
11. No claims are allowed.
/SYED J ABBAS/Examiner, Art Unit 1674
/VANESSA L. FORD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1674