DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, Claims 12-17, and of species a nitrogen source, in the reply filed on 1/7/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-11 and 18-20 have been withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claims.
Claims 12-17 are being examined in this application, insofar as they read on the elected species of a nitrogen source.
Claim Objections
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “metabolization source comprises source comprises”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Macur et al (US 2020/0268031 A1; 8/27/2020.) in view of Del Cardayre et al (US 2019/0032097 A1; 1/31/2019.).
The instant claims recite a nutrient production system comprising an inorganic carrier material, an abiotic nutrient mixture, and a metabolization source, wherein the abiotic nutrient mixture comprises water and at least one non-biomass carbon source.
Macur teaches a bioreactor comprising at least one membrane, a filamentous fungus inoculum (para 0054), a carbon source, a nitrogen source (para 0189), and water (an abiotic nutrient mixture) (para 0291), wherein the at least one membrane comprises a synthetic polymer (an inorganic carrier material) (para 0061), the filamentous fungus belong to an order Agaricales (para 0068) includes Pleurotus ostreatus (a metabolization source, a saprophytic organism, mushroom) (para 0070), and the bioreactor produces a biomat that serves as a food source such as a protein source (a nutrient production system) (para 0296).
Macur does not teach the abiotic nutrient mixture comprises at least one non-biomass carbon source (claim 12).
However, Macur does teach the bioreactor comprises a carbon source. Del Cardayre teaches that a carbon source is a substrate or compound suitable to be used as a source of carbon for prokaryotic or simple eukaryotic cell growth including Pleurotus (para 0012), wherein the carbon source includes at least one biomass carbon source as well as at least one non-biomass carbon source (para 0067).
Thus, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate at least one non-biomass carbon source for culturing a fungus including Pleurotus, since Macur and Del Cardayre both disclose culturing a fungus including Pleurotus using a carbon source, and Del Cardayre specifically discloses that the carbon source includes at least one non-biomass carbon source. Moreover, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the cited reference and routine practice to incorporate at least one non-biomass carbon source with a reasonable expectation of success.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 12-17 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 9-10, 12, and 14-17 of co-pending Application No. 18/933,740 (referred to as the ‘740 application).
Claims 1-3, 9-10, 12, and 14-17 of the ‘740 application recite a nutrient production system comprising mineral wool, zeolite, mesoporous metal oxides, fiberglass, vermiculite, a synthetic polymer (an inorganic carrier material), an abiotic nutrient mixture comprises water, paraffin, mineral oil (at least one non-biomass carbon source), and Pleurotus ostreatus (a metabolization source, a saprophytic organism, mushroom). The abiotic nutrient mixture further comprises a nitrogen source.
This is a provisional obviousness-type double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Contact Information
/Lynn Y Fan/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759