DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the amendments filed on 11/03/2015.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-19 are rejected
Claims 8, 15 and 20 are objected.
Claims 1, 11 and 16 are independent claims.
Response to Amendment
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 1-7, 9-14 and 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stefan WAGER et al. (WO 2015/115964 A1 cited in IDS filed on 12/05/2023), hereinafter WAGER, in view of Biljana BADIC et al. (WO 2019/133048 A1 cited in IDS filed on 12/05/2023), hereinafter BADIC.
For claim 1, WAGER teaches a method performed by a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network, comprising:
transmitting a request message for a communication service resource of a second wireless access network node to the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a communication service and requesting the communication service resource to assist to provide the communication service to the user equipment (WAGER, Fig. 24c and paragraph 108 teach MeNB requests SeNB to allocate radio resources with a "SeNB addition/modification request" message. The message may contain the following information elements: (a) E-RAB parameters, (b) UE capabilities, (c) The target radio resource configuration the MeNB wants to apply if the SeNB is able to allocate or modify SCG resources as requested by the MeNB.); and
receiving a response message allocating the communication service resource for the user equipment from the second wireless access network node (WAGER, Fig. 24c and paragraph 108 teach The SeNB provides the SeNB radio resource configuration to the MeNB in the "SeNB addition/modification command" message.).
BADIC further teaches a method performed by a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network (BADIC teaches "small cell serving", "small cell... assign resources to the users", “user/s" and "terminal device/s" throughout paragraphs [0817], [0843]), comprising: receiving a non-radio resource of a second wireless access network node (BADIC teaches "to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with “spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources" paragraph [0818]. In other words, the memory resources is the non-radio resource.) from the second wireless access network node (BADIC teaches "these resources may be available remotely (...) in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources)" paragraph [0818)), the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a non-radio-communication service and receiving the non-radio resource to assist to provide the non-radio-communication service to the user equipment (BADIC teaches “assign resources to the users", "the small cell may be configured to prioritize the assignment of resources for video-conferencing over music streaming", "to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with “spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources" and "these resources may be available remotely in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources" paragraphs [0817] and [0818). In other words, the memory resources is the non-radio resource and it is for memory storage which is the non-radio-communication service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in WAGER with BADIC to have a method performed by a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network, comprising: transmitting a request message for a non-radio resource of a second wireless access network node to the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a non- radio-communication service and requesting the non- radio resource to assist to provide the non-radio-communication service to the user equipment; and receiving a response message allocating the non-radio resource for the user equipment from the second wireless access network node. Because both WAGER and BADIC teach resource allocation, BADIC explicitly teaches non-radio-communication service resource using non-radio resource.
For claim 2, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the user equipment is in a dual connectivity with the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node provide joint radio communication service to the user equipment (WAGER, paragraph 50 teaches Briefly described a Master evolved Node B, MeNB, in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system being adapted to provide for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB and the UE and a SeNB.).
For claim 3, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 2, wherein in the dual connectivity, the first wireless access network node is a master node and the second wireless access network node is a secondary node, or the first wireless access network node is a secondary node and the second wireless access network node is a master node (WAGER, paragraph 50 teaches Briefly described a Master evolved Node B, MeNB, in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system being adapted to provide for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB and the UE and a SeNB.).
For claim 4, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first wireless access network node is neighboring to the second wireless access network node, and the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node have a direct communication interface in- between for information coordination (WAGER, paragraph 50 teaches Briefly described a Master evolved Node B, MeNB, in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system being adapted to provide for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB and the UE and a SeNB.).
For claim 5, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in response to receiving the response message, transmitting a first non-radio- communication service assisting data update message including a task of the non-radio- communication service to the second wireless access network node (WAGER, paragraph 80 teaches The MeNB may thereafter transmit a new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE. The MeNB may before determine a new target MeNB radio resource configuration, or updating the previous one, and include the new, or updated, new target MeNB radio resource configuration in the new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE.).
For claim 6, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 5, wherein the method further comprises: receiving a second non-radio-communication service assisting data update message including a result of the task from the second wireless access network node (WAGER, paragraph 80 teaches the MeNB may thereafter transmit a new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE. The MeNB may before determine a new target MeNB radio resource configuration, or updating the previous one, and include the new, or updated, new target MeNB radio resource configuration in the new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE.).
