The amended claims filed 9/17/25 are acknowledged; claims 1-18 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey et al. (US 6112810) in view of Stogner (US 5396952).
CLAIM 1: Bailey discloses a rotating control device. The device comprises a bearing assembly (34) having an outer surface. A bowl (housing 12) comprising a first end, a second end, a longitudinal axis, and an inner surface defining an inner bore extending between the first end and the second end of the bowl (see Fig. 1C). The inner bore configured to receive at least a portion of the bearing assembly via the first end (see Fig. 1A-D). A rotary guide in the form of an annular member rotatably supported along the first end of the bowl (102). Wherein the rotating control device has: a latched position (shown in Fig. 1F) wherein the at least a portion of the bearing assembly is received in the inner bore of the bowl, and the bearing assembly is secured to the bowl by an interlocking interface (cylinders 50) between the inner surface of the bowl and the outer surface of the bearing assembly, the interlocking interface formed by a rotation of the bearing assembly in a first direction about the longitudinal axis relative to the bowl; and an unlatched position (shown in Fig. 1E) wherein the bearing assembly is removable from the bowl as a result of the interlocking interface being released by the rotation of the bearing assembly in a second direction about the longitudinal axis relative to the bowl.
Bailey does not disclose the rotary guide comprising radially outwardly projecting teeth extending along an outer circumference of the rotary guide that are configured for engagement to cause the rotary guide to be rotated relative to the bowl.
Stogner discloses a rig Kelly spinner.
Stogner discloses a ring gear 36 with teeth, the gear is used to rotate annular members.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the guide of Bailey to include the teeth of Stogner as Stogner teaches the teeth can be used to rotate the elements.
CLAIM 2: Bailey discloses a rotary guide (102) configured to engage and rotate a bearing assembly.
CLAIM 3: An actuator (control console of system 10) is operably coupled to the rotary guide for actuating the rotary guide.
CLAIM 4: The combination fails to disclose wherein the actuator is an electric motor.
Examiner takes official notice that electric motors are well known in the art as a means of actuating.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system by substituting the hydraulic cylinders with well known electric motor with a reasonable expectation of success as a substitution of one known actuating means for another as the electric motors would perform the well known function of supplying force to a system.
CLAIM 5: The rotary guide and the bearing assembly are configured to provide an alignment profile (see Bailey, Figs. 9A-C).
CLAIM 6: The rotary guide has an opening to provide open access to the inner bore of the bowl (see Bailey, Figs. 9A-C).
CLAIM 7: The rotary guide comprises one or more keys and the outer surface of the bearing assembly has one or more slots defined thereon, each slot configured to receive one of the one or more keys therein (lugs 93 as keys, slots 57 as slots).
CLAIM 8: The inner surface of the bowl has a first shoulder extending radially inwardly therefrom, and the outer surface of the bearing assembly has a second shoulder extending radially outwardly therefrom, wherein in the latched position, at least a portion of the first shoulder circumferentially and radially overlaps with at least a portion of the second shoulder to create the interlocking interface, and wherein in the unlatched position, there is no circumferential or radial overlap between the first and second shoulders (see Figs. 1A-H, showing shoulders on the system).
CLAIM 9: Bailey discloses a rotary guide (102) comprises two keys circumferentially separated by a gap, and the gap is sized to slidingly receive the second shoulder axially therethrough (Bailey 93, 57). The second shoulder is received in the gap, at least a portion of one of the two keys radially overlaps with at least a portion of the second shoulder (shoulders discussed in claim 8).
CLAIM 10: A security mechanism for restricting rotational movement of the bearing assembly relative to the bowl when the rotating control device is in the latched position (locking cylinders 50).
Claim(s) is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bailey in view of Stogner in further view of Roche (US 4971148).
CLAIM 11: Bailey-Stogner discloses the elements of claim 1 as discussed above.
Further, Bailey discloses a housing (12) having an inner surface., a spindle (S) having a first end and a second end.
Roche discloses the bearing assembly further comprises a housing having an inner surface; a spindle having a first end and a second end, at least a portion of the spindle being rotatably coupled to the inner surface of the housing (see Fig. 9A/B showing surface and spindle); a sealing element having an outer surface, the sealing element being threadedly connected to the second end of the spindle (see packer 46); and a retention assembly for restricting rotational movement of the sealing element relative to the spindle (connection to thrust plate).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the housing and spindle of Bailey-Stogner to be arranged as in Roche as the substitution of one known element for another in which the spindles would function in the same manner in the combination as they do in Roche.
CLAIM 12: The retention assembly comprises a key and a retaining pin, and wherein the sealing element has an outer surface having defined therein a slot and a recess circumferentially aligned with the slot, the recess configured to receive one end of the key while at least a portion of the key is received in the slot and the retaining pin configured to maintain the key in the slot (see Roche, Figs. 10A/B showing keys 172 interacting with pin 173).
CLAIM 13: The second end of the spindle has one or more retention shoulders for abutting against the key when the sealing element is rotated relative to the spindle by a predetermined amount (see Roche, Figs. 10A/B).
CLAIM 14: The sealing element has a plurality of leaps extending radially outwardly from the outer surface of the sealing element, the plurality of leaps configured to slidingly and sealingly engage the inner surface of the housing (see Roche, Figs. 9A/B, 10A/B).
CLAIM 15: The sealing element comprises a carcass having a central opening and a plurality of fingers; and an annular seal attached to the carcass such that the fingers extend axially inside the seal (see Roche, Figs. 10A/B).
CLAIM 16: The fingers are circumferentially arranged about the central opening of the carcass (see Roche, Fig. 10A/B).
CLAIM 17: Roche fails to disclose the fingers extend axially along about 20% to about 95% of the length of the seal.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the length of the fingers to be within 20% to 95% as the routine optimization of the fingers to ensure adequate connection of the components within the system.
CLAIM 18: The sealing element comprises a carcass; and an annular seal attached to the carcass, the annular seal having an outer surface and a plurality of leaps extending radially outwardly from the outer surface (see Roche, Figs. 10A/B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed 9/17/25 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The amendments place the claims outside the previous rejection. However, further search and consideration result in the present rejection which addresses the amendments and remarks.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PATRICK F LAMBE/Examiner, Art Unit 3679
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676