For claim 7, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 6, wherein the task is included in the first non-radio- communication service assisting data update message in a form of container and the result of the task is included in the second non-radio-communication service assisting data update message in a form of container (WAGER, paragraph 108 teaches MeNB requests SeNB to allocate radio resources with a "SeNB addition/modification request" message. The message may contain the following information elements: (a) E-RAB parameters, (b) UE capabilities, (c) The target radio resource configuration the MeNB wants to apply if the SeNB is able to allocate or modify SCG resources as requested by the MeNB.)
For claim 9, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the non-radio-communication service comprises at least one of a computing assisting service, an intelligence assisting service, or a storage assisting service (BADIC, paragraph 818 teaches In order to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with“spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources. See also BADIC paragraph 413.)
For claim 10, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 1, the method further comprises transmitting a user data resulted from a joint non-radio-communication service and relevant processing by the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node to the user equipment (BADIC, paragraph 818 teaches In order to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with“spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources. See also BADIC paragraph 413.)
For claim 11, WAGER teaches a method performed by a second wireless access network node in a wireless communication network, comprising:
receiving a request message for a communication service resource of the second wireless access network node from a first wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node providing a user equipment with both a radio communication service and a communication service and requesting the communication service resource to assist to provide the communication service to the user equipment (WAGER, Fig. 24c and paragraph 108 teach MeNB requests SeNB to allocate radio resources with a "SeNB addition/modification request" message. The message may contain the following information elements: (a) E-RAB parameters, (b) UE capabilities, (c) The target radio resource configuration the MeNB wants to apply if the SeNB is able to allocate or modify SCG resources as requested by the MeNB.); and
transmitting a response message allocating the communication service resource to the first wireless access network node (WAGER, Fig. 24c and paragraph 108 teach The SeNB provides the SeNB radio resource configuration to the MeNB in the "SeNB addition/modification command" message.).
BADIC further teaches a method performed by a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network (BADIC teaches "small cell serving", "small cell... assign resources to the users", “user/s" and "terminal device/s" throughout paragraphs [0817], [0843]), comprising: receiving a non-radio resource of a second wireless access network node (BADIC teaches "to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with “spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources" paragraph [0818]. In other words, the memory resources is the non-radio resource.) from the second wireless access network node (BADIC teaches "these resources may be available remotely (...) in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources)" paragraph [0818)), the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a non-radio-communication service and receiving the non-radio resource to assist to provide the non-radio-communication service to the user equipment (BADIC teaches “assign resources to the users", "the small cell may be configured to prioritize the assignment of resources for video-conferencing over music streaming", "to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with “spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources" and "these resources may be available remotely in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources" paragraphs [0817] and [0818). In other words, the memory resources is the non-radio resource and it is for memory storage which is the non-radio-communication service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in WAGER with BADIC to have a method performed by a second wireless access network node in a wireless communication network, comprising: receiving a request message for a non- radio resource of the second wireless access network node from a first wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node providing a user equipment with both a radio communication service and a non-radio-communication service and requesting the non-radio resource to assist to provide the non-radio- communication service to the user equipment; and transmitting a response message allocating the non-radio resource to the first wireless access network node. Because both WAGER and BADIC teach resource allocation, BADIC explicitly teaches non-radio-communication service resource using non-radio resource.
For claim 12, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 11, wherein the user equipment is in a dual connectivity with the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node provide joint radio communication service to the user equipment (WAGER, paragraph 50 teaches Briefly described a Master evolved Node B, MeNB, in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system being adapted to provide for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB and the UE and a SeNB.).
For claim 13, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises allocating the non-radio resource for the user equipment (BADIC, paragraph 818 teaches In order to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with“spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources. See also BADIC paragraph 413.)
For claim 14, WAGER and BADIC further teach the method of claim 11, wherein the method further comprises: in response to receiving a first non-radio-communication service assisting data update message including a task of the non-radio-communication service from the first wireless access network node, completing the task of the non-radio-communication service using the non-radio resource allocated for the user equipment, and transmitting a second non-radio-communication service assisting data update message including a result of the task to the first wireless access network node (WAGER, paragraph 80 teaches the MeNB may thereafter transmit a new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE. The MeNB may before determine a new target MeNB radio resource configuration, or updating the previous one, and include the new, or updated, new target MeNB radio resource configuration in the new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE.).
For claim 16, WAGER teaches a device (WAGER, Fig. 32) comprising:
a memory (WAGER, Fig. 32 item 30) operable to store computer-readable instructions; and
a processor circuitry (WAGER, Fig. 32 item 10) operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to:
transmit, from a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network, a request message for a communication service resource of a second wireless access network node to the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a communication service and requesting the communication service resource to assist to provide the non-radio-communication service to the user equipment (WAGER, Fig. 24c and paragraph 108 teach MeNB requests SeNB to allocate radio resources with a "SeNB addition/modification request" message. The message may contain the following information elements: (a) E-RAB parameters, (b) UE capabilities, (c) The target radio resource configuration the MeNB wants to apply if the SeNB is able to allocate or modify SCG resources as requested by the MeNB.); and
receiving a response message allocating the communication service resource for the user equipment from the second wireless access network node (WAGER, Fig. 24c and paragraph 108 teach The SeNB provides the SeNB radio resource configuration to the MeNB in the "SeNB addition/modification command" message.).
BADIC further teaches a method performed by a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network (BADIC teaches "small cell serving", "small cell... assign resources to the users", “user/s" and "terminal device/s" throughout paragraphs [0817], [0843]), comprising: receiving a non-radio resource of a second wireless access network node (BADIC teaches "to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with “spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources" paragraph [0818]. In other words, the memory resources is the non-radio resource.) from the second wireless access network node (BADIC teaches "these resources may be available remotely (...) in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources)" paragraph [0818)), the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a non-radio-communication service and receiving the non-radio resource to assist to provide the non-radio-communication service to the user equipment (BADIC teaches “assign resources to the users", "the small cell may be configured to prioritize the assignment of resources for video-conferencing over music streaming", "to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with “spare” computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or other processing resources" and "these resources may be available remotely in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources" paragraphs [0817] and [0818). In other words, the memory resources is the non-radio resource and it is for memory storage which is the non-radio-communication service).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in WAGER with BADIC to have a device, comprising: a memory operable to store computer-readable instructions; and a processor circuitry operable to read the computer-readable instructions, the processor circuitry when executing the computer-readable instructions is configured to: transmit, from a first wireless access network node serving a user equipment in a wireless communication network, a request message for a non-radio resource of a second wireless access network node to the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node providing the user equipment with a non-radio-communication service and requesting the non-radio resource to assist to provide the non- radio-communication service to the user equipment; and receive a response message allocating the non-radio resource for the user equipment from the second wireless access network node. Because both WAGER and BADIC teach resource allocation, BADIC explicitly teaches non-radio-communication service resource using non-radio resource.
For claim 17, WAGER and BADIC further teach the device of claim 16, wherein the user equipment is in a dual connectivity with the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node, the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node provide joint radio communication service to the user equipment (WAGER, paragraph 50 teaches Briefly described a Master evolved Node B, MeNB, in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system being adapted to provide for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB and the UE and a SeNB.).
For claim 18, WAGER and BADIC further teach the device of claim 16, wherein the first wireless access network node is neighboring to the second wireless access network node, and the first wireless access network node and the second wireless access network node have a direct communication interface in- between for information coordination (WAGER, paragraph 50 teaches Briefly described a Master evolved Node B, MeNB, in a wireless communication system, the wireless communication system being adapted to provide for dual connectivity between a UE and a MeNB and the UE and a SeNB.).
For claim 19, WAGER and BADIC further teach the device of claim 16, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: in response to receiving the response message, transmit a first non-radio- communication service assisting data update message including a task of the non-radio- communication service to the second wireless access network node (WAGER, paragraph 80 teaches The MeNB may thereafter transmit a new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE. The MeNB may before determine a new target MeNB radio resource configuration, or updating the previous one, and include the new, or updated, new target MeNB radio resource configuration in the new request to the SeNB for radio resource modification with regards to the SeNB radio resource configuration between the SeNB and the UE.).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 8, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
11. Applicant's arguments filed 12/11/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
For claim 1, Applicant argues that BADIC does not teach the non-radio resource is or assisting to provide the non-radio-communication service to the user equipment.
In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees. BADIC, paragraph 818 teaches in order to achieve these tasks, the small cell may be provided with "spare" computational resources, such as memory resources, DSP resources, FPGA resources and/or
other processing resources. Additionally, these resources may be available remotely (for example in the Cloud), in a neighboring Small Cell (through sharing of resources for
example) or in user terminal devices. As the small cell observes behaviors of its regular users, the small cell may be configured to use these computational resources in order to provide for a more tailored service to its regular users. In other words, the memory resource is the non-radio resource and it is for memory storage which is the non-radio-communication service.
Conclusion
12. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WILL W LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